DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Corley et al. (US 2019/0289561 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Corley teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a device, a synchronization signal (UE receives reference timing (corresponding synchronization signal) from base station at 1302 see Corley: Fig.13; ¶[0109]);
synchronizing, by the device, with a wireless communication network based on the synchronization signal (UE synchronizing based in reference signal and continues refreshed the save timing information at step 1306 see Corley: ¶[0111]) , wherein the device is associated with a radio frame based on the synchronization signal, and the radio frame is associated with a system frame number (UE synchronization with timing fingering database entry 1200 which includes SFN-DFN offset 1216 see Corley: Fig.12; ¶[0094-0095]);
receiving, by the device, a time reference associated with a network time protocol (NTP) ( the UE may receive a GNSS synchronization reference signal from a GPS satellite while being camped on a base station see Corley: ¶[0109]; Fig.13 step 1308); and
obtaining, by the device, a timing based on the SFN and the NTP (UE SCI message include timing based on SFN-DFN offset and current DFN timing information “In block 1318, the UE uses the SFN-DFN offset and derives current DFN timing information and attempts to decode a sidelink control information (SCI) 1 message” see Corley: Fig.13A step 1318; ¶[0116]).
Regarding claim 2, Corley taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Corley further teaches wherein the SFN is set according to a global positioning system (GPS) time, and wherein the GPS time is based on the time reference associated with the NTP (DFN is based on SFN, where SFN normalizing for time differences “If the cumulative Tuncertainty during GNSS being in a fade condition is <±5 msec during the GNSS fade condition, the DFN of the UE can be calculated using the base station SFN # normalizing for timing advance (TA) differences between the time that the subject timing fingerprint is generated and saved and the current time” see Corley: ¶[0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Corley taught the method of claim 2 as described hereinabove. Corley further teaches wherein the GPS time is estimated based on the SFN and an unknown positive integer, representing an ambiguity in a number of SFN cycles that have elapsed since a GPS time zero (GNSSunc timing based on SFN-DFN offset and quality of the GPS signals “The term GNSSunc refers to a timing uncertainty associated with the current GPS-provided timing that the UE decodes from a satellite signal. The GNSSunc value is determined based on the quality of the GPS signal, the number of satellites from which the GNSS time is obtained, etc. The term Tunc_MAX refers to the 12*Ts error limit mentioned above” see Corley: ¶[0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Corley taught the method of claim 3 as described hereinabove. Corley further comprising: determining, by the device, an estimated GPS time at an SFN boundary from the SFN in accordance with the SFN and the unknown positive integer representing the ambiguity in the number of SFN cycles that have elapsed since the GPS time zero (GNSS timing estimated at time period 1446 and SFN-DFN offset when camped on each cell see Corley: ¶[0121]; Fig.14)
Regarding claim 5, Corley taught the method of claim 4 as described hereinabove. Corley further comprising: calculating, by the device, the unknown positive integer representing the ambiguity, for a current SFN cycle, based on an estimated GPS time at an SFN = 0 boundary from the NTP (compute GNSS time and SFN-DFN offset from camped cell based on timing fingerprint offset and correction for timing advance see Corley: ¶[0121]; Fig.14).
Regarding claim 6, Corley taught the method of claim 5 as described hereinabove. Corley further comprising: calculating, by the device, a time difference between the estimated GPS time at the SFN boundary from the SFN and the estimated GPS time at the SFN = 0 boundary from the NTP, wherein the time difference is associated with the timing based on the SFN and the NTP (compute GNSS time and SFN-DFN offset from camped cell based on timing fingerprint offset and correction for timing advance see Corley: ¶[0121]; Fig.14).
Regarding claim 7, Corley taught the method of claim 6 as described hereinabove. Corley further comprising: updating, by the device, a system time based on the time difference, wherein a synchronization of the device with the wireless communication network is based on the time difference (In block 1324, the UE continues V2X communications using the estimated GNSS timing to communicate sidelink data and other timing inconsistency between fingerprinted time and current time at block 1314 see Corley: Fig.13A-13B).
Regarding claim 8, Corley taught the method of claim 6 as described hereinabove. Corley further comprising: providing, by the device, the time difference to an application running on the device (provide time delta to vehicles see Corley: ¶0161-0162]; Fig.15).
Regarding claim 9, Corley taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Corley further teaches wherein the synchronization signal is a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signal (UE performs synchronization source selection based on primary sidelink synchronization signal/secondary sidelink synchronization signal (PSSS/SSSS) and physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) demodulation see Corley: ¶[0091]).
Regarding claim 10, Corley taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Corley further teaches wherein the wireless communication network is a time division duplexing (TDD)-based wireless communication network (OFDM is used on the DL and SC-FDMA is used on the UL to support both frequency division duplex (FDD) and time division duplex (TDD) see Corley: ¶[0039]).
Regarding claims 11-19, they are rejected for the same reason as claims 1-9 as set forth hereinabove. Regarding claims 11-19, they recite a device (see Corley: Figs.7-9) that perform the same functionalities as method of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see Corley: Figs.7-9) that perform the same functionalities as method of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record, but not relied upon includes:
永井 (JP-6438993-B2); (Note: Google Patent translation see attachment).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
July 20, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478