DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS documents submitted 10/3/2024 and 5/6/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 10/3/2024 are acknowledged and acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the reasoning is inconsistent with the claims”. This is not found persuasive because Examiner asserts that the claims of Group I are generally directed to a gas generator capable of use in any of various capacities, while the process claims (claims 5-11) explicitly require testing a pneumatic deicing system. The product of claims 1-4 can be utilized in a manner completely different than that presented with the process of claims 5-11.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0012473).
In regards to claim 1, Nakamura et al (henceforth referred to as Nakamura) disclose a gas generator. Nakamura describes a gas generating device as depicted in figure 1, comprising:
a propellant storage unit. The device of Nakamura shown in figure 1 constitutes a propellant unit;
a combustion chamber, wherein the combustion chamber further comprises an ignitor. The device of Nakamura includes an igniter (item 5a) including a combustion chamber where the propellant charge burns to form a gas; and a residual collector, wherein the residual collector is coupled to the combustion chamber. The device of Nakamura includes a collector that collects the propellant gas.
In regards to claim 2, Nakamura discloses that the propellant storage unit further
comprises a propellant, wherein the propellant is configured to be transferred from the propellant storage unit to the combustion chamber, wherein the ignitor is configured to contact the propellant, wherein the propellant is a sodium-based propellant. The propellant storage component of the device of Nakamura includes a propellant gas generating agent that is placed in the chamber and ignited using the propellant of the attached igniter (par. 28, item 5a). Nakamura teaches using a sodium nitrate combustion agent (par. 26).
In regards to claim 3, Nakamura discloses a power supply (energizing circuit, item 4), wherein the power supply is configured to send an electric pulse into the gas generator, wherein the ignitor is configured to supply the electric pulse to the propellant, wherein the electric pulse is configured to pass through the propellant, wherein the propellant is configured to decompose in response to the electric pulse passing through the propellant. The energizing circuit of Nakamura provides current to the propellant at least of the igniter and initiates decomposition.
In regards to claim 4, Nakamura discloses that the decomposed propellant is configured to be liberated as a high-pressure gas, wherein the gas generator is configured to expel the high pressure gas, wherein the high-pressure gas is a high pressure nitrogen gas. The system of Nakamura includes decomposition of the propellant to liberate high nitrogen-based pressure gas.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-4 are rejected and claims 5-11 are withdrawn.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641