DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the page 8-10 arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections of the independent claims.
From page 8, the argument is agreed to stating that Voelchert does not teach two discreet midsole portions. However, the claim 1 elements of ‘first and second midsole portions’ do not cite additional elements to present their differences. No elements are presented to show physical differences between the midsole portions (material type, color, or other physical properties). Two discreet midsole portions (which can be interpreted as sections) have not been cited in the independent claims.
Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the midsole formed from the first and second midsole portions of the independent claims could be interpreted to be a homogenous and monolithic midsole piece, with the ‘portion’ dividing line selected at any location in the midfoot region. This would be analogous to the shoe of claim 1 citing a “medial side, a lateral side, a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region” with no distinct division lines.
Methods of manufacture for the instant case may use to distinct midsole components (Instant Fig. 20A, items 438, 440) to form a finished midsole, but the method is not relevant to patentability for the instant claim set because these are product claims, where the claimed midsole could be one homogenous cured piece.
The amendments to claims 1 & 9, the cancellation of claims 7 & 8, and the new claims 21 & 22 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 12, 13, 16 & 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voelchert (CH718291A2, of record). Claim elements are presented in italics.
1. A shoe having a medial side, a lateral side, a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region, the shoe comprising: an upper; and a sole structure, the sole structure including a midsole and an outsole, the midsole including: a first midsole portion disposed in the forefoot region and the midfoot region, and a second midsole portion disposed in the heel region and the midfoot region, wherein the midsole defines a first void structure that is located only in the midfoot region and the heel region of the shoe, the first void structure including: a plurality of medial voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from an outer side of the sole structure; and a plurality of lateral voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the outer side of the sole structure, wherein the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids define channels through the midsole, and wherein at least one of the plurality of medial voids and at least one of the plurality of lateral voids extends from an intersection between the first midsole portion and the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of Voelchert teaches a shoe having a medial side (See Fig. 5b), a lateral side (See Fig. 6), a forefoot region (Fig. 5b, VFB region), a midfoot region (Fig. 5b, MFB region), and a heel region (Fig. 5b, FB region), the shoe comprising: an upper; and a sole structure, the sole structure including a midsole and an outsole [P. 4, ¶ 8 – P. 5, ¶ 1], the midsole including: a first midsole portion disposed in the forefoot region and the midfoot region (Fig. 5b, VFB & MFB regions), and a second midsole portion disposed in the heel region and the midfoot region (Fig. 5b, FB & MFB regions), wherein the midsole defines a first void structure that is located only in the midfoot region and the heel region of the shoe, the first void structure including: a plurality of medial voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from an outer side of the sole structure (Fig. 5b, plurality of items 41 & 42 – the eight channels in the FB and MFB regions; [P. 2, last ¶]); and a plurality of lateral voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the outer side of the sole structure, wherein the medial voids and the lateral voids define channels through the midsole (Fig. 6, plurality of items 41 & 42 – the nine channels on the left in the FB and MFB regions).
Voelchert teaches at least one of the plurality of medial voids and at least one of the plurality of lateral voids extends from an intersection between the first midsole portion and the second midsole portion (Fig. 5B, 4th channel from left, where the MFB and VFB regions meet).
4. The shoe of claim 1, wherein all of the voids of the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids terminate at a peripheral edge of the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 4, Voelchert teaches all of the voids of the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids terminate at a peripheral edge of the second midsole portion. Voelchert teaches the midsole channels pass from the medial to the lateral sides [Claim 1], where the channels would terminate at the periphery of the second midsole portion.
5. The shoe of claim 1, wherein the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void.
With respect to claim 5, Voelchert teaches the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void (Fig. 5b, 1st – 3rd channels from the right) and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void (Fig. 6, 1st – 3rd channels from the left).
21. The shoe of claim 5, wherein the first lateral void extends along the same line as the first medial void, the second lateral void extends along the same line as the second medial void, and the third lateral void extends along the same line as the third medial void.
With respect to claim 21, Voelchert teaches the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void (Fig. 5b, 1st – 3rd channels from the right) and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void (Fig. 6, 1st – 3rd channels from the left).
Voelchert teaches the channels can travel from the medial to lateral sides through the midsole in the transverse direction, and the channels are arranged one behind the other in the longitudinal direction of the midsole. [Claim 1; P. 2, last ¶]. This clearly teaches the first lateral void extends along the same line as the first medial void, the second lateral void extends along the same line as the second medial void, and the third lateral void extends along the same line as the third medial void.
9. A shoe having a medial side, a lateral side, a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region, the shoe comprising: an upper; and a sole structure, the sole structure including a midsole and an outsole, the midsole including: a first midsole portion disposed in at least the forefoot region, and a second midsole portion disposed in at least the heel region, wherein the midsole defines a first void structure that is located in the heel region of the shoe, the first void structure including: a plurality of medial voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from a medial side of the sole structure; and a plurality of lateral voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the lateral side of the sole structure, wherein the medial voids and the lateral voids define channels, and wherein at least one of the plurality of medial voids and at least one of the plurality of lateral voids extends from an intersection between the first midsole portion and the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of Voelchert teaches a shoe having a medial side (See Fig. 5b), a lateral side (See Fig. 6), a forefoot region (Fig. 5b, VFB region), a midfoot region (Fig. 5b, MFB region), and a heel region (Fig. 5b, FB region), the shoe comprising: an upper; and a sole structure, the sole structure including a midsole and an outsole [P. 4, ¶ 8 – P. 5, ¶ 1], the midsole including: a first midsole portion disposed in the forefoot region (Fig. 5b, VFB region), and a second midsole portion disposed in the heel region (Fig. 5b, FB region), wherein the midsole defines a first void structure that is located in the heel region of the shoe, the first void structure including: a plurality of medial voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the medial side of the sole structure (Fig. 5b, plurality of items 41 & 42 – the three channels in the FB region; [P. 2, last ¶]); and a plurality of lateral voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the lateral side of the sole structure, wherein the medial voids and the lateral voids define channels through the midsole (Fig. 6, plurality of items 41 – the three channels on the left in the FB region).
Voelchert teaches at least one of the plurality of medial voids and at least one of the plurality of lateral voids extends from an intersection between the first midsole portion and the second midsole portion (Fig. 5B, 4th channel from left, where the MFB and VFB regions meet).
12. The shoe of claim 9, wherein all of the voids of the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids terminate at a peripheral edge of the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 12, Voelchert teaches all of the voids of the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids terminate at a peripheral edge of the second midsole portion. Voelchert teaches the midsole channels pass from the medial to the lateral sides [Claim 1], where the channels would terminate at the periphery of the second midsole portion.
13. The shoe of claim 10, wherein the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void, and wherein the first lateral void extends along the same line as the first medial void, the second lateral void extends along the same line as the second medial void, and the third lateral void extends along the same line as the third medial void.
With respect to claim 13, Voelchert teaches the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void (Fig. 5b, 1st – 3rd channels from the right) and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void (Fig. 6, 1st – 3rd channels from the left).
Voelchert teaches the channels can travel from the medial to lateral sides through the midsole in the transverse direction, and the channels are arranged one behind the other in the longitudinal direction of the midsole. [Claim 1; P. 2, last ¶]. This clearly teaches the first lateral void extends along the same line as the first medial void, the second lateral void extends along the same line as the second medial void, and the third lateral void extends along the same line as the third medial void.
16. A shoe having a medial side, a lateral side, a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region, the shoe comprising: an upper; and a sole structure, the sole structure including a midsole and an outsole, the midsole including: a first midsole portion disposed in the forefoot region and the midfoot region, and a second midsole portion disposed in the heel region and the midfoot region, wherein the midsole defines a first void structure that is located only in the midfoot region and the heel region of the shoe, the first void structure including: a plurality of medial voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from an outer side of the sole structure; and a plurality of lateral voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the outer side of the sole structure, wherein at least one of the plurality of medial voids and at least one of the plurality of lateral voids extends from an intersection between the first midsole portion and the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art of Voelchert teaches a shoe having a medial side (See Fig. 5b), a lateral side (See Fig. 6), a forefoot region (Fig. 5b, VFB region), a midfoot region (Fig. 5b, MFB region), and a heel region (Fig. 5b, FB region), the shoe comprising: an upper; and a sole structure, the sole structure including a midsole and an outsole [P. 4, ¶ 8 – P. 5, ¶ 1], the midsole including: a first midsole portion disposed in the forefoot region and the midfoot region (Fig. 5b, VFB & MFB regions), and a second midsole portion disposed in the heel region and the midfoot region (Fig. 5b, FB & MFB regions), wherein the midsole defines a first void structure that is located only in the midfoot region and the heel region of the shoe, the first void structure including: a plurality of medial voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from an outer side of the sole structure (Fig. 5b, plurality of items 41 & 42 – the eight channels in the FB and MFB regions; [P. 2, last ¶]); and a plurality of lateral voids that extend at least partially through the midsole from the outer side of the sole structure, wherein the medial voids and the lateral voids define channels through the midsole (Fig. 6, plurality of items 41 & 42 – the nine channels on the left in the FB and MFB regions).
Voelchert teaches at least one of the plurality of medial voids and at least one of the plurality of lateral voids extends from an intersection between the first midsole portion and the second midsole portion (Fig. 5B, 4th channel from left, where the MFB and VFB regions meet).
22. The shoe of claim 16, wherein the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void, and wherein the first lateral void extends along the same line as the first medial void, the second lateral void extends along the same line as the second medial void, and the third lateral void extends along the same line as the third medial void.
With respect to claim 22, Voelchert teaches the plurality of medial voids includes a first medial void, a second medial void, and a third medial void (Fig. 5b, 1st – 3rd channels from the right) and the plurality of lateral voids includes a first lateral void, a second lateral void, and a third lateral void (Fig. 6, 1st – 3rd channels from the left).
Voelchert teaches the channels can travel from the medial to lateral sides through the midsole in the transverse direction, and the channels are arranged one behind the other in the longitudinal direction of the midsole. [Claim 1; P. 2, last ¶]. This clearly teaches the first lateral void extends along the same line as the first medial void, the second lateral void extends along the same line as the second medial void, and the third lateral void extends along the same line as the third medial void.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, 11, 17 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voelchert (CH718291A2, of record), as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 9, 9, 16 & 16 respectively. Claim elements are presented in italics.
2. The shoe of claim 1, wherein the plurality of medial voids terminate within the midsole along the medial side of the shoe and the lateral voids terminate within the midsole along the lateral side of the shoe.
With respect to claim 2, Voelchert teaches “the channels, in particular all channels, or at least some of the channels (so-called channels of the first type) each have: a lateral side and/or medial side opening in the midsole” [P. 2, last ¶].
‘Some or all channels having a lateral side opening or a medial side opening’ prima facie obviously teaches it is possible that all voids in the midsole may not be through-hole voids.
With Voelchert silent on any length for these blind hole ‘channels’, this prima facie obviously teaches the plurality of medial voids can terminate within the midsole along the medial side of the shoe and the lateral voids can terminate within the midsole along the lateral side of the shoe.
10. The shoe of claim 9, wherein the plurality of medial voids terminate within the midsole on the medial side of the shoe and the lateral voids terminate within the midsole along the lateral side of the shoe.
With respect to claim 10, Voelchert teaches “the channels, in particular all channels, or at least some of the channels (so-called channels of the first type) each have: a lateral side and/or medial side opening in the midsole” [P. 2, last ¶].
‘Some or all channels having a lateral side opening or a medial side opening’ prima facie obviously teaches it is possible that all voids in the midsole may not be through-hole voids.
With Voelchert silent on any length for these blind hole ‘channels’, this prima facie obviously teaches the plurality of medial voids can terminate within the midsole along the medial side of the shoe and the lateral voids can terminate within the midsole along the lateral side of the shoe.
11. The shoe of claim 10, wherein the plurality of medial voids includes exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids includes exactly three lateral voids.
With respect to claim 11, Voelchert teaches the plurality of medial voids in the heel region can include exactly three medial voids (Fig. 5b, plurality of items 41 – the three channels in the FB region; [P. 2, last ¶]) and the plurality of lateral voids includes exactly three lateral voids (Fig. 6, plurality of items 41 – the three channels on the left in the FB region).
17. The shoe of claim 16, wherein at least one of the plurality of medial voids terminates within the midsole on the medial side of the shoe and at least one of the lateral voids terminates within the midsole on the lateral side of the shoe.
With respect to claim 17, Voelchert teaches “the channels, in particular all channels, or at least some of the channels (so-called channels of the first type) each have: a lateral side and/or medial side opening in the midsole” [P. 2, last ¶].
‘Some or all channels having a lateral side opening or a medial side opening’ prima facie obviously teaches it is possible that all voids in the midsole may not be through-hole voids.
With Voelchert silent on any length for these blind hole ‘channels’, this prima facie obviously teaches the plurality of medial voids can terminate within the midsole along the medial side of the shoe and the lateral voids can terminate within the midsole along the lateral side of the shoe.
20. The shoe of claim 16, wherein the medial voids and the lateral voids define channels having a generally constant width through the midsole.
With respect to claim 20, Voelchert teaches “the width of such a channel is greater than its height” [P. 3, ¶ 4] and “the channels each have a width of 0.5 cm to 3 cm” [P. 9, last ¶]. While Voelchert does not explicitly teach a generally constant channel width through the midsole, the phrasing of these teachings make it prima facie obvious that the medial voids and the lateral voids define channels can have a generally constant width through the midsole. Voelchert does not teach varying the width of a channel, and does not teach away from a constant channel width.
Claims 3, 15 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voelchert (CH718291A2, of record), as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 9 & 16 respectively, and further in view of Park (US6843000B1, of record). Claim elements are presented in italics.
3. The shoe of claim 1, wherein the plurality of medial voids includes exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids includes exactly three lateral voids.
With respect to claim 3, Voelchert is silent on the plurality of medial voids including exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids including exactly three lateral voids.
However, the prior art of Park teaches an embodiment wherein the plurality of medial voids including exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids including exactly three lateral voids due to the three through-holes (Fig. 14, items 22) in the heel and midfoot regions (Fig. 14, items 22). Park teaches the voids can be applied in different configurations, ‘so that a variety of designs can be made with each having a different cushioning effect’ [Col. 2, lines 43-48].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the Figure 14 midsole embodiment taught by Park, in place of the midsole taught by Voelchert, as desired. This modification would predictably result in a shoe of Voelchert with the Figure 14 midsole cushioning effects and design taught by Park.
15. The shoe of claim 9, wherein the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids are disposed entirely on a heel side of a thinnest portion of the shoe when viewed from above.
With respect to claim 15, Voelchert is silent on the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids being disposed entirely on a heel side of a thinnest portion of the shoe when viewed from above.
However, Park teaches an embodiment (Fig. 10) wherein the plurality of medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids (Fig. 10, three heel through-holes on left) are disposed entirely on a heel side of a thinnest portion of the shoe when viewed from above (See Fig. 8 midsole mold – thinnest section is the midfoot region near the heel region).
Park teaches the voids can be applied in different configurations, ‘so that a variety of designs can be made with each having a different cushioning effect’ [Col. 2, lines 43-48].
Park teaches the midsole voids can be applied in different configurations, with a motivation for their modification being ‘so that a variety of designs can be made with each having a different cushioning effect’ [Col. 2, lines 43-48].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the Figure 10 midsole embodiment taught by Park, in place of the midsole taught by Voelchert, as desired. This modification would predictably result in a shoe of Voelchert with the Figure 10 midsole cushioning effects and design taught by Park.
18. The shoe of claim 16, wherein the plurality of medial voids includes exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids includes exactly three lateral voids.
With respect to claim 18, Voelchert is silent on the plurality of medial voids including exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids including exactly three lateral voids.
However, Park teaches an embodiment wherein the plurality of medial voids including exactly three medial voids and the plurality of lateral voids including exactly three lateral voids due to the three through-holes (Fig. 14, items 22) in the heel and midfoot regions (Fig. 14, items 22). Park teaches the voids can be applied in different configurations, ‘so that a variety of designs can be made with each having a different cushioning effect’ [Col. 2, lines 43-48].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the Figure 14 midsole embodiment taught by Park, in place of the midsole taught by Voelchert, as desired. This modification would predictably result in a shoe of Voelchert with the Figure 14 midsole cushioning effects and design taught by Park.
Claims 6 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voelchert (CH718291A2, of record), as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 & 16 respectively, and further in view of Wan (US20180147803A1, of record). Claim elements are presented in italics.
6. The shoe of claim 1, wherein the first midsole portion is disposed at least partially above the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 6, Voelchert teaches a midsole comprising portions or sections (See Fig. 5b), but does not teach the first midsole portion being disposed at least partially above the second midsole portion. Voelchert does not teach a plurality of materials or a plurality of connected pieces for the midsole.
However, the prior art of Wan teaches a midsole (See Fig. 1) wherein the first midsole portion (Fig. 1, left portion which overlaps the right at the midfoot) is disposed at least partially above the second midsole portion (Fig. 1, right portion) as two bonded preforms [0007]. Wan teaches the two preforms can comprise different materials as desired for comfort [0003] and aesthetic appeal [0005].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the midsole comprising two bonded preforms, taught by Wan, in place of the midsole in the shoe taught by Voelchert. This modification would predictably result in more variability for providing comfort and aesthetic appeal, while the void structure of Voelchert could remain unaffected.
19. The shoe of claim 16, wherein the first midsole portion is disposed at least partially above the second midsole portion.
With respect to claim 19, Voelchert teaches a midsole comprising portions or sections (See Fig. 5b), but does not teach the first midsole portion being disposed at least partially above the second midsole portion. Voelchert does not teach a plurality of materials or a plurality of connected pieces for the midsole.
However, Wan teaches a midsole (See Fig. 1) wherein the first midsole portion (Fig. 1, left portion which overlaps the right at the midfoot) is disposed at least partially above the second midsole portion (Fig. 1, right portion) as two bonded preforms [0007]. Wan teaches the two preforms can comprise different materials as desired for comfort [0003] and aesthetic appeal [0005].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the midsole comprising two bonded preforms, taught by Wan, in place of the midsole in the shoe taught by Voelchert. This modification would predictably result in more variability for providing comfort and aesthetic appeal, while the void structure of Voelchert could remain unaffected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748