DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendments filed on 07/22/2026.
In the application claims 1-20 are pending.
To expedite the prosecution of this application, Examiner is not restricting claim(s) 9-11, 14-15. Claim(s) 9-10 are directed to a specie independent of the claim(s) 11, 14-15 in this application. Further amendments to claim(s) 9-11, 14-15 or their dependent claims may cause an undue burden at the US Patent Office, and if so, the claim(s) will be restricted in the subsequent office action under the statute 35 USC 121.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1, 16 and 19, directed to “enter[ing] … an ultra-high frequency UFH (RFID) tag emulation mode” and “receive…. RFID tag identifier uniquely associated with the MU, while in UFH RFID tag emulation mode” were fully considered; however, the arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections. Primary reference has been changed.
Claim Interpretation
Claimed “means for entering a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag emulation mode …” in claim 19 is interpreted to be “The RFID tag emulation component 410 may enable the MU 110 to enter an RFID tag emulation mode in which the MU 110 may perform the RFID tag emulation”
Claimed “means for receiving an ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID tag identifier …” in claim 19 is interpreted to be “the communication component 230 may include a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a modem, a network interface card, and/or an antenna.” See ¶ 0037,
Claimed “means for performing one or more MU location operations,” in claim 19 is interpreted to be “the processor 210 may include one or more processors capable of being programmed to perform one or more operations or processes described elsewhere herein.” See ¶ 0035
“means for passively transmitting a response to the UHF RFID tag identifier,” in claim 20 is interpreted to be “the communication component 230 may include a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a modem, a network interface card, and/or an antenna.” See ¶ 0037,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzi (US 20130234832 A1) in view of Wood (US 6,144,916 A), and further in view of MacLellan (US 5,940,006 A).
Consider claim 1, teaches, Manzi teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a mobile unit (UHF RFID reader), Manzi teaches, UHF RFID reader has a control module “control module is adapted to run the RFID reader in the reader mode or in the tag emulation mode.” See ¶ 0014 comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, Manzi teaches, “FIGS. 1A and 1B each show an exemplary embodiment of a UHF RFID reader according to the proposed principle. The reader has a control module HOST… control module HOST comprises, for instance, a standard micro-processor with suitable memory.” See ¶ 0065, configured to cause the MU to:
enter, by an emulation component of the MU (i.e. control module) , an ultra-high frequency (UHF) radio frequency identification (RFID) tag emulation mode in which the MU (UHF RFID reader) emulates a UHF RFID tag, Manzi teaches, “an UHF RFID reader is adapted to selectively operate in either a reader mode or a tag emulation mode.” See ¶ 0008, Manzi teaches, “tag emulation module the RFID reader simulates the operation of an RFID tag whenever the reader operates in the tag emulation mode.” See ¶ 0012. “. This protocol can be, for instance, the UHF RFID gen 2 protocol” See ¶ 0013, Manzi teaches, “Each reader operates in compliance with the standard protocol and is able to operate as an active or passive tag in the tag emulation mode.” See ¶ 0030;
receive, by a communication component of the MU while in the UHF RFID tag emulation mode, a UHF RFID tag identifier that is uniquely associated with the MU, Manzi teaches, “detecting subordinate readers present in the network, assigning to each detected subordinate reader an identification number and a network level” See ¶ 0037 and 0038, Manzi teaches, “the main reader R00 defines the network topology in an initialization step. Each detected subordinate reader has an identification number and a network level assigned to it. The defined topology is stored in the main reader's R00 memory component. To guarantee that the communication amongst subordinate readers and main reader works.” See ¶ 0083, nonetheless, in an analogous art, Wood teaches, “monitoring system can include any number of interrogator stations[10], and the mobile unit [20] can travel from one interrogator station to another interrogator station.” See Col. 3 line 61-63, Wood teaches, “[a] transceiver 28 within each mobile unit navigation system 20 performs 2-way radio communication between the mobile unit navigation system 20 and one or more interrogators 10, each of which also has a transceiver 12. Any conventional radio signal modulation scheme and communications protocol may be employed for exchanging commands and data between a mobile unit and a base station” col. 4 lines 36-44, Wood teaches, “a mobile unit is being monitored [comprising] the mobile unit transceiver 28 … a command, received from an interrogator, which is specifically addressed to that mobile unit’s identification code.” Col. 5 lines 48-55,
perform, responsive to receiving the [[UHF RFID tag]] identifier, one or more MU location operations, Wood teaches, “the protocol should include a ‘download itinerary’ command which the interrogator transceiver 12 can send to the mobile unit transceiver 28, in response to which the mobile unit transmits (downloads) to the interrogator all or a specified portion of the itinerary data stored in the memory 24.” See Col. 4 lines 44-49.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention or combination of Manzi and allow the mobile unit to have a unique identifier and ability to perform location operation, as suggested by Wood in order for “mobile unit is being monitored [comprising] the mobile unit transceiver 28 … a command, received from an interrogator, which is specifically addressed to that mobile unit’s identification code” and “in response to which the mobile unit transmits (downloads) to the interrogator all or a specified portion of the itinerary data stored in the memory 24.”
Wood does not explicitly state radio frequency identification (RFID) tag identifier, nonetheless, in an analogous art, MacLellan teaches, “RFID Tags may be attached to every item on the shelves of supermarkets, and these RFID Tags interrogated as the shopping cart is passed under (or through) an Interrogator reading field.” See Col 3 line 28-32. MacLellan teaches, “[t]he Interrogator 101 then transmits a Tag Address 501) indicating the identification number of a specific Tag 102 with which it wishes to communicate. After the Tag Address 501, a Tag Command 502 is sent to that Tag 102, indicating what operation the Interrogator 101 is directing that Tag 102 to perform.” See Col. 6 lines 57-62. MacLellan teaches, “The Uplink Signal 105 response would begin with a Sync Signal 601 (to allow the Interrogator 101 to properly achieve bit synchronization to this Uplink Signal), then contain a Tag ID 602 9a unique number indicating the identification of this Tag), then contain Optional Data 603 (which would contain any data stored on the Tag 102 that is always transmitted to the Interrogator 101 together with the Tag ID 602” See Col. 8 lines 25-32. MacLellan teaches, “CDMA is a multiple access protocol that involves using Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum (DSSS) modulation, applied to both the Downlink and to the Uplink. Each "mobile" (or Tag 102 in this case) is assigned a unique spreading code; this allows the mobile and the base to differentiate the communications from one mobile or the other by decorrelating the incoming signal using the unique spreading code.” See Col. 12 line 65 col 13 line 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Manzi-Wood and have a mobile unit identified by specific an identifier of an RFID tag as suggested by MacLellan in an effort to “instructs the Tag 102 in the specifics of the Uplink Signal 105 that it should return to the Interrogator 101… the instruction to execute a specific operation--could be implied by the design of the system.” And thereby reducing possible backscatter collisions from other tags in the vicinity of mobile unit/the interrogator.
Consider claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the MU to perform the one or more MU location operations, are configured to cause the MU to passively transmit, by the communication component of the MU, a response to the UHF RFID tag identifier, Wood teaches, “the mobile unit can be a passive transmitter which derives all or most of its operating power from received RF signals, such as a conventional modulated backscatter transmitter, which modulates a received RF signal and reflects it back to the sender.” See Col. 2 lines 60-65.
Consider claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the MU to receive the UHF RFID tag identifier, are configured to cause the MU to receive, by the communication component of the MU, an access command, Wood teaches, “transmits a radio signal in response to a command, received from an interrogator, which is specifically addressed to an identification code assigned to that mobile unit.” See Col. 3 lines 7-10. MacLellan teaches, “[t]he Interrogator 101 then transmits a Tag Address 501) indicating the identification number of a specific Tag 102 with which it wishes to communicate. After the Tag Address 501, a Tag Command 502 is sent to that Tag 102, indicating what operation the Interrogator 101 is directing that Tag 102 to perform.” See Col. 6 lines 57-62.
Consider claim 5, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the MU to receive the UHF RFID tag identifier, are configured to cause the MU to receive, by the communication component of the MU, a select command, MacLellan teaches, “[t]he remote Tag selects, or is instructed, how many times it should repetitively transmit the second modulated signal and selects, or is instructed, over how many of the time slots following receipt of the first radio signal the remote Tag should repetitively transmit the second modulated signal.” See Col. 2 lines 10-15.
Consider claim 6, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the MU to receive the UHF RFID tag identifier, are configured to cause the MU to receive, by the communication component of the MU, the UHF RFID tag identifier from an interrogator that performed an inventory of the UHF RFID tag identifier, Wood teaches, “data from the sensors can be stored in memory 24 along with the previously described itinerary data, and similarly can be downloaded by the transceiver 28 to a base station upon command.” See Col. 6 lines 44-48. Wood does not explicitly state for the use of inventory, MacLellan teaches, “Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) systems are used for identification and/or tracking of equipment, inventory.” See Col. 1 lines 25-26.
Consider claim 9, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the MU is operable in a passive mode, Wood teaches, “the mobile unit can be a passive transmitter which derives all or most of its operating power from received RF signals, such as a conventional modulated backscatter transmitter, which modulates a received RF signal and reflects it back to the sender.” See Col. 2 lines 60-65.
Consider claim 10, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the passive mode includes a battery depleted passive mode, Wood teaches, “Even when the mobile unit navigation system 20 is receives its primary operating power from the mobile unit, the navigation system 20 preferably includes an internal battery 30 to supply backup power to preserve the data stored in memory 24 in case the primary power to the mobile system 20 is disrupted” See Col. 5 lines 66+. Previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art for the mobile device to have a passive mode includes a battery depleted passive mode. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 11, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the MU is operable in an active mode, Wood teaches, “another application for battery power is when the mobile unit navigation system 20 is hidden within a mobile unit, such as a theft protection system installed at a hidden location within an automobile, or a system for covertly or surreptitiously monitoring the itinerary of a delivery truck without the truck driver's knowledge. To prevent detection of the hidden navigation system 20, it is preferable for the navigation system to rely entirely on its internal battery 30 instead of connecting it to the power supply of the mobile unit.” Col. 5 lines 38-47; Wood teaches, “low power consumption, and economy, the memory 24, controller 26, and transceiver 28 preferably are all fabricated on a single monolithic integrated circuit chip. The chip and battery 30 preferably are mounted on a single substrate using the compact mounting techniques described in commonly assigned U.S. Pat. No. 5,448,110 and U.S. Pat. No. 5,497,140 filed Dec. 17, 1995, the entire contents of each of which are hereby incorporated into the present patent specification.” See col. 6 lines 14-22.
Consider claim 14, the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the active mode includes a battery charged active mode. Previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art for the mobile device to have active mode includes a battery charged active mode. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 15, the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the active mode includes a battery residual active mode, Previously Examiner took an Official Notice to a fact, that it is well known in the prior art for the mobile device to have active mode includes a battery residual active mode. Applicant did not challenge the Official Notice. If applicant does not traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, See MPEP 2144.03 C.
Consider claim 16, a method of wireless communication performed by a mobile unit (MU), comprising:
entering an ultra-high frequency (UHF) radio frequency identification (RFID) tag emulation mode in which the MU emulates a UHF RFID tag;
receive while in the UHF RFID tag emulation mode, a UHF RFID tag identifier that is uniquely associated with the MU; and performing, responsive to receiving the UHF RFID tag identifier, one or more MU location operations, See rejection of claim 1.
Consider claim 17, the method of claim 16, wherein performing the one or more MU location operations include passively transmitting a response to the UHF RFID tag identifier, See rejection of claim 2.
Consider claim 18, the method of claim 16, wherein receiving the UHF RFID tag identifier comprises receiving an access command, See rejection of claim 4.
Consider claim 19, an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for entering an ultra-high frequency (UHF) radio frequency identification (RFID) tag emulation mode in which the MU emulates a UHF RFID tag;
means (Wood’s element 28 Fig 1) for receiving, while in the UHF RFID tag emulation mode, a UHF RFID tag identifier that is uniquely associated with the apparatus; and
means (Wood’s element 26/20 Fig 1)) for performing, responsive to receiving the UHF RFID tag identifier, one or more MU location operations, See rejection of claim 1.
Consider claim 20, the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the apparatus for wireless communication further comprises means (Wood’s element 28 Fig 1) for passively transmitting a response to the UHF RFID tag identifier, See rejection of claim 2.
Claim(s) 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzi (US 20130234832 A1), in view of Wood (US 6,144,916 A), in view of MacLellan (US 5,940,006 A), and further in view of Bridgelall (US 2006/0022802 A1).
Consider claim 3, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the response is associated with one or more interrogator real-time location service (RTLS) capabilities, Bridgelall teaches, “RFID-based systems and methods for wireless communication devices and wireless network infrastructures” See ¶ 0006, Bridgelall teaches, “the access point 102 can, using various real-time location determination techniques, determine the physical location of the RFID tag 410 with relatively high accuracy. Such techniques include, for example, phase difference of arrival (PDOA), or any one of numerous other triangulation techniques that use location data from three or more access points. In a particular preferred embodiment, the access point 102 implements the PDOA location determination technique. A particular preferred embodiment of the PDOA technique is disclosed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/748,453, entitled "Object Location System and Method Using RFID," which is assigned to the Assignee of the present application, the entirety of which is hereby incorporated by reference.” See ¶ 0056.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention or combination of Wood-MacLellan-Yeager and allow the mobile unit to wake up in response to a command and perform a real-time location of the mobile unit as suggested by Bridgelall, thereby allowing more up to date location data without having to keep the mobile unit awake unless necessary, thereby conserving energy.
Consider claim 12, the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the MU to perform a wake-up operation, Bridgelall teaches, “the transition signals include one or more command or interrupt signals that cause the mobile unit 104 to transition from a "sleep mode," or other low-power idle state, to an "awake mode," or other a full power-on state.” See ¶ 0038
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzi (US 20130234832 A1), in view of Wood (US 6,144,916 A), in view of MacLellan (US 5,940,006 A), and further in view of Nerz (US 20200264993 A1).
Consider claim 7, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UHF RFID tag identifier corresponds to a match address associated with a vectored interrupt, MacLellan teaches, “Tag 102-1 to be informed that a command and data is being sent to it (in the form of Tag Command 502 and Tag Data 503), and commands all Tags 102 to listen and see if their Tag ID matches the Tag Address 501.” Nonetheless, in an analogous art, Nerz teaches, “receiving, by a bus attachment device of the computer system from a first bus connected module of a plurality of bus connected modules operationally coupled to the plurality of processors via the bus attachment device, a first interrupt signal with an interrupt target ID. The interrupt target ID identifies one processor of the plurality of processors assigned for usage by the first guest operating system as a first target processor to handle the first interrupt signal.” See ¶ 0007, Nerz teaches, “retrieving by the bus attachment device a copy of an interrupt table entry of the interrupt table assigned to the received interrupt target ID, the retrieved copy comprises a forwarding vector entry address indicator indicating a memory address of the forwarding vector entry assigned to the received interrupt target ID in the second memory section; and using by the bus attachment device the forwarding vector entry address indicator comprised by the retrieved copy of the interrupt table entry for the selecting of the forwarding vector entry assigned to the received interrupt target ID.” See ¶ 0067.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Wood- MacLellan-Yeager where the system may communicate using a wireless interface, such as a cellular digital packet data (CDPD) card… receiving… interrupt signal with an interrupt target ID… matching with the interrupt table.. and selecting of the forwarding vector entry assigned to the received interrupt target ID, in an effort to provide a security check to prevent errors due to unallowed changes of interrupt table entries by the first level guest operating system and ensuring that the device table is prevented from being tampered by any guest operating system.
Consider claim 8, the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the MU to: receive, by the communication component of the MU, a vector associated with the vectored interrupt, Nerz teaches, “the broadcasting comprising selecting by the bus attachment device a forwarding vector entry of the second set of forwarding vector entries which is assigned to the received interrupt target ID and updating the selected forwarding vector entry such that it indicates that the interrupt summary indicator to which it is assigned is to be updated in order to indicate for the first operating system that there is a first interrupt signal issued by the second bus connected module to be handled.” See ¶ 0104.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzi (US 20130234832 A1), in view of Wood (US 6,144,916 A), in view of MacLellan (US 5,940,006 A), and further in view of Chen (US 2006/0022802 A1).
Consider claim 13, the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the MU to receive the UHF RFID tag identifier, are configured to cause the MU to receive, by the communication component of the MU, a plurality of UHF RFID tag identifiers uniquely associated with the MU, in an analogous art, Chen teaches, “a specified RFID reader/tag in response to a first inquiry of an interrogator by transmitting each identification code of the plurality of RFID tags to the interrogator for acknowledgement.” See Abstract. “enabling the at least one specified RFID reader/tag to act as a spokesman of the group and respond to a first inquiry of an interrogator by transmitting each identification code of the plurality of RFID tags to the interrogator for acknowledgement, by which the reading rate of the RFID system can be improved.” See ¶ 0005
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention or combination of Wood-MacLellan-Yeager and enabling the at least one specified RFID reader/tag to act as a spokesman of the group and respond to a first inquiry of an interrogator by transmitting each identification code of the plurality of RFID tags to the interrogator for acknowledgement, as suggested by Chen and so “the reader does not have to inquire one by one to the RFID tags to save the number of times of communication between the inquiry of the reader and the response of the RFID tags” and “the reading rate of the RFID system can be improved.”
Conclusion
Gupta, Rajarshi et al. (US 2010/0241496 A1) teaches, “determining the location of a mobile device, such as a cell phone, personal” See ¶ 0005, Gupta teaches, “software codes may be stored in a memory of a mobile station and/or an access point and executed by a processing unit of the device” see ¶ 0058, Gupta teaches, “instructions as referred to herein may relate to encoded commands which are executable by a processing unit having a command set which includes the encoded commands.” See ¶ 0061 Gupta teaches, “mobile device 205 includes a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag 210. RFID tag 210 may include an identifier associated with mobile device 205. If mobile device 205 is moved near a particular waypoint 215, an RFID receiver 220 for waypoint 215 may acquire the identifier from RFID tag 210. For example, RFID receiver 220 may read and/or receive a signal from RFID tag 210 which includes the identifier for mobile device 205.” See ¶ 0040.
U.S. Pat. No. 5,365,551 to Snodgrass et al. “a common communication medium used by one or more interrogating commander stations and a plurality of responding responder stations.”
U.S. Pat. No. 5,448,110, Tuttle teaches, “transceiver includes an integrated circuit and a battery together laminated between two films. Printed conductors on each film couple operative power to the integrated circuit. Other-printed conductors form an antenna coupled to the transceiver for sending and receiving signals.” See abstract. “improved radio frequency identification device, an associated electrical system, and a method for communicating with a remote RFID device from a local interrogator and controller. The size of this new device will typically be on the order of one inch square and 0.03 inches thick, or only slightly larger and slightly thicker than a postage stamp.”
U.S. Pat. No. 5,497,140, Tuttle teaches, “an electronically powered postage stamp or mailing label and including a radio frequency identification (RFID) device and system mounted between the opposing and facing major surfaces thereof. The RFID device and system includes an integrated circuit transceiver chip which is connected to and powered by a thin flat battery cell and is operated with a thin film RF antenna, all of which are mounted in side-by-side relationship on a thin base or support layer. These thin flat components are mounted in an essentially two dimensional planar configuration well suited for incorporation into the planar structure of a postage stamp or a mailing label. In addition, the RFID transceiver chip may be replaced with an electro-optically operated IC chip using, for example, LEDs or laser diodes for the propagation of light signals to an interrogator.” See abstract.
Yeager (US 2012/0317628 A1) teaches, “Near-field communication (NFC) capabilities may be utilized to interrogate a selected secure element by a RFID POS reader through the mobile NFC device over a data connection between that mobile NFC device and the remote hosted secure element.” See abstract, “a microchip referred to as a "Secure Element" (SE) is embedded into a payment card, a payment fob (medallion), a cell phone, or other mobile devices that may be used for making payments. For the purpose of simplifying language in this document, a device that houses the SE will be referred to as a "card" or "card device".” See ¶ 0003. Yeager teaches, “Cards containing an SE are typically presented to an RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) reader device as the interrogator that extracts the information from the card and delivers the data to the POS terminal and then forwarded by the POS terminal on to a card processor for authorization.” See ¶ 0049. Yeager teaches, “FIG. 20 describes one process flow for allowing a data connection between a mobile device and remote hosted secure element. Step 756 describes how a mobile device that supports NFC is initiated and presented to a[n] RFID POS reader in order to make a payment transaction. The phone is placed into a mode that is referred to as card emulation mode where the NFC interface on the phone pretends to be contactless RFID card.” See ¶ 0132. Yeager teaches, “[i]n the event a mobile device that is used to conduct an NFC payment transaction with an RFID terminal is lost or stolen, the remote system may be notified and communication with the SE may be blocked until the stolen or lost device is recovered or replaced.” See ¶ 0277. Yeager also teaches, “identifier that is uniquely associated with the MU (mobile unit),” Yeager teaches, “FIG. 12 also depicts a plurality of remote SEs that are each addressable and may be accessed by a plurality of remote mobile devices independently.” See ¶ 0086. Yeager teaches, “FIG. 13 depicts a table in a database that may be used to identify which remote SE within a remote system described in FIG. 12 that a user and particular mobile device may be attached to. Unique row identifiers 754 are provided in the table. Each row contains related data. The other columns of this table are the User ID 752 and the SE Address 753. The SE address is the unique address within the remote system for a particular SE.” See ¶ 0087. Yeager teaches, “mobile device connecting to the remote system is able to pass various credentials to the remote system such as user ID, passwords, PIN, "gesture signal," unique electronic communication device identity number, and so on securely to the remote system for mobile device validation 759” See ¶ 0090.
/Omer S Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686