Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/03/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy et al. (US10565731, hereinafter “Reddy”)
(Claims 1-10 are listed after Claims 11-19)
Claim 11. Reddy teaches A multi-device system, (col1line66 “headset device for multi-device object tracking”) operable in a physical environment, (col6line43 “user moves within the physical environment.”) and comprising:
a host device, (col7line46 “headset device”) configured to establish a host map of the physical environment; (col7line47 “map or virtual scene of the physical environment.”) and
a peripheral device, configured to receive the host map, (col16line4 “both the headset device 304 and the controller 306 may track the 6DOF pose of the other using a shared map or scene.”)
wherein the host device is configured to generate a first pose data of the peripheral device based on an interaction between the host device and the peripheral device, (col7line49 “headset device may also utilize the image data to determine and track the 6DOF pose of the controller”) and
wherein the peripheral device is configured to generate a second pose data of the peripheral device based on the host map, (col56line1 “controller may determine a 6DOF pose of the controller relative of a scene map shared by the controller and the headset device. For example, the controller may utilize a known prior 6DOF pose of the controller, image data of the environment, and/or orientation data (such as collected by an IMU on the controller) to determine the 6DOF pose of the controller relative to the shared scene map.”) and is configured to transfer the second pose data (col56line22 “controller may send the 6DOF pose of the headset device relative to the physical environment (or the shared scene map) to the headset device for use in tracking or as a user input.” to stop the host device generating the first pose data. (col57line34 “headset device is unable to determine its 6DOF pose relative to the environment, the controller may assist with generating a shared scene map and to locate the 6DOF pose of the headset device relative to the environment.” And col57line55 “headset device may lose track of the 6DOF pose of the headset device. In these instances, the headset device may utilize the 6DOF pose of the controller relative to the shared scene map to relocated.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed stop the host device generating the first pose data because in order to receive the pose of the peripheral device, it has to first stop using its own pose estimation)
Claim 12. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 11, wherein the peripheral device is configured to generate an image data of the physical environment, and is configured to calculate an image-based pose data according to the image data and the host map to generate the second pose data. (col56line1 “controller may determine a 6DOF pose of the controller relative of a scene map shared by the controller and the headset device. For example, the controller may utilize a known prior 6DOF pose of the controller, image data of the environment, and/or orientation data (such as collected by an IMU on the controller) to determine the 6DOF pose of the controller relative to the shared scene map.”)
Claim 13. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 12, wherein the peripheral device is further configured to receive the first pose data, wherein the image-based pose data is calculated according to the first pose data, the image data (col7line49 “headset device may also utilize the image data to determine and track the 6DOF pose of the controller”) and the host map. (col7line47 “shared map”)
Claim 14. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 12, wherein the peripheral device is further configured to generate a motion data corresponding to a movement of the peripheral device, wherein the second pose data is generated (col56line1 “the controller may determine a 6DOF pose”) according to at least one of the motion data (col56line3 “controller may utilize …orientation data (such as collected by an IMU on the controller) to determine the 6DOF pose” and col68line17 “inertial measurement unit (IMU)” an IMU is an inertial measurement unit which tracks the device movements in real time) and the image-based pose data. (col56line3 “controller may utilize … image data of the environment, … to determine the 6DOF pose”)
Claim 15. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 11, wherein the host device is configured to generate an image data of at least one trackable object arranged on the peripheral device, (col18line11 “headset device 306 may be tracking a 6DOF pose of the controller 306. In this case, the controller 304 may utilize non-color markers or infrared markers and is configured to calculate an interaction-based pose data according to the image data (col18line19 “The headset device 304 may then identify image points associated with an object or controller 306 within the image.”)to generate the first pose data. (col18line11 “headset device 306 may be tracking a 6DOF pose of the controller 306”)
Claim 16. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 15, wherein the host device is further configured to receive a motion data (col18line45 “the headset device 304 may utilize orientation data of the controller 306 may be used to generate one or more candidate 6DOF pose.”) corresponding to a movement of the peripheral device, (col51line42 “the controller … may be equipped with measurement units, such as one or more IMUs, one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more magnetometers,”) wherein the first pose data is generated according to at least one of the motion data (col51line47 “image system may utilize the orientation data to generate a forward predictive 6DOF pose.”) and the interaction-based pose data. (col51line49 “6DOF pose may be used as the initial 6DOF pose prediction.”)
Claim 17. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 11, wherein the host device is further configured to calibrate the second pose data (col7line5 “it is possible that a large number of candidates may be tested, scored, and/or discarded before selecting a candidate to use in generating the 6DOF pose of the object.”) according to an extrinsic transform data, to generate a third pose data of the peripheral device. (col7line23 “candidates may be removed using the linear translation vector. In some instances, the image system may select the candidates (e.g., image point to model point relationships usable to generate a 6DOF pose of the object).”)
Claim 18. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 17, wherein when the host device calculates an interaction-based pose data, the host device is further configured to obtain a pose (col9line6 “6DOF pose”) difference between the second pose data and the interaction-based pose data, (col9line6 “The image system may then mark each of the model points that are within a threshold distance (such as six pixels) of an image point as an inlier.”) to compare the pose difference and a threshold value, (col8line67 “discard any 6DOF poses that are below a threshold (e.g., the 6DOF pose of the object or controller is physically impossible or highly unlikely).”) wherein the interaction-based pose data is calculated according to an image data of at least one trackable object arranged on the peripheral device, (col16line7 “controller 306 may be equipped with image components as well as markers, such as LEDs or inferred patterns.”) and
wherein when the pose difference is greater than the threshold value, the host device is further configured to update the extrinsic transform data, (col17line23 “candidates may be eliminated when the candidate has corresponding model points that exceed a margin of error supported by the linear translation vector.”) to make the third pose data equal the interaction-based pose data substantially. (col17line8 “set of candidates that may be utilized to generate the 6DOF pose of the object based at least in part on the class and a position of the image point.”)
Claim 19. Reddy teaches The multi-device system of claim 18, wherein the host device is configured to generate a first image and a second image according to the second pose data and the interaction-based pose data, (col23line2 “utilize a 6DOF pose determined from a previous frame to limit the number of candidates.”) respectively, and is configured to calculate a pixel shift from the second image to the first image as the pose difference. (col23line20 “pose estimation instruction 612 may determine a number of model points that fall within a predefined distance or threshold of corresponding image points and classify the model points within the predefined distance or threshold as inliers and the model points that fall outside the predefined distance or threshold as outliers.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed pixel shift in light of instant specifications [0046])
Claim 1. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 11 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 2. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 12 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 3. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 13 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 4. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 14 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 5. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 15 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 6. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 16 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 7. Reddy teaches The tracking method of claim 6, further comprising:
by the peripheral device, stopping transferring the motion data when the second pose data is generated. (col57line34 “headset device is unable to determine its 6DOF pose relative to the environment, the controller may assist with generating a shared scene map and to locate the 6DOF pose of the headset device relative to the environment.” And col57line55 “headset device may lose track of the 6DOF pose of the headset device. In these instances, the headset device may utilize the 6DOF pose of the controller relative to the shared scene map to relocated.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed stop the host device generating the first pose data because in order to receive the pose of the peripheral device, it has to first stop using its own pose estimation)
Claim 8. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 17 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 9. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 18 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 10. The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 19 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 20. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 11 and is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Yitzhak et al US10838515 discloses a virtual reality system which tracks both the headset and controllers utilizing camera sensors on both the headset and controllers
D’Amico et al US20240095948 discloses a self tracking controller which determines a separate pose to combine with the pose generated from the headset
Sivalingam et al US20210398314 discloses pose tracking of VR headsets and controllers to integrate into the map of the environment.
Connellan et al US20210216135 discloses fusing VR head mounted display tracking with controller tracking including IMU data utilizing video or ultrasonic sensors.
/OWAIS I MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663