DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/906,259, Adjustable Support Arm, filed on October 4, 2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim seems to be not completed. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,867,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant applicant and the patent are almost identical with the recitation of an adjustable support arm, base assembly, arm assembly, adjustable panning insert, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0147546 to Monsalve et al. (Monsalve).
Regarding claim 1, Monsalve ‘546 discloses an adjustable support arm (Fig. 1) comprising: a base assembly (120, 130); an arm assembly (110, 200) and an adjustable panning insert (215) positioned between the arm assembly and the base assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Monsalve ‘546 discloses wherein the adjustable support arm further comprises a mounting plate (310) connected to the arm assembly.
Regarding claim 12, Monsalve ‘546 discloses wherein the adjustable support arm further comprises an accessory bracket assembly (301) releasably attached to the mounting plate.
Regarding claim 13, Monsalve ‘546 discloses wherein the accessory bracket assembly comprises: a central bracket (320), a frame (330) disposed around the central bracket and at least one accessory mount (340) attached to the frame (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Monsalve ‘546 discloses wherein the accessory bracket assembly further comprises a first accessory support (340 – pins) having a first end coupled to the accessory mount.
Regarding claim 17, Monsalve ‘546 discloses an adjustable support arm (Fig. 1) comprising: a base assembly (120, 130), an arm assembly comprising a first arm (110) comprising a first end and a second end wherein the first end of the first arm is releasably coupled to the base assembly, a second arm (200) releasably coupled to the second end of the first arm, the second arm comprising a parallelogram linkage (240, 250) having a first and privotally attached to a lower bracket and a second end pivotally attached to an upper bracket (290); a first adjustable panning insert (215), wherein the first adjustable panning insert is positioned between the first arm and the base assembly to limit rotation of the first arm about the base assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 15-16, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2, and 18, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the axle defining a fulcrum about which the latch pivots.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose all limitations combination of a swivel ring, tilt ring and a mounting plate attached to the tilt ring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 5,826,846 – Monitor Counterbalance
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 January 10, 2026