Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins et al. US publication no.: US 2015/0030469 A1 in view of Fessel US publication no.: US 2019/0154045 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Hopkins et al. teach, A method for controlling an array of fans (see figures 3-12 and paragraphs 64-71, where a control for an array of fans is disclosed), the method comprising: generating an airflow corresponding to an operational setpoint (see paragraphs 73-75, where generating an airflow pattern for the corresponding fan set up is disclosed), comprising operating a fan array at a first fan speed, the fan array comprising a first fan array configuration of a plurality of fans comprising a number, N, of enabled fans (see figure 34 and paragraphs 106 and 123-126, where there are disclosed a RPM testing for a N number of fan units); determining an efficiency of the first evaluation fan and an efficiency of the second evaluation fan based on input power supplied to the first and second evaluation fans (see “motor efficiency”, figure 33 and 34 and paragraphs 111-126); determining a second fan speed for a second fan array configuration with N+1 enabled fans; determining a third fan speed for a third fan array configuration with N−1 enabled fans (see paragraphs 111-126 and figures 33-34, where it can be inferred from these paragraphs that the number of fans can be N or N+1 or N-1 and optimal efficiency is desired and the number of fans utilized can be adjusted); selecting the first, second, or third fan array configuration based on the efficiencies determined for the first and second evaluation fans (see paragraph 126, where “selection” feature is disclosed based on the plurality of fan array configuration); and implementing the selected one of the first, second, and third fan array configurations, comprising enabling and/or disabling one or more of the plurality of fans according to the selected fan array configuration (see paragraphs 114-116 and step 320 and 324, figure 33).
Hopkins et al. is silent on specifically teaching selecting a first evaluation fan and a second evaluation fan from among the N enabled fans.
However, Fessel is in the same field of art and teach: selecting a first evaluation fan and a second evaluation fan from among the N enabled fans (see claim 1 and 27 where the evaluation Is divided into two groups of fan).
In view of Fessel’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Hopkins et al. to include; selecting a first evaluation fan and a second evaluation fan from among the N enabled fans, for the purpose of achieving efficiency.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Hopkins et al. teach, the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the first, second, or third fan array configuration comprises selecting the second fan array configuration, wherein implementing the second fan array configuration comprises enabling one of the plurality of fans, and operating the enabled fans at the second fan speed (see paragraphs 114-116 and step 320 and 324, figure 33).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Hopkins et al. teach, the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the first, second, or third fan array configuration comprises selecting the third fan array configuration, wherein implementing the third fan array configuration comprises disabling one of the plurality of fans, and operating the enabled fans at the third fan speed (see paragraphs 114-116 and step 320 and 324, figure 33).
Regarding claim 4, Hopkins et al. teach, the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the first, second, or third fan array configuration comprises selecting the first fan array configuration, wherein implementing the first fan array comprises maintaining the currently enabled fans and operating the enabled fans at the first fan speed (see paragraphs 114-116 and step 320 and 324, figure 33).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Hopkins et al. teach, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the efficiency of the first evaluation fan and the efficiency of the second evaluation fan comprises operating the first and second evaluation fans at the second and third fan speeds, respectively, and measuring the input power supplied to the first and second evaluation fans (see figures 33 and 34 and paragraphs 114-116 and 123).
Regarding claim 6, Hopkins et al. teaches motor efficiency as seen in figures 33-34 and paragraphs 114-116, teaches calculation for total static pressure and power as seen in paragraph 119 but is silent on specifically teaching , the method of claim 5, further comprising determining the efficiency of the first evaluation fan and the efficiency of the second evaluation fan with the relationship Air Flor Rate X Static pressure / Measured Fan power.
However, calculating motor efficiency utilizing the specific formula above could’ve easily been derived given the teachings of Hopkins et al. as seen in figures 33-34 and paragraphs 111-126.
In view of Hopkins et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include; further comprising determining the efficiency of the first evaluation fan and the efficiency of the second evaluation fan with the relationship Air Flor Rate X Static pressure / Measured Fan power, for the purpose of increasing motor efficiency.
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Hopkins et al. teach, the method of claim 5, further comprising operating the remaining N enabled fans of the fan array at the first fan speed while operating the first and second evaluation fans at the second and third fan speeds, respectively (see paragraphs 117 where different groups of fans are operated at different speeds eg. 2000 RPM and 3000 RPM).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Hopkins et al. teach, the method of claim 1, wherein enabling one or more of the fans comprises turning on one or more of the fans, and wherein disabling one or more the fans comprises turning off one or more of the fans (see paragraph 131 and figure 6).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 18-19, Hopkins et al. teach enabling and disabling fan units electrically as seen in figure 36-37 and paragraph 131-138 but silent on specifically teaching, the method of claim 1, wherein enabling one or more of the fans comprises mechanically integrating one or more of the fans, and wherein disabling one or more the fans comprises mechanically isolating one or more of the fans; wherein mechanically isolating one or more of the fans comprises operating the one or more fans in a standby state.
However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, of “mechanically integrating” or “mechanically isolating” the selected fan units from the operative fan array can be achieved by one with the ordinary skills in the art through a routine experiment and doesn’t involve inventive skills.
In view of Hopkins et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include; wherein enabling one or more of the fans comprises mechanically integrating one or more of the fans, and wherein disabling one or more the fans comprises mechanically isolating one or more of the fans; wherein mechanically isolating one or more of the fans comprises operating the one or more fans in a standby state., for the purpose of increasing motor efficiency.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins et al. US publication no.: US 2015/0030469 A1 in view of Fessel US publication no.: US 2019/0154045 A1 and further in view of Lepoudre US publication no.: US 2020/0096212 A1.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Hopkins et al. as modified is silent on specifically teaching, the method of claim 10, wherein operating the one or more fans in the standby state comprises reducing the fan speed to close a damper.
Lepoudre is in the same field of art and teach, wherein operating the one or more fans in the standby state comprises reducing the fan speed to close a damper.
In view of Lepoudre’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Hopkins et al. as modified to include; wherein operating the one or more fans in the standby state comprises reducing the fan speed to close a damper, for the purpose of improving the control of the fan array system.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2837