DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04 Aug 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 69, 78-79, and 88-89 have been amended, claims 1-68 have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 69-93 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
DOUBLE PATENTING
Applicant's arguments filed 04 Aug 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendments to the claims do not obviate the double patenting rejections. Therefore, the double patenting rejects are maintained below.
REJECTIONS UNDER 35 U.S.C. §112
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04 Aug 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS UNDER 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 04 Aug 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “As seen in FIG. 12A and set forth in paragraph [0095], the high frequency component, which includes multiple pulses, always beings and ends at zero amplitude. As such, Marnfeldt fails to disclose that each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component.” (Remarks, page 7). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Marnfeldt discloses “In FIG. 12A however, the current does not return to zero during the gaps 172, but instead returns to a smaller magnitude current of the same polarity as the sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b. Thus, during first phase 170a, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171a are positive, and have a magnitude of +11. During the gaps 172, the current returns to a smaller positive value of +I2” (paragraph [0095]). Thus, the high-frequency components of Marnfeldt originate at +I2, which is a non-zero amplitude.
Marnfeldt also discloses this feature in Fig. 12B, wherein “the non-zero return current (I2) is established at the beginning and end of each of the pulses phases 170a and 170b. That is, the pulse phases 170a and 170b start and end with the non-zero return current” (paragraph [0098]).
Therefore, the rejections of claims 69, 79, and 89 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
No specific arguments were made regarding dependent claims 70-78, 80-88, and 90-93 and the previously cited prior art references. Therefore, dependent claims 70-78, 80-88, and 90-93 are also rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 69-79 and 81-92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marnfeldt et al. (US 20190344083 A1), hereinafter Marnfeldt.
Regarding claim 1, Marnfeldt discloses a patient treatment system (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], SCS system), comprising:
a signal generator (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], IPG 10) having a computer readable storage medium with instructions (Fig. 1, paragraph [0024], memory 86) that, in operation, generate a therapy signal having a base component (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], low frequency features fL) and a high frequency component (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], high frequency features fH), wherein:
the base component has pulses with a non-zero amplitude (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], current magnitudes of +I1/-I1), and
the high frequency component includes high frequency pulses, wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "the current does not return to zero during the gaps 172, but instead returns to a smaller magnitude current of the same polarity as the sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b"); and
a signal delivery element coupleable to the signal generator (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], paddle lead 19 coupleable via lead connectors 22), wherein the signal delivery element is positionable proximate a spinal cord region (paragraph [0005], "the electrode lead(s) are typically implanted in the spinal column proximate to the dura in a patient's spinal cord"), and, in operation, delivers the therapy signal to the spinal cord region (paragraph [0005], "The goal of SCS therapy is to provide electrical stimulation from the electrodes 16").
Marnfeldt discloses that the high frequency pulses have a frequency of 2000 Hz or greater (paragraph [0060], "biphasic pulses with charge-balanced phases 102a and 102b are issued at a higher frequency fH, which can comprise 2000 Hz or greater"). The range disclosed by Marnfeldt overlaps the claimed range of 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz. Marnfeldt explains that stimulation with frequencies above 2000 Hz is helpful in reducing paresthesia to sub-threshold levels (paragraph [0060]). Therefore, the claimed range of 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz is obvious over Marnfeldt.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a frequency range from 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz, for the purpose of providing therapeutic stimulation while reducing sensory paresthesia, as taught by Marnfeldt (paragraph [0060]), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 70, the patient treatment system of claim 69 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include biphasic pulses having an anodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "during first phase 170a, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171a are positive") and a cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "During the second pulse phase 170b, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171b are negative", and wherein the high frequency pulses occur during the anodic pulse phase and/or the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b).
Regarding claim 71, the patient treatment system of claim 70 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the high frequency pulses occur during only one of the anodic pulse phase or the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 13E, paragraph [0103], "sub-phase pulses are provided during only one of the pulse phases 180a or 180b").
Regarding claim 72, the patient treatment system of claim 70 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the high frequency pulses occur during both the anodic pulse phase and the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b of electrode E1 occur during first (anodic) phase 170a and second (cathodic) phase 170b, respectively).
Regarding claim 73, the patient treatment system of claim 70 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that adjacent biphasic pulses of the biphasic pulses of the base component pulses are separated by an interpulse interval, and wherein the high frequency pulses do not occur during the interpulse interval (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], passive recovery period 170c; pragraphs [0016], [0059], [0061], [0072]).
Regarding claim 74, the patient treatment system of claim 70 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include an interphase interval between the anodic pulse phase and the cathodic pulse phase, and wherein the high frequency pulses do not occur during the interphase interval (Fig. 12A, interphase period IP; paragraphs [0059], [0072]).
Regarding claim 75, the patient treatment system of claim 69 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include monophasic pulses having the non-zero amplitude (Fig. 14B, paragraph [0105], "sub-phase pulses 191a and the non-zero return current (FIG. 14B only) are actively driven by the stimulation circuitry 28 (FIG. 3) only during a first pulse phase 190a. There is no actively-driven second pulse phase.").
Regarding claim 76, the patient treatment system of claim 69 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that at least two high frequency pulses originate from each base component pulse (Fig. 12A illustrates five sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b in each of first pulse phase 170a and second pulse phase 170b).
Regarding claim 77, the patient treatment system of claim 69 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the high frequency pulses have an amplitude greater than the non-zero amplitude of the base component pulses (Fig. 13F, paragraph [0104], "In the first pulse phase 180a, sub-phase pulses 181a are provided having a positive amplitude of +I1. However, in the gaps 182 between the sub-phase pulses 181a, the non-zero return current is negative, having an amplitude of −I2.").
Regarding claim 78, the patient treatment system of claim 69 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. The claimed range of 5 kHz to 25 kHz is also obvious over Marnfeldt because Marnfeldt discloses that the frequency range is 2000 Hz or greater, which includes the claimed range of 5 kHz to 25 kHz. Marnfeldt explains that stimulation with frequencies above 2000 Hz is helpful in reducing paresthesia to sub-threshold levels (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 79, Marnfeldt discloses a method for treating a patient (paragraph [0065]), comprising:
programming a signal generator (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], IPG 10) to deliver a therapy signal to a target neural population in the patient's spinal cord region (paragraph [0005], "The goal of SCS therapy is to provide electrical stimulation from the electrodes 16") via at least one implanted signal delivery element (paragraph [0005], "the electrode lead(s) are typically implanted in the spinal column proximate to the dura in a patient's spinal cord"), wherein the therapy signal includes:
(i) a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], current magnitudes of +I1/-I1), and
(ii) a high frequency component including high frequency pulses (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b),
wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "the current does not return to zero during the gaps 172, but instead returns to a smaller magnitude current of the same polarity as the sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b").
Marnfeldt discloses that the high frequency pulses have a frequency of 2000 Hz or greater (paragraph [0060], "biphasic pulses with charge-balanced phases 102a and 102b are issued at a higher frequency fH, which can comprise 2000 Hz or greater"). The range disclosed by Marnfeldt overlaps the claimed range of 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz. Marnfeldt explains that stimulation with frequencies above 2000 Hz is helpful in reducing paresthesia to sub-threshold levels (paragraph [0060]). Therefore, the claimed range of 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz is obvious over Marnfeldt.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a frequency range from 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz, for the purpose of providing therapeutic stimulation while reducing sensory paresthesia, as taught by Marnfeldt (paragraph [0060]), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 81, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include biphasic pulses having an anodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "during first phase 170a, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171a are positive") and a cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "During the second pulse phase 170b, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171b are negative", and wherein the high frequency pulses occur during the anodic pulse phase and/or the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b).
Regarding claim 82, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the high frequency pulses occur during only one of the anodic pulse phase or the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 13E, paragraph [0103], "sub-phase pulses are provided during only one of the pulse phases 180a or 180b").
Regarding claim 83, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the high frequency pulses occur during both the anodic pulse phase and the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b of electrode E1 occur during first (anodic) phase 170a and second (cathodic) phase 170b, respectively).
Regarding claim 84, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include monophasic pulses having the non-zero amplitude (Fig. 14B, paragraph [0105], "sub-phase pulses 191a and the non-zero return current (FIG. 14B only) are actively driven by the stimulation circuitry 28 (FIG. 3) only during a first pulse phase 190a. There is no actively-driven second pulse phase.").
Regarding claim 85, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that at least two high frequency pulses originate from each base component pulse (Fig. 12A illustrates five sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b in each of first pulse phase 170a and second pulse phase 170b).
Regarding claim 86, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the high frequency pulses include bursts of high frequency pulses (Fig. 13D, paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 87, the method of claim 86 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that each base component pulse includes at least two bursts of high frequency pulses separated by a quiescent period having no high frequency pulses (Fig. 13D illustrates two pairs of sub-phase pulses 181a separated by a longer period).
Regarding claim 88, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. The claimed range of 3 kHz to 50 kHz is also obvious over Marnfeldt because Marnfeldt discloses that the frequency range is 2000 Hz or greater, which includes the claimed range of 3 kHz to 50 kHz. Marnfeldt explains that stimulation with frequencies above 2000 Hz is helpful in reducing paresthesia to sub-threshold levels (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 79, Marnfeldt discloses a method for treating a patient (paragraph [0065]), comprising:
applying a therapy signal to the patient via a treatment system (Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], SCS system; paragraph [0005], "The goal of SCS therapy is to provide electrical stimulation from the electrodes 16"),
wherein the treatment system includes a signal delivery element positioned proximate a spinal cord region of the patient (paragraph [0005], "the electrode lead(s) are typically implanted in the spinal column proximate to the dura in a patient's spinal cord"), and
wherein the therapy signal includes:
(i) a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], current magnitudes of +I1/-I1), and
(ii) a high frequency component including high frequency pulses (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b),
wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "the current does not return to zero during the gaps 172, but instead returns to a smaller magnitude current of the same polarity as the sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b").
Marnfeldt discloses that the high frequency pulses have a frequency of 2000 Hz or greater (paragraph [0060], "biphasic pulses with charge-balanced phases 102a and 102b are issued at a higher frequency fH, which can comprise 2000 Hz or greater"). The range disclosed by Marnfeldt overlaps the claimed range of 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz. Marnfeldt explains that stimulation with frequencies above 2000 Hz is helpful in reducing paresthesia to sub-threshold levels (paragraph [0060]). Therefore, the claimed range of 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz is obvious over Marnfeldt.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a frequency range from 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz, for the purpose of providing therapeutic stimulation while reducing sensory paresthesia, as taught by Marnfeldt (paragraph [0060]), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 90, the method of claim 89 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include biphasic pulses having an anodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "during first phase 170a, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171a are positive") and a cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], "During the second pulse phase 170b, electrode E1's sub-phase pulses 171b are negative", and wherein the high frequency pulses occur during the anodic pulse phase and/or the cathodic pulse phase (Fig. 12A, paragraph [0095], sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b).
Regarding claim 91, the method of claim 89 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that the base component pulses include monophasic pulses having the non-zero amplitude (Fig. 14B, paragraph [0105], "sub-phase pulses 191a and the non-zero return current (FIG. 14B only) are actively driven by the stimulation circuitry 28 (FIG. 3) only during a first pulse phase 190a. There is no actively-driven second pulse phase.").
Regarding claim 92, the method of claim 89 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt further discloses that at least two high frequency pulses originate from each base component pulse (Fig. 12A illustrates five sub-phase pulses 171a and 171b in each of first pulse phase 170a and second pulse phase 170b).
Claims 80 and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marnfeldt et al. (US 20190344083 A1), hereinafter Marnfeldt in view of Cuellar et al. (Effect of high-frequency alternating current on spinal afferent nociceptive transmission. Neuromodulation. 2013), hereinafter Cuellar.
Regarding claim 80, the method of claim 79 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt does not explicitly disclose that the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons.
However, Cuellar teaches a method of high-frequency alternating current (HFAC) stimulation (Abstract) wherein the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons (pages 322-323, "Of these 15 DHNs tested with HFAC, suppression or complete nociceptive blockade was observed for 12 neurons ... A complete or near-complete reversible blockade of WDR neuronal activity in response to noxious stimulation was observed in many cases during or immediately after HFAC ... HFAC delivered to the dorsal roots or DREZ region by various electrode types can significantly inhibit activity of WDR neurons in the dorsal horn of the spinal cord").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marnfeldt with the teachings of Cuellar so that the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons, because doing so can provide pain relief without sensory paresthesia (Cuellar, page 326).
Regarding claim 93, the method of claim 89 is obvious over Marnfeldt, as explained above. Marnfeldt does not explicitly disclose that the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons.
However, Cuellar teaches a method of high-frequency alternating current (HFAC) stimulation (Abstract) wherein the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons (pages 322-323, "Of these 15 DHNs tested with HFAC, suppression or complete nociceptive blockade was observed for 12 neurons ... A complete or near-complete reversible blockade of WDR neuronal activity in response to noxious stimulation was observed in many cases during or immediately after HFAC ... HFAC delivered to the dorsal roots or DREZ region by various electrode types can significantly inhibit activity of WDR neurons in the dorsal horn of the spinal cord").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marnfeldt with the teachings of Cuellar so that the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons, because doing so can provide pain relief without sensory paresthesia (Cuellar, page 326).
Double Patenting
Claims 69-70, 73-75, 77, 79-80, and 89 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 10-13, 16, 22-23, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader in scope than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2 and thus the subject matter of the claims are fully encompassed by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2. Specifically, claims 1, 9, 22-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2 require that the base component has “a pulse width in a pulse width range of from about 5 ms to about 2 seconds”, whereas claims 69, 79, and 89 of the instant application do not. Claim 9 recites Thus, claims 69, 79, and 89 are broader than claims 1, 9, and 22-23 because “a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude” encompasses base components having any pulse width.
Therefore, instant claims 69-70, 73-75, 77, 79-80, and 89 are anticipated by claims 1, 6, 10-13, 16, 22-23, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
A brief matching of the pending claims in each application is provided below.
Regarding claim 69, the system of instant claim 69 is anticipated by claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 69 are anticipated by claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 70, the system of instant claim 70is anticipated by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 70 are anticipated by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 73, the system of instant claim 73 is anticipated by claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 73 are anticipated by claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 74, the system of instant claim 74 is anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 74 are anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 75, the system of instant claim 75 is anticipated by claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 75 are anticipated by claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 77, the system of instant claim 77 is anticipated by claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 77 are anticipated by claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 69, the system of instant claim 69 is anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 69 are anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 79, the system of instant claim 79 is anticipated by claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 79 are anticipated by claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 80, the system of instant claim 80 is anticipated by claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 80 are anticipated by claim 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
Regarding claim 89, the system of instant claim 89 is anticipated by claim 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2, and the features of instant claim 89 are anticipated by claim 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12133981 B2.
18/906,025 (Instant Application)
US 12133981 B2
Claim
Element
Claim
Element
69
A patient treatment system, comprising:
1
A patient treatment system, comprising:
69
a signal generator having a computer readable storage medium with instructions that, in operation, generate a therapy signal having a base component and a high frequency component, wherein:
1
a signal generator having a computer readable storage medium with instructions that, in operation, generate a therapy signal having a base component and a high frequency component, wherein
69
the base component has pulses with a non-zero amplitude, and
1
the base component has pulses with a non-zero amplitude and a pulse width in a pulse width range of from about 5 ms to about 2 seconds, and
69
the high frequency component includes high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz, wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component; and
1
the high frequency component includes high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1.2 kHz to about 100 kHz, wherein the high frequency pulses have an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component; and
69
a signal delivery element coupleable to the signal generator, wherein the signal delivery element is positionable proximate a spinal cord region, and, in operation, delivers the therapy signal to the spinal cord region.
1
a signal delivery element coupleable to the signal generator, wherein the signal delivery element is positionable proximate a spinal cord region, and, in operation, delivers the therapy signal to the spinal cord region.
69
A patient treatment system, comprising:
9
A patient treatment system, comprising:
69
a signal generator having a computer readable storage medium with instructions that, in operation, generate a therapy signal having a base component and a high frequency component, wherein:
9
a signal generator having a computer readable storage medium with instructions that, in operation, generate a therapy signal having a base component and a high frequency component, wherein—
69
the base component has pulses with a non-zero amplitude, and
9
base component has pulses with a non-zero amplitude and a pulse width in a pulse width range of from about 5 ms to about 2 seconds, and
69
the high frequency component includes high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1.2 kHz to about 100 kHz, wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component; and
9
the high frequency component includes bursts of high frequency pulses, wherein the high frequency pulses have a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1.2 kHz to about 100 kHz and an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component, and wherein adjacent bursts of high frequency pulses are separated by a quiescent interval during which no high frequency pulses are delivered; and
69
a signal delivery element coupleable to the signal generator, wherein the signal delivery element is positionable proximate a spinal cord region, and, in operation, delivers the therapy signal to the spinal cord region.
9
a signal delivery element coupleable to the signal generator, wherein the signal delivery element is positionable proximate a spinal cord region, and, in operation, delivers the therapy signal to the spinal cord region.
70
The patient treatment system of claim 69, wherein the base component pulses include biphasic pulses having an anodic pulse phase and a cathodic pulse phase, and wherein the high frequency pulses occur during the anodic pulse phase and/or the cathodic pulse phase.
10
The patient treatment system of claim 1 wherein the base component pulses include a plurality of biphasic pulses having an anodic pulse phase and a cathodic pulse phase, and wherein at least one of the anodic pulse phase or the cathodic pulse phase has the pulse width in the pulse width range from about 5 ms to about 2 seconds.
11
The patient treatment system of claim 10 wherein the high frequency pulses occur during the anodic pulse phase and/or the cathodic pulse phase.
73
The patient treatment system of claim 70, wherein adjacent biphasic pulses of the biphasic pulses of the base component pulses are separated by an interpulse interval, and wherein the high frequency pulses do not occur during the interpulse interval.
13
The patient treatment system of claim 10 wherein adjacent biphasic pulses of the plurality of biphasic pulses of the base component pulses are separated by an interpulse interval, and wherein the high frequency pulses do not occur during the interpulse interval.
74
The patient treatment system of claim 70, wherein the base component pulses include an interphase interval between the anodic pulse phase and the cathodic pulse phase, and wherein the high frequency pulses do not occur during the interphase interval.
12
The patient treatment system of claim 10 wherein the base component pulses include an interphase interval between the anodic pulse phase and the cathodic pulse phase, and wherein the high frequency pulses do not occur during the interphase interval.
75
The patient treatment system of claim 69, wherein the base component pulses include monophasic pulses having the non-zero amplitude.
16
The patient treatment system of claim 1 wherein the base component pulses include a plurality of monophasic pulses having the non-zero amplitude.
77
The patient treatment system of claim 69, wherein the high frequency pulses have an amplitude greater than the non-zero amplitude of the base component pulses.
6
The patient treatment system of claim 1 wherein the high frequency pulses have an amplitude greater than the non-zero amplitude of the base component pulses.
79
A method for treating a patient, comprising:
22
A method for treating a patient, comprising:
79
programming a signal generator to deliver a therapy signal to a target neural population in the patient's spinal cord region via at least one implanted signal delivery element, wherein the therapy signal includes:
22
programming a signal generator to deliver a therapy signal to a target neural population in the patient's spinal cord region via at least one implanted signal delivery element, wherein the therapy signal includes
79
(i) a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude, and
22
(i) a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude and a pulse width in a pulse width range of from about 5 ms to about 2 seconds, and
79
(ii) a high frequency component including high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz,
22
(ii) a high frequency component including high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1.2 kHz to about 100 kHz,
79
wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component.
22
wherein the high frequency pulses have an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component.
80
The method of claim 79, wherein the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons.
30
The method of claim 22 wherein the therapy signal at least partially suppresses at least a subset of neurons in the spinal cord region, and wherein the subset of neurons includes WDR neurons and/or NS neurons.
89
A method for treating a patient, comprising:
23
A method for treating a patient, comprising:
89
applying a therapy signal to the patient via a treatment system,
23
applying a therapy signal to the patient via a treatment system,
89
wherein the treatment system includes a signal delivery element positioned proximate a spinal cord region of the patient, and
23
wherein the treatment system includes a signal delivery element positioned proximate a spinal cord region of the patient, and
89
wherein the therapy signal includes:
23
wherein the therapy signal includes
89
(i) a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude, and
23
(i) a base component having pulses with a non-zero amplitude and a pulse width in a pulse width range of from about 5 ms to about 2 seconds, and
89
(ii) a high frequency component including high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from 1.08 kHz to 110 kHz,
23
(ii) a high frequency component including high frequency pulses having a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1.2 KHz to about 100 kHz,
89
wherein each high frequency pulse has an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component.
23
wherein the high frequency pulses have an origin at the non-zero amplitude of the base component.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796