DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s filing of October 3, 2024. Claims 1-15 are presented for examination, with Claims 1 and 15 being in independent form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 3, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0202071 (“Chen”).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a method for temperature compensation (Figs. 5 and 7-9; [0006]-[0022]; [0159]-[0201]), the method comprising:
receiving a target color point for light emitted by at least one light-emitting device (3,4 in Fig. 5; [0117]-[0121]);
determining an operating electrical energy of the at least one light-emitting device based on a correlation of at least one temperature value of the at least one light-emitting device with the received target-color point (using controller 5 in Fig. 5; [0115]); and
operating the at least one light-emitting device based on the determined operating electrical energy (5 in Fig. 5; [0115]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen further discloses wherein the target color point comprises a Tristimulus value for the light emitted by the at least one light-emitting device ([0203]-[0206]).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen further discloses wherein the at least one temperature value is occurring locally at the at least one light-emitting device (junction temperature, [0042]; [0095]; [0123]; [0126]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein the determining further comprises: determining a contribution of each of the at least one light-emitting device to the received target color point (using controller 5 in Fig. 5; [0115]; 3, 4; [0117]-[0121]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen further discloses wherein the contribution depends on a respective peak electrical energy with which each of the respective light-emitting devices is operated ([0209]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein the contribution depends on the at least one temperature value of each of the respective light-emitting devices ([0209]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen further discloses storing the contribution as a function of temperature values of each of the respective light-emitting devices in a look-up table, wherein the look-up table is used for determining the operating electrical energy of each of the at least one light-emitting devices (lock-up table used by controller 5 in Fig. 5; [0115]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen further discloses storing the contribution at a standard temperature of each of the respective light-emitting devices in a vector, wherein the vector is used for determining the operating electrical energy of each of the at least one light-emitting devices ([0168]-[0181]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen further discloses modelling the temperature dependency of the contribution by applying a respective relative deviation to the stored contribution at the standard temperature ([0168]-[0181]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen further discloses wherein the standard temperature is 25°C ([0168]-[0181]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen further discloses wherein each relative deviation depends on the at least one temperature value of the respective light-emitting device ([0200]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen further discloses wherein the correlation is constituted by a linear system of equations ([0168]-[0181]; [0194]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen further discloses wherein the received target color point comprises a brightness of the light emitted by the at least one light-emitting device ([0008]; [0117]-[0121]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen further discloses wherein the at least one light-emitting device comprises at least of a red light-emitting diode, LED, a green light-emitting diode, LED, and a blue light-emitting diode, LED (RGB LEDs; [0205]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen discloses an apparatus for temperature compensation of at least one light-emitting device (Figs. 5 and 7-9; [0006]-[0022]; [0159]-[0201]), the apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit for receiving a target color point for light emitted by the at least one light-emitting device (3, 4 in Fig. 5; [017]-[0121]);
a determination unit for determining an operating electrical energy of the at least one light-emitting device based on a correlation of at least one temperature value of the at least one light-emitting device with the received target color point (using controller 5 in Fig. 5; [0115]); and
an operating unit for operating the at least one light-emitting device based on the determined operating electrical energy (5 in Fig. 5; [0115]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 6,441,558 (“Muthu”) relates to a white LED luminary light control system.
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844