DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiwara et al (US Pat No 9,914,604).
Regarding claim 6, Fujiwara discloses a separating device for separating plastically deformable plate-like metal sheets of a sheet stack, wherein the metal sheets are arranged adjacent to one another and are aligned with sheet main planes parallel to one another, the separating device comprising a dividing device configured to separate two metal sheets adjacent to one another in the sheet stack at a sheet edge by generating a separating gap formed between the two sheets (shown in figures 2A and 2B),
wherein the dividing device comprises: a forming tool (22) comprising a forming unit and a forming unit drive (232),
wherein the forming unit of the forming tool is configured to be positioned at an operationally ready position laterally next to the sheet stack, and
wherein the forming unit delivered into the operationally ready position is configured to be positioned at moved by the forming unit drive from the operationally ready position with an operational movement parallel to the sheet main plane against an end side of the sheet edge of at least one sheet of the workpieces adjacent to one another in the sheet stack,the forming unit being configured to compress and plastically deform the at least one sheet at the sheet edge and generate an edge-side thickened portion of the sheet edge which protrudes perpendicular to the sheet main plane with respect to a remaining portion of the at least one workpiece, wherein the at least one sheet is at least inhibited against an evasive movement caused by the operational movement of the forming unit (as shown in figures 2A and 2B).
Note: the inclusion of aspects related to the material worked on by the apparatus are not treated with the full weight as recited in the claims as “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 7, Fujiwara discloses the forming unit drive comprises a drive (spring 231) and a switchable drive lock (e.g. cam 232), the forming unit is pretensioned in the operationally ready position as the drive lock is switched into a locked state by the drive for movement in a direction of the operational movement, and the forming unit pretensioned in the operationally ready position for movement in the direction of the operational movement is configured to be released by switching the drive lock from the locked state into a released state in order to perform the operational movement.
Regarding claim 8, Fujiwara discloses the forming unit tapers in a direction of the operational movement (e.g. shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 9, Fujiwara discloses the forming unit has, on a sheet side, a forming unit height, so that the forming unit extends perpendicular to the sheet main plane over a plurality of workpieces that are adjacent to one another in the sheet stack (shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Fujiwara discloses the forming unit drive comprises a linear drive (e.g. cam 232), wherein the forming unit delivered into the operationally ready position is capable of being moved by the linear drive with a linear operational movement against the end side of the sheet edge of the at least one sheet (shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Fujiwara discloses a delivery device (23, 24) configured to deliver the forming unit of the forming tool into the operationally ready position.
Regarding claim 12, Fujiwara discloses the delivery device comprises a guide device (243), wherein the forming tool is configured to be delivered in a guided manner through the guide device into a tool position which is assigned to the operationally ready position of the forming unit.
Regarding claim 13, Fujiwara discloses an additional dividing device (shown in figure 4), wherein the separating gap generated by the forming tool is configured to be increased in size by the additional dividing device.
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tadashi (JPS632247).
Regarding claim 1, Tadashi discloses a method for separating plastically deformable metal sheets (as noted, copper or aluminum) of a sheet stack, wherein the sheets are arranged adjacent to one another and are aligned with sheet main planes parallel to one another, the method comprising:
separating two adjacent sheets from one another by generating a separating gap between the adjacent sheets at a sheet edge,
wherein the generating the separating gap comprises:
acting upon at least one sheet of the two adjacent sheets by a force at an end side of the sheet edge of the at least one sheet parallel to a respective sheet main plane, thereby compressing and plastically deforming the at least one sheet with formation of an edge-side thickened portion that projects perpendicular to the respective sheet main plane with respect to a remaining portion of the at least one sheet, wherein, as the at least one sheet is acted upon by the force, the at least one sheet is at least inhibited against an evasive movement caused by the force (as shown and described in relation to fig. 3), and
applying suction to an upper metal sheet of the two adjacent metal sheets via a suction frame (as noted in the background of Tadashi, see disclosure relating to figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Tadashi discloses the sheet is acted upon by the force impulsively at the end side of the sheet edge parallel to the sheet main plane (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Tadashi discloses the metal sheets are arranged on top of each other in a direction of gravity in the sheet stack, wherein the at least one metal sheet which is acted upon by the force parallel to the sheet main plane is at least inhibited against the evasive movement by a weight of at least one further metal sheet arranged above the at least one metal sheet (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Tadashi discloses delivering a forming unit (5) of a forming tool laterally next to the sheet stack into an operationally ready position, and moving the forming unit from the operationally ready position with an operating movement against the end side of the sheet edge, wherein as a result of the operating movement, the edge-side thickened portion on the at least one metal sheet is generated (i.e. inherent since when you create a notch like that, the area around the notch will be thickened).
Regarding claim 5, Tadashi discloses the acting upon at least one metal sheet comprises simultaneously acting upon a plurality of metal sheets which are adjacent to one another in the sheet stack, thereby each metal sheet of the plurality of metal sheets is compressed and plastically deformed with the formation of a respective edge-side thickened portion (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Tadashi discloses the applying of suction to the upper metal sheet via the suction frame takes place after the separating of the two adjacent metal sheets from one another (see disclosure relating to figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al in view of JP6-18348 (hereafter ‘348).
Regarding claim 14, Fujiwara discloses the claimed separating device of claim 11. It is noted that Fujiwara fails to disclose the handling device which includes a feeding device and delivery device. However, ‘348 discloses a handling device (11), wherein a sheet separated by a separating device (45) is capable of being moved to the functional unit of the mechanical arrangement, wherein the handling device of the feeding device is provided as the delivery device of the separating device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time to have modified the device taught by Fujiwara with the teachings of ‘348 to achieve the predictable result of using a single device to provide the apparatus as a singular unit and thereby more effectively separate and feed workpieces.
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses the handling device has a supporting structure with holding devices for fixing a sheet to be moved to the functional unit of the mechanical arrangement, the forming tool of the separating device is provided on the supporting structure of the handling device, and the forming unit of the forming tool of the separating device is capable of being delivered by a delivery movement of the supporting structure of the handling device into the operationally ready position.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses a functional unit (10 of Fujiwara), and a feeding device as claimed in claim 14 for feeding the functional unit with a plastically deformable plate-like workpiece.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art on record discloses or suggests each and every feature of the claimed invention. Specifically, each of the claims would require a modification would then teach away from the disclosed invention of Tadashi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s remarks that the prior art fails to disclose the amended features relating to the suction frame. However, Tadashi explicitly disclosed the device referenced by fig. 3 includes a suctioning the separated sheet after the sheet has been separated. As noted, the applicant’s new claims are allowed except relating to the method of separating and then suctioning as that feature is taught.
Conclusion
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619