DETAILED ACTION
Manner of Making Amendments under 37 C.F.R. § 1.121
Any claim amendments included Applicant's response to the Office Action must comply with the requirements of 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(c) regarding the manner of presenting amended claim text. MPEP § 714(II)(C).
Pursuant to MPEP § 714(II)(C), all changes to currently amended claims must be shown relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. Deleted matter ordinarily must be shown by strike-through; however, when deleting five (5) or fewer consecutive characters, deletion by double brackets may be used and, in certain circumstances, is required. In particular, where strike-through cannot be readily perceived—such as when deleting a single numeral, punctuation mark, or other short character string—double brackets must be used to clearly identify the deleted matter. For example, deletion of punctuation marks standing alone (e.g., commas, periods, semicolons, parentheses, or quotation marks) should be indicated by double brackets rather than strike-through.
Similarly, the text of any added subject matter must be presented in a manner such that the underlining is readily perceptible. Where underlining of added matter cannot be easily perceived, including, for example, the addition, deletion, or substitution of one or more characters, punctuation marks, numerals, or word fragments, the amendment shall instead be presented by deleting the entire affected text and adding the complete replacement text with underlining. Examples include, without limitation, amendments correcting misspellings, changing a singular term to a plural term, adding prefixes or suffixes, or modifying punctuation or numerals.
Failure to provide a compliant amendment may result in the amendment being treated as non-compliant and not entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites three (3) instances of the limitation "a secondary network" and two (2) instances the limitation “the selected secondary network.” The Examiner finds that the limitations render the claim unclear as to which, if any, of the former limitations provide an antecedent basis for the latter limitations in the claim. Further, although claim 1 recites the limitation, “trigger conditions for connecting to a secondary network” at line, 4, the method does not appear to require that the “connecting” be performed, and instead requires that “in response to detecting the trigger conditions, selecting a secondary network.”
The Examiner find that the above-identified ambiguities render the claim indefinite. Independent claims 11 and 12 are similarly defective and are therefore indefinite. Dependent claims 2-10 and 13-20 are indefinite at least by virtue of their dependencies.
Further regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “first trigger conditions” at line 4, while reciting the limitation “one or more second triggers” at line 9. The Examiner finds that the inconsistency in claim language limitations further renders the claim unclear.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over US 2025/0317724 (hereinafter, (“GUPTA”).
Regarding claim 1, GUPTA discloses:
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (UE 210), comprising:
receiving, from a primary network, information indicating a plurality of secondary networks and a network selection policy, (¶ 0083: The network optionally includes list of PLMNs supported for each access technology based on the UE subscription; ¶ 0096: URSP 1000 may include multiple information types [including] a PLMN preference for access technology; ¶ 0111: PCF 440 may determine URSP rules for UE 210-1 and may . . . be applicable for dual steering relative to the home network of UE 210-1 and other networks (e.g., secondary networks) accessed by the dual steer device (e.g., via UE 210-2). In some implementations, URSP rules may be provided through only the primary access network; ¶ 0127: Process 1700 may also include receiving dual steer policy rules from the first 3GPP network and determining, based on the dual steer policy rules, a second 3GPP network as a secondary network (block 1720))
wherein the network selection policy comprises one or more trigger conditions for connecting to a secondary network and one or more criteria for selecting a secondary network from the plurality of secondary networks; (¶ 0095: 3GPP RAT and CN preference may function as a trigger for UE 210 to apply a URSP rule to imitate traffic switching and steering across different 3GPP access networks)
establishing a first PDU session with the primary network; (¶ 0170: [C]ommunicate with the first 3GPP network via a first protocol data unit (PDU) sessions; ¶ 0101: UE 210-1 may register with a first or primary 3GPP network and may perform a normal PLMN selection process to select the PLMN for registration)
detecting a trigger condition from the one or more trigger conditions; (¶ 0086: When a new application is activated by the dual steer device, the device may evaluate the URSP rules and select the URSP rule and RSD according to a corresponding RAT and/or CN preference that applies to traffic associated with a PDU session of the application)
in response to detecting the trigger condition, selecting a secondary network based on the one or more criteria; (¶ 0080: When a new application is activated the dual steer UE 210-1 may evaluate URSP rules and selects the URSP rule/RSD with new RAT/CN preference and may apply that to traffic associated with PDU session. URSP rules may also be updated using UCU procedure; ¶ 0087: UE 210-2 may perform a normal PLMN selection process to select the PLMN for registration; ¶ 0106: [T]he dual steer device activates a new application, the device may evaluate URSP rules and select the URSP rule and RSD according to a corresponding RAT and/or CN preference that applies to traffic associated with a PDU session of the application. The dual steer device may identify an appropriate 3GPP access network (e.g., a secondary 3GPP access network of AMF 410-2))
performing a registration procedure on the selected secondary network; and (¶ 0080: [D]ual steer UE 210-2 may register with a second access (e.g., a secondary access); ¶ 0094: UE 210 may use a URSP may be used to steer the traffic in different PDU sessions. URSP rules may be used for a certain UEs after the UE has done PLMN selection and registration)
establishing a concurrent second PDU session with the selected secondary network. (¶ 0170: [C]ommunicate with the second 3GPP network via a second PDU sessions that is different than the first PDU session; ¶ 0094: UE 210 may use a URSP may be used to steer the traffic in different PDU sessions. URSP rules may be used for a certain UEs after the UE has done PLMN selection and registration. In a dual steer scenario, both the UEs (e.g., 210-1 and 210-2 of a dual steer device) may have URSP rules that can match a certain traffic, in addition to indicating access type preference between 3GPP or non-3GPP access. In a dual steer scenario, the techniques described herein may be implemented to enable a dual steer UE 210 to differentiate between RATs and core networks across different 3GPP access networks. As such, the techniques described herein may involve a URSP; ¶ 0115: [D]ual steer UE 210 may have two subscriptions and SUPIs associated with one subscription profile from same operator. dual steer UE 210 may have two SUPIs (recognized as two UEs that establish independent PDU sessions via different 3GPP networks. The PDU sessions may each correspond to different application traffic that is steered and/or switched between these two PDU Sessions. The techniques described herein may include PDU session establishment, modification, and termination procedures to support dual steer for both UE and network-initiated dual steer sessions. The network may be configured to identify the PDU sessions from the two SUPIs of a dual steer UE and may authorize a request from the UE to establish a dual steer PDU session)
Regarding claim 2, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the information is received via a service accept message, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment accept message, a PDU session modification response message, a WTRU configuration update Command, a WTRU parameter update request message, a steering of roaming message, registration accept message (¶ 0083: The registration accept message may notify UE 210-1 that the network supports dual steer functionality in general and the subscription of UE 210-1 for dual steer services), or a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) signaling message. (¶ 0085: [S]ending the URSP rules to UE 210-1 via a DL NAS transport message (at 670))
Regarding claim 4, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise at least one of detecting that a type of application has started (¶ 0080: When a new application is activated the dual steer UE 210-1 may evaluate URSP rules and selects the URSP rule/RSD with new RAT/CN preference and may apply that to traffic associated with PDU session), or detecting that a quality of experience (QoE) measurement is below a threshold. (¶ 0064: [C]ompare the monitored conditions and measurements to one or more types of network service thresholds and may inform RAN 220 (e.g., base station 222) when the monitored conditions and measurements exceeds a corresponding threshold)
Regarding claim 5, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise at least one of a request to access a hosting network, one or more slices unavailability on the primary network, a condition associated with validity of the primary network, detecting that a connection quality associated with the primary network is below a threshold, detecting a high network load and/or network congestion, or a request to use a DualSteer functionality for the first PDU session. (¶ 0081: [P]rocess 600 may include UE 210-1 communicating a registration request to AMF 410-1 (at 610). The registration request may include dual steer capability information, a SUPI (e.g., SUPI-1), and an indication of primary access)
Regarding claim 6, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the one or more criteria comprise at least one of selecting a secondary network supporting slices not available or rejected on the primary network, or selecting a secondary network that is part of equivalent public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to the primary network. (¶ 0025: The 3GPP access networks may correspond to one public land mobile network (PLMN), different PLMNs . . . for enabling a UE to implement dual steering across different 3GPP networks; ¶ 0055: [O]ne UE of the dual steer UE 210 may register directly with a home PLMN (HPLMN). The other UE of the dual steer UE 210 may register to a visiting PLMN (VPLMN) and may perform home routing to the HPLMN)
Regarding claim 8, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
further comprising:
determining, based on a route selection policy, that the first PDU Session and the second PDU session are associated with an application; and (Fig. 1, at #3: Application 1 User Data, Application 2 User Data, Switch and Steer User Data based on Dual Steer Policy; ¶ 0080: When a new application is activated the dual steer UE 210-1 may evaluate URSP rules and selects the URSP rule/RSD with new RAT/CN preference and may apply that to traffic associated with PDU session)
determining, based on an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) rule, whether a PDU associated with the application is transmitted via the first PDU session and/or the second PDU session. (¶ 0091: 5GSM capability IE 800 may also include other types of fields and parameters represented in FIG. 8 as TPMIC, ATSSS-ST (Access Traffic Splitting Switching Steering—Steering); ¶ 0127: Process 1700 may also include splitting user traffic between the first 3GPP network and the second 3GPP network in accordance with the dual steer policy rules (block 1740))
Regarding claim 9, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the information further comprises an identifier associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks, a priority ranking associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks, a supported access technology associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks (¶ 0184: DualSteer control information comprises a 3GPP radio access technology (RAT) and core network (CN) preference), validity information associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks, or a supported network slice associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks.
Regarding claim 11, GUPTA discloses:
A method for establishing network selection policies comprising:
transmitting, from a primary network to a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (UE 210-1), information indicating a first plurality of secondary networks and a first network selection policy, (¶ 0111: PCF 440 may determine URSP rules for UE 210-1 and may . . . be applicable for dual steering relative to the home network of UE 210-1 and other networks (e.g., secondary networks) accessed by the dual steer device (e.g., via UE 210-2). In some implementations, URSP rules may be provided through only the primary access network; ¶ 0127: Process 1700 may also include receiving dual steer policy rules from the first 3GPP network and determining, based on the dual steer policy rules, a second 3GPP network as a secondary network (block 1720))
wherein the first network selection policy comprises one or more first trigger conditions for connecting to a secondary network and one or more first criteria for selecting a secondary network from the first plurality of secondary networks; and (¶ 0095: 3GPP RAT and CN preference may function as a trigger for UE 210 to apply a URSP rule to imitate traffic switching and steering across different 3GPP access networks)
transmitting, from the primary network to a second WTRU (UE 210-2), information indicating a second plurality of secondary networks and a second network selection policy, (¶ 0111: PCF 440 may determine URSP rules for UE 210-1 and may . . . be applicable for dual steering relative to the home network of UE 210-1 and other networks (e.g., secondary networks) accessed by the dual steer device (e.g., via UE 210-2). In some implementations, URSP rules may be provided through only the primary access network; ¶ 0127: Process 1700 may also include receiving dual steer policy rules from the first 3GPP network and determining, based on the dual steer policy rules, a second 3GPP network as a secondary network (block 1720))
wherein the second network selection policy comprises one or more second triggers for connecting to a secondary network and one or more second criteria for selecting a secondary network from the second plurality of secondary networks; (¶ 0095: 3GPP RAT and CN preference may function as a trigger for UE 210 to apply a URSP rule to imitate traffic switching and steering across different 3GPP access networks)
wherein the first network selection policy is different from the second network selection policy. (¶ 0084: H-PCF 440 may be configured to reconcile and provide an appropriate set of rules for both access networks)
Regarding claim 12, GUPTA discloses:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (UE 210) comprising:
a processer (CPU 2004E); and
a transceiver (FEM circuitry 2008) coupled to the processer, wherein the WTRU is configured to:
receive, from a primary network, information indicating a plurality of secondary networks and a network selection policy, (¶ 0083: The network optionally includes list of PLMNs supported for each access technology based on the UE subscription; ¶ 0096: URSP 1000 may include multiple information types [including] a PLMN preference for access technology; ¶ 0111: PCF 440 may determine URSP rules for UE 210-1 and may . . . be applicable for dual steering relative to the home network of UE 210-1 and other networks (e.g., secondary networks) accessed by the dual steer device (e.g., via UE 210-2). In some implementations, URSP rules may be provided through only the primary access network; ¶ 0127: Process 1700 may also include receiving dual steer policy rules from the first 3GPP network and determining, based on the dual steer policy rules, a second 3GPP network as a secondary network (block 1720))
wherein the network selection policy comprises one or more trigger conditions for connecting to a secondary network and one or more criteria for selecting a secondary network from the plurality of secondary networks; (¶ 0095: 3GPP RAT and CN preference may function as a trigger for UE 210 to apply a URSP rule to imitate traffic switching and steering across different 3GPP access networks)
establish a first PDU session with the primary network; (¶ 0170: [C]ommunicate with the first 3GPP network via a first protocol data unit (PDU) sessions; ¶ 0101: UE 210-1 may register with a first or primary 3GPP network and may perform a normal PLMN selection process to select the PLMN for registration)
detect a trigger condition from the one or more trigger conditions; (¶ 0086: When a new application is activated by the dual steer device, the device may evaluate the URSP rules and select the URSP rule and RSD according to a corresponding RAT and/or CN preference that applies to traffic associated with a PDU session of the application)
in response to detecting the trigger condition, select a secondary network based on the one or more criteria; (¶ 0080: When a new application is activated the dual steer UE 210-1 may evaluate URSP rules and selects the URSP rule/RSD with new RAT/CN preference and may apply that to traffic associated with PDU session. URSP rules may also be updated using UCU procedure; ¶ 0087: UE 210-2 may perform a normal PLMN selection process to select the PLMN for registration; ¶ 0106: [T]he dual steer device activates a new application, the device may evaluate URSP rules and select the URSP rule and RSD according to a corresponding RAT and/or CN preference that applies to traffic associated with a PDU session of the application. The dual steer device may identify an appropriate 3GPP access network (e.g., a secondary 3GPP access network of AMF 410-2))
perform a registration procedure on the selected secondary network; and (¶ 0080: [D]ual steer UE 210-2 may register with a second access (e.g., a secondary access); ¶ 0094: UE 210 may use a URSP may be used to steer the traffic in different PDU sessions. URSP rules may be used for a certain UEs after the UE has done PLMN selection and registration)
establish a concurrent second PDU session with the selected secondary network. (¶ 0170: [C]ommunicate with the second 3GPP network via a second PDU sessions that is different than the first PDU session; ¶ 0094: UE 210 may use a URSP may be used to steer the traffic in different PDU sessions. URSP rules may be used for a certain UEs after the UE has done PLMN selection and registration. In a dual steer scenario, both the UEs (e.g., 210-1 and 210-2 of a dual steer device) may have URSP rules that can match a certain traffic, in addition to indicating access type preference between 3GPP or non-3GPP access. In a dual steer scenario, the techniques described herein may be implemented to enable a dual steer UE 210 to differentiate between RATs and core networks across different 3GPP access networks. As such, the techniques described herein may involve a URSP; ¶ 0115: [D]ual steer UE 210 may have two subscriptions and SUPIs associated with one subscription profile from same operator. dual steer UE 210 may have two SUPIs (recognized as two UEs that establish independent PDU sessions via different 3GPP networks. The PDU sessions may each correspond to different application traffic that is steered and/or switched between these two PDU Sessions. The techniques described herein may include PDU session establishment, modification, and termination procedures to support dual steer for both UE and network-initiated dual steer sessions. The network may be configured to identify the PDU sessions from the two SUPIs of a dual steer UE and may authorize a request from the UE to establish a dual steer PDU session)
Regarding claim 13, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the information is received via a service accept message, a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment accept message, a PDU session modification response message, a WTRU configuration update command, WTRU parameter update request message, steering of roaming message, registration accept message (¶ 0083: The registration accept message may notify UE 210-1 that the network supports dual steer functionality in general and the subscription of UE 210-1 for dual steer services), or downlink non-Access stratum (DL NAS) signaling message. (¶ 0085: [S]ending the URSP rules to UE 210-1 via a DL NAS transport message (at 670))
Regarding claim 14, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise at least one of a manual secondary network selection request from a user of the WTRU, detecting that a type of application has started (¶ 0080: When a new application is activated the dual steer UE 210-1 may evaluate URSP rules and selects the URSP rule/RSD with new RAT/CN preference and may apply that to traffic associated with PDU session), or detecting that a quality of experience (QoE) measurement is below a threshold. (¶ 0064: [C]ompare the monitored conditions and measurements to one or more types of network service thresholds and may inform RAN 220 (e.g., base station 222) when the monitored conditions and measurements exceeds a corresponding threshold)
Regarding claim 15, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise at least one of a request to access a hosting network, one or more slices unavailability on the primary network, a condition associated with validity of the primary network, a manual secondary network selection request from a user of the WTRU, detecting that a type of application has started, detecting that a quality of experience (QoE) measurement is below a threshold, detecting that a connection quality associated with the primary network is below a threshold, detecting a high network load and/or network congestion, or a request to use a DualSteer functionality for the first PDU session. (¶ 0081: [P]rocess 600 may include UE 210-1 communicating a registration request to AMF 410-1 (at 610). The registration request may include dual steer capability information, a SUPI (e.g., SUPI-1), and an indication of primary access)
Regarding claim 16, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the one or more criteria comprise at least one of selecting a secondary network supporting slices not available or rejected on the primary network, or selecting a secondary network that is part of equivalent public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to the primary network. (¶ 0025: The 3GPP access networks may correspond to one public land mobile network (PLMN), different PLMNs . . . for enabling a UE to implement dual steering across different 3GPP networks; ¶ 0055: [O]ne UE of the dual steer UE 210 may register directly with a home PLMN (HPLMN). The other UE of the dual steer UE 210 may register to a visiting PLMN (VPLMN) and may perform home routing to the HPLMN)
Regarding claim 18, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the WTRU is further configured to:
determine, based on a route selection policy, that the first PDU Session and the second PDU session are associated with an application; and (Fig. 1, at #3: Application 1 User Data, Application 2 User Data, Switch and Steer User Data based on Dual Steer Policy; ¶ 0080: When a new application is activated the dual steer UE 210-1 may evaluate URSP rules and selects the URSP rule/RSD with new RAT/CN preference and may apply that to traffic associated with PDU session)
determine, based on an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) rule, whether a PDU associated with the application is transmitted via the first PDU session and/or the second PDU session. (¶ 0091: 5GSM capability IE 800 may also include other types of fields and parameters represented in FIG. 8 as TPMIC, ATSSS-ST (Access Traffic Splitting Switching Steering—Steering); ¶ 0127: Process 1700 may also include splitting user traffic between the first 3GPP network and the second 3GPP network in accordance with the dual steer policy rules (block 1740))
Regarding claim 19, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein:
the information further comprise at least one of an identifier associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks, a priority ranking associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks, a supported access technology associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks (¶ 0184: DualSteer control information comprises a 3GPP radio access technology (RAT) and core network (CN) preference), validity information associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks, or a supported network slice associated with each of the plurality of secondary networks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA in view of US 2015/0264640 (hereinafter, “FENG”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of GUPTA and NONGUPTA, as applied, renders obvious the method of claim 1. GUPTA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise a manual secondary network selection request from a user of the WTRU.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FENG teaches:
wherein the one or more trigger conditions comprise a manual secondary network selection request from a user of the WTRU. (¶ 0063: During the background manual network search process 300, a user of the mobile communication device 100 manually issues a command through a user application to request the mobile communication device 100 to search for all available mobile communication networks corresponding to a specific wireless access technology in surrounding environment of the mobile communication device 100; ¶ 0064: [A] user of the mobile communication device 100 requests the mobile communication device 100 to perform a “background” manual network search process)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GUPTA’s dual steer device to provide a manual secondary network selection request from a user of a mobile communication device, as taught by FENG, so as to search for all available mobile communication networks corresponding to a specific wireless access technology in surrounding environment of the mobile communication device, so as to reduce a network search time of the second communication system. See FENG, at ¶¶ 0004 and 0010.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA in view of US 2021/0297939 (hereinafter, “LU”).
Regarding claim 10, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
determining whether to perform a periodic search function for a secondary network based on the network selection policy.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LU teaches:
determining whether to perform a periodic search function for a secondary network based on the network selection policy. (¶ 0084: [O]ptionally, terminal device 103 may search for the first network or the second network periodically at block 230 if a third network is selected at block 220, until the first network or the second network is found, or a predefined maximum searching time threshold is reached)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GUPTA’s dual steer device to determine when to periodically search for networks, as taught by LU, such that when both the first network and the second network are unavailable, the terminal device may choose the third network as the serving network, so as to select a proper serving network. See LU, at ¶¶ 0006 and 0083.
Regarding claim 20, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the WTRU is further configured to:
determine whether to perform a periodic search function for a secondary network based on the network selection policy.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LU teaches:
determine whether to perform a periodic search function for a secondary network based on the network selection policy. (¶ 0084: [O]ptionally, terminal device 103 may search for the first network or the second network periodically at block 230 if a third network is selected at block 220, until the first network or the second network is found, or a predefined maximum searching time threshold is reached)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over GUPTA in view of US 2024/0114441 (hereinafter, “CHUN”).
Regarding claim 7, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the method of claim 1. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the selected secondary network is a first secondary network, the method further comprising:
determining whether the registration procedure is successful;
if it is determined that the registration procedure is not successful, . . . (¶ 0083: [W]hen UE 210 is not registered with the network, AMF 410-1 may send UE 210-1 a registration rejection message, which may include an indication of whether the subscription supports dual steer service (at 650))
performing a registration procedure on the second secondary network. (¶ 0083: AMF 410-1 may send a registration accept message to UE 210-1 (at 640))
GUPTA does not explicitly disclose:
selecting a second secondary network, different from the first secondary network, based on the one or more criteria; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHUN teaches:
selecting a second secondary network, different from the first secondary network, based on the one or more criteria; and (¶ 0205: [I]f the UE fails to register to the selected network, the UE may select a second network (e.g., a second prioritized network) among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. The UE may search one or more cells of the second network, and/or may attempt registration to the second network. If the cell search and/or the registration fail, the UE may select another network among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. This iteration may continue, until the UE succeeds in registration to a network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GUPTA’s dual steer device to re-attempt registration to the second network, as taught by CHUN, such that the UE selects another network among the of the networks, so that the iteration continues until the UE succeeds in registration to a network. See CHUN, at ¶ 0205.
Regarding claim 17, GUPTA, as applied, anticipates the WTRU of claim 12. GUPTA further discloses:
wherein the selected secondary network is a first secondary network, and the WTRU is further configured to:
determine whether the registration procedure is successful;
if it is determined that the registration procedure is not successful, . . . (¶ 0083: [W]hen UE 210 is not registered with the network, AMF 410-1 may send UE 210-1 a registration rejection message, which may include an indication of whether the subscription supports dual steer service (at 650))
perform a registration procedure on the second secondary network. (¶ 0083: AMF 410-1 may send a registration accept message to UE 210-1 (at 640))
GUPTA does not explicitly disclose:
select a second secondary network, different from the first secondary network, based on the one or more criteria; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHUN teaches:
select a second secondary network, different from the first secondary network, based on the one or more criteria; and (¶ 0205: [I]f the UE fails to register to the selected network, the UE may select a second network (e.g., a second prioritized network) among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. The UE may search one or more cells of the second network, and/or may attempt registration to the second network. If the cell search and/or the registration fail, the UE may select another network among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. This iteration may continue, until the UE succeeds in registration to a network)
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644