DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response dated 8/19/2026 is acknowledged and appreciated. Applicant indicates that the primary prior art reference (Nakamura U.S. 2023/0012473) does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1). In response, Examiner asserts that the Nakamura reference is a continuation of U.S. application filed on 1/20/2019 and also filed as international Application PCT/JP2017/045841 published as EP3560836 on 10/30/2019 and including the same subject matter as U.S. PGPub 2023/0012473. Further, Applicant argues that the Nakamura reference does not disclose a separate propellant storage unit or a separately identified combustion chamber that houses an ignitor as a sub-component. In response, Examiner asserts that Nakamura includes a squib (item 5a, igniter) that includes a propellant storage area “ignition charge”, an attached combustion gas container (gas discharge member, item 7) and an expandable member (item 2) constituting a residual collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (European Patent Application Publication EP 3560836).
In regards to claim 1, Nakamura et al (henceforth referred to as Nakamura) disclose a gas generator. Nakamura describes a gas generating device as depicted in figure 1, comprising:
a propellant storage unit. The device of Nakamura shown in figure 1 constitutes a propellant unit;
a combustion chamber, wherein the combustion chamber further comprises an ignitor and is configured to be fluidly coupled to a pressure regulator of a deicing boot assembly. The device of Nakamura includes an igniter (item 5a) including a combustion chamber where the propellant charge burns to form a gas and further, the scope of the claim language implies that the igniter is configured to or simply capable of being fluidly coupled to a pressure regulator of a deicing boot. Note that the claim does not explicitly require the inclusion of these components;
and a residual collector, wherein the residual collector is coupled to the combustion chamber. The device of Nakamura includes a collector that collects the propellant gas.
In regards to claim 2, Nakamura discloses that the propellant storage unit further
comprises a propellant, wherein the propellant is configured to be transferred from the propellant storage unit to the combustion chamber, wherein the ignitor is configured to contact the propellant, wherein the propellant is a sodium-based propellant. The propellant storage component of the device of Nakamura includes a propellant gas generating agent that is placed in the chamber and ignited using the propellant of the attached igniter (par. 28, item 5a). Nakamura teaches using a sodium nitrate combustion agent (par. 26).
In regards to claim 3, Nakamura discloses a power supply (energizing circuit, item 4), wherein the power supply is configured to send an electric pulse into the gas generator, wherein the ignitor is configured to supply the electric pulse to the propellant, wherein the electric pulse is configured to pass through the propellant, wherein the propellant is configured to decompose in response to the electric pulse passing through the propellant. The energizing circuit of Nakamura provides current to the propellant at least of the igniter and initiates decomposition.
In regards to claim 4, Nakamura discloses that the decomposed propellant is configured to be liberated as a high-pressure gas, wherein the gas generator is configured to expel the high pressure gas, wherein the high-pressure gas is a high pressure nitrogen gas. The system of Nakamura includes decomposition of the propellant to liberate high nitrogen-based pressure gas.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-4 are rejected and claims 5-11 are withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641