DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-17 are pending in this office action. All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Priority
The current application filed on March 22, 2023 is the first filing of this subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on May 28, 2026 is acknowledged. A signed copy of the form PTO/SB/08 is attached to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 12-16, the word "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites metal oxide and alumina is not a metal.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “essentially contains” is not understood. The phrase is being interpreted as “comprises”.
Claims 3, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17 are included in this rejection because they depend from indefinite claims and do not cure the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange et al. (WO 2022122894 A1, published 2022-06-16) in view of Youssef et al. (US 20160367448 A1, published 2016-12-22), Wu et al. (WO 2023039220 A1, published 2023-03-16), Sakanishi et al. (WO 2015037493 A1, published 2015-03-19) and Ricard et al. (WO 2014136061 A2, published 2014-09-12).
Lange et al. (WO 2022122894 A1, published 2022-06-16) teach sunscreen comprising UV filters and two or more alkane diols. The UV filters may be titanium oxide and zinc oxide, see paragraph [0212] and the alkane diols are preferably C 5-14 carbon diols, preferably a mixture of 1,2 and 2,3 diols. Thickeners are taught that include polyacrylamide, paragraph 0292. paragraph 0312 discusses addition of other polyols including glycerol and ethylene glycol.
Paragraph [0317] says the total amount of the first and second diol can be 0.1-5% or 0.3-3% or 0.5-1%. Paragraph [0345] discussed the desirability of having the composition in an emulsion form.
Youssef et al. (US 20160367448 A1, published 2016-12-22) teach a stable sunscreen composition in the form of water releasing emulsion containing high levels of liposoluble UV filters. The compositions also comprise polyols, preferably at least 2, Paragraphs [0043]-[0044], including glycerol, propylene glycol. they prefer one containing 3 carbon atoms and another polyol containing more than 3 carbon atoms. Table 4 indicates that examples 8-11 contain glycerin (also called glycerol, C3H5(OH)3 ) and propanediol. Paragraph [0157] allows for the presence of powders including metal oxides including zinc oxide and carboxyvinyl polymer. They are silent as to this but carboxyvinyl polymers are known as thickeners (see Wu et al. below)
Wu et al. (WO 2023039220 A1, published 2023-03-16) teach personal care compositions that include, inter alia, mineral UV filtering agents including treated or untreated metal oxides such as, for example, titanium oxide, iron oxide, zinc oxide, zirconium oxide or cerium oxide. paragraph [0075] teaches the size of the mineral UV filtering agents can be about 5 nm to 25 microns, including specifically 5-100 nm, 5 nm to about 75 nm, or about 10 nm to 50 nm. paragraph [0076] teaches the total amount of mineral UV filtering agents in the personal care composition can vary, but is typically about 1 to about 30 wt. %, based on the total weight of the personal care composition, see paragraph [0091]. The personal care compositions may include thickeners such as carbomers (e.g., carboxyvinyl polymers). Table 1 shows that example A contains both propylene glycol and caprylyl glycol, illustrating the concept of two polyols being present.
Sakanishi et al. (WO 2015037493 A1, published 2015-03-19, text of teachings taken from pdf document entitled translation of Sakanishi) teach improvement in properties of metal oxide particles by coating them with other inorganic compounds, for example titanium oxide or zinc oxide coated with alumina or silica, see translation pdf document, page 2, fifth and sixth full paragraphs. They teach thickeners including carboxyvinyl polymers, see page 4, fifth full paragraph; the amount is taught three paragraphs below to be 0.01-5% by weight.
Ricard et al. (WO 2014136061 A2, published 2014-09-12) teach cosmetic compositions in the form of an emulsion (sunscreen function is mentioned at page 9, line 4) where a preferred thickener is at least one 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropanesulphonic acid polymer. Stability of the emulsions is discussed on page 4, lines 12-13. They discuss the preferred presence of at least one polyol, especially a mixture of polyols, which are moisturizers or humectants; they list a number of specific polyols that are preferred, see pages 39-40. with regard to claim 6, Ricard et al. state that the compositions in accordance with the invention may comprise organic and/or inorganic UV sunscreen ingredients; clearly, compositions are contemplated that do not contain organic UV sunscreen agents.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to formulate a sunscreen composition comprising physical UV-attenuating material such as zinc oxide, coated or uncoated, at least two polyols comprising glycerol and another diol with polyacrylate thickener such as 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropanesulphonic acid with the expectation of achieving a superior sunscreen composition. The references teach the advantages of having he two polyols, as well as the metal oxide sunblockers as well as the specific thickener.
With regard to claim 10, none of the references require zinc oxide surface treated with triethoxycaprylylsilane.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange et al. (WO 2022122894 A1, published 2022-06-16) in view of Youssef et al. (US 20160367448 A1, published 2016-12-22), Wu et al. (WO 2023039220 A1, published 2023-03-16), Sakanishi et al. (WO 2015037493 A1, published 2015-03-19) and Ricard et al. (WO 2014136061 A2, published 2014-09-12) as applied to claims 1-12 and 14-17 above, and further in view of Frerichs et al. (US 20080299056 A1, published 2008-12-04).
The teachings of the basic references are outlined above.
Frerichs et al. teach passivation of ZnO or TiO for use in sunscreens; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use passivated metal oxides in sunscreen formulations to achieve the advantages detailed in paragraph [0007].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/906303 in view of Wu et al.
Patent application 18/906303 contains claims that track the instant claims except that they require a polysaccharide thickener. Wu et al. teach the interchangeability of polysaccharide thickeners and polyacrylate thickeners in paragraph [0091]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to substitute polysaccharide for the polyacrylate of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615