Detailed Action
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, 42, 60, 92-93, and 112-113 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, 42, and 60, drawn to compounds of Formula (I)) and the elected species:
in the reply filed on 9/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 92-93, and 112-113 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II or unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, 42, and 60 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
The elected species was searched and found to be free of the art. Compounds of Formula 1 (according to both the Claim 1 and Claim 6 genera) were searched.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 3/19/2026 has not been signed “by an applicant or representative” as required (Page 4). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has not been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 is drawn to a compound of “Formula (I)” which is a different genus from the “Formula (I)” of Claim 1, which is a separate independent claim. Alternative naming is required to distinguish the different “Formula (I)” genera belonging to two different independent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The latest amendments filed on 9/28/2026 strike “1” from the preambles. As amended, it is unclear which claim Claims 15 or 26 depend upon. In view of the “previously presented” status, and for the purpose of compact prosecution, the preamble of each claim is interpreted for examination to read as follows: “The compound of claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates (WO2020146194, published 1/03/2020; 12/11/2024 IDS).
Coates teaches IL-17A inhibitors (Abstract). Coates teaches Example 24 on Page 106:
, which differs only from the elected species
as follows: (1) R2 of CH2O-cyclopropyl is instead CH2OCH3; and (2) the R1 of
is instead
, wherein m1 is 0, n is 1, R1b is thrice fluoro-substituted C1alkyl, m2 is 1, and the carbon to which (R1a)m3 is attached is missing.
Instant Claim 21 of the examined invention explicitly teaches the Coates CH2OCH3 is an acceptable Formula (I) group:
.
Coates does not teach an additional ring methylene between a ring nitrogen and the carbon possessing a haloalkyl substituent. However, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups like the 2-imidazolinone ring of Coates and the instant 2-tetrahydropyrimidinone) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form an IL-17A inhibitor before the effective filing date of the present invention would have found it obvious to insert a methylene into the Coates ring, yielding a moiety as follows:
(ring group found in instant Claim 15). The same artisan would expect a successful inhibitor to result because homologs “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
The elected species differs from the Coates compound by its R2 group, number of R1 ring members, and R1 substituent groups. No suggestion is made to modify the R1 ring to comport with that of the elected species or those species depicted in Claim 60. For these reasons, Claim 60 is not rejected.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 16, 22, 25, 32-34, 37-39, 43, 45, 48, 74, 76-80 (Claims according to 10/27/2026 response filed) of copending Application No. 18973307 (hereinafter referred to as Goldberg).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of IL-17 inhibitors of an instant formula
and a formula of the copending claims
. Goldberg recites similar functional groups to the instant with the narrower embodiments as follows:
R2 of
(Claim 16).
R3 of
(Claim 34)
R4 of
R1 can be
(Claim16), which differs from the examined embodiment of Claim 15
by a single methylene.
Regarding the single difference between the respective R1 groups, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups like the 2-imidazolinone ring of Coates and the instant 2-tetrahydropyrimidinone) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form an IL-17 inhibitor according to the Goldberg formula would have found it obvious to insert a methylene into the ring, resulting in an R1 as shown in instant Claim 15:
. The same artisan would expect a successful inhibitor to result because homologs “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
Copending claims drawn to methods of using the compounds require the existence of the similar homologous compounds over which the instant claims are rejected.
Since both applications teach IL-17 inhibitors of the same core, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Goldberg.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
NONPROVISIONAL:
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, 18-20, and 22-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12215111 (hereinafter referred to as Goldberg).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to IL-17 inhibitors of the same core.
Goldberg teaches several compounds having the same core as those of the instant Formula (I). For example, Goldberg teaches the following compound in Claim 1:
, in which the following definitions of examined Formula (I) apply: R2 is
, R3 is
, R4 is a 5-membered heteroaryl with three heteroatoms selected from O and N, substituted by one R4a, which is a C1alkyl. Only R1 differs in that the compound above and those of Goldberg generally lack an additional ring methylene member. However, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups like the 2-imidazolinone ring of Coates and the instant 2-tetrahydropyrimidinone) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form an IL-17 inhibitor homolog of the Goldberg compounds would find it obvious to insert a methylene into the ring, resulting in an R1 as shown in instant Claim 15:
or
, for example. The same artisan would expect a successful inhibitor to result because homologs “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
Since both claim sets teach IL-17 inhibitors, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Goldberg.
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-15, 19, 21, 26, 37, 42, and 60 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-11, 13-14, 16-29, and 31-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12173007 (hereinafter referred to as Goldberg).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to IL-17 inhibitors.
Goldberg teaches several compounds which anticipate the instant Formula (I), the compounds listed in Claim 60, and the elected species. For example, the elected species is taught in Claim 1 of Goldberg:
Since both claim sets teach the same compounds, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are anticipated by the cited claims of Goldberg.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627