DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 4-7) in the reply filed on 22 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3 and 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 June 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is: exterior mechanism in claim 5.
Claim 5 function: ‘fixating into bone.’
Corresponding structure: [0075; Fig. 18] The claim is construed to cover this structure and equivalents.
If applicant believes ‘exterior mechanism’ connotes sufficient structure, applicant is invited to amend (e.g., ‘exterior threading’) or provide evidence that the term is understood as structural by a POSITA. If the specification lacks structure linked to the function, claims 4-7 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite for failure to disclose corresponding structure for a §112(f) limitation. See MPEP § 2181(II)(B).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dreyfuss (US 2010/0249833A1) in view of Hendricksen et al. (US 2010/0292733A1, “Hendricksen”).
Regarding claim 4, Dreyfuss discloses a method of performing a surgical procedure including performing a rotator cuff repair (abs) using a suture anchor (90). A suture (31) is fixated from a graft (30) to the suture anchor (Fig. 2). However, Dreyfuss does not disclose that the suture is fixed to the suture anchor using a second anchor.
In the same field of endeavor, rotator cuff repair, Hendricksen teaches suture anchor system including an outer anchor (first anchor; 62) and an inner anchor (second anchor; 66) that is disposed within the outer anchor (Fig. 6; [0095]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled a second suture anchor to the first suture anchor of Dreyfuss, as taught by Hendricksen, for the predictable result of connecting an anchor system from a graft to a suture anchor with the advantage of knotless suturing during rotator cuff repair.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dreyfuss and Hendricksen discloses that the suture anchor includes an exterior mechanism (Fig. 1) for fixating into bone and a cannula (Fig. 1; [0017]) into which the second anchor can be placed.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dreyfuss and Hendricksen discloses that the suture anchor includes polyetheretherketone [0115].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dreyfuss and Hendricksen discloses that the second anchor is capable of being inserted into the suture anchor to orient the second anchor properly for fixation, wherein Hendricksen teaches a cavity or cannula within the first anchor and into which the second anchor is properly oriented and disposed (Fig. 10). However, the combination of Dreyfuss and Hendricksen does not disclose that the second anchor includes an unthreaded section. Hendricksen teaches a second anchor including threads (7714) that engage corresponding surface features (7724) on the inner surface of the outer anchor (7702; Fig. 52B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled a second suture anchor to the first suture anchor of Dreyfuss, with threading as taught by Hendricksen, for the predictable result of securely connecting the first suture anchor to the second suture anchor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kaiser et al. (US 2008/0255613A1) discloses a two-suture anchor knotless system including suture anchors formed of PEEK.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771