Claim Objections
Claims 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 21 is embedded in claim 20. It is suggested that claim 21 be separated from claim 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for failing to recite the unit of measurement of the proportions of the mid-chain 1,2-alkanediol in lines 7-9. Presumably, the unit of measurement is “% by weight of the liquid hand dishwashing detergent composition” as recited in claims 2-3.
Claims 4-21, being dependent from claim 1, inherit the same rejection as in claim 1 above.
In addition, claim 14 lacks support for “the alkyl sulfate anionic surfactant” in line 1 with respect to claim 1 to which this claim is dependent upon. Please note that “alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant” is recited in claim 12, not claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duval et al. (WO 98/02513), hereinafter “Duval.”
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-21, Duval teaches, in Example 6, a liquid detergent composition which comprises 22.0 wt% sodium C12-14 alcohol ethoxylate E2.2 sulfate (an alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant with 2.2 ethoxylate groups), 2.30 wt% C12-14 alkyl dimethyl amine oxide (an amphoteric surfactant which meets the formula in claim 1, i.e., R1 is C12-14, R2 and R3 are both C1 alkyl groups), 2.30 wt% C12-14 alkyl dimethyl betaine (also an amphoteric surfactant), 6.70 wt% C9-11 E8 alkyl ethoxylate (an alkoxylated nonionic surfactant), 0.40 wt% C12-14 glucose amide (also a nonionic surfactant) (a total of 33.7 wt% surfactant system), 5.00 wt% polyhydroxyl solvent, i.e., the substantially odor-free 1,2-hexanediol (see Example 1), water and minors like CaCO3 (calcium carbonate salt) (see entire page 79). In this example, the sodium C12-14 alcohol ethoxylate E2.2 sulfate is about 65 wt% (22/33.7 x 100) of the surfactant system; the weight ratio of the anionic surfactant to the amphoteric surfactants is 22:(2.3 +2.3) or 22:4.6 or 4.8:1; and the weight ratio of the 1,2-hexanediol to the surfactant system is 5:33.7 or 1:6.7. Duval also teaches that the liquid detergent composition can be used as dish washing liquid detergent composition (see page 35, lines 19-25), wherein it is understood that when used as a dishwashing liquid detergent composition, the dishware is contacted with the composition.
Duval teaches the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Duval anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-21 above.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Duval teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Duval teaches that the polyhydroxyl solvent, like the 1,2-hexanediol, is used in amounts of less than about 40% by weight of the composition (see page 24, lines 13-16). Duval, however, fails to specifically disclose from about 0.5% to about 2.0% by weight of the 1,2-alkanediol as recited in claim 3; and 1,2-octanediol as recited in claim 6.
Considering that Duval teaches less than about 40% by weight of the composition of a polyhydroxyl solvent like 1,2-hexanediol, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g., 0.5-2 wt%) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the 1,2-hexanediol with its homologues like 1,2 octanediol because characteristics normally possessed by members of homologous series are principally the same, and vary but gradually from member to member; chemists knowing properties of one member of series would in general know what to expect in adjacent member, see In re Henze, 85 USPQ 261. Also, it is well settled that homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/906,213. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to similar liquid hand dishwashing detergent compositions comprising similar surfactant systems, i.e., anionic surfactant and amine oxide amphoteric co-surfactant, and similar mid-chain 1,2-alkanediols, both having the same proportions differing only in the R1 alkyl groups of the amine oxides. The R1 alkyl groups, however, overlap, and overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/906,215. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to similar liquid hand dishwashing detergent compositions comprising similar surfactant systems, i.e., anionic surfactant and amine oxide amphoteric co-surfactant, and similar mid-chain 1,2-alkanediols, both having the same proportions differing only in the R1 alkyl groups of the amine oxides. The alkyl groups of the amine oxide in copending ‘215 is generic, which is presumed to include a wide range of alkyl groups, hence, would overlap those recited.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761