DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 52-71 are pending. Claims 1-51 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azizi et al. (US20190364492A1) in view of Thompson (US20170249192A1).
Regarding claim 52, Azizi discloses a method for adapting network performance comprising (para [0290] shows to flexibly adapt bandwidth to communication needs):
determining that media content of interest to a user is available for access (para [1604] shows terminal device 18206 may identify types of multimedia (e.g., media content) that a user of terminal device 18206 frequently accesses);
in response to determining that media content of interest to the user is available for access, identifying a first application, from a plurality of applications on a device of the user, having a higher likelihood of being accessed to retrieve the media content than a second application, from the plurality of applications (para [4133] shows identifying a first application of the one or more applications that is executed more often than a second application of the one or more applications).
Azizi discloses to allocate bandwidth (para [1757]) but fails to teaches in response to identifying the application, increasing a bandwidth associated with the first application.
However, Thompson discloses in response to identifying the application, increasing a bandwidth associated with the first application (para [0005] shows determining a need to download one or more visual assets associated with one or more applications; para [0016] shows each of the applications 124, 126, 128 may perform a variety of tasks, and that such tasks represent different “workloads” to the respective applications 124, 126, 128; para [0020] shows information regarding the most frequently or heavily used applications may be known or determined for a particular use; para [0039] shows the asset registry 320 may include information indicating the most frequently used applications for a particular user (e.g. based on usage history); para [0034] shows the downloading controller 122 may then download (at 206) one or more visual assets at a data transfer rate associated with higher priority data transfers to enable the user to immediately invoke the highest priority workload (e.g., the most frequently used application) without experiencing downloading delays.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Azizi with the teaching of Thompson in order to enable the user to immediately invoke the highest priority workload (e.g., the most frequently used application task) without experiencing downloading delays (Thompson; para [0034]).
Regarding claim 53, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses the computing system to: obtain the additional network data from the network platform data repository, the additional network data including one or more of: platform specific network configurations or network diagrams (Azizi; para [1500] shows a diagram that illustrates aspects of a communications scheme. Network access node 16510 may therefore transmit and receive radio signals with terminal device 16502 according to a multiple access scheme that defines rules and parameters for performing multilateral communications; para [2047] shows mobile infrastructure node 24002 may dynamically activate the mobile infrastructure functions in accordance with a network configuration protocol. Thompson; [Abstract] shows the asset registry is configured to determine a priority ranking based on the prior usage; facilitate downloading of one or more visual assets based on the priority ranking.)
Regarding claim 54, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 53 discloses preprocessing the source network configuration includes executing intent-revealing commands on the one or more devices connected to the first network platform to obtain the network data, the network data including one or more of: routing protocols, access control lists, interface configurations, or a running network configuration (Azizi; para [1604] shows terminal device 18206 may identify types of multimedia (e.g., media content) that a user of terminal device 18206 frequently accesses; para [2047] shows mobile infrastructure node 24002 may dynamically activate the mobile infrastructure functions in accordance with a network configuration protocol.)
Regarding claim 55, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses increasing the bandwidth associated with the first application comprises: determining that a bandwidth consumption of the second application, from the plurality of applications, exceeds a threshold value; and in response to determining that the bandwidth consumption of the second application exceeds the threshold value, pausing a network activity of the second application (Azizi; para [0699] shows triggering criteria can include detecting that the bandwidth actually being used is above or below a certain threshold; para [0755] shows network access node 1510 may delay low priority data bearer to later time slots that have sufficient bandwidth; para [1340] shows control module 13810 may stop limited non-priority service data; para [1227] shows radio communication network 13600 may therefore give priority to data traffic for high priority network bearers.)
Regarding claim 56, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses decreasing the bandwidth associated with the second application proportional to the increased bandwidth associated with the first application (Azizi; para [0699] shows triggering criteria can include detecting that the bandwidth actually being used is above or below a certain threshold; para [0755] shows network access node 1510 may delay low priority data bearer to later time slots that have sufficient bandwidth; para [1340] shows control module 13810 may stop limited non-priority service data; para [1227] shows radio communication network 13600 may therefore give priority to data traffic for high priority network bearers.)
Regarding claim 57, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses determining that the media content of interest to the user is available for access comprises: comparing a set of user preferences to one or more attributes of the media content; and determining that the user preference matches the one or more attributes of the media content (Azizi; para [0039] shows the asset registry 320 may include information indicating the most frequently used for one or more available applications for a particular user (e.g. based on usage history); para [4890] shows obtaining user data content preferences.)
Regarding claim 58, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses determining that the media content of interest to the user is available for access comprises: identifying a geographic location associated with the media content; and determining that the geographic location associated with the media content matches a geographic location of the user (Azizi; para [2043] shows a critical network scenario may be focused in a geographic area.)
Regarding claim 59, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses identifying the first application having the higher likelihood of being accessed to retrieve the media content than the second application comprises (Azizi; para [4133] shows identifying a first application of the one or more applications that is executed more often than a second application of the one or more applications):
identifying a first plurality of characteristics associated with the first application, a second plurality of characteristics associated with the second application, and a characteristics associated with the media content (Azizi; para [1295] shows content (e.g., for popular videos or other multimedia); para [4133] shows identifying a first application of the one or more applications that is executed more often than a second application of the one or more applications); and
determining that the characteristic associated with the media content matches a characteristic from the first plurality of characteristics but does not match any characteristics from the second plurality of characteristics (Azizi; para [1390] shows if the service indicator matches a service indicator of a user-priority service, classification module 15904 may classify the data packet as critical traffic; para [4133] shows identifying a first application of the one or more applications that is executed more often than a second application of the one or more applications.)
Regarding claim 60, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses identifying the first application having the higher likelihood of being accessed to retrieve the media content than the second application comprises: accessing an application usage history from a profile of the user; and determining, based on the application usage history, that the first application has greater usage than the second application (Azizi; para [1604] shows terminal device 18206 may identify types of multimedia (e.g., media content) that a user of terminal device 18206 frequently accesses; para [4133] shows identifying a first application of the one or more applications that is executed more often than a second application of the one or more applications). Thompson; para [0039] shows the asset registry 320 may include information indicating the most frequently used for one or more available applications for a particular user (e.g. based on usage history).)
Regarding claim 61, Azizi-Thompson as applied to claim 52 discloses decreasing the bandwidth associated with the first application in response to detecting an end of an output of the media content by the first application (Azizi; para [1516] shows network access node 16510 may perform distributed-coordinated channel access to access the channel prior to the end of a transmission).
Regarding claims 62-71, claims 62-71 are directed to a system. Claims 62-71 require limitations that are similar to those recited in the method claims 52-61 to carry out the method steps. And since the references of Azizi-Thompson combined teach the method including limitations required to carry out the method steps, therefore claims 62-71 would have also been obvious in view of the structures disclosed in Azizi-Thompson combined.
Furthermore, Azizi-Thompson as combined discloses the system comprising control circuitry (Azizi; para [1241]).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ghandi (US20190132219A1) discloses in para [0037] measurements may be stored in a QoS register 304 that may be utilized by the connection manager 230 in determining which network connections to utilize and/or allocate to which of various bandwidth-consuming applications.
Conclusion
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445