DETAILED ACTION
Receipt and entry of Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/04/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 and 20-29 have been canceled. Claims 11-19 have been added. Overall, claims 11-19 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the methods of claims 11-19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 11-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hohl et al. (Hohl) (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0306700A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hohl discloses a method of utilizing a fluid motor with a subterranean well, the method comprising: deploying the fluid motor into the well (see abstract and para. [0003]); operating the fluid motor by fluid flow between a rotor 11 (see para. [0024]- para. [0025]) and a stator 6 of the fluid motor; retrieving the fluid motor from the well; and then reversing the stator on the rotor (see para. [0068], para. [0071] to para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Hohl discloses in which the rotor 11 is received into a first end connection (A – see the annotated Fig. 1A below) of a housing 4 of the stator 6 in the deploying, and in which the reversing comprises receiving the rotor 11 into a second end connection (B - see the annotated Fig. 1A below) of the stator housing 4.
Regarding claim 13, Hohl discloses in which the stator 6 comprises first and second end connections (A, B – see the annotated Fig. 1A above), in the deploying the first end connection being directly connected to a housing surrounding a flexible joint 50 and the reversing comprises directly connecting the second end connection to the housing 4.
Regarding claim 14, Hohl discloses in which the rotor 11 remains connected to the flexible joint during the reversing.
Regarding claim 15, Hohl discloses in which the reversing comprises withdrawing the rotor 11 from a first end connection (A) of a housing of the stator, and inserting the rotor 11 into a second end connection (B) of the housing.
Regarding claim 16, Hohl discloses in which the first end connection (A)is configured the same as the second end connection (B).
Regarding claim 17, Hohl discloses, in which at least one internal helical profile 8 is disposed in the housing 4, the at least one internal helical profile 8 is spaced apart from the first end connection (A) a first distance, the at least one internal helical profile is spaced apart from the second end connection (B) a second distance, and the first and second distances are the same (see the annotated Fig. 1A above).
Regarding claim 19, Hohl discloses, in which the stator 6 comprises a housing having first and second opposite ends (C, D – see the annotated Fig. 1A above), the operating comprises the fluid flow into the second end and out of the first end, and the method further comprises the fluid flow into the first end and out of the second end after the reversing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohl in view of Schultz ( U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0304596A1).
Hohl discloses, in which at least one internal helical profile 8 is disposed in the housing, the at least one internal helical profile 8 is spaced apart from the first end connection (A) a first distance, the at least one internal helical profile 8 is spaced apart from the second end connection (B) a second distance however, Hohl fails to disclose the first and second distances are different.
As shown in Figs. 3-5, Schultz teaches in which at least one internal helical profile is disposed in the housing, the at least one internal helical profile is spaced apart from the first end connection 38 a first distance (see Figs. 3-4), the at least one internal helical profile is spaced apart from the second end connection 40 a second distance (see Figs. 3 and 5), and the first and second distances are different. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the first and second distances being different, as taught by Schultz in the Hohl apparatus, since they are merely design parameters, depending on the installation of the fluid motor or depending on being used for a particular purpose or solving a stated problem.
Note that the specification fails to disclose any criticality for the claimed limitation (see page 11, 6th paragraph, lines 1-5 of the instant application).
Prior Art
4. The IDS (PTO-1449) filed on Nov. 7, 2024 has been considered. An initialized copy is attached hereto.
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of two patents:
- Tschirky (U.S. Patent Number 3,982,858) a progressive cavity fluid motor with multiple segment stator elements connected in series; and
- Gruber (U.S. Patent Number 5,195,880) discloses an eccentric screw pump with reversible rotor
6. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Communication
/TT/
/Theresa Trieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746