DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the insert" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any “insert” in the claim. Additionally, it appears that the insert is related to one of the structures of the collector such as the collection end.
Claims 2-13 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the flow of air" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although the claim recites that the compressor pushes air, this appears to be the first instance of any “flow of air” in the claim. The examiner suggests amending the claim earlier at line 8 to recite “a compressor that pushes air through the narrowed section to create a flow of air”.
Claims 2-13 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first vent" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any “vent” in the claim. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a vent” for clarity.
Claims 3, 7 and 8 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 2.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "an insert" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the same insert as recited as “the insert” in claim 1, and which has also been rejected for antecedent basis. The examiner suggests amending the claim to ensure antecedent basis based on how claim 1 is amended.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the strength of the venturi section vacuum source" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term venturi section vacuum source is recited in parent claim 1, and although any strength of the venturi section vacuum source might appear to have implicit antecedent basis, this is the first reference to any “strength” property. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a strength of the venturi section vacuum source” for clarity.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a user" in line 7 and again recites "a user" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Line 5 has already introduced the term “a user”, and it appears that the references in line 7 and 9 are to the same user. The examiner suggests amending the claim at lines 7 and 9 to recite “the user”.
Claim 13 is rejected based its their dependency from claim 12.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the strength of the venturi section vacuum source" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term venturi section vacuum source is recited in parent claim 1, and although any strength of the venturi section vacuum source might appear to have implicit antecedent basis, this is the first reference to any “strength” property. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a strength of the venturi section vacuum source” for clarity.
Claim 13 is rejected based its their dependency from claim 12.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first vent" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any “vent” in the claim. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a vent” for clarity.
Claim 13 is rejected based on its dependency from claim 2.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the level of powder dispersal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term powder dispersal is recited in parent claim 12, and although any level of powder dispersal might appear to have implicit antecedent basis, this is the first reference to any “level” property. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a level of the powder dispersal” for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 12331457 B1) in view of Uribe (US 5213271 A) and Jang (WO 2011162533 A2).
As to claim 1, Moon discloses a dryer and shaker powder recirculating system for a direct-to-film print having a powder (“adhesive dust”), a powder application container (“dusting chamber 113”), a powder inlet point, and a powder recirculation exit point (the points would be along the chamber 113 and recycle system 121), and a collection area (“powder recycle system 121”), the system comprising: a collector having a collection end (between the dusting chamber 113 and the recycle system 121), the collector configured to access the powder application container at the powder recirculation exit point.
See column 3, lines 34-41, disclosing:
The dusting system 117 may be of any suitable configuration to suit this purpose, such as existing dusting systems. More particularly, the dusting system 117 may incorporate a dust trough 119, a container to hold the adhesive dust, and a rotating shaft with bristles or a similar mechanism positioned at the bottom of the trough. As the printed film 109 passes by the trough, the rotating shaft agitates the adhesive dust, displacing it and distributing it evenly onto the surface of the film, where the dust sticks to the ink printed onto the film. Excess powder is then removed via a shaking mechanism which rapidly agitates the film to shake loose any adhesive dust that did not sufficiently stick to the ink of the printed design. Thus, the adhesive dust is left only in regions of the film corresponding to the printed design, ready for the curing process.
After the dusting chamber 113, the conveyor system 111 transports the printed film 109 into a vertical curing chamber 115. It should be appreciated that the curing chamber being oriented vertically is one of the unique features believed characteristic of the present invention. The vertical curing chamber 115 is equipped with heating elements and proper insulation in order to achieve even and consistent heat distribution therein for optimal curing of the adhesive dust applied to the printed film 109. The vertical curing chamber 115 is configured to be tall enough so that the adhesive dust has enough time to cure as the conveyor system 111 pulls the printed film 109 through the vertical curing chamber 115.
It is also contemplated and will be appreciated that the present invention can also incorporate a powder recycle system 121 to minimize waste and improve efficiency. The recycle system 121 captures excess adhesive powder removed from the film during the dusting process and returns it to the powder trough for reuse. The system may also include a delay feature that prevents the powder from escaping, ensuring clean and efficient operation.
See marked up Figure 3, below:
Moon does not disclose the full limitation of the system comprising: a collector having a collection end, the collector configured to access the powder application container at the powder recirculation exit point and extend the collection end into the collection area; a first duct to provide fluid communication between the insert and a narrowed section; a compressor that pushes air through the narrowed section; a second duct to provide fluid communication from the narrowed section to the powder inlet point; wherein the flow of air from the compressor through the narrowed section creates a venturi suction vacuum source that draws the powder from the collection area and propels the powder to the powder inlet point.
However, Uribe discloses powder recirculation systems and makes obvious the full limitation of the system comprising: a collector having a collection end (either inlet 42 or return conduit outlet 61), the collector configured to access the powder application container at the powder recirculation exit point and extend the collection end into the collection area; a first duct to provide fluid communication between the insert (either inlet 42 or return conduit outlet 61); a compressor or blower that pushes air (blower 40, vane type impeller 66, “operation of the blower 40 creates a negative pressure within the supply conduit 35”), and a second duct (“supply conduit 35”) to provide fluid communication to the powder inlet point. See column 4, line 22 onward, disclosing:
In keeping with the invention, the supply hopper has a mixing chamber associated therewith that receives a substantially constant volume of powder from the supply hopper and within which the powder is pneumatically agitated during operation of the powder supply system to create a relatively constant rich air-powder mixture for direction through the supply conduit to the sprayer housing. In the illustrated embodiment, the supply hopper 30 has a mixing chamber 44 associated with a lower end thereof. The supply hopper 30, as best depicted in FIGS. 4 and 5, has a lower trough defined by a first inclined wall 45 extending from one side wall 46 inwardly and downwardly to a bottom 48 of the hopper 30 and a second inclined wall 49 extending inwardly and downwardly from an opposite side wall 50 of the hopper to a point above the bottom 48 of the hopper for defining a discharge opening 51 having a relatively small height "h" on the order of about 11/2 inches. The inclined side wall 49 in this case terminates in a relatively small, depending, vertical flange 52.
The mixing chamber 44, as best shown in FIG. 5, is defined by a vertical wall 55 extending from the bottom 48 of the supply hopper 30 at a location outwardly of the discharge opening 51, a horizontal wall 56 extending outwardly away from an external side of the inclined wall 49 of the supply hopper trough at an elevation above the discharge opening 51, and an inclined wall 58 angled at about 45.degree. to the vertical connecting the vertical and horizontal walls 55, 56. The illustrated mixing chamber 44 extend above the discharge opening 51 an elevation "e" of about twice the discharge opening height "h". The supply conduit 35 has an inlet 60 connected to and communicating with an upper portion of the mixing chamber 44 on one side thereof, and the return conduit 36 has an outlet 61 connected to and communicating with the mixing chamber 44 on an opposite side thereof. The return conduit outlet 61 preferably is in the form of a rigid tubular member secured within the inclined wall 58 of the mixing chamber 44 so as to be oriented at about 45.degree. to the horizontal with one end extending into the mixing chamber 44 and an opposite end extending outwardly thereof over which the return conduit 36 is positioned. The supply conduit inlet 60 is a similar rigid tubular member mounted at a 45.degree. angle to the vertical in the inclined wall 49 of the supply hopper trough and having one end extending into the chamber and the other end extending outwardly thereof over which the supply conduit 35 is mounted.
With particular reference to FIGS. 4 and 5, it can be seen that powder from the supply hopper 30 will feed through the discharge opening 51 into the mixing chamber 44 such that during operation of the system, a substantially constant volume of powder will be maintained in the mixing chamber 44. Operation of the blower 40 causes air to be directed through the return line 36 and forcefully discharge from the outlet 61 into the mixing chamber 44, causing powder within the mixing chamber to be agitated with considerable turbulence for creating a relatively rich and substantially constant air-powder mixture within the mixing chamber. At the same time, operation of the blower 40 creates a negative pressure within the supply conduit 35, causing the air-powder mixture to be drawn through the inlet 60 and supply conduit 35 and directed into the sprayer housing 16. While the return conduit outlet 61 and supply line inlet 60 each are mounted at 45.degree. angles to the vertical, it will be appreciated that they may be mounted at different angles so long as they communicate with an upper portion of the mixing chamber 44.
In carrying out the invention, the blower 40 is a regenerative type blower that is adapted for low pressure operation with relatively high volume air-flow characteristics. The regenerative blower 40 may be of the type offered by E. G. & G. Rotron, Saugerties, N.Y., under the name Rotron Regenerative Blowers and by the Spencer Turbine Company under the name Vortex Blowers. As is known in the art, such regenerative type blowers generate pressure through centrifugal force, which acts on a limited area at the outer periphery of an enclosed ring. Air drawn into air inlet 65 of the blower 40 is accelerated by a vane type impeller 66 outwardly against the curved housing, where it is deflected back along the sides of the housing to the vein root area from which it started. As air re-enters the blade root area, it is again centrifuged outwardly. The cycle repeats during each revolution of the impeller, regenerating pressure with cycle. The air ultimately is diverted to an outlet 68 at pressures comparable to significantly larger centrifugal blowers.
The regenerative blower 40 has unexpectedly been found to more reliably and efficiently transfer air-powder mixtures in the powder supply system 12, as compared to centrifugal blowers, which in order to achieve comparable pressures are of relatively large size and inefficiently operate with much greater air flow characteristics, and as compared to conventional reciprocating type compressors with associated valving which tend to clog when directing rich powder and air mixtures and which create the possibility for contamination by the presence of lubricants. In a typical powder supply system, 12, a 1/3 horse power regenerative blower 40 has been utilized for generating a pressure differential across the inlet and outlet thereof of between about 26-32 inches/H.sub.2 O, while generating maximum air flow of 48 c.f.m. in 1/2 inch diameter supply and return conduits 36, 35. The air flow achieved by the regenerative blower 40 creates significant agitation within the mixing chamber 44, and hence maintains a relatively rich air-powder mixture therein so long as the powder supply in the hopper 30 exceeds a minimum level about the discharge opening 51. The operation of the blower 40 further has been found to enable both air and powder to be recirculated through the blower and supply conduit with sufficient force and turbulence for preventing clogging.
For uniformly distributing powder introduced into the spray housing 16 during operation of the powder supply system 12, the outlet 41 of the supply conduit 35 communicates with one end of the sprayer housing 16 and the inlet 42 of the return conduit 36 communicates with an opposite end of the sprayer housing. In the illustrated embodiment, as best illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, the outlet 41 of the supply conduit 35 has a tubular extension 70 that extends the length of the sprayer housing 16 and has an outlet 71 adjacent the end of the housing, and the inlet 42 of the return conduit 36 communicates with the end of the housing opposite that of the supply conduit extension outlet 71. The extension 70 of the supply conduit 35 preferably has its terminal end cut at and angle to the horizontal, such as on the order of 45.degree., so that the outlet 71 tends to direct air and powder upwardly into the sprayer housing. Since the powder discharging from the extension 70 supply conduit 35 enters at one end of the sprayer housing 16 and the return line 36 communicates with the opposite end, it has been found that powder tends to be distributed substantially over the length of the sprayer housing 16, and thus, tends to ensure more uniform discharge from the sprayer 11.
In practice, the powder supply system 12 preferably is operated on a continuous basis contemporaneously with operation of the printing line with which it is employed. A relatively rich air-powder mixture is drawn from the mixing chamber 44 of the powder supply 30 and forcefully directed through the supply conduit 35. Upon discharge from the supply conduit extension 70, the sprayer housing 16 serves as an expansion chamber which reduces the velocity of the air flow, allowing the powder particles to settle downwardly into the sprayer housing. Powder remaining airborne may be drawn into the return line 36 from the sprayer housing 16 and redirected to the supply hopper, via transfer through the blower 40, again without susceptibility for clogging. Moreover, since the blower 40 may be run on a continuous basis there is no need for timers or other selectively adjustable control means which must be set for particular printing operations. Because the powder supply system 12 operates through a closed loop without the discharge of air to the outside environment, nor is there a need for air filters.
See marked up Figures 4, 5, and 6, below:
Jang clearly discloses using a compressor, and discloses using a venturi system in powder apparatus and makes obvious the using a narrowed section (venturi tube 2), a compressor (compressor 29) that pushes air through the narrowed section (venturi tube 2) and a second duct (see tubes 3 and 4, showing first and second tubes) to provide fluid communication from the narrowed section to the powder inlet point, wherein the flow of air from the compressor through the narrowed section creates a venturi suction vacuum source that draws the powder from the collection area (analogous to the material supply in Jang) and propels the powder to the powder inlet point.
See page 10, line 17 onward, disclosing:
According to the powder conveying apparatus, powder is fed from a material receptacle 30 and filled directly into a metering receptacle 21 by means of a venturi tube 2 disposed at the center of the top end portion of a hopper-shaped chamber 1.
The venturi tube 2 includes a powder-sucking portion, a powder-exhausting portion, and an air-injecting portion.
The powder-sucking portion of the venturi tube 2 is connected to a powder-conveying tube 4, and the powder- conveying tube 4 is connected at the distal end thereof to a powder-sucking tube 5. The powder-exhausting portion of the venturi tube 2 is extended to a vertically elongated powder- exhausting tube 3 having a larger diameter than the powder- exhausting portion thereof, so as to lower the pressure of the fine powder exhausted therefrom. The air-injecting portion of the venturi tube 2 is connected to a compressor 29, and if air is injected through the flexible tube, a negative pressure is generated at the inside of the venturi tube 2. In this case, the vacuum degree of the negative pressure is proportional to the pressure of the air injected to the venturi tube 2.
If high pressure air is injected to the air-injecting portion of the venturi tube 2, a high vacuum degree is generated to help the fine powder well sucked, but the injected high pressure air is mixed with the fine powder to cause a large quantity of dust to be generated from the fine powder .
According to the present invention, thus, a powder- dispersing unit is provided at the powder-sucking tube 5 connected to the venturi tube 2, such that even though low pressure air (3 bar) is injected to the air-injecting portion of the venturi tube 2 to generate a low pressure vacuum degree therein, fine powder 39 is sucked easily to the powder-sucking tube 5.
The fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force.
See marked up Figure 1, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of the system comprising: a collector having a collection end, the collector configured to access the powder application container at the powder recirculation exit point and extend the collection end into the collection area; a first duct to provide fluid communication between the insert and a narrowed section; a compressor that pushes air through the narrowed section; a second duct to provide fluid communication from the narrowed section to the powder inlet point; wherein the flow of air from the compressor through the narrowed section creates a venturi suction vacuum source that draws the powder from the collection area and propels the powder to the powder inlet point in the apparatus of Moon based on the overall teachings of Uribe and Jang in order to achieve the benefit that “powder tends to be distributed substantially over the length of the sprayer housing” and “thus, tends to ensure more uniform discharge from the sprayer” as taught by Uribe’s system and in order to ensure that fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force as taught by Jang’s venturi system.
As to claim 2, Moon discloses a powder source, but does not disclose the full limitation of further comprising a powder source coupled to the first vent via a valve such that the venturi suction vacuum source pulls powder from the powder source when the valve is open.
However, Jang as incorporated also discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of further comprising a powder source coupled to the first vent via a valve such that the venturi suction vacuum source pulls powder from the powder source when the valve is open. See page 14, line 11 onward, disclosing:
Referring to FIG.5, a pinch valve 26 is mounted along the lower end periphery of the powder-discharging tube 25, and a powder-deaerating tube 24 is disposed on the lower portion of the pinch valve 26. Further, a packing-support 27 is mounted along the outer periphery of the lower end of the powder-discharging tube 25.
The powder-exhausting portion of the venturi tube 2 communicates with the interior of the chamber 1 and is connected to the tube-exhausting tube 3 in such a manner as to be disposed at the inside center of the chamber 1, and the air-injecting portion of the venturi tube 2 includes a valve, a regulator and a filter for controlling the air supplied from the compressor 29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of further comprising a powder source coupled to the first vent via a valve such that the venturi suction vacuum source pulls powder from the powder source when the valve is open in order to ensure that fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force as taught by Jang’s venturi system
As to claim 3, Moon does not disclose further comprising a valve controller configured to allow a user to control the valve to meter powder flow from the powder source to the powder application container.
However, Jang as incorporated also makes obvious the full limitation of further comprising a valve controller configured to allow a user to control the valve to meter powder flow from the powder source to the powder application container. Jang discloses that the pinch valve is operated by the signal of the central processing unit. See page 19, line 20 onward, disclosing:
If the filling of the metering of the fine powder is finished through the above processes, the pinch valve 26 is operated by the signal of the central processing unit and the powder-discharging tube 25 is closed. Next, the powder- sucking and exhausting tube 22 is operated to suck the air contained into the material receptacle 21, thereby completing the powder-deaerating operation, and after that, the operating stand 17 of the weighing load cell is returned to its original position, thereby finishing all processes. So as to continuously supply the fine powder to the powder- supplying unit (as shown in FIGS.2 and 3), at this time, , the lift 16 is moved upwardly. In this case, if the powder-supplying unit is excessively moved upwardly, the spring 37 mounted inside the sensor tube 6 is not controllable, such that the distance and proximity sensor 38 is operated to send a signal to the drive motor 21 of the lift 16, thereby adjusting the over load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a valve controller configured to allow a user to control the valve to meter powder flow from the powder source to the powder application container in order to ensure that fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force as taught by Jang’s venturi system
As to claim 4, Moon does not disclose further comprising a connector that seals the first duct to the powder recirculation exit point.
However, Uribe discloses several connection points between the conduits and the inlets and outlets. Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to utilize ordinary mechanical structures such as further comprising a connector that seals the first duct to the powder recirculation exit point. Such a connector would be an ordinary mechanical element that would enable the air flow to be sealed in the conduits, ducts or tubes for the disclosed operation of Moon, Jang and Uribe.
As to claim 5, Moon does not disclose wherein the connector is a tube clamp.
However, Uribe discloses several connection points between the conduits and the inlets and outlets. Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to utilize ordinary mechanical structures such as wherein the connector is a tube clamp. Such a connector in the form of a clamp would be an ordinary mechanical element that would enable the air flow to be sealed in the conduits, ducts or tubes for the disclosed operation of Moon, Jang and Uribe.
As to claim 6, Moon does not disclose further comprising a connector that seals the second duct to the powder inlet point.
However, Uribe discloses several connection points between the conduits and the inlets and outlets. Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to utilize ordinary mechanical structures such as further comprising a connector that seals the second duct to the powder inlet point. Such a connector would be an ordinary mechanical element that would enable the air flow to be sealed in the conduits, ducts or tubes for the disclosed operation of Moon, Jang and Uribe.
As to claim 7, Moon, Jang and Uribe do not disclose wherein the powder source is coupled to the first duct through a third duct that houses the valve and joins to the first duct at a T-joint.
However, Jang does disclose a T-joint arrangement for the venturi air tube. See the close up of Figure 1, below:
Additionally, rearrangement of parts is very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, it would have been an obvious rearrangement of the parts of Moon, Jang and Uribe to achieve an arrangement of wherein the powder source is coupled to the first duct through a third duct that houses the valve and joins to the first duct at a T-joint.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized an arrangement of wherein the powder source is coupled to the first duct through a third duct that houses the valve and joins to the first duct at a T-joint as an obvious rearrangement of the parts of Moon, Jang and Uribe under MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 8, Jang as incorporated discloses a valve, but does not wherein the valve is a motorized valve. However, Jang as discussed above does disclose on page 19 that “the pinch valve 26 is operated by the signal of the central processing unit and the powder-discharging tube 25 is closed” Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to utilize ordinary mechanical structures such as wherein the valve is a motorized valve. Such a valve would enable effective adjustments in the air flow in the conduits, ducts or tubes for the disclosed operation of Moon, Jang and Uribe.
As to claim 9, Moon does not disclose wherein the compressor is a tankless air compressor.
However, Jang as discussed above does disclose using a compressor. Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to utilize ordinary mechanical structures such as selecting a tankless compressor for the disclosed compressor of Jang. Such a valve would enable effective adjustments in the air flow in the conduits, ducts or tubes for the disclosed operation of Moon, Jang and Uribe.
As to claim 10, Moon does not disclose wherein the collector is an insert that extends into the collection area.
However, Uribe discloses that the collector is an insert that extends into the collection area (“The supply conduit 35 has an inlet 60 connected to and communicating with an upper portion of the mixing chamber 44 on one side thereof, and the return conduit 36 has an outlet 61 connected to and communicating with the mixing chamber 44 on an opposite side thereof.”). See marked up Figure 5, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the collector is an insert that extends into the collection area in order to ensure that fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force as taught by Jang’s venturi system
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 12331457 B1) in view of Uribe (US 5213271 A) and Jang (WO 2011162533 A2) as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Shutic (US 20050115496 A1).
As to claim 11, Moon, Uribe and Jang does not disclose further comprising a compressor controller that is configured to allow a user to control the strength of the venturi section vacuum source. Jang does discloses using a venturi and a compressor.
However, Shutic discloses and makes obvious further comprising a compressor (main air supply 408) controller (gun air control 299) that is configured to allow a user to control the strength. See paragraph 0055-58, below:
[0008] Known supply systems for powder coating materials generally involve a container such as a box or hopper that holds a fresh supply of new or `virgin` powder. This powder is usually fluidized within the hopper, meaning that air is pumped into the powder to produce an almost liquid-like bed of powder. Fluidized powder is typically a rich mixture of material to air. Often, recovered powder overspray is returned to the supply via a sieve arrangement. A venturi pump is used to draw powder through a suction line or tube from the supply into a feed hose and then to push the powder under positive pressure through the hose to a spray gun. Such systems are difficult to clean for a color change operation because the venturi pumps cannot be reverse purged, the suction tubes and associated support frames retain powder and changing the hoppers can be time consuming. The sieve is also challenging and time consuming to clean as it often is in a separate housing structure as part of the powder recovery system or is otherwise not easily accessible. Most of these components need to be cleaned by use of a high pressure air wand which an operator manually uses to blow powder residue back up into a cyclone or other powder recovery unit. Every minute that operators have to spend cleaning and purging the system for color change represents downtime for the system and inefficiency.
[0009] There are two generally known types of dry particulate material transfer processes, referred to herein as dilute phase and dense phase. Dilute phase systems utilize a substantial quantity of air to push material through one or more hoses from a supply to a spray applicator. A common pump design used in powder coating systems is the venturi pump which introduces a large volume of air at higher velocity into the powder flow. In order to achieve adequate powder flow rates (in pounds per minute or pounds per hour for example), the components that make up the flow path must be large enough to accommodate the flow with such a high air to material ratio (in other words lean flow) otherwise significant back pressure and other deleterious effects can occur.
…
[0055] The manifold 404 supplies pressurized air to its associated pump 402 for purposes that will be explained hereinafter. In addition, each manifold 404 includes a pressurized pattern air supply 405 that is provided to the spray guns 20 via air hoses or lines 406. Main air 408 is provided to the manifold 404 from any convenient source within the manufacturing facility of the end user of the system 10.
[0056] In this embodiment, a second transfer pump 410 is used to transfer powder from a supply 412 of virgin powder (that is to say, unused) to the feed center 22. Those skilled in the art will understand that the number of required transfer pumps 410 and gun pumps 402 will be determined by the requirements of the overall system 10 as well as the spraying operations to be performed using the system 10.
[0057] Other than the supply 22, the selected design and operation of the material application system 10, including the spray booth 12, the guns 20, the pumps 400, 402 and 410, the conveyor 14, and the recovery system 28, form no required part of the present invention and may be selected based on the requirements of a particular coating application. A control system 34 likewise may be a conventional control system architecture such as a programmable processor based system or other suitable control circuit. The control system 34 executes a wide variety of control functions and algorithms, typically through the use of programmable logic and program routines, which are generally indicated in FIG. 1 as including but not necessarily limited to feed center control 36 (for example supply controls and pump operation controls), gun operation control 38, gun position control 40 (such as for example control functions for the reciprocator/gun mover 26 when used), powder recovery system control 42 (for example, control functions for cyclone separators, after filter blowers and so on), conveyor control 44 and material application parameter controls 46 (such as for example, powder flow rates, applied film thickness, electrostatic or non-electrostatic application and so on). Conventional control system theory, design and programming may be utilized.
[0058] The control functions for gun operation 38 include but are not limited to gun trigger on and off times, electrostatic parameters such as voltage and current settings and monitoring, and powder and air flow rates to the guns. These control functions may be conventional as is well known.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of further comprising a compressor controller that is configured to allow a user to control the strength of the venturi section vacuum source because Shutic discloses that these control functions may be conventional as is well known and are used for control functions such as trigger on and off times, electrostatic parameters such as voltage and current settings and monitoring, and powder and air flow rates.
As to claim 12, Moon does not disclose further comprising: a powder source coupled to the first vent via a valve such that the venturi suction vacuum source pulls powder from the powder source when the valve is open; a valve controller configured to allow a user to control the valve to meter powder flow from the powder source to the powder application container a compressor controller that is configured to allow a user to control the strength of the venturi section vacuum source; and a system controller configured to allow a user to coordinate the strength of the vacuum source and status of the valve to optimize powder dispersal in the powder application container.
However, Jang as incorporated also discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of further comprising a powder source coupled to the first vent via a valve such that the venturi suction vacuum source pulls powder from the powder source when the valve is open. See page 14, line 11 onward, disclosing:
Referring to FIG.5, a pinch valve 26 is mounted along the lower end periphery of the powder-discharging tube 25, and a powder-deaerating tube 24 is disposed on the lower portion of the pinch valve 26. Further, a packing-support 27 is mounted along the outer periphery of the lower end of the powder-discharging tube 25.
The powder-exhausting portion of the venturi tube 2 communicates with the interior of the chamber 1 and is connected to the tube-exhausting tube 3 in such a manner as to be disposed at the inside center of the chamber 1, and the air-injecting portion of the venturi tube 2 includes a valve, a regulator and a filter for controlling the air supplied from the compressor 29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of further comprising a powder source coupled to the first vent via a valve such that the venturi suction vacuum source pulls powder from the powder source when the valve is open in order to ensure that fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force as taught by Jang’s venturi system.
Additionally, Jang as incorporated also makes obvious the full limitation of further comprising a valve controller configured to allow a user to control the valve to meter powder flow from the powder source to the powder application container. Jang discloses that the pinch valve is operated by the signal of the central processing unit. See page 19, line 20 onward, disclosing:
If the filling of the metering of the fine powder is finished through the above processes, the pinch valve 26 is operated by the signal of the central processing unit and the powder-discharging tube 25 is closed. Next, the powder- sucking and exhausting tube 22 is operated to suck the air contained into the material receptacle 21, thereby completing the powder-deaerating operation, and after that, the operating stand 17 of the weighing load cell is returned to its original position, thereby finishing all processes. So as to continuously supply the fine powder to the powder- supplying unit (as shown in FIGS.2 and 3), at this time, , the lift 16 is moved upwardly. In this case, if the powder-supplying unit is excessively moved upwardly, the spring 37 mounted inside the sensor tube 6 is not controllable, such that the distance and proximity sensor 38 is operated to send a signal to the drive motor 21 of the lift 16, thereby adjusting the over load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a valve controller configured to allow a user to control the valve to meter powder flow from the powder source to the powder application container in order to ensure that fine powder dispersed to the air by means of the powder-dispersing unit is conveyed easily even with a low pressure of sucking force as taught by Jang’s venturi system.
However, Shutic discloses and makes obvious further comprising a compressor (main air supply 408) controller (gun air control 299) that is configured to allow a user to control the strength and a system controller (control system 39) configured to allow a user to coordinate the strength of the vacuum source and status of the valve to optimize powder dispersal in the powder application container. See paragraph 0055-58, below:
[0008] Known supply systems for powder coating materials generally involve a container such as a box or hopper that holds a fresh supply of new or `virgin` powder. This powder is usually fluidized within the hopper, meaning that air is pumped into the powder to produce an almost liquid-like bed of powder. Fluidized powder is typically a rich mixture of material to air. Often, recovered powder overspray is returned to the supply via a sieve arrangement. A venturi pump is used to draw powder through a suction line or tube from the supply into a feed hose and then to push the powder under positive pressure through the hose to a spray gun. Such systems are difficult to clean for a color change operation because the venturi pumps cannot be reverse purged, the suction tubes and associated support frames retain powder and changing the hoppers can be time consuming. The sieve is also challenging and time consuming to clean as it often is in a separate housing structure as part of the powder recovery system or is otherwise not easily accessible. Most of these components need to be cleaned by use of a high pressure air wand which an operator manually uses to blow powder residue back up into a cyclone or other powder recovery unit. Every minute that operators have to spend cleaning and purging the system for color change represents downtime for the system and inefficiency.
[0009] There are two generally known types of dry particulate material transfer processes, referred to herein as dilute phase and dense phase. Dilute phase systems utilize a substantial quantity of air to push material through one or more hoses from a supply to a spray applicator. A common pump design used in powder coating systems is the venturi pump which introduces a large volume of air at higher velocity into the powder flow. In order to achieve adequate powder flow rates (in pounds per minute or pounds per hour for example), the components that make up the flow path must be large enough to accommodate the flow with such a high air to material ratio (in other words lean flow) otherwise significant back pressure and other deleterious effects can occur.
…
[0055] The manifold 404 supplies pressurized air to its associated pump 402 for purposes that will be explained hereinafter. In addition, each manifold 404 includes a pressurized pattern air supply 405 that is provided to the spray guns 20 via air hoses or lines 406. Main air 408 is provided to the manifold 404 from any convenient source within the manufacturing facility of the end user of the system 10.
[0056] In this embodiment, a second transfer pump 410 is used to transfer powder from a supply 412 of virgin powder (that is to say, unused) to the feed center 22. Those skilled in the art will understand that the number of required transfer pumps 410 and gun pumps 402 will be determined by the requirements of the overall system 10 as well as the spraying operations to be performed using the system 10.
[0057] Other than the supply 22, the selected design and operation of the material application system 10, including the spray booth 12, the guns 20, the pumps 400, 402 and 410, the conveyor 14, and the recovery system 28, form no required part of the present invention and may be selected based on the requirements of a particular coating application. A control system 34 likewise may be a conventional control system architecture such as a programmable processor based system or other suitable control circuit. The control system 34 executes a wide variety of control functions and algorithms, typically through the use of programmable logic and program routines, which are generally indicated in FIG. 1 as including but not necessarily limited to feed center control 36 (for example supply controls and pump operation controls), gun operation control 38, gun position control 40 (such as for example control functions for the reciprocator/gun mover 26 when used), powder recovery system control 42 (for example, control functions for cyclone separators, after filter blowers and so on), conveyor control 44 and material application parameter controls 46 (such as for example, powder flow rates, applied film thickness, electrostatic or non-electrostatic application and so on). Conventional control system theory, design and programming may be utilized.
[0058] The control functions for gun operation 38 include but are not limited to gun trigger on and off times, electrostatic parameters such as voltage and current settings and monitoring, and powder and air flow rates to the guns. These control functions may be conventional as is well known.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of further comprising a compressor controller that is configured to allow a user to control the strength of the venturi section vacuum source and a system controller configured to allow a user to coordinate the strength of the vacuum source and status of the valve to optimize powder dispersal in the powder application container because Shutic discloses that these control functions may be conventional as is well known and are used for control functions such as trigger on and off times, electrostatic parameters such as voltage and current settings and monitoring, and powder and air flow rates.
As to claim 13, Moon does not disclose further comprising a sensor coupled to the system controller that senses the level of powder dispersal in the powder application container, wherein the system controller automatically adjusts the compressor controller and the valve controller to create a desired powder dispersal level.
However, Shutic discloses and makes obvious further comprising a sensor coupled to the system controller that senses the level of powder dispersal in the powder application container, wherein the system controller automatically adjusts the compressor controller and the valve controller to create a desired powder dispersal level. See paragraph 0082, disclosing:
[0082] In the operational position of FIG. 7, powder is introduced into the duct 700 through any one or combination of the access door 704 (manual addition), the new powder inlet 770 (virgin powder via transfer pump 410) or the second inlet 782 (reclaimed powder via transfer pump 400). When the powder enters the upper region 700a of the supply duct 700, it is sieved before falling to the fluidizing unit 708. The gun pumps 402 draw the powder from the siphon ring 706 and pump it to the spray application devices 20. Conventional level sensors 786 may be provided in the vicinity of the siphon ring 706, for example, to detect when powder needs to be added. The control system 39 (FIG. 1) as part of the feed center control function 36 monitors the level sensors 786 and operates the transfer pumps 400, 410 to add powder as needed to the supply duct 700.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a sensor coupled to the system controller that senses the level of powder dispersal in the powder application container, wherein the system controller automatically adjusts the compressor controller and the valve controller to create a desired powder dispersal level as taught by Shutic in order to detect when powder needs to be added.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK