Specification
The use of the terms Baxxodur and Baxxodur ECX-210, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 recites the limitation "according to claim" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 is interpreted as being dependent from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lant (US 20170355933 A1) in view of Siklosi (US 4769172 A).
With regard to claims 1-8, 10-11, and 18, Lant discloses a cleaning composition which may be a liquid (see [0025]). Lant further discloses that the composition may comprise a surfactant system (see [0063]) at 1-80wt% (see [0066]). Lant further teaches 1-40wt% of anionic surfactants (see [0071]). Lant further discloses 0.1-40wt% of nonionic surfactants (see [0087]) and alkylpolyglucosides as suitable nonionic surfactants (see [0088]). Lant further discloses 0.5-15wt% of amphoteric surfactants (see [0071]).
While Lant does not specifically disclose at least about 40% by weight of the surfactant system of the anionic surfactant, Lant discloses 1-80wt% of a surfactant system and 1-40wt% of anionic surfactants. Through routine experimentation, one of ordinary skill in the art would select 60wt% of a surfactant system and the anionic surfactant at 65wt% of the surfactant system. This would result in the anionic surfactant at 39wt% of the overall composition.
However, Lant fails to disclose from about 0.1 to about 10wt% of a mid-chain 1,2-alkanediol, wherein the mid-chain alkyl chain of the 1,2-alkanediol comprises from 6 to 14 carbon atoms.
Siklosi discloses a dishwashing liquid, an analogous art (see Col 3 line 56-62). Siklosi further discloses 1-45wt% of surfactants (see Col 3 line 56-57), which may be anionic surfactants (see Col 3 line 16-18). Siklosi further discloses 1-50wt% of solvents (see Col 6 line 5-6), diols as preferred solvents due to their good grease cutting ability (see Col 5 line 64-65), and 1,2-octanediol as a suitable diol solvent (see Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the 1,2-octanediol of Siklosi in the cleaning composition of Lant for the purpose of improving the grease cutting ability of the composition, as disclosed by Siklosi.
With regard to claim 12, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses the anionic surfactant comprises at least 70wt% of a sulfate surfactant (see [0083]).
With regard to claim 13, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses C8-C18 primary, branched chain and random alkyl sulfates as suitable sulfate surfactants (see [0081]).
With regard to claim 14, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses a preferred anionic surfactant has a level of branching from about 5% to about 40% (see [0083]).
With regard to claim 15, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further teaches 1-40wt% of anionic surfactants (see [0071]) and 0.5-15wt% of amphoteric surfactants (see [0071]).
With respect to the ratio of anionic surfactant to amphoteric surfactant of 1:1 to 8:1 considering that Lant teaches anionic surfactants in the range of 1-40wt% as disclosed in [0071] and amphoteric surfactants in the range of 0.5-15wt% as disclosed in [0071], the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g. 39 wt% anionic surfactants: 5 wt% amphoteric surfactants or 7.8:1) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regard to claim 16, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses alkyl dimethyl amine oxides as suitable amphoteric surfactants (see [0900]).
With regard to claim 17, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses C8-C18 alkyl moieties as typical for linear amine oxides (see [0090]).
With regard to claim 19, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses that the composition may comprise a surfactant system (see [0063]) at 1-80wt% (see [0066]).
However, Lant fails to disclose from about 0.1 to about 10wt% of a mid-chain 1,2-alkanediol, wherein the mid-chain alkyl chain of the 1,2-alkanediol comprises from 6 to 14 carbon atoms.
Siklosi discloses a dishwashing liquid, an analogous art (see Col 3 line 56-62). Siklosi further discloses 1-45wt% of surfactants (see Col 3 line 56-57), which may be anionic surfactants (see Col 3 line 16-18). Siklosi further discloses 1-50wt% of solvents (see Col 6 line 5-6), diols as preferred solvents due to their good grease cutting ability (see Col 5 line 64-65), and 1,2-octanediol as a suitable diol solvent (see Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the 1,2-octanediol of Siklosi in the cleaning composition of Lant for the purpose of improving the grease cutting ability of the composition, as disclosed by Siklosi.
With respect to the ratio 1,2-alkanediol to surfactant system of from about 1:60 to about 1:1 considering that Lant teaches a surfactant system in the range of 1-80wt% as disclosed in [0063] and [0066] and Siklosi discloses 1,2-alkanediol in the range of 1-50wt% as disclosed in (see Col 6 line 5-6) and Table 1, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g. 5 wt% 1,2-alkanediol: 60 wt% surfactant system or 1:12) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regard to claim 20, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Lant further discloses a method including mixing the cleaning composition water to form an aqueous liquor and contacting a surface with the aqueous liquor in a laundering step (see [0110]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lant (US 20170355933 A1) in view of Siklosi (US 4769172 A), as applied to claims 1-8 and claims 10-20 above, and further in view of Zuniga (US 20200392427 A1).
With regard to claim 9, Lant and Siklosi disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Lant and Siklosi fail to disclose divalent metal salts, selected from the group consisting of: magnesium and/or calcium salts of: chlorides, sulphates, carbonates, bicarbonates, linear alkyl benzene sulphonic acid, and mixtures thereof.
Zuniga discloses aqueous cleaning compositions, an analogous art (see Abstract). Zuniga further discloses the composition may be a dish soap (see [0055]). Zuniga further discloses sodium carbonate as a pH adjusting agent and pH adjusting agents present in a total amount effective to maintain the composition in an acceptable pH range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the sodium carbonate of Zuniga in the composition of Lant in view of Siklosi for the purpose of maintaining the composition in an acceptable pH range, as disclosed by Zuniga.
Conclusion
/B.S.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761