DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, filed 10/3/2024, are pending and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/2/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7, 13, 15, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: there should likely be a comma after the respective dependent claim number in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the compound archery bow” in line 15 and “the compound bow” in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the compound archery bow” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the compound archery bow” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the compound archery bow” in line 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 is therefore rejected as it depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones US Pat. No. 3,945,368.
Jones teaches:
In Reference to Claim 1
A timing adjustment assembly for a compound archery bow (10, Fig. 1-5) comprising a riser (12/40/44 form a central riser member) and at least one power cable extending between two pulley assemblies (22/26), the timing adjustment assembly comprising:
a stationary component attached to the riser of the compound archery bow (stationary plates 46 and gearbox housing 48 are stationary and mounted on the riser, Fig. 5); and an adjustable component moveably connected to the stationary component and configured to selectively move relative to the stationary component between two or more different positional arrangements (movable shaft 50 is mounted between stationary plates 46 and is selectively movable via components within 48/52/54, Fig. 5);
wherein the adjustable component is coupled to the at least one power cable (an end of the power cable is coupled to the shaft 50, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 38-65);
wherein each positional arrangement of the two or more different positional arrangements of the adjustable component imparts a different effective length of the at least one power cable while the compound archery bow is in a brace position (adjustment fastener 52 causes the adjustable component 50 to move relative to the stationary component between different positional arrangements to adjust the effective power cable length which inherently changes the draw length and amount of cable used during draw to the brace position, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 50-65);
wherein selectively moving the adjustable component between two different positional arrangements changes the effective length of the at least one power cable when the compound archery bow is in the brace position (a position of the adjustable component that takes up more of the power cable imparts a different effective length of the power cable during draw and in the brace position than a position where the cable is let out from the adjustable component which would cause a longer effective length of the power cable and increased draw length at brace).
In Reference to Claim 2
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1, wherein the adjustable component includes an anchor post for anchoring a termination end of the at least one power cable to the adjustable component (the end of power cable 36 is wrapped around the shaft 50 and fixed thereto (the “fixed thereto” inherently requires a termination coupling at that terminal end which broadly forms an anchor post at the fixed coupling), col. 2 lines 58-60).
In Reference to Claim 3
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1, wherein the adjustable component is configured to be continuously adjustable relative to the stationary component between the two or more different positional arrangements (the adjustable component shaft 50 is continuously adjustable between many positions via operation of the adjustment member 52 through gearbox 48, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 50-65).
In Reference to Claim 4
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the at least one power cable includes a first split end and a second split end (power cable 34 or 36 engages intermediate pulley 38/42, the power cable may be considered to have a first end that extends from this pulley towards the pulley assembly 22/26 and a second end that extends from the pulley towards the riser portion 40/44, Fig. 1);
a portion of the first split end is anchored to the adjustable component (an end of the power cable is coupled to the rotatable shaft 50, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 38-65); and
a portion of the second split end is anchored to one of the two pulley assemblies of the compound archery bow (the other end of the power cable that extends from the pulley 38/42 to couple at the pulley assembly 22/26).
In Reference to Claim 5
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 4, wherein an intermediate pulley component receives the at least one power cable and divides the at least one power cable into the first split end and the second split end (power cable 34 or 36 engages intermediate pulley 38/42, the power cable may be considered to have a first end that extends from this pulley towards the pulley assembly 22/26 and a second end that extends from the pulley towards the riser portion 40/44, Fig. 1).
In Reference to Claim 6
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1 further comprising a locking fastener selectively connecting the stationary component and the adjustable component, wherein when the locking fastener is in a fully engaged configuration, the adjustable component is secured in a fixed position relative to the stationary component (locking screw 54 is connected between the adjustable and stationary components locks the adjustable component 50 in place relative the stationary component).
In Reference to Claim 11
An archery bow (10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a riser (12/40/44 form a central riser member);
first and second bow limbs secured to opposing ends of the riser (limbs 14/16 secured to respective ends of the riser member at 40/44, Fig. 1-2);
first and second pulley assemblies (22/26);
a draw cable (28);
at least one power cable extending between the first and second pulley assemblies (power cables 34/36 extend between pulley assemblies 22/26); and
a timing adjustment assembly (adjustment assemblies within 40/44) comprising:
a stationary component attached to the riser (stationary plates 46 and gearbox housing 48 are stationary and mounted on the riser, Fig. 5); and
an adjustable component moveably connected to the stationary component and configured to selectively move relative to the stationary component between two or more different positional arrangements (movable shaft 50 is mounted between stationary plates 46 and is selectively movable via components within 48/52/54, Fig. 5);
wherein the adjustable component is coupled to the at least one power cable (an end of the power cable is coupled to the shaft 50, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 38-65);
wherein each positional arrangement of the two or more different positional arrangements of the adjustable component imparts a different effective length of the at least one power cable while the compound archery bow is in a brace position (adjustment fastener 52 causes the adjustable component 50 to move relative to the stationary component between different positional arrangements to adjust the effective power cable length which inherently changes the draw length and amount of cable used during draw to the brace position, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 50-65);
wherein selectively moving the adjustable component between two different positional arrangements changes the effective length of the at least one power cable when the compound bow is in the brace position (a position of the adjustable component that takes up more of the power cable imparts a different effective length of the power cable during draw and in the brace position than a position where the cable is let out from the adjustable component which would cause a longer effective length of the power cable and increased draw length at brace).
In Reference to Claim 12
The archery bow of claim 11, further comprising an intermediate pulley component, wherein: the intermediate pulley component receives the at least one power cable and divides the at least one power cable into a first split end and a second split end (power cable 34 or 36 engages intermediate pulley 38/42, the power cable may be considered to have a first end that extends from this pulley towards the pulley assembly 22/26 and a second end that extends from the pulley towards the riser portion 40/44, Fig. 1);
a portion of the first split end of the at least one power cable is anchored to the adjustable component (an end of the power cable is coupled to the rotatable shaft 50, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 38-65); and
a portion of the second split end of the at least one power cable is anchored to one of the first and second pulley assemblies of the compound archery bow (the other end of the power cable that extends from the pulley 38/42 to couple at the pulley assembly 22/26).
In Reference to Claim 13
The archery bow of claim 11 further comprising:
a locking fastener connecting the stationary component and the adjustable component, wherein when the locking fastener is in a fully engaged configuration, the adjustable component is secured in a fixed position relative to the stationary component (locking screw 54 is connected between the adjustable and stationary components locks the adjustable component 50 in place relative the stationary component); and
an adjustment fastener, wherein movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move relative to the stationary component between the two or more different positional arrangements (adjustment fastener 52 causes the adjustable component 50 to move relative to the stationary component between different positional arrangements to adjust the power cable length, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 50-65).
In Reference to Claim 14
An archery bow (10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a riser (12/40/44 form a central riser member);
first and second bow limbs secured to opposing ends of the riser (limbs 14/16 secured to respective ends of the riser member at 40/44, Fig. 1-2);
first and second pulley assemblies (22/26);
a draw cable (28); and
at least one power cable extending between the first and second pulley assemblies (power cables 34/36 extend between pulley assemblies 22/26);
wherein a portion of the at least one power cable is coupled to the riser (ends of each power cable 34/36 are coupled to respective shafts 50 at riser portions 40/44, Fig. 1-5, Col. 2 lines 50-65).
In Reference to Claim 15
The archery bow of claim 14 further comprising an intermediate pulley component, wherein: the intermediate pulley component receives the at least one power cable and divides the at least one power cable into a first split end and a second split end (power cable 34 or 36 engages intermediate pulley 38/42, the power cable may be considered to have a first end that extends from this pulley towards the pulley assembly 22/26 and a second end that extends from the pulley towards the riser portion 40/44, Fig. 1);
the first split end of the at least one power cable is coupled to the riser (one end of the power cable 34/36 is coupled to the riser at 40/44); and
the second split end of the at least one power cable is coupled to one of the first and second pulley assemblies (the other end of the power cable that extends from the pulley 38/42 to couple at the pulley assembly 22/26).
In Reference to Claim 16
The archery bow of claim 14, wherein: the riser comprises a stationary component and an adjustable component moveably connected to the stationary component (movable shaft 50 is mounted between stationary plates 46 and is selectively movable via components 48/52/54, Fig. 5); the adjustable component is configured to selectively move relative to the stationary component between two or more different positional arrangements (the shaft 50 is selectively rotatable by unlocking the lock screw 54 and rotating the adjusting screw 52, col. 2 lines 50-65); and the adjustable component is coupled to the portion of the least one power cable that is coupled to the riser (an end of the power cable is coupled to the rotatable shaft 50, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 38-65).
In Reference to Claim 17
The archery bow of claim 16, wherein each positional arrangement of the two or more different positional arrangements of the adjustable component imparts a different effective length of the at least one power cable while the compound archery bow is in a brace position (a position of the adjustable component that takes up more of the power cable imparts a different effective length of the power cable during draw and in the brace position than a position where the cable is let out from the adjustable component which would cause a longer effective length of the power cable and increased draw length at brace).
In Reference to Claim 18
The archery bow of claim 16 further comprising:
a locking fastener connecting the stationary component and the adjustable component, wherein when the locking fastener is in a fully engaged configuration, the adjustable component is secured in a fixed position relative to the stationary component (locking screw 54 is connected between the adjustable and stationary components locks the adjustable component 50 in place relative the stationary component); and
an adjustment fastener, wherein movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move relative to the stationary component between the two or more different positional arrangements (adjustment fastener 52 causes the adjustable component 50 to move relative to the stationary component between different positional arrangements to adjust the power cable length, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 50-65).
In Reference to Claim 20
The archery bow of claim 14 further comprising a timing adjustment assembly provided on the riser (movable shaft 50 is mounted between stationary plates 46 and is selectively movable via components 48/52/54 in the timing adjustment assembly 44, Fig. 5), wherein: the timing adjustment assembly comprises a ratcheting system coupled to an adjustable component; the ratcheting system is configured to selectively move the adjustable component relative to the riser between two or more different positional arrangements (the adjustment component is a rotatable shaft 50 is coupled to a gearbox/ratcheting system 48 which is configured to selectively move the adjustable component 50 between different positions which bring in more of the cable or let out more of the cable onto the adjustment assembly, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 50-65);
the adjustable component is coupled to the portion of the least one power cable that is coupled to the riser (an end of the power cable is coupled to the shaft 50, Fig. 5, col. 2 lines 38-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claim 1/14 above, and further in view of Rickard US Pat. No. 4,192,280.
In Reference to Claim 7
Jones teaches:
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1 further comprising an adjustment fastener, wherein movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move relative to the stationary component between the two or more different positional arrangements (adjustment fastener 52 allows for movement and rotation of the shaft 50 to vary the position of the end of the cable and the effective length of the cable used during draw).
Jones fails to teach:
The movement of the adjustable component being in a generally linear path.
Further, Rickard teaches:
A similar compound archery bow having a power cable extending from a pulley assembly at one end and secured to an adjustment device on the bow at another end (power cable end 16 mounted to an adjustment device 38/40 on the bow (at 12/18), Fig. 1-2), the adjustment device having an adjustment fastener (40), wherein movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move in a generally linear path relative to the stationary component (18b) between the two or more different positional arrangements (the end of the power cable 16 is secured to movable shaft 38, which is moved linearly through fastener 40, that when fastener 40 is adjusted, the shaft moves the power cable end towards or away from the fastener/stationary component 18b to modify the amount of power cable length used by the bow during draw, Fig. 1-2, col. 2 lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Jones to have modified the adjustment assembly to have been a linearly movable member and fastener as this is another well-known and commonly used equivalent adjustment means for adjustably retaining an end of a cable to a portion of the bow which both provide the same function of allowing for varying the effective length of the draw/power cables during draw and use of the bow as taught by Rickard (Col. 1 lines 1-50-52, Col. 2 lines 35-41).
In Reference to Claim 8
Jones teaches:
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the stationary component comprises an at least partially hollow interior defined in the riser of the compound archery bow (the generally stationary components of the adjustment device (48/52/54) are placed in the hollow interior area between plates 46, Fig. 5);
the adjustable component comprises a base portion received within the at least partially hollow interior and an anchor point on the base portion, wherein the base portion is selectively moveable within the at least partially hollow interior (the adjustable rod 50 is a base portion that is selectively movable within the hollow interior between the plates 46, Fig. 5, and has an anchor point on the shaft where the cable is “fixed thereto” forming an anchor post); and
at least a portion of the at least one power cable is anchored to the anchor post (the end of power cable 36 is wrapped around the shaft 50 and fixed thereto (the “fixed thereto” inherently requires a termination coupling at that terminal end which broadly forms an anchor post at the fixed coupling), col. 2 lines 58-60).
Jones fails to teach:
The anchor post explicitly extending from the base portion.
Further, Rickard teaches:
A similar compound archery bow having a power cable extending from a pulley assembly at one end and secured to an adjustment device on the bow at another end (power cable end 16 mounted to an adjustment device 38/40 on the bow (at 12/18), Fig. 1-2), the adjustment device having an adjustment fastener (40), wherein movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move in a generally linear path relative to the stationary component (18b) between the two or more different positional arrangements (the end of the power cable 16 is secured to movable shaft 38, which is moved linearly through fastener 40, that when fastener 40 is adjusted, the shaft moves the power cable end towards or away from the fastener/stationary component 18b to modify the amount of power cable length used by the bow during draw, Fig. 1-2, col. 2 lines 35-41), the cable attached to an anchor post extending from a base of the adjustable member (the end of the power cable 16 is secured to the enlarged end of the movable shaft 38 which forms an anchor post extending away from the base/shaft body, which is moved linearly through fastener 40, that when fastener 40 is adjusted, the shaft moves the power cable end linearly along a length of the mounting fastener towards or away from the fastener/stationary component 18b to modify the amount of power cable length used by the bow during draw, Fig. 1-2, col. 2 lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Jones to have modified the adjustment assembly to have been a linearly movable member with an extended anchor post movable relative to a fastener as this is another well-known and commonly used equivalent adjustment means for adjustably retaining an end of a cable to a portion of the bow which both provide the same function of allowing for varying the effective length of the draw/power cables during draw and use of the bow as taught by Rickard (Col. 1 lines 1-50-52, Col. 2 lines 35-41).
In Reference to Claim 9
Jones as modified by Rickard teaches:
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 8, wherein the anchor post extends from the base portion through an opening of the at least partially hollow interior (the anchor post (end of 38) of Rickard extends away from the bow and would appear to extend beyond the interior of Jones (between plates 46) when the shaft is fed out significantly from the fastener 40 as modified).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have had the anchor post extend from through an opening of the riser interior as it has been held that rearranging parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70) and the exact relative positioning of the parts would not materially change or effect the operation of the adjustment device.
In Reference to Claim 10
Jones teaches:
The timing adjustment assembly of claim 1 further comprising an adjustment fastener, wherein movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move relative to the stationary component between the two or more different positional arrangements (adjustment fastener 52 allows for movement and rotation of the shaft 50 to vary the position of the end of the cable and the effective length of the cable used during draw) and the power cable coupled to the adjustable component at an anchor post (the end of power cable 36 is wrapped around the shaft 50 and fixed thereto (the “fixed thereto” inherently requires a termination coupling at that terminal end which broadly forms an anchor post at the fixed coupling), col. 2 lines 58-60).
Jones fails to teach:
The adjustable component comprises an adjustable block coupled to the mounting fastener and an anchor post extending from the adjustable block; the adjustable block is selectively moveable along a length of the mounting fastener.
Further, Rickard teaches:
A similar compound archery bow having a power cable extending from a pulley assembly at one end and secured to an adjustment device on the bow at another end (power cable end 16 mounted to an adjustment device 38/40 on the bow (at 12/18), Fig. 1-2), the adjustable component comprises an adjustable block coupled to the mounting fastener and an anchor post extending from the adjustable block (adjustable shaft 38 has a main body that is coupled to the mounting fastener 40 which is held in a fixed location 18b on the bow and has an enlarged end that forms an anchor post to fix the end of cable 16 thereto); the adjustable block is selectively moveable along a length of the mounting fastener (shaft 38 selectively and linearly moves through a length of the fastener 40 during adjustment); and the at least one power cable is anchored to the anchor post (the end of the power cable 16 is secured to the enlarged end of the movable shaft 38, which is moved linearly through fastener 40, that when fastener 40 is adjusted, the shaft moves the power cable end towards or away from the fastener/stationary component 18b to modify the amount of power cable length used by the bow during draw, Fig. 1-2, col. 2 lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Jones to have modified the adjustment assembly to have been a linearly movable member and fastener as this is another well-known and commonly used equivalent adjustment means for adjustably retaining an end of a cable to a portion of the bow which both provide the same function of allowing for varying the effective length of the draw/power cables during draw and use of the bow as taught by Rickard (Col. 1 lines 1-50-52, Col. 2 lines 35-41).
In Reference to Claim 19
Jones teaches:
The archery bow of claim 14 further comprising a timing adjustment assembly provided on the riser (movable shaft 50 is mounted between stationary plates 46 and is selectively movable via components 48/52/54 in the timing adjustment assembly 44, Fig. 5), wherein:
the timing adjustment assembly comprises a mounting fastener fixedly mounted within a housing of the riser, an adjustable component coupled to the mounting fastener and selectively moveable relative to the mounting fastener, and an adjustment fastener coupled to the adjustable component (adjustment fastener 52 allows for movement and rotation of the adjustment shaft 50 to vary the position of the end of the cable and the effective length of the cable used during draw between the stationary plates 46 of the riser, wherein components 48/52/54 are generally fixed in position relative to the adjustment shaft);
the adjustable component is coupled to the portion of the least one power cable that is coupled to the riser (the end of power cable 36 is wrapped around the shaft 50 and fixed thereto (the “fixed thereto” inherently requires a termination coupling at that terminal end which broadly forms an anchor post at the fixed coupling), col. 2 lines 58-60); and
movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move relative to the mounting fastener between the two or more different positional arrangements and imparts a different effective length of the at least one power cable while the compound archery bow is in a brace position (adjustment fastener 52 allows for movement and rotation of the shaft 50 to vary the position of the end of the cable and the effective length of the cable used during draw).
Jones fails to teach:
The adjustable component selectively moveable along a length of the mounting fastener to the different positional arrangements to provide a different effective length of the at least one power cable while the compound archery bow is in a brace position.
Further, Rickard teaches:
A similar compound archery bow having a power cable extending from a pulley assembly at one end and secured to an adjustment device on the bow at another end (power cable end 16 mounted to an adjustment device 38/40 on the bow (at 12/18), Fig. 1-2), the adjustable component comprises an adjustable block coupled to the mounting fastener and an anchor post extending from the adjustable block (adjustable shaft 38 has a main body that is coupled to the mounting fastener 40 which is held in a fixed location 18b on the bow and has an enlarged end that forms an anchor post to fix the end of cable 16 thereto); the adjustable block is selectively moveable along a length of the mounting fastener (shaft 38 selectively and linearly moves through a length of the fastener 40 during adjustment); and the at least one power cable is anchored to the anchor post so that movement of the adjustment fastener causes the adjustable component to move along the length of the mounting fastener between the two or more different positional arrangements and imparts a different effective length of the at least one power cable while the compound archery bow is in a brace position (the end of the power cable 16 is secured to the enlarged end of the movable shaft 38, which is moved linearly through fastener 40, that when fastener 40 is adjusted, the shaft moves the power cable end linearly along a length of the mounting fastener towards or away from the fastener/stationary component 18b to modify the amount of power cable length used by the bow during draw, Fig. 1-2, col. 2 lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Jones to have modified the adjustment assembly to have been a linearly movable member and fastener as this is another well-known and commonly used equivalent adjustment means for adjustably retaining an end of a cable to a portion of the bow which both provide the same function of allowing for varying the effective length of the draw/power cables during draw and use of the bow as taught by Rickard (Col. 1 lines 1-50-52, Col. 2 lines 35-41).
Brief Discussion of Other Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Frydenlund (3,967,609), McKee (4,054,118), Groner (4,061,124, 4,064,862, 4,178,905), Quartino (4,448,183), Johnson (5,809,984), and Larson (7,938,109) teach similar power cable adjustment devices coupled to the riser, limbs, or pulley assemblies.
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711