DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed October 03, 2024. Claims 1-24, are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, 15-20, 23, 24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Hauswald et al (hereinafter Hauswald) (CN 108306670).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, Hauswald discloses a system (method, apparatus) for identifying and tracking unmanned aerial vehicles (base station receive target aircraft related information, (see abstract)), the system comprising:
a plurality of ground-based transceivers (ground based stations 10, 11, figs, 1, 3) wherein the plurality of ground-based transceivers are distributed within a geographic coverage area (para. 0086);
a memory (database storage 14) (para. 0123); and
one or more processors (processing means 13), wherein each processor of the one or more processors is communicatively coupled to each of the plurality of ground-based transceivers; wherein the memory stores one or more programs that when executed by the one or more processors (para. 0123), cause the one or more processors to:
transmit an interrogation signal to one or more aircraft flying within the geographic coverage area (region 23, fig. 1) from one or more of the transceivers of the plurality of ground-based transceivers (base stations, 10, 11, figs. 1, 3) wherein the interrogation signal includes transmit control information, and wherein the transmit control information includes instructions for a manner in which a transceiver located on the one or more aircraft is to transmit a response to the interrogation signal to the one or more ground-based transceivers (paras. 0108, 0109, 0122);
receive a response signal from a transceiver associated with an aircraft of the one or more aircraft flying within the geographic coverage area, wherein the response signal is received at a least one of the pluralities of ground based transceivers (receiving device for receiving ADS-B signal and for in response to interrogation signal of the secondary monitoring source receiving device and receiving the response signal from the target aircraft can be the same receiving device, the base station can be connected with at least one other base station, to exchange with a reliability of position information in the broadcast by various aircraft ADS-B signal confidence information associated therewith) (para. 0065, 0075); and
in response to the response signal, determining that the received response signal complies with the transmit control information included as part of the transmitted interrogation signal (interrogation signal 21 and response signal 22).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 18,Hauswald discloses wherein the one or more programs further cause the one or more processors to: in accordance with the determination the received response signal complies with the transmit control information, associate an aircraft of the one or more aircraft with location information included as part of the received response signal (method for validating location information contained in the called mode S extended acknowledgement signal for ADS-B message, …. information periodically broadcasted by the target aircraft. Furthermore, ….. receive ADS-B base station of mode S extended acknowledgement signal message commonly referred to as ADS-B, ADS periodically broadcast by the target aircraft and comprises the position relevant information of the target aircraft position, and ADS-B base station is further adapted to verify the received location information, wherein the aircraft determines its position via an internal navigation source and periodically broadcasts its position, so that the aircraft can be tracked. position information) (paras. 0002, 0004; see also Hauswald claim 1).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 19, Hauswald discloses wherein the transmitted interrogation signal comprises an address portion, and wherein the address portion is configured to allow an aircraft of the one or more aircraft to determine (verify) that the transmitted interrogation signal is addressed to the aircraft (In order to verify the target aircraft location information contained in the ADS-B signal, the time of arrival (TOA) of the reply signal at the base station is also required in order to be able to determine whether the reply signal is received within one of at least one previously defined expected time window. The address of the target aircraft to which the interrogation signal is directed is contained in the interrogation signal and can be extracted by decoding the signal. The overall content of the reply signal is not of interest to the present invention. Decoding of the reply signal is only necessary to determine the mode S address) (para. 0037).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 20, Hauswald discloses wherein the transmit control information comprises timing instructions, and wherein the timing instructions specify one or more transmission time windows during which the transceiver of the aircraft is to transmit the response signal (determine an expected time window period in at least one desired time window if receiving the reply signal from the target aircraft) (para. 0062, 0063, 0079).
Regarding claims 7, 15, 23, Hauswald discloses wherein the timing instructions specify the one or more transmission time windows according to a deterministic sequence (determining the arrival time of the interrogation signal received at the base station (TOA) and time of arrival (TOA) of response signal received, based on the arrival time of the interrogation signal and received from the aircraft position information, determining at least one desired time window, in the desired time window expected from a target aircraft of the reply signal received by the base station) (para. 0022, 0023, 0024).
Regarding claims 8, 16, 24, Hauswald discloses wherein the transmit control information comprises frequency information, and wherein the frequency information specifies one or more frequencies that the transceiver of the aircraft is to use when transmitting the response signal (the interrogation signal of the monitoring is sent as the 1030 MHz, and as 1090 MHz sending the responding signal of the monitoring. this is typically the frequency range of TCAS/ACAS signal defined in the ICAO DOC 9863. TCAS/ACAS interrogation signal using the uplink format UF0 (for tracking) and/or UF16 (used for conflict elimination)) (para. 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 13, 14, 21, 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauswald et al (hereinafter Hauswald) (CN 108306670).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 21, 22, Hauswald discloses limitation analyzed above with claims 1, 7, 17, except does not show timing instructions specify the one or more transmission time windows according to a pseudo-random sequence and a different pseudo-random sequence for each aircraft of the one or more aircraft. Generation and use of pseudo-random sequence algorithms is notoriously known in mathematical art. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known pseudo-random sequence technique have the transmission time windows generated according to pseudo-random sequence as part of the timing instructions produce outcomes that approximate the random sequence for each aircraft of the one of more aircraft to use as desired.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.