DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 – 24, 29 – 34, 39, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Montague et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0093876).
Regarding claim 21, Montague discloses a medical device (e.g. 30) comprising: a watertight housing (e.g. 31; ¶ 187) comprising: a first portion (e.g. 42); a flange coupled to the first portion (e.g. Fig. 4 and ¶ 78) ; and a second portion (e.g. 31) comprising: a body portion removably coupled to the flange (e.g. Fig. 4), the body portion comprising a user interface (e.g. 41); and a bezel (e.g. 40) removably coupled to the body portion and extending around a periphery of the body portion (e.g. Fig. 4); and an electronic component (e.g. 43) mounted on the first portion (e.g. Fig. 4), electronically coupled with the user interface, and being substantially enclosed by the first portion and the second portion (e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22, Montague discloses the medical device comprises an external defibrillator (e.g. ¶ 77).
Regarding claim 23, Montague discloses the bezel is configured to seal an interface between the flange and the body portion (e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 24, Montague discloses a housing for a medical device, the housing comprising: a first portion (e.g. 42); a flange coupled to the first portion (e.g. Fig. 4 and ¶ 78); and a second portion (e.g. 31) comprising: a body portion configured to be coupled to the flange (e.g. Fig. 4), the first portion and the second portion substantially enclosing an electronic component (e.g. 43) of the medical device when the body portion is coupled to the flange (e.g. Fig. 4); and a bezel (e.g. 40) extending around a periphery of the body portion (e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 29, Montague discloses the body portion comprises a user interface (e.g. 410), an output, or a control of the medical device (e.g. Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 30, Montague discloses the user interface, the output, or the control of the medical device is configured to be electrically connected to the electronic component of the medical device (e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 31, Montague discloses the body portion comprises: a first component configured to couple to the flange (e.g. Fig. 4; long walls of 31); and a second component configured to couple to the flange (e.g. Fig. 4; short walls of 31).
Regarding claim 32, Montague discloses the bezel as previously described. The limitations “configured to be press-fit onto the body” is a product by process limitation. Fig. 4 shows an exploded view showing that the bezel 40 is a separate piece. It extends around the periphery of the body, and therefore, forms the device as taught in the claims.
Regarding claim 33, Montague discloses the bezel is configured to seal an interface between the body portion and the flange from an external environment (e.g. Fig. 4 and ¶ 77, 187).
Regarding claim 34, Montague discloses the bezel is configured to be removably coupled to the body portion (e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 39, Montague discloses a portion of a housing, the portion comprising: a body portion (e.g. 31) configured to be coupled to a flange (e.g. Fig. 4), the body portion comprising: a user interface (e.g. 41) configured to be electrically coupled with an electronic component of a medical device (e.g. 43); and a bezel (e.g. 40) extending around a periphery of the body portion (e.g. Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 40, Montague discloses the bezel is configured to seal an interface between the body portion and the flange (e.g. Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 – 28 and 35 – 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montague et al.
Regarding claims 25 – 28 and 35 – 38, the present application claims multiple limitations which are well known in the art. Montague discloses that the body portions connected at the flange are a back cover 42 that is removable from the body portion 31, so as to allow a user to replace a battery 17. The claims recite limitations such as fasteners (i.e. screws, pins, bolts) that connect the two pieces (see claims 25 – 28) and a gasket and keying feature to form the connection (see claims 35 – 38). All of these are well known in the art to connect parts of a housing, especially removably in order to change a battery or the like. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing as taught by Montague with the well known features, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a sealed housing having a removable portion so that the power source is accessible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pham (US PGPUB 2020/0178411) teaches a sealing structure for an electronic device.
Christmas (US PGPUB 2019/0175928) teaches an AED having a cover which renders the housing watertight.
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792