DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
2. This action responds to the remarks filed on 09-03-2026. Claims 1-12 have been cancelled and claims 13-32 have been added. Claims 13-32 are pending.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 13-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,349. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the current (18/905,912) claim limitations are broader than claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,349 as shown in the table below.
Instant Application No. 18/529,822
US PAT. 12,121,349
13. (new) A device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; a processor operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising :receiving an audio signal; determining whether a quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting a hearing test, and if not then selecting another audio signal; determining whether an earphone for administering the hearing test is correctly fitted to a user, and if not then informing the user to re- seat the earphone; determining whether ambient sound conditions about the earphone are suitable for the hearing test, and if not then informing the user to wait or re-locate; and conducting the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals.
1. A device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; a processor operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: receiving an audio signal; determining if a quality of the received audio signal is suitable for conducting an HSTF test; determining if an earphone or headphone used for administering the HSTF test is correctly fitted to a user; determining if ambient sound conditions about the earphone or headphone are suitable for an HSTF test; and generating a frequency dependent HSTF, where the frequency dependent HSTF is a sound pressure level (SPL) value for each center frequency band, where the SPL value is equal to an audible loudness level for that frequency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 13-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tiscareno et al.(US 2013/0170656).in view of Fausti (US 2013/0274628).
Consider Claim 13, Tiscareno teaches a device comprising:
a memory(see figs.1-2(11,24)) configured to store instructions; a processor operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform operations (see figs. 1-2(28,34) and paragraph [0033]);comprising:
receiving (see figs. 1(24,10)) an audio signal; determining whether a quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting a hearing test(such as test tone and paragraph[0055]), and if not then selecting another audio signal( such as, adjust volume, adjust equalization, see in fig. 10(116), fig. 11(124), fig.12(134)) paragraph[0058],0064],[0046],[0047][0078])(see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]);
determining(see figs. 10-12) whether an earphone for administering the hearing test is correctly fitted to a user(se figs. 5-7), and if not then informing the user to re- seat the earphone(see figs. 3-4);
determining(see figs. 5-12) whether ambient sound conditions about the earphone are suitable for the hearing test, and if not then informing the user (such as, alert, warning signal, in fig. 10(116), fig. 11(124), fig.12(134)) to wait or re-locate(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]); but Tisareno does not explicitly teach conducting(see figs.1- 5) the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals.
However, Fausti teaches conducting(see fig. 1) the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals(such as filter signal frequency from 500 HZ(min) to filter signal 2528 HZ (max), indicate each frequency, in fig. 2A) see fig. 2 A to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals(see fig. 1)(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0072]- [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention to use the configuration of the invention of Fausti into the teaching of Lee to provide monitoring or testing the hearing of a user using a portable unit include presenting a plurality of test frequencies for selection by a user and storing data about those frequencies, and the user's response to stimuli presented at those frequencies, and comparing the stored data to previously acquired hearing data. Using mathematical prediction algorithms, changes in baseline hearing values can be used to identify potential hearing issues, especially hearing issues associated with ototoxicity.
Consider Claims 14 and 15, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the device wherein to determine whether the quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting the hearing test, the processor is configured to: determine a Power Spectral Density (PSD) or a dynamic range of the audio signal(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]); and the device wherein at least one of i) the dynamic range is less than a predetermined amount or ii) the PSD is greater than a predetermined amount, in a frequency region over which the hearing test is conducted, for the quality of the audio signal to be suitable for conducting the hearing test(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]).
Consider Claims 16 and 17, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the device wherein the processor conducts the hearing test using a Modified Hughson-Westlake method(In Fausti, see figs. 2-17 and paragraphs[0234]- [0235]); and the device wherein the processor conducts the hearing test by determining the minimum presentation level based on the user touching the earphone to signify the user can hear a presented signal (In Faushi, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0072]- [0078]).
Consider Claims 18 and 19, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the device wherein the processor conducts the hearing test by determining the minimum presentation level based on the user using a graphical user interface on a mobile computing device as an input device to indicate when the user can hear a presented signal(In Faushi, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0072]- [0078]); and the device wherein the audio signal is an audio file received in the earphone from a wired or wirelessly connected mobile computing device, and the audio file was selected from a list of files by the user using a graphical display on the mobile computing device(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0031]- [0033]).
Consider Claims 20 and 21, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the device wherein the audio signal is a streamed portion of an audio file that is stored in a wired or wirelessly connected mobile computing device(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0031]- [0033]); and the device wherein to determine whether the ambient sound conditions are suitable the processor: estimates a frequency weighted sound pressure level in an ear canal of the user; compares the frequency weighted sound pressure level with a reference level; and if the frequency weighted sound pressure level is less than the reference level, the hearing test is not conducted(In Faushi, see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0072]- [0078]).
Consider Claim 22, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the device wherein to determine whether the earphone is correctly fitted the processor: emits a presented signal from a speaker of the earphone; measures the presented signal using a microphone of the earphone to generate a microphone signal; and informs the user that an ear seal is not good based on comparing the microphone signal to a reference signal(see figs. 3-12 and paragraphs[0044]- [0055]).
Consider Claim 23, Tiscareno teaches a non-transitory memory comprising instructions stored therein that when executed by a processor(see figs. 1-2(28,34) and paragraph [0033]):
receiving (see figs. 1(24,10)) an audio signal; determining whether a quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting a hearing test(such as test tone and paragraph[0055]), and if not then selecting another audio signal( such as, adjust volume, adjust equalization, see in fig. 10(116), fig. 11(124), fig.12(134)) paragraph[0058],0064],[0046],[0047][0078])(see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]);
determining(see figs. 10-12) whether an earphone for administering the hearing test is correctly fitted to a user(se figs. 5-7), and if not then informing the user to re- seat the earphone(see figs. 3-4);
determining(see figs. 5-12) whether ambient sound conditions about the earphone are suitable for the hearing test, and if not then informing the user (such as, alert, warning signal, in fig. 10(116), fig. 11(124), fig.12(134)) to wait or re-locate(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]); but Tisareno does not explicitly teach conducting(see figs.1- 5) the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals.
However, Fausti teaches conducting(see fig. 1) the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals(such as filters signal frequency from 500 HZ(min) to filters signal 2528 HZ (max), indicate each frequency in fig. 2A) see fig. 2A to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals(see fig. 1)(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0072]- [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention to use the configuration of the invention of Fausti into the teaching of Lee to provide monitoring or testing the hearing of a user using a portable unit include presenting a plurality of test frequencies for selection by a user and storing data about those frequencies, and the user's response to stimuli presented at those frequencies, and comparing the stored data to previously acquired hearing data. Using mathematical prediction algorithms, changes in baseline hearing values can be used to identify potential hearing issues, especially hearing issues associated with ototoxicity.
Consider Claim 24, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the non-transitory memory wherein the instructions configure the processor to determine whether the quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting the hearing test, by the processor determining a Power Spectral Density (PSD) or a dynamic range of the audio signal(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0041]- [0047]).
Consider Claims 25 and 26, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the non-transitory memory wherein at least one of i) the dynamic range is less than a predetermined amount or ii) the PSD is greater than a predetermined amount, in a frequency region over which the hearing test is conducted, for the quality of the audio signal to be suitable for conducting the hearing test(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0041]- [0047]); and the non-transitory memory wherein the instructions configure the processor to conduct the hearing test using a Modified Hughson-Westlake method(In Fausti, see figs. 2-17 and paragraphs[0234]- [0235])
Consider Claims 27 and 28, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the non-transitory memory wherein the instructions configure the processor to conduct the hearing test by determining the minimum presentation level based on the user touching the earphone to signify the user can hear a presented signal(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0041]- [0044]); and the non-transitory memory wherein the instructions configure the processor to conduct the hearing test by determining the minimum presentation level based on the user using a graphical user interface on a mobile computing device as an input device to indicate when the user can hear a presented signal(see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0031]- [0033]).
Consider Claims 29 and 30, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the non-transitory memory wherein the audio signal is an audio file received in the earphone from a wired or wirelessly connected mobile computing device, and the audio file was selected from a list of files by the user using a graphical display on the mobile computing device(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0031]- [0033]).
Consider Claims 30 and 31, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the non-transitory memory wherein the audio signal is a streamed portion of an audio file that is stored in a wired or wirelessly connected mobile computing device(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0031]- [0033]); and the non-transitory memory wherein to determine whether the ambient sound conditions are suitable, the instructions configure the processor to: estimate a frequency weighted sound pressure level in an ear canal of the user; compare the frequency weighted sound pressure level with a reference level; and if the frequency weighted sound pressure level is less than the reference level, the hearing test is not conducted(see figs. 3-12 and paragraphs[0041]- [0044]).
Consider Claim 32, Tiscareno as modified by Fausti teaches the non-transitory memory wherein to determine whether the earphone is correctly fitted, the instructions configure the processor to: emit a presented signal from a speaker of the earphone; measure the presented signal using a microphone of the earphone to generate a microphone signal; and inform the user that an ear seal is not good based on comparing the microphone signal to a reference signal(see figs. 3-12 and paragraphs[0041]- [0044]).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 09-03-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
.Applicant argued that “the Fausti hearing testing system and Tiscareno earbud fit detection technique, fail to teach “receiving an audio signal; determining whether a quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting a hearing test, and if not then selecting another audio signal;
conducting the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals” as recited in claim 1(see the remarks page 7 last paragraph).
The examiner disagrees that argument respectfully. Tiscareno disclose receiving (see figs. 1(24,10)) an audio signal; determining whether a quality of the audio signal is suitable for conducting a hearing test(such as test tone and paragraph[0055]), and if not then selecting another audio signal( such as, adjust volume, adjust equalization, see in fig. 10(116), fig. 11(124), fig.12(134)) paragraph[0058],0064],[0046],[0047][0078])(see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]);
determining(see figs. 10-12) whether an earphone for administering the hearing test is correctly fitted to a user(se figs. 5-7), and if not then informing the user to re- seat the earphone(see figs. 3-4);
determining(see figs. 5-12) whether ambient sound conditions about the earphone are suitable for the hearing test, and if not then informing the user (such as, alert, warning signal, in fig. 10(116), fig. 11(124), fig.12(134)) to wait or re-locate(see figs. 5-12 and paragraphs[0042]- [0047]).
On the other hand, Fausti discloses conducting(see fig. 1) the hearing test using the audio signal, by presenting a plurality of filtered audio signals(such as filter signal frequency from 500 HZ(min) to filter signal 2528 HZ (max), indicate each filter frequency, in fig. 2A) see fig. 2 A to determine a minimum presentation level at which the user can hear each of the plurality of filtered audio signals(see fig. 1)(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0072]- [0078]). The combination meets the limitation as recited in claim 13.
Applicant further argued that In other words, the operating principle of Tiscareno would be destroyed by combining it with the clinical monitoring and healthcare provider reporting system of Fausti(see the remarks page 9, 1st paragraph).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Tiscareno and Fausti teach headset relate to hearing fitting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention to use the configuration of the invention of Fausti into the teaching of Lee to provide monitoring or testing the hearing of a user using a portable unit include presenting a plurality of test frequencies for selection by a user and storing data about those frequencies, and the user's response to stimuli presented at those frequencies, and comparing the stored data to previously acquired hearing data. Using mathematical prediction algorithms, changes in baseline hearing values can be used to identify potential hearing issues, especially hearing issues associated with ototoxicity.
Independent Claim 23 is similar to Claim 13 and is also rejected. The 103 rejection for dependent claims will be maintained.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Stafford et al. (US 2013/0279724) is cited to show other related the METHOD TO ESTIMATE HEARING IMPAIRMENT COMPENSATION FUNCTION.
12. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 10-02-2026