DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 6/11/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4, 8, 9, 12-16, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2)as being anticipated by Janesky US 5881762 (“Janesky”).
Regarding Claim 1, Janesky discloses a water containment system (10, fig. 1) comprising: a peripheral dam (10) formed of one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (11, 12) that are configured to be secured in an assembled position in use around a water tank (23, see fig. 3), the peripheral dam (10) defining an open tank-valve-or-pit-receiving base; and a drain port (21, col. 2 lines 51-58 describes the drain port 21 and drain hose 22) defined in the peripheral dam (10).
Regarding Claim 2, Janesky discloses the peripheral dam (10) forms a ring when in the assembled position (see fig. 3) (col. 2 lines 29-40 and col. 2 lines 66- col. 3 line 8 describe the peripheral dam and its wall sections).
Regarding Claim 3, Janesky discloses the peripheral dam (10) is formed of a split ring (see fig. 1 with splits 17, 18, 19, and 20) (col. 2 lines 29-40 and col. 2 lines 66- col. 3 line 8 describe the peripheral dam and its wall sections).
Regarding Claim 4, Janesky discloses the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (11, 12) comprise flexible or resilient extruded sections (“present assemblies preferably are molded from synthetic thermoplastic molding compositions such as of polyethylene, polypropylene, polyacrylamide, polyvinyl chloride, polyacrylic esters, or the like or from lightweight polymer foams such as of polystyrene, phenolic resin, polyurethane resin, or the like.” Col. 2 lines 59-65).
Regarding Claim 8, Janesky discloses the peripheral dam comprises a drain wall section (12) that defines the drain port (21) (21, col. 2 lines 51-58 describes the drain port 21 and drain hose 22).
Regarding Claim 9, Janesky discloses axial ends of the drain wall section (12) are configured to, in the assembled position (fig 3), mate with axial ends of adjacent of the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (11)(wall section 11 end 19A mates with drain wall section 12 end 20A, and wall section 11 end 17A mates with drain wall section 12 end 18A, see fig. 1 and col. 2 lines 29-40).
Regarding Claim 12, Janesky discloses the drain port is formed at least in part by a lateral peripheral flange (21, fig. 3 illustrates drain port 21 as protruding in a lateral direction from the wall section 12)(col. 2 lines 51-58 “an end-threaded drain tube 21 adapted to be threadably-engaged by the fitting of a garden hose 22 to enable the water accumulated within the walled enclosure 10 surrounding the base of an appliance, such as a water heater 23, to drain off to a remote site, as illustrated by FIG. 3, in the event that the leakage is excessive and immediate repairs are not possible.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Janesky discloses the lateral peripheral flange (21) is a threaded collar (21, fig. 3 illustrates drain port 21 as protruding in a lateral direction from the wall section 12)(col. 2 lines 51-58 “an end-threaded drain tube 21 adapted to be threadably-engaged by the fitting of a garden hose 22 to enable the water accumulated within the walled enclosure 10 surrounding the base of an appliance, such as a water heater 23, to drain off to a remote site, as illustrated by FIG. 3, in the event that the leakage is excessive and immediate repairs are not possible.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Janesky discloses the peripheral dam (10) secured in the assembled position on a ground surface encircling a water tank (23)(col. 2 lines 41-49 “The undersurfaces of the base flanges 13, 14 are bonded to the surface of the appliance-supporting floor, such as by means of a continuous bead or coating of adhesive such as caulk, epoxy resin or other water-resistant bonding material which is also applied to the faces 17A and 18A and to the faces 19A and 20A to form a water-tight, base-surrounding, leak-collecting enclosure which is installed rapidly, inexpensively and without any interruption in the operation of the appliance.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Janesky discloses the drain port (21) is secured to a drain line (22, hose) that runs to a drain (remote drain, claim 3 “transverse drain opening through the upright wall section thereof, adapted to be connected to a conduit for draining excess water from within the enclosure to a remote drain”).
Regarding Claim 16, Janesky discloses the peripheral dam (10) is secured by adhesive to one or more of itself and the ground surface (col. 2 lines 41-49, “The undersurfaces of the base flanges 13, 14 are bonded to the surface of the appliance-supporting floor, such as by means of a continuous bead or coating of adhesive such as caulk, epoxy resin or other water-resistant bonding material which is also applied to the faces 17A and 18A and to the faces 19A and 20A to form a water-tight, base-surrounding, leak-collecting enclosure which is installed rapidly, inexpensively and without any interruption in the operation of the appliance”).
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed that the device will perform the claimed process. See MPEP 2112.02. Janesky discloses a water containment system (10, fig. 1) comprising: a peripheral dam (10) formed of one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (11, 12) that are configured to be secured in an assembled position in use around a water tank (23, see fig. 3), the peripheral dam (10) defining an open tank-valve-or-pit-receiving base; and a drain port (21, col. 2 lines 51-58 describes the drain port 21 and drain hose 22) defined in the peripheral dam (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janesky US 5881762 (“Janesky”) in view of Mustee et al. US 5452739 (“Mustee”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Janesky discloses each of the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (11, 12).
Janesky discloses the claimed invention, except a double wall that defines a hollow interior in a triangular cross-sectional wall profile.
Mustee teaches a double wall (fig. 3) that defines a hollow interior in a triangular cross-sectional wall profile.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the walls, as disclosed by Janesky, by using a double wall that defines a hollow interior in a triangular cross-sectional wall profile, for the purpose of creating a stable wall cross section.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janesky US 5881762 (“Janesky”) in view of Ridgeway, Jr. et al. US 6135133 (“Ridgeway”).
Regarding Claim 7, Janesky discloses the claimed invention, except a base of each of the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections comprises adhesive-receiving channels.
Ridgeway teaches base (73, 83) of each of the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (78, 79) comprises adhesive-receiving channels (81b for base and 81a for vertical walls).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the walls and the connection between walls, as disclosed by Janesky, by overlapping walls at joints and placing adhesive at overlapping joints, as taught by Ridgeway, for the purpose of bonding two wall layers. This increases the modulus of elasticity of a wall member thereby increasing the stiffness of the wall and decreasing the wall’s deflection cause by fluid depth in a dam.
Claims 10 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janesky US 5881762 (“Janesky”) in view of Whittaker US 5645103 (“Whittaker”).
Regarding Claim 10, Janesky discloses the claimed invention, except the axial ends of the drain wall section are configured to mate with the axial ends of adjacent of the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections by a tongue and groove connection.
Whittaker teaches axial ends (upper surface 8 of lower wall 6) of the drain wall section (see fig. 1) are configured to mate with the axial ends of adjacent of the one or more arcuate longitudinal wall sections (lower surface 22 of upper wall 4) by a tongue and groove connection (23) (col. 2 lines 46-57, “The vertically extended splash guard 4 is shown having an upward wall member 20 atop a receiving notch 22. The receiving notch 22 is formed by a pair of fork-like retaining ears 23.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the dam walls, as disclosed by Janesky, with an upper wall connected with a tongue and groove joint, as taught by Whittaker, for the purpose of allowing a simple means to increase a wall height of a dam by simply placing an upper wall with a groove on a lower dam wall. Tongue and groove connections also create a fluid seal.
Regarding Claim 17, Janesky discloses the peripheral dam secured in the assembled position on a ground surface.
Janesky discloses the claimed invention, except the peripheral dam encircling a sump pit.
Whittaker teaches a peripheral dam (8) encircling a sump pit (catch basing 27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the interior of the peripheral dam, as disclosed by Janesky, by including a sump pit, as taught by Whittaker, for the purpose of collecting fluid inside a peripheral dam when the depth of fluid is less than the height of a wall drain. This prevents rotting of a floor surface caused by pooling water.
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753