DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wada et al. US 2023/0415652.
In regarding to claim 1 Wada teaches:
1. A video processing system connected to a front camera module and a rear camera module configured to capture a front view video and a rear view video of a vehicle, respectively, the video processing system comprising: a digital rear mirror module configured to display the rear view video in the vehicle;
[0257] The digital rear mirror 234 is used instead of a conventional rear view mirror and is also referred to as a smart room mirror. As illustrated in FIG. 13, similarly to the conventional rearview mirror, the digital rear mirror 234 is provided at the upper end of the windshield 204 and slightly in front of the vicinity of the center, and is disposed above the center portion 231C of the center display 231.
[0258] The digital rear mirror 234 displays, for example, an image behind the vehicle 1 captured by the camera 51BC2. For example, in a case where another vehicle is approaching behind the vehicle 1, the digital rear mirror 234 displays an alert.
Wada, 0141-0143, 0154-0155, 0257-0258 and Fig. 2, emphasis added
a memory configured to store the front view video and the rear view video;
[0103] The recording unit 28 includes, for example, a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a magnetic storage device such as a hard disc drive (HDD), a semiconductor storage device, an optical storage device, a magneto-optical storage device, and the like. The recording unit 28 records various programs, data, and the like used by each unit of the vehicle control system 11. For example, the recording unit 28 records a rosbag file including a message transmitted and received by a robot operating system (ROS) in which an application program related to automated driving operates. For example, the recording unit 28 includes an event data recorder (EDR) and a data storage system for automated driving (DSSAD), and records information of the vehicle 1 before and after an event such as an accident.
Wada, 0103 and Fig. 1, emphasis added.
and a processor connected to the digital rear mirror module and the memory, and configured to transmit the front view video and the rear view video from the front camera module and the rear camera module to the memory, and to transmit the rear view video from the rear camera module to the digital rear mirror module,
[0257] The digital rear mirror 234 is used instead of a conventional rear view mirror and is also referred to as a smart room mirror. As illustrated in FIG. 13, similarly to the conventional rearview mirror, the digital rear mirror 234 is provided at the upper end of the windshield 204 and slightly in front of the vicinity of the center, and is disposed above the center portion 231C of the center display 231.
[0258] The digital rear mirror 234 displays, for example, an image behind the vehicle 1 captured by the camera 51BC2. For example, in a case where another vehicle is approaching behind the vehicle 1, the digital rear mirror 234 displays an alert.
Wada, 0141-0143, 0154-0155, 0257-0258, emphasis added
wherein the video processing system includes a first electronic device including the digital rear mirror module mounted at a predetermined location in the vehicle, wherein the first electronic device is accommodated in a housing such that the digital rear mirror module faces the rear of the vehicle,
[0257] The digital rear mirror 234 is used instead of a conventional rear view mirror and is also referred to as a smart room mirror. As illustrated in FIG. 13, similarly to the conventional rearview mirror, the digital rear mirror 234 is provided at the upper end of the windshield 204 and slightly in front of the vicinity of the center, and is disposed above the center portion 231C of the center display 231.
[0258] The digital rear mirror 234 displays, for example, an image behind the vehicle 1 captured by the camera 51BC2. For example, in a case where another vehicle is approaching behind the vehicle 1, the digital rear mirror 234 displays an alert.
Wada, 0257-0258 and Fig. 2, emphasis added
and the front camera module is mounted to the first electronic device to face the front of the vehicle.
[0141] The camera 51FC1 is provided near the center of the front end of the vehicle 1. The camera 51FC1 images the front of the vehicle 1. For example, a fisheye camera is used as the camera 51FC1. The camera 51FC1 is used for ADAS and surround view, for example. The surround view is, for example, a function of displaying an image of the periphery of the vehicle 1 or a bird's-eye view image of the periphery of the vehicle 1 as viewed from above.
[0142] The camera 51FC2 is provided near the front center in the interior of the vehicle 1. The camera 51FC2 images the front of the vehicle 1 via the windshield. The camera 51FC2 is used for ADAS, for example. The image of the camera 51FC2 is recorded in, for example, a drive recorder.
Wada, 0141-0142 and Fig. 2, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 2 Wada teaches:
2. The video processing system of claim 1, wherein the video processing system includes a second electronic device including the memory and the processor provided separate from the first electronic device.
Wada, 0081-0082, 0083, 0230-0232 and Fig. 13
In regarding to claim 4 Wada teaches:
4. The video processing system of claim 2, wherein the video processing system is connected to an internal camera module configured to capture an internal video of the vehicle, and the processor is connected to the internal camera module, and configured to transmit the internal video to the memory such that the memory stores the internal video.
Wada, 0142-0143, 0178
In regarding to claim 5 Wada teaches:
5. The video processing system of claim 4, furthermore, Wada teaches: wherein the internal camera module is mounted to the first electronic device to face the inside of the vehicle.
Wada, 0142-0143, 0178, 0206
In regarding to claim 6 Wada teaches:
6. The video processing system of claim 2, further comprising: an interface module connected between the front camera module and the rear camera module and the processor, and configured to transmit the front view video and the rear view video from the front camera module and the rear camera module to the processor, wherein the second electronic device includes the interface module with the memory and the processor.
Wada, 0081-0082, 0083, 0230-0232 and Fig. 13
In regarding to claim 7 Wada teaches:
7. The video processing system of claim 1, wherein the video processing system is implemented with a single electronic device including the first electronic device mounted at the predetermined location in the vehicle.
Wada, 0257-0258 and Fig. 13
In regarding to claim 8 Wada teaches:
8. The video processing system of claim 7, wherein the electronic device is accommodated in the housing such that the digital rear mirror module faces the rear of the vehicle.
Wada, 0257-0258 and Fig. 13
In regarding to claim 9 Wada teaches:
9. The video processing system of claim 7, wherein the video processing system is connected to an internal camera module configured to capture an internal video of the vehicle, and the processor is connected to the internal camera module, and configured to transmit the internal video to the memory such that the memory stores the internal video.
Wada, 0142-0143, 0178
In regarding to claim 10 Wada teaches:
10. The video processing system of claim 9, wherein the electronic device is accommodated in the housing such that the digital rear mirror module faces the rear of the vehicle,
Wada, 0257-0258
Claim 11 list all similar elements of claim 1, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 11.
In regarding to claim 12 Wada teaches:
12. The operating method of claim 11, wherein the video processing system includes a second electronic device provided separate from the first electronic device,
Wada, 0081-0082, 0083, 0230-0232 and Fig. 13
and the receiving the front view video and the rear view video, and the storing the front view video and the rear view video is performed by the second electronic device, and the displaying the rear view video on the digital rear mirror module is performed by the first electronic device.
Wada, 0081-0082, 0083, 0230-0232 and Fig. 13
In regarding to claim 13 Wada teaches:
13. The operating method of claim 12, further comprising: transmitting, by the second electronic device, the rear view video to the first electronic device.
Wada, 0081-0082, 0083, 0230-0232 and Fig. 13
Claims 15-16 list all similar elements of claims 4-5, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 4-5 applies equally as well to claims 15-16.
In regarding to claim 17 Wada teaches:
17. The operating method of claim 11, wherein the video processing system is implemented with a single electronic device including the first electronic device mounted at the predetermined location in the vehicle.
Wada, 0257-0258 and Fig. 13
In regarding to claim 18 Wada teaches:
18. The operating method of claim 17, wherein the electronic device is accommodated in a housing such that the digital rear mirror module faces the rear of the vehicle
Wada, 0257-0258 and Fig. 13
Claims 19-20 list all similar elements of claims 9-10, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 9-10 applies equally as well to claims 19-20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481