DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's RCE filed August 10, 2026.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2024/0323021 to de Kok et al. (hereinafter “de Kok”) and further in view of US Pat. No. 11277415 to Rinehart (hereinafter “Rinehart”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2023/0177137 to Murdoch et al. (hereinafter “Murdoch”).
As to Claim 1, de Kok discloses a method, in a data processing system, for [re-issuance] of credentials in a data network, the method comprising:
receiving, from a requester entity, a first request to [re-issue] a target credential in a plurality of credentials of a public credential listing, [wherein multiple sets of attributes are attached to an original public key associated with the target credential, wherein the first request specifies one of the multiple sets of attributes] wherein any entity, in a plurality of entities, can request re-issuance of any credential in the plurality of credentials and have the credential successfully re-issued to that entity, wherein the first request is received without authenticating the requester entity and wherein the target credential is not associated with the requester entity (Paragraph [0133] of de Kok discloses the credential holder and the credential issuer setting up an anonymous communication channel and the credential holder requesting the credential from the credential issuer. Paragraph [0134] of de Kok discloses the claim information might relate specifically to the credential holder, e.g. whether the credential holder is employed by a certain company, whether the credential holder has been vaccinated (the issuer being health-care staff), an access authorization, or privileged contact information, or it might not relate specifically to the credential holder, e.g. an anonymous concert ticket or a concert ticket in the name of a different credential holder);
in response to the first request to [re-issue] the target credential, re-randomizing the original public key associated with the target credential to generate a re-randomized public key (Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201);
generating a new credential based on the target credential but with the original public key replaced with the re-randomized public key, [wherein the new credential is for the one of the multiple sets of attributes specified by the first request] (Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201); and
providing the new credential to the requester entity, wherein the requester entity can use the new credential for authentication transactions successfully only if the requester entity is an owner of the target credential (Paragraph [0120] of de Kok discloses providing, by the system of the credential holder, a presentation of the verifiable credential received in step 111 to a system of a credential verifier).
de Kok does not explicitly disclose re-issue.
However, Rinehart discloses this. Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the credential system as disclosed by de Kok, with re-issuing multiple credentials as disclosed by Rinehart. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. de Kok and Rinehart are directed toward credential systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials.
de Kok does not explicitly disclose wherein multiple sets of attributes are attached to an original public key associated with the target credential, wherein the first request specifies one of the multiple sets of attributes and wherein the new credential is for the one of the multiple sets of attributes specified by the first request.
However, Murdoch discloses this. Paragraph [0012] of Murdoch discloses the child verifiable credential is obtained by selecting the subset of verifiable claims from the parent verifiable credential, and causing a request to be transmitted to a claims issuer computing system for the child verifiable credential that includes the selected subset of verifiable claims to be generated from the parent verifiable credential. After the claims issuer computing system transmits the requested child verifiable credential to the claims holder computing system, the claims holder computing system detects receipt of the requested child verifiable credential.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the credential system as disclosed by de Kok, with requesting a subset as disclosed by Murdoch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. de Kok and Murdoch are directed toward credential systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Implementing the teachings of Murdoch into de Kok would improve the security of the system.
As to Claim 2, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first request is one of a plurality of requests from the same requester entity, each request in the plurality of requests requesting re-issue of a corresponding other target credential (Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 3, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of requests comprises the first request and one or more second requests that are decoy requests submitted to hide the first request within the plurality of requests (Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 6, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data processing system publishes all certified public keys and credentials, for all holders that have been issued a credential, in a published listing data structure accessible to all users (Paragraph [0027] of de Kok discloses the verification information comprising group information and public cryptographic information associated with the anonymity group).
As to Claim 7, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the requesting entity is not the identity holder of the target credential, and wherein when the requesting entity presents the new credential to a verifier, the requesting entity provides an invalid presentation of the new credential (Paragraph [0093] of de Kok disclose invalid signatures always fail verification).
As to Claim 8, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the request is one of a plurality of requests from the requesting entity, which are submitted to the data processing system, each request in the plurality of requests is directed to a different target credential, each request is successful and generates a corresponding re-issued credential that is provided to the requesting entity, the requesting entity is an identity holder associated with the target credential, and the requesting entity uses the new credential in a presentation of the new credential as part of an interaction with a verifier and discards the other re-issued credentials (Paragraph [0120] of de Kok discloses providing, by the system of the credential holder, a presentation of the verifiable credential received in step 111 to a system of a credential verifier. Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 9, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1, wherein successful collusion between an issuer of credentials and a verifier to generate a profile of an identity holder is prevented by the method since the new credential is not able to be correlated, by the issuer or verifier, with the target credential (Paragraph [0023] of de Kok discloses third parties cannot correlate verifiable credentials from the same credential issuer. Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 10, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target credential is a first JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) Web Token (JWT) and wherein the new credential is a second JWT comprising a same header, same attributes, but different public key and signature than the first JWT (Paragraph [0073] of de Kok disclose Different implementations may encapsulate the exchanged information in different ways, e.g. JSON, JSON-LD and XML. Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201).
As to Claim 11, de Kok discloses a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having a computer readable program stored therein, wherein the computer readable program, when executed in a data processing system, causes the data processing system to:
receive, from a requester entity, a first request to [re-issue] a target credential in a plurality of credentials of a public credential listing, [wherein multiple sets of attributes are attached to an original public key associated with the target credential, wherein the first request specifies one of the multiple sets of attributes], wherein any entity, in a plurality of entities, can request re-issuance of any credential in the plurality of credentials and have the credential successfully re-issued to that entity, wherein the first request is received without authenticating the requester entity and wherein the target credential is not associated with the requester entity (Paragraph [0133] of de Kok discloses the credential holder and the credential issuer setting up an anonymous communication channel and the credential holder requesting the credential from the credential issuer. Paragraph [0134] of de Kok discloses the claim information might relate specifically to the credential holder, e.g. whether the credential holder is employed by a certain company, whether the credential holder has been vaccinated (the issuer being health-care staff), an access authorization, or privileged contact information, or it might not relate specifically to the credential holder, e.g. an anonymous concert ticket or a concert ticket in the name of a different credential holder);
re-randomize, in response to the first request to [re-issue] the target credential, the original public key associated with the target credential to generate a re-randomized public key (Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201);
generate a new credential based on the target credential but with the original public key replaced with the re-randomized public key, [wherein the new credential is for the one of the multiple sets of attributes specified by the first request] (Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201); and
provide the new credential to the requester entity, wherein the requester entity can use the new credential for authentication transactions successfully only if the requester entity is an owner of the target credential (Paragraph [0120] of de Kok discloses providing, by the system of the credential holder, a presentation of the verifiable credential received in step 111 to a system of a credential verifier).
de Kok does not explicitly disclose re-issue.
However, Rinehart discloses this. Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
de Kok does not explicitly disclose wherein multiple sets of attributes are attached to an original public key associated with the target credential, wherein the first request specifies one of the multiple sets of attributes and wherein the new credential is for the one of the multiple sets of attributes specified by the first request.
However, Murdoch discloses this. Paragraph [0012] of Murdoch discloses the child verifiable credential is obtained by selecting the subset of verifiable claims from the parent verifiable credential, and causing a request to be transmitted to a claims issuer computing system for the child verifiable credential that includes the selected subset of verifiable claims to be generated from the parent verifiable credential. After the claims issuer computing system transmits the requested child verifiable credential to the claims holder computing system, the claims holder computing system detects receipt of the requested child verifiable credential.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 12, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the first request is one of a plurality of requests from the same requester entity, each request in the plurality of requests requesting re-issue of a corresponding other target credential (Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 13, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the plurality of requests comprises the first request and one or more second requests that are decoy requests submitted to hide the first request within the plurality of requests (Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 16, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the data processing system publishes all certified public keys and credentials, for all holders that have been issued a credential, in a published listing data structure accessible to all users (Paragraph [0027] of de Kok discloses the verification information comprising group information and public cryptographic information associated with the anonymity group).
As to Claim 17, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the requesting entity is not the identity holder of the target credential, and wherein when the requesting entity presents the new credential to a verifier, the requesting entity provides an invalid presentation of the new credential (Paragraph [0093] of de Kok disclose invalid signatures always fail verification).
As to Claim 18, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 11, wherein: the request is one of a plurality of requests from the requesting entity, which are submitted to the data processing system, each request in the plurality of requests is directed to a different target credential, each request is successful and generates a corresponding re-issued credential that is provided to the requesting entity, the requesting entity is an identity holder associated with the target credential, and the requesting entity uses the new credential in a presentation of the new credential as part of an interaction with a verifier and discards the other re-issued credentials (Paragraph [0120] of de Kok discloses providing, by the system of the credential holder, a presentation of the verifiable credential received in step 111 to a system of a credential verifier. Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 19, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 11, wherein successful collusion between an issuer of credentials and a verifier to generate a profile of an identity holder is prevented by the method since the new credential is not able to be correlated, by the issuer or verifier, with the target credential via a public key (Paragraph [0023] of de Kok discloses third parties cannot correlate verifiable credentials from the same credential issuer. Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 20, de Kok discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory comprises instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from a requester entity, a first request to [re-issue] a target credential in a plurality of credentials of a public credential listing, [wherein multiple sets of attributes are attached to an original public key associated with the target credential, wherein the first request specifies one of the multiple sets of attributes], wherein any entity, in a plurality of entities, can request re-issuance of any credential in the plurality of credentials and have the credential successfully re-issued to that entity, wherein the first request is received without authenticating the requester entity and wherein the target credential is not associated with the requester entity (Paragraph [0133] of de Kok discloses the credential holder and the credential issuer setting up an anonymous communication channel and the credential holder requesting the credential from the credential issuer. Paragraph [0134] of de Kok discloses the claim information might relate specifically to the credential holder, e.g. whether the credential holder is employed by a certain company, whether the credential holder has been vaccinated (the issuer being health-care staff), an access authorization, or privileged contact information, or it might not relate specifically to the credential holder, e.g. an anonymous concert ticket or a concert ticket in the name of a different credential holder);
re-randomize, in response to the first request to [re-issue] the target credential, the original public key associated with the target credential to generate a re-randomized public key (Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201);
generate a new credential based on the target credential but with the original public key replaced with the re-randomized public key, [wherein the new credential is for the one of the multiple sets of attributes specified by the first request] (Paragraph [0124] of de Kok discloses performing, at the system of the credential issuer, polymorphic re-randomization and/or polymorphic pseudonymization on the signing information obtained in step 103. Step 203 comprises creating, at the system of the credential issuer, the proof for the claim information by creating the signature with the re-randomized and/or pseudonymized signing information obtained in step 201); and
provide the new credential to the requester entity, wherein the requester entity can use the new credential for authentication transactions successfully only if the requester entity is an owner of the target credential (Paragraph [0120] of de Kok discloses providing, by the system of the credential holder, a presentation of the verifiable credential received in step 111 to a system of a credential verifier).
de Kok does not explicitly disclose re-issue.
However, Rinehart discloses this. Column 8 lines 40-45 of Rinehart disclose the credential renewal request can include a request for new credentials for multiple expiring credentials.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
de Kok does not explicitly disclose wherein multiple sets of attributes are attached to an original public key associated with the target credential, wherein the first request specifies one of the multiple sets of attributes and wherein the new credential is for the one of the multiple sets of attributes specified by the first request.
However, Murdoch discloses this. Paragraph [0012] of Murdoch discloses the child verifiable credential is obtained by selecting the subset of verifiable claims from the parent verifiable credential, and causing a request to be transmitted to a claims issuer computing system for the child verifiable credential that includes the selected subset of verifiable claims to be generated from the parent verifiable credential. After the claims issuer computing system transmits the requested child verifiable credential to the claims holder computing system, the claims holder computing system detects receipt of the requested child verifiable credential.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch and further in view of US Pub. No. 2024/0135380 to Azgad-Tromer et al. (hereinafter “Azgad”).
As to Claim 4, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the method of claim 1. de Kok-Rinehart does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the new credential comprises performing a blind signing of the new credential by the data processing system, wherein the blind signing comprises the data processing system signing the new credential without knowing whether the requester entity is an identity owner of the target credential.
However, Azgad discloses this. Paragraph [0122] of Azgad discloses it may be signed using a “blind signature” in such a way that a person who possesses the credential information can interact with the authority to obtain a signature on this credential, without the authority learning any (or some) information on the credential.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the credential system as disclosed by de Kok, with blind signatures as disclosed by Azgad. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. de Kok and Azgad are directed toward credential system and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Implementing the techniques of Azgad in de Kok improves user privacy.
As to Claim 5, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch-Azgad discloses the method of claim 4, wherein after blind signing of the new credential, the new credential is a reissued credential that is not able to be related to the target credential via a public key since the original public key and the re-randomized public key are uncorrelatable (Paragraph [0023] of de Kok discloses third parties cannot correlate verifiable credentials from the same credential issuer. Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 14, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch discloses the computer program product of claim 11. de Kok-Rinehart does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the new credential comprises performing a blind signing of the new credential by the data processing system, wherein the blind signing comprises the data processing system signing the new credential without knowing whether the requester entity is an identity owner of the target credential.
However, Azgad discloses this. Paragraph [0122] of Azgad discloses it may be signed using a “blind signature” in such a way that a person who possesses the credential information can interact with the authority to obtain a signature on this credential, without the authority learning any (or some) information on the credential.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 4.
As to Claim 15, de Kok-Rinehart-Murdoch-Azgad discloses the computer program product of claim 14, wherein after blind signing of the new credential, the new credential is a reissued credential that is not able to be related to the target credential via a public key since the original public key and the re-randomized public key are uncorrelatable (Paragraph [0023] of de Kok discloses third parties cannot correlate verifiable credentials from the same credential issuer. Column 8 lines 40-60 because only security manager 305 knows which expiring credential has been compromised, the new credentials returned by third-party server 315 can be assigned to expiring credentials by security manager 305 while excluding (or deleting) the new credential for the expiring and compromised credential. Without an association between an expiring and compromised credential and a renewed credential, a malicious attack can be neutralized (or deviated to a honeypot) without providing a malicious attack further attack possibilities with freshly renewed credentials).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Conclusion
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499