DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 3, “a direction of insertion” should say “the direction of insertion”
Claim 14, line 2, “at least on holding bracket” should say “the holding structure”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bettin (EP 3098372 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bettin discloses a snap-action connection (fastening element 4, fig.2) of an assembly mount of a motor vehicle (fastening element 4 for fastening component 1 on a motor vehicle 6, figs.1-2), comprising an elastomer connector (element 10, fig.2) and a latching stud (element 9, fig.2), wherein the elastomer connector has, on an outer side, at least one first groove (groove 20, fig.2), which is provided for fixing on a holding structure (carrier element 5, figs.1-2), wherein the elastomer connector has a cavity or through-aperture (element 10 has cavity to receiv element 9, fig.2), wherein the cavity or through-aperture has at least one first latching contour (element 10 has latching contour as seen in figure 2 and attached figure below), wherein the latching stud has at least one second latching contour (element 9 has latching contour as seen in figure 2 and attached figure below), wherein the latching stud is adapted for insertion into the cavity or through-aperture in a direction of insertion (insertion along axis A, fig.2) and can be snapped in through the interaction of the at least one first latching contour and at least one second latching contour (fig.2),wherein the elastomer connector has a compression geometry (having the design of the element 10 be an elastic body with protrusions forming the latching contour forms a compression geometry) which is configured, in the event of tension on the latching stud, to compress counter to the direction of insertion and thereby stiffen the elastomer connector in the region of the at least one first latching contour (the design of the element 10 creates resistance to pulling out the element 9 from element 10 and compresses the elastic body of element 10 thereby stiffening the element 10, fig.2).
Regarding claim 2, Bettin discloses wherein the elastomer connector has a contact surface (surface of flange 21, fig.2), wherein the latching stud has a collar (flat end of element 9 has collar, fg.2), and wherein the collar comes into contact with the contact surface, at least when the latching stud is subjected to an axial load in the direction of insertion (element 9 contacts flange 21 when inserted into element 10, fig.10).
Regarding claim 3, Bettin discloses wherein the at least one first latching contour has at least one latching projection and/or latching collar and/or latching groove (latching contour as seen in attached figure above, fig.2), and wherein the at least one second latching contour has at least one substantially complementary latching projection and/or latching collar and/or latching groove (latching contour as seen in attached figure above, latching contours are complementary, fig.2).
Regarding claim 5, Bettin discloses wherein the first latching contour is arranged further forwards in the direction of insertion than the first groove (latching contour is further forward along insertion along axis A than groove 20, fig.2, see attached figure above), wherein the compression geometry is arranged axially between the first latching contour and the first groove or at the level of the first latching contour (the part of the element 10 that gets compressed is adjacent latching contour, fig.2, see attached figure above).
Regarding claim 11, Bettin discloses a motor vehicle structure (component 1, figs.1-2) comprising an assembly fixed on a motor vehicle (motor vehicle 6, fig.1) by means of at least one snap-action connection according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Bettin discloses wherein at least one latching stud is arranged on the assembly (element 9, figs.1-2), and wherein at least one elastomer connector (10) is arranged on a motor vehicle body (motor vehicle 6 with carrier element 5, figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Bettin discloses wherein the at least one latching stud is arranged movably on the assembly (element 9 is removable, figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Bettin discloses wherein at least one holding bracket (carrier element 5, figs.1-2) having a receiving groove and/or receiving recess (opening 19, figs.1-2) for receiving the at least one elastomer connector (element 10, fig.2) is provided on the motor vehicle body.
Regarding claim 15, Bettin discloses comprising at least one motor vehicle structure (motor vehicle 6 with carrier element 5, figs.1-2) according to claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettin (EP 3098372 A1) in view of Smith (US 20230366420 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bettin discloses the first and second latching contours have fillets (latching contours are curved fillets as seen in fig.2 and attached figure) on a side oriented toward the direction of insertion (along axis A, fig.2) and/or on a side facing away from the direction of insertion (curved fillets are on both sides of the element 9 to allow for latching and unlatching, fig.2), thus enabling the latching between elastomer connector and the latching stud to be established and release (curved fillets are on both sides of the element 9 to allow for latching and unlatching, fig.2, fig.2). Bettin fails to disclose bevels instead of fillets/curved surfaces.
However, Smith discloses wherein the first latching contour and the second latching contour have bevels (conical head 20 and surface 54 have angled bevels on both sides, surface 52 of fingers 38, figs.3 and 8) on a side oriented towards the direction of insertion (conical head 20 and surface 54 have angled bevels on both sides, surface 52 of fingers 38, figs.3 and 8) and/or on a side facing away from the direction of insertion (conical head 20 and surface 54 have angled bevels on both sides, surface 52 of fingers 38, figs.3 and 8), thus enabling the latching between the elastomer connector and the latching stud to be established and released (conical head 20 and surface 54 have angled bevels on both sides, surface 52 of fingers 38, figs.3 and 8).
Bettin and Smith are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of snap connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bettin with the bevels of Smith with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have been a simple substitution of curved fillets for bevels obtaining predictable results as bevels are well known in the art to help easily align fasteners and are easier and faster to manufacture.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettin (EP 3098372 A1) in view of Liebelt (US 20200217345 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bettin discloses the snap-action connection of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the latching stud has a step contour.
However, Liebelt discloses the latching stud has a step contour (step contours from 128 to 132 to 136, figs.9-10 and 18).
Bettin and Liebelt are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of snap conectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bettin with the step contours of Liebelt with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have been a simple substitution of one latching stud for another obtaining predictable results of latching the stud securely with the connector.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettin (EP 3098372 A1) in view of Sussenbach (US 20080056816 A1).
Regarding claim 9 and 16, Bettin discloses the snap-action connection of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the latching stud consists of aluminum.
However, Sussenbach discloses a stud consists of aluminum (closure pin 4 can be made from plastics or aluminum, figs.1 and 4, paragraph [0053]).
Bettin and Sussenbach are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of quick connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bettin with the aluminum pin of Sussenbach with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art yielding predictable results as having the stud be aluminum would create a lightweight, corrosion-resistant, and strong stud which are all ideal for automotive applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected, but claim 6 has the limitation of “wherein the elastomer connector has, on the outer side, a gripping region arranged further forwards in the direction of insertion, and wherein, in order to remove the latching stud, compression of the compression geometry can be prevented by pulling on the gripping region in the direction of insertion.” The primary reference of Bettin discloses the elastomer connector (10) has an outer side, but fails to disclose “a gripping region arranged further forwards in the direction of insertion, and wherein, in order to remove the latching stud, compression of the compression geometry can be prevented by pulling on the gripping region in the direction of insertion”. None of the prior art teaches or suggest a gripping region being pulled to prevent compression of the compression geometry in order to cure the deficiency of Bettin, making it unreasonable to modify Bettin to have these limitations. The prior art either alone or in combination fail to teach or fairly suggest at this time all of the limitations of claim 6. For the reasons above claim 6 has allowable subject matter.
Claim 7 depends upon claim 6 giving it the same allowable subject matter as discussed above.
Claim 10 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected, but claim 10 has the limitation of “wherein the compression geometry is a compression groove.” The primary reference of Bettin discloses the compression geometry as the elastic body of element (10) compressing when element (9) is pulled to be removed. Bettin does not disclose a compression groove. None of the prior art teaches or suggest a compression groove to cure the deficiency of Bettin making it unreasonable to modify Bettin to have a compression groove. The prior art either alone or in combination fail to teach or fairly suggest at this time all of the limitations of claim 10. For the reasons above claim 10 has allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613