DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 10546862) [Hereinafter Yang].
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches A microelectronic device, comprising:
a semiconductor base structure [fig. 1A, semiconductor base 14, para 9] comprising pillar structures [fig. 1A, active regions 12, para 9] horizontally separated from one another by filled isolation trenches [fig. 1A, insulative material 18, para 11];
word lines [fig. 1C, wordlines 20, para 12] horizontally extending through the pillar structures (fig. 1C, 12) and the filled isolation trenches (fig. 1C, 18) in a first direction (fig. 1C, x-axis);
digit line contacts [fig. 1B, conductive material 26, para 14] comprising conductively doped semiconductor material [para 26, “the conductive material 26 may comprise a doped semiconductor material”] vertically extending into digit line contact sections [fig. 1B, digit line contract region 32, para 15] of the pillar structures (fig. 1B, 12);
digit lines [fig. 1B, conductive material 28, para 14] over and in contact with the digit line contacts (fig. 1B, 26) and horizontally extending in a second direction (fig. 1B, y-direction) orthogonal to the first direction (fig. 1B, x-direction),
the digit lines having a different material composition than the digit line contacts [para 14, “the conductive material 28 may be a metal-containing material . . . and the conductive material 26 may comprise a doped semiconductor material . . .”]; and
storage node contacts [fig. 1A, conductive material 54, para 27] comprising additional conductively doped semiconductor material [para 27, “The conductive material 54 may comprise . . . conductively-doped semiconductor materials (e.g., conductively-doped silicon, conductively-doped germanium, etc.)”] vertically extending into storage node contact sections of the pillar structures (fig. 1A, 12).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches The microelectronic device of claim 1,
wherein the digit lines respectively comprise one or more of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, and titanium nitride [Yang, para 17].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1 & 9 and further in view of Bhattacharyya (US 2007/0034922) [Hereinafter Bhattacharyya].
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches The microelectronic device of claim 1,
the pillar structures (fig. 1A, 12) individually having one of the digit line contact sections (fig. 1A, 28) and two of the storage node contact sections (fig. 1A, 54) within the additional region thereof.
Yang fails to explicitly disclose a well region comprising further conductively doped semiconductor material; and
an additional region vertically overlying the well region.
However Bhattacharyya teaches a well region [fig. 1, p-well 101, para 24] comprising further conductively doped semiconductor material [p-type silicon]; and
an additional region [fig. 1, pillar 103, para 29] vertically overlying the well region (fig. 1, 101).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a well region below the additional region of the channel layer to suppress the floating body effect and reduce leakage thereby enhancing the reliability of the device.
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang & Bhattacharyya as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2016/0027644).
Regarding claim 3, Yang/ Bhattacharyya teaches The microelectronic device of claim 2.
Yang/ Bhattacharyya fails to explicitly disclose wherein the additional region comprises semiconductor material including less than about 1 x 1017 atoms of any conductivity enhancing dopant per cubic centimeter (cm3).
However Tsai teaches wherein the additional region [fig. 8, undoped device channel 807, para 38] comprises semiconductor material including less than about 1 x 1017 atoms of any conductivity enhancing dopant per cubic centimeter (cm3) [para 38, “thus the active device channel 807 , has a dopant concentration of less than about 1×1017 cm−3”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the additional region to comprise undoped material to mitigate carrier channel scattering thereby enhancing the performance of the device.
Regarding claim 4, Yang/ Bhattacharyya teaches The microelectronic device of claim 2.
Yang/ Bhattacharyya fails to explicitly disclose wherein the additional region comprises substantially undoped semiconductor material.
However Tsai teaches wherein the additional region [fig. 8, undoped device channel 807, para 38] comprises substantially undoped semiconductor material [para 38].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the additional region to comprise undoped material to mitigate carrier channel scattering thereby enhancing the performance of the device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang & Bhattacharyya as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Zhang (CN 111430449A).
Regarding claim 5, Yang/Bhattacharyya teaches The microelectronic device of claim 2.
While Bhattacharyya notes the well region (fig. 1, 101) to comprise a silicon p-well.
Bhattacharyya is silent regarding the dopant of the well region.
Therefore Yang/Bhattacharyya fails to explicitly disclose wherein the further conductively doped semiconductor material of the well region comprises polycrystalline silicon doped with one or more of boron, aluminum, and gallium.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the further conductively doped semiconductor material of the well region comprises polycrystalline silicon doped with one or more of boron, aluminum, and gallium [ “A first mask layer (such as silicon dioxide, or photoresist, or polysilicon layer, or a nitride layer, such as silicon nitride) is formed in the well region 3” . . . the second conductivity type is P type, the dopant can be aluminum, boron, gallium, and the doping concentration is 1x1016cm-3-5x1017cm-3”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the device to comprise polysilicon in the well region wherein it is well known in the art to use aluminum, boron, or gallium for P-type doping for silicon manufacturing as they integrate smoothly into the silicon crystal lattice with reliable and predictable diffusion rates.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1 & 9 and further in view of Wu et al (US 5629546A).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches The microelectronic device of claim 1.
While Yang notes the digit line contacts and storage node are conductively doped semiconductor material.
Yang is silent regarding the dopant concentration of the material.
Therefore Yang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the conductively doped semiconductor material of the digit line contacts and the additional conductively doped semiconductor material of the storage node contacts respectively have a dopant concentration within a range of from about 1 x 1017 atoms of dopant per cubic centimeter (cm3) to about 1 x 1021 atoms of dopant per cm3.
However Wu teaches wherein the conductively doped semiconductor material of the digit line contacts and the additional conductively doped semiconductor material of the storage node contacts respectively have a dopant concentration within a range of from about 1 x 1017 atoms of dopant per cubic centimeter (cm3) to about 1 x 1021 atoms of dopant per cm3 [“a memory node having an average n-type dopant concentration of at least 1x1019 ions/cm3, and a digit line node having an average n-type dopant concentration of at least 1x1019 ions/cm3.”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the dopant concentration of the storage node and the digit line node to be at least 1x1019 ions/cm3 as disclosed by Wu wherein the claimed range overlaps the ranges disclosed by Wu. Thereby In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1 & 9 and further in view of Lee et al. (US 5306951) & Gonzalez (US 6096596A).
Regarding claim 7 Yang teaches The microelectronic device of claim 1.
Yang notes the digit line contact (26) to comprise n-type silicon (para 17) and the storage node contacts (54) to comprise conductively doped silicon (para 30).
Yang is silent regarding the digit line contacts being polycrystalline silicon and the storage node being n-type polycrystalline silicon.
Therefore Yang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the conductively doped semiconductor material of the digit line contacts and the additional conductively doped semiconductor material of the storage node contacts respectively comprise N+ polycrystalline silicon.
Lee teaches “Polycrystalline silicon is a material which is widely used to form the digit lines due to its conductive properties.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize polycrystalline silicon as the material for the digit lines due to its conductive properties as taught by Lee.
Gonzalez teaches “the N+ doped polysilicon layer to form a structure having vertical sidewalls above each word line, the structure being referred to as a storage node”
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the storage node to comprise N+ doped polysilicon due to its high electrical conductivity to quickly transfer, absorb, or discharge electrons during read/write cycles thereby enhancing the performance of the device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0358919) & Yang.
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches An electronic system, comprising:
an input device [fig. 4, input device 406, para 90];
an output device [fig. 4, output device 408, para 90];
a processor device [fig. 4, processor device 404, para 89] operably coupled to the input device (fig. 4, 406) and the output device (fig. 4, 408); and
a memory device [fig. 4, memory device 402, para 89] operably coupled to the processor device (fig. 4, 404) and comprising at least one microelectronic device structure [para 89, “At least one of the processor device 404 and the memory device 402 may include, e.g., an embodiment of the microelectronic device structure 224 (FIG. 2F), microelectronic device structure 316 (FIG. 3D), or arrays of any thereof.”].
Kim fails to explicitly disclose pillar structures horizontally separated from one another by insulative structures and respectively comprising:
a P-well; and
substantially undoped polysilicon vertically overlying the P-well;
word lines extending through the pillar structures and the insulative structures in a first horizontal direction;
digit line contacts comprising N+ polysilicon vertically extending into digit line contact sections within the substantially undoped polysilicon of the pillar structures;
digit lines comprising metallic material on the N+ polysilicon of the digit line contacts and extending in a second horizontal direction orthogonal to the first horizontal direction; and
storage node contacts comprising additional N+ polysilicon vertically extending into storage node contact sections within the substantially undoped polysilicon of the pillar structures.
However Yang teaches pillar structures [fig. 1A, active regions 12, para 9] horizontally separated from one another by insulative structures [fig. 1A, insulative material 18, para 11] -and respectively comprising:
word lines [fig. 1C, wordlines 20, para 12] extending through the pillar structures (fig. 1C, 12) and the insulative structures (fig. 1C, 18) in a first horizontal direction (fig. 1C, x-axis);
digit line contacts [fig. 1B, conductive material 26, para 14] comprising N+ polysilicon vertically extending into digit line contact sections [fig. 1B, digit line contract region 32, para 15] within pillar structures;
digit lines comprising metallic material [fig. 1B, conductive material 28, para 14] on the digit line contacts and extending in a second horizontal direction (y-axis) orthogonal to the first horizontal direction (x-axis); and
storage node contacts [fig. 1A, conductive material 54, para 27] vertically extending into storage node contact sections within the substantially undoped polysilicon of the pillar structures (fig. 1A, 12).
Kim/Yang fails to explicitly disclose a P-well; and
substantially undoped polysilicon vertically overlying the P-well.
However Bhattacharyya teaches a well region [fig. 1, p-well 101, para 24] comprising further conductively doped semiconductor material [p-type silicon]; and
an additional region [fig. 1, pillar 103, para 29] vertically overlying the well region (fig. 1, 101).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a well region below the additional region of the channel layer to suppress the floating body effect and reduce leakage thereby enhancing the reliability of the device.
Tsai teaches wherein the additional region [fig. 8, undoped device channel 807, para 38] comprises semiconductor material including less than about 1 x 1017 atoms of any conductivity enhancing dopant per cubic centimeter (cm3) [para 38, “thus the active device channel 807 , has a dopant concentration of less than about 1×1017 cm−3”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the additional region to comprise undoped material to mitigate carrier channel scattering thereby enhancing the performance of the device.
While Yang notes the digit line contacts and storage node are conductively doped semiconductor material.
Yang/Bhattacharyya/Tsai is silent regarding the storage node and digit line contact comprises N doping.
However Wu teaches wherein the storage node contacts and the digit line contacts comprise N doping [“a memory node having an average n-type dopant concentration of at least 1x1019 ions/cm3, and a digit line node having an average n-type dopant concentration of at least 1x1019 ions/cm3.”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the digit line contacts and storage node contacts to comprise N-doping to minimize contact resistance thereby enabling rapid memory operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are allowed.
Claims 8 & 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Yang/Lee/Gonzalez teaches The microelectronic device of claim 7.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein the digit line contact sections and the storage node contact sections of the pillar structures do not comprise N+ polycrystalline silicon.
Thereby claim 8 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches The microelectronic device of claim 1.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose insulative capping structures on upper surfaces of the word lines,
lower boundaries of the digit line contacts and the storage node contacts vertically positioned between upper boundaries and lower boundaries of the insulative capping structures.
Thereby claim 10 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812