DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an obtainer that obtains,” “a processing determiner that determines,” and “an outputter that outputs” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Port et al. (WO 2021/119214 A2).
As to claim 1, Port discloses an acoustic reproduction method comprising:
obtaining a sound signal and processing information, the sound signal indicating a sound that reaches a listener in a sound reproduction space, the processing information indicating whether to perform, on the sound signal, reduction processing for reducing noise included in the sound (p. 43 lines 25-27 and p. 44 lines 23-28, Fig. 15. “An encoder 1401 is shown transmitting an encoded audio bitstream 1402 and one or more types of metadata 1504 to a decoder 1403.” “The metadata 1504 may indicate which noise compensation mode is allowed, e.g., for some or all of the audio bitstream 1402.”);
determining processing content of the reduction processing when the processing information obtained indicates that the reduction processing is to be performed (p. 44 lines 23-28, Fig. 15. “the metadata 1504 may indicate which noise compensation mode is allowed, e.g., for some or all of the audio bitstream 1402.”);
performing the reduction processing, based on the processing content determined (p. 48 lines 5-18, Fig. 18. ”Figs. 18-23 show examples in which a noise compensation module is configured to base a noise compensation process, at least in part, on data from one or more previous or “upstream” audio processes… in some examples the one or more upstream audio processes may have previously occurred on the decoder side, e.g., after decoding but prior to audio processing by noise compensation module.” “a noise compensation module is configured to base a noise compensation process, at least in part, on data from an upstream linear processing module.”); and
outputting the sound signal on which the reduction processing has been performed (p. 49 lines 6-8, Fig. 18. “the noise compensation module 1805 is configured to output the noise-compensated audio data 1806.”).
As to claim 4, Port discloses wherein in the obtaining, processing content information indicating the processing content is obtained, and in the performing, the processing content indicated by the processing content information obtained is performed (p. 43 lines 25-27 and p. 44 lines 23-28, Fig. 15. “An encoder 1401 is shown transmitting an encoded audio bitstream 1402 and one or more types of metadata 1504 to a decoder 1403.” “The metadata 1504 may indicate which noise compensation mode is allowed, e.g., for some or all of the audio bitstream 1402.”);
determining processing content of the reduction processing when the processing information obtained indicates that the reduction processing is to be performed (p. 44 lines 23-28, Fig. 15. “the metadata 1504 may indicate which noise compensation mode is allowed, e.g., for some or all of the audio bitstream 1402.”).
Claim 8 is rejected under claim 1 using the same rationale as claim 1 above, with further reference made to Port, p. 7 lines 1-7.
Claim 9 is directed towards substantially the same subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected using the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Port, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0211574 A1), hereinafter “Lee.”
As to claim 2, Port does not expressly disclose wherein in the obtaining, space information and position information are obtained, the space information indicating a shape and an acoustic property of the sound reproduction space, the position information indicating a position of the listener in the sound reproduction space, and
in the performing, whether to perform the reduction processing is determined based on the space information obtained and the position information obtained.
Lee discloses disclose wherein in the obtaining, space information and position information are obtained, the space information indicating a shape and an acoustic property of the sound reproduction space, the position information indicating a position of the listener in the sound reproduction space (Lee, ¶0159 and ¶0161. “The room information may include at least one of information on a size of the room (800) in which the audio reproducing device (600) is located, information on a reflection coefficient of a substance (or material) configuring the room (800) in which the audio reproducing device (600) is located, information on a location of the user (810) within the room (800) in which the audio reproducing device (600) is located.”), and
in the performing, whether to perform the reduction processing is determined based on the space information obtained and the position information obtained (Lee, ¶0159 and ¶0161. “The room information may include at least one of information on a size of the room (800) in which the audio reproducing device (600) is located, information on a reflection coefficient of a substance (or material) configuring the room (800) in which the audio reproducing device (600) is located, information on a location of the user (810) within the room (800) in which the audio reproducing device (600) is located... he room information may be used for a purpose of room response correction.”).
Port and Lee are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to environmental audio.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain room size, room material reflection coefficient and user location, as taught by Lee. The motivation would have been to use for room response correction (Lee, ¶0159).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Port in view of Lee, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Braun et al. (US 2020/0219524 A1), hereinafter “Braun.”
As to claim 5, Port in view of Lee does not expressly disclose generating a reverberation signal indicating reverberation, based on the sound signal on which the reduction processing has been performed and the space information obtained,
wherein in the outputting, a synthesized sound signal is output, the synthesized sound signal resulting from synthesizing the sound signal on which the reduction processing has been performed and the reverberation signal generated.
Braun disclose generating a reverberation signal indicating reverberation, based on the sound signal on which the reduction processing has been performed and the space information obtained (¶0127 and ¶0129. “Accordingly, a modified (shaped) reverberation signal 305b can be added (for example after an optional scaling).”),
wherein in the outputting, a synthesized sound signal is output, the synthesized sound signal resulting from synthesizing the sound signal on which the reduction processing has been performed and the reverberation signal generated (¶0127 and ¶0129. “the reverberation signal 304a is subtracted from the sum of the scaled noise reduced signal 303b and the scaled input signal 410a. accordingly, an intermediate signal 520 is obtained. Moreover, a scaled version 305b of the shaped reverberation signal 305a is added to the intermediate signal 520 in order to obtain an output signal 512.”).
Port, Lee and Braun are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to environmental audio.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add reverb, as taught by Braun. The motivation would have been to obtain an output signal with a shaped reverberation and an adjustable degree of noise reduction (Braun, ¶0129).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Pance et al. (US 2013/0028443 A1) and Yoo (US 2013/0216059 A1).
/JAMES K MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695