DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2009/0237801 A1) in view of Newman (US 2020/0389576 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Liu et al discloses a vehicular camera (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6 & page 4, section [0050]), Figure 13), the vehicular camera comprising: an imaging array sensor (page 2, sections [0034] – page 3, section [0034], Figure 6, “124”); a microlens array (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6, “112, 122”); wherein the microlens array comprises a plurality of microlenses (Figure 6, “112, 122”) disposed at the imaging array sensor (Figure 6, “124”); wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses is associated with a respective imaging array sensor (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6, “112, 122, 124”); wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses comprises a respective plurality of refractive indices (page 3, section [0035]); wherein the microlens array is disposed at the imaging array sensor so that light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the microlens array to be incident at the imaging array sensor (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6, “112, 122, 124”); wherein light incident at and passing through each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the microlens array is incident at the respective imaging array sensor (page 4, section [0045], Figure 6, “L3a, L3b, L3c, 112, 122, 124”); wherein a focus length of at least one microlens of the plurality of microlenses is different from a focus length of at least one other microlens of the plurality of microlenses (page 3, section [0035]); and wherein the vehicular camera is configured to be disposed at a vehicle equipped with a vehicular vision system (page 4, section [0050]), Figure 13), but does not specifically disclose wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses is associated with a respective sub-array of photosensors of the imaging array sensor comprising at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns.
Within the same field of endeavor, Newman teaches wherein it is desirable in cameras for individual microlenses in a plurality of microlenses to be associated with a respective sub-array of photosensors of an imaging array sensor comprising at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns for the purpose of computing a full resolution image (page 5, section [0055], Figure 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of Liu et al to be associated with a respective sub-array of photosensors of the imaging array sensor comprising at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns since Newman teaches that it is desirable for the purpose of computing a full resolution image.
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al discloses wherein the focus length of each microlens of the plurality of microlenses is based on an imaging plane of the imaging array sensor (page 3, section [0035]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al discloses wherein the focus length of the at least one microlens of the plurality of microlenses is adjusted to compensate for an imaging plane of the imaging array sensor (page 3, section [0035], re: compensating for the size and placement of the photosensor). Regarding the limitation, "compensating for a non-planar imaging plane of the imaging array sensor”, applicant merely sets forth a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate that claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Since the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, it anticipates the claim.
Claim(s) 9-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al in view of Newman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al (US 2018/0094086 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al in view of Newman discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the microlens array comprises an antireflection coating.
Within the same field of endeavor, Sasaki et al teaches that it is desirable in vehicular cameras (page 87, section [0477]) for each individual microlens of a plurality of microlenses of a microlens array to comprise an antireflection coating for the purpose of improving transmittance and to effectively utilize the incidence ray (page 89, section [0517], Figures 2-4, “22”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each individual microlens of a plurality of microlenses of the microlens array of Liu et al in view of Newman to comprise an antireflection coating since Sasaki et al teaches that it is desirable for the purpose of improving transmittance and to effectively utilize the incidence ray.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, with the vehicular camera disposed at the vehicle, the vehicular camera would inherently have a wide field of view exterior the vehicle, this being reasonably assumed from Sasaki et al disclosing the camera being vehicle-mounted, which would have an exterior view of the vehicle whether mounted on the exterior or interior (through the vehicle windows) (page 87, section [0477]).
In regard to claims 12 and 17, Liu et al discloses a vehicular camera (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6 & page 4, section [0050]), Figure 13), the vehicular camera comprising: an imaging array sensor (page 2, sections [0034] – page 3, section [0034], Figure 6, “124”); a microlens array (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6, “112, 122”); wherein the microlens array comprises a plurality of microlenses (Figure 6, “112, 122”) disposed at the imaging array sensor (Figure 6, “124”); wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses is associated with a respective imaging array sensor (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6, “112, 122, 124”); wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses comprises a respective plurality of refractive indices (page 3, section [0035]); wherein the microlens array is disposed at the imaging array sensor so that light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the microlens array from the imaging array sensor to be incident at the microlens array (page 4, section [0045], Figure 6, “L3a, L3b, L3c, 112, 122, 124”); wherein the microlens array is disposed at the imaging array sensor so that light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the microlens array to be incident at the imaging array sensor (page 2, section [0034] – page 3, section [0035], Figure 6, “112, 122, 124”); wherein light incident at and passing through each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the microlens array is incident at the respective imaging array sensor (page 4, section [0045], Figure 6, “L3a, L3b, L3c, 112, 122, 124”); wherein a focus length of at least one microlens of the plurality of microlenses is different from a focus length of at least one other microlens of the plurality of microlenses (page 3, section [0035]); wherein the focus length of each microlens of the plurality of microlenses is based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) an imaging plane of the imaging array sensor (page 3, section [0035]) and (ii) a focus plane of the outer lens; and wherein the vehicular camera is configured to be disposed at a vehicle equipped with a vehicular vision system (page 4, section [0050]), Figure 13), but does not specifically disclose wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses is associated with a respective sub-array of photosensors of the imaging array sensor comprising at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; or wherein light incident at the vehicular camera passes through an outer lens at an opposite side of the microlens array from the imaging array sensor to be incident at the microlens array; or wherein, with the vehicular camera disposed at the vehicle, the vehicular camera has a wide-angle field of view exterior the vehicle.
Within the same field of endeavor, Newman teaches wherein it is desirable in cameras for individual microlenses in a plurality of microlenses to be associated with a respective sub-array of photosensors of an imaging array sensor comprising at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns for the purpose of computing a full resolution image (page 5, section [0055], Figure 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of Liu et al to be associated with a respective sub-array of photosensors of the imaging array sensor comprising at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns since Newman teaches that it is desirable for the purpose of computing a full resolution image.
Furthermore, within the same field of endeavor, Sasaki et al teaches that it is desirable in vehicular cameras (page 87, section [0477]) for light incident at a vehicular camera to pass through an outer lens (Figure 1, “14”) at an opposite side of a microlens array (Figure 1, “18”) from the imaging array sensor (Figure 1, “11”) to be incident at the microlens array (Figure 1, “18”) for the purpose of providing an improved camera module (page 89, sections [0505]-[0508]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for light incident at the vehicular camera of Liu et al in view of Newman, to pass through an outer lens at an opposite side of a microlens array from the imaging array sensor to be incident at the microlens array since Sasaki et al teaches that it is desirable for the purpose of for the purpose of providing an improved camera module.
Lastly, with the vehicular camera disposed at the vehicle, the vehicular camera would inherently have a wide-angle field of view exterior the vehicle, this being reasonably assumed from Sasaki et al disclosing the camera being vehicle-mounted, which would have an exterior view of the vehicle whether mounted on the exterior or interior (through the vehicle windows) (page 87, section [0477]).
Regarding claims 13, Liu et al discloses wherein the focus length of the at least one microlens of the plurality of microlenses is adjusted to compensate for an imaging plane of the imaging array sensor (page 3, section [0035], re: compensating for the size and placement of the photosensor). Regarding the limitation, "compensating for a non-planar imaging plane of the imaging array sensor”, applicant merely sets forth a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate that claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Since the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, it anticipates the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 4: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the microlens array comprises a first planar surface and an opposing second planar surface separated from the first planar surface by a plate thickness dimension of the individual microlens, and wherein light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the first planar surface and through the plate thickness dimension of the respective individual microlens to exit the second planar surface of the respective individual microlens to be incident at the respective sub-array of the photosensors of the imaging array sensor associated with that respective individual microlens.
Claims 4-8 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 4: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically comprising an outer lens at an opposite side of the microlens array from the imaging array sensor, wherein light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the outer lens to be incident at the microlens array, and wherein the focus length of each microlens of the plurality of microlenses is based on a focus plane of the outer lens.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 5 and 6: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically comprising an outer lens at an opposite side of the microlens array from the imaging array sensor, wherein light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the outer lens to be incident at the microlens array, and wherein the focus length of each microlens of the plurality of microlenses is based on (i) an imaging plane of the imaging array sensor and (ii) a focus plane of the outer lens.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 7: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically wherein, for each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses, the refractive indices of the respective plurality of refractive indices combine to provide a respective gradient refractive index.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 8: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the microlens array comprises a first planar surface and an opposing second planar surface separated from the first planar surface by a plate thickness dimension of the individual microlens, and wherein light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the first planar surface and through the plate thickness dimension of the respective individual microlens to exit the second planar surface of the respective individual microlens to be incident at the respective sub-array of the photosensors of the imaging array sensor associated with that respective individual microlens.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 14: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically wherein the focus length of each microlens of the plurality of microlenses is based on (i) the imaging plane of the imaging array sensor and (ii) the focus plane of the outer lens.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 15: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) the imaging plane of the imaging array sensor is curved and (ii) the focus plane of the outer lens is curved.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 16: a vehicular camera as claimed, specifically wherein each individual microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the microlens array comprises a first planar surface and an opposing second planar surface separated from the first planar surface by a plate thickness dimension of the individual microlens, and wherein light incident at the vehicular camera passes through the first planar surface and through the plate thickness dimension of the respective individual microlens to exit the second planar surface of the respective individual microlens to be incident at the respective sub-array of the photosensors of the imaging array sensor associated with that respective individual microlens.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 15, 2026