DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection discussed below
With respect to the last office action, Applicant amends claims, discusses the claims limitations, the prior arts (PARs) of record and further argues that the PARs do not teach the amended claims limitations (see Applicant’s Remarks)
In response, Examiner notes Applicant’s arguments/amendments, however, the PARs still meet the amended claims limitations for these reasons (Please note the underlined text in the office action): The primary PAR (PPAR or LOYAL), discloses visual event detection “EDE”, may coordinate with other sensors: acoustic, optical and/or radiofrequency, within the environment during the events; senses positions of one or more players (objects: gun, shooter(s), gunfire, specific type of weapons or objects and other objects), in real-time or live, the EDE detection system includes sensors on the stationary or moving vehicle and other sensors on the street or around the environment to detect live events (events or objects: gun, shooter(s) and other objects moving and/or stationary (see figs.8-13, Col.4, line 11-Col.5, line 38, Col.9, line 8-Col.10, line 65 and Col.11, line 8-Col.13, line 23) and further generates video data streams that includes image data and metadata includes timestamps and map showing locations of the gun, movement of shooter(s) and other stationary and moving objects, tracks movements of the various objects within the environments; displayed UI of the video data streams and/or map is responsive to movements of the human (platform); compares the determined positioning information with historical data (previous locations); and determining an expected upcoming location of at least the ball and the one or more players based on the comparison of the positioning information with the historical data; updating the generated graphical indicia to show the expected upcoming location of least the ball and the one or more players and wherein the generated graphic indicia is a highlight on an area on the field, wherein the generated graphic indicia is an expected route of the one or more players (see Col.4, line 11-Col.5, line 38, Col.9, line 8-Col.10, line 65 and Col.11, line 8-Col.13, line 23); LOYAL discloses various visual events detection system (moving and/or stationary system Col.14, lines 24-33): including, including events in a park, streets, towns, etc., determines positioning information of the shooter and gun based on human and/or object movements within an environment or geographical location or map in real time and updates dynamically (Col.1, lines 13-58), BUT appears silent as to determining positioning information of the shooter or player based on sensed ball position on a field in live sporting events; However, in the same field of endeavor, SHUDEN, tracks, ball, players, ball possessing rate with player(s), movement area, non-movement area and other related information to generated a video and other information based on the generated tracking data; tracks positional information; players running around the pitch, including an alignment of at least one player on a team to one or more other players on the same team and a personnel grouping for one or more players on a team (see figs.1-16, Abstract, [0025-0026], [0048-0058], [0065-85] and [0090-0114]), as discussed below. Hence the amended claims do not overcome the PARs. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection. This office action is non-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOYAL et al (8,125,334) in view of SHUDEN et al (2020/0106968).
As to claims 1-6, LOYAL discloses visual event detection system and further discloses a method for graphically displaying data, comprising:
Sensing a real time position (figs.1-13, Event Detection System “EDE”) of a ball (objects: gun, shooter and other objects) on a field using one or more sensors during a live sporting event; sensing real time positions of one or more players (objects: gun, shooter(s) and other objects) on the field using one or more sensors during the live sporting event; determining movement of the one or more players based on changes in the sensed positions of the one or more players over time based upon data sensed by the one or more sensors in real time; determining positioning information of the one or more players based on the sensed positions of the one or more players (figs.8-13, Col.4, line 11-Col.5, line 38, Col.9, line 8-Col.10, line 65 and Col.11, line 8-Col.13, line 23), EDE detection system includes sensors on the stationary or moving vehicle and other sensors on the street or around the environment to detect live events (events or objects: gun, shooter(s) and other objects moving and/or stationary);
determining (EDE) a formation of the one or more players based on real-time analysis of the positioning information; and generating graphical indica that are dynamically updated in real-time on a transmitted broadcast of the live sporting event, the graphical indica representing at least one of: (i) the determined formation, (ii) the positioning information of the one or more players, (iii) the position of the ball on the field, and the determined movement of the one or more players (figs.8-13, Col.4, line 11-Col.5, line 38, Col.9, line 8-Col.10, line 65 and Col.11, line 8-Col.13, line 23), generates in real time video data streams that includes image data and metadata includes timestamps and map showing locations of the gun, movement of shooter(s) and other stationary and moving objects, tracks movements of the various objects within the environments,; displayed UI of the video data streams and/or map is responsive to movements of the human (platform); comparing the determined positioning information with historical data (previous locations); and determining an expected upcoming location of at least the ball and the one or more players based on the comparison of the positioning information with the historical data; updating the generated graphical indicia to show the expected upcoming location of least the ball and the one or more players and wherein the generated graphic indicia is a highlight on an area on the field, wherein the generated graphic indicia is an expected route of the one or more players (Col.4, line 11-Col.5, line 38, Col.9, line 8-Col.10, line 65 and Col.11, line 8-Col.13, line 23)
LOYAL discloses various visual events detection system (moving and/or stationary system Col.14, lines 24-33): including, including events in a park, streets, towns, etc., determines positioning information of the shooter and gun based on human and/or object movements within an environment or geographical location or map in real time and updates dynamically (Col.1, lines 13-58), BUT appears silent as to determining positioning information of the shooter or player based on sensed ball position on a field in live sporting events
However, in the same field of endeavor, SHUDEN discloses method of generating video and information and further discloses tracking ball position information on a field, players movement, spectator seats and other movements and generating a video and other information based on the track ball movement, including an alignment of at least one player on a team to one or more other players on the same team and a personnel grouping for one or more players on a team (figs.1-16, Abstract, [0025-0026], [0048-0058], [0065-85] and [0090-0114]), tracks, ball, players, ball possessing rate with player(s), movement area, non-movement area and other related information to generated a video and other information based on the generated tracking data; tracks positional information; players running around the pitch;
Hence it would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to one skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of SHUDEN into the system of LOYAL to generate additional object(s) position and other information of specific event information as a UI to enable a user to interact and access for additional information
As to claims 7-8. LOYAL further discloses wherein the position of the ball is sensed by one or more of a motion sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an optical sensor, a camera, a microphone, a radio receiver, a thermal imager, a tracking device, an accelerometer, a radar device, a LIDAR device, and an ultrasound device and wherein the positioning information is based at least in part on the determined movement of the one or more players (Col.7, line 44-Col.8, line 46), note remarks in claims 1-6.
As to claims 9-11. LOYAL further discloses wherein the positioning information comprises spatial relationships between two or more players; wherein the positioning information further comprises an ordering or alignment of the one or more players and wherein the positioning information is determined over a plurality of time points “over the entire environment at different locations” (Col.7, line 44-Col.8, line 46), note remarks in claims 1-6.
Claims 12-13 are met as previously discussed in claims 1-6.
Claims 14-17 are met as previously discussed in claims 1-6.
As to claim 18, LOYAL further discloses selectively enabling or disabling one or more graphical indicia based on detected events or display state (Col.10, line 39-Col.12, line 1+), updating the moving map accordingly with changes of events or the environment
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG