DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/905,928. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18 are pending in the application. Claims 15-18 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The applicant’s amendment filed September 14, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because claim 1 requires both of a composition “consisting of” and a base resin “comprising.” Since the term “comprising” allows additional components, the scope of the claim is unclear. For the purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted to allow additional components in the resin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Choi et al (US 2022/0356343).
Choi et al teaches a conductive resin composition comprising 100 parts by weight of a base resin (par. 14). The base resin comprises polyarylene ether, aromatic elastomer and polyamide (par. 14, 36). The composition includes 3-12 parts by weight of two or more polyfunctional reaction agents (par. 14). The polyfunctional agent includes polyphenylene ether (a polyarylene ether) modified by maleic acid (par. 56-57). The composition includes 0.1-3 parts by weight of carbon nanotubes (par. 14). The composition further includes 0.5-8 parts by weight bisphenol A epoxy resin (par. 63). Bisphenol A epoxy is an aromatic phenol resin.
The base resin contains 15-60 % by weight polyarylene ether (par. 40) and 1-30 % by weight aromatic elastomer (par. 49). In an example, the base resin contains 50 % by weight of polyamide (Table 2). The aromatic elastomer includes styrene-based rubber (par. 48).
The term “pre-mixed as a masterbatch” is merely a definition of a masterbatch as comprising modified polyarylene ether and carbon nanotubes. The order of mixing the components into the composition is a product by process limitation. Since the prior art composition includes all of the required components, the product by process limitation regarding pre-mixing a masterbatch is satisfied.
The carbon nanotubes have a BET surface area of 180-600 m2/g (par. 71). The composition has a water absorption rate of 0.1 % (par. 17). The composition has a heat distortion temperature of 180 C or higher (par. 101).
The amount of polyphenylene oxide functionalized with maleic acid (multi-carboxylic acid) is 1-10 parts per 100 parts base resin (par. 62). When the amount of polyphenylene oxide functionalized with maleic acid is 1 part per hundred base resin, the amount of maleic acid is necessarily less than 1 % by weight. The polyfunctional reaction agent comprises carboxyl group and epoxy group (par. 54).
Claim 10: Choi et al is silent with respect to the softening point of the aromatic phenol resin. However, Choi et al teaches the same aromatic phenol resin as the claimed invention. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed softening point to naturally occur.
Claim 13: Choi et al is silent with respect to the volume resistance of the composition. However, Choi et al teaches the claimed conductive resin composition, including the conductive carbon nanotubes and amount thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed volume resistance to naturally arise.
Claim 14: Choi et al is silent with respect to the flow index of the composition. However, Choi et al teaches the claimed conductive resin composition, including all of the components and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed flow index to naturally arise.
In the event that the above disclosure is not sufficiently specific to anticipate the above listed claims, the examiner submits that the selection of the instantly claimed components and resultant properties would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since Choi et al teaches a conductive resin composition comprising each of the claimed components within the claimed ranges.
Response to Arguments
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment. Claim 1 requires both of a composition “consisting of” and a base resin “comprising.” Since the term “comprising” allows additional components, the scope of the claim is unclear. For the purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted to allow additional components in the resin.
Examiner’s Information