Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4 December 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 8, line 10, the examiner suggests that “global positioning system (PGS)” be changed to “global positioning system (GPS)”.
On page 16, line 26, the examiner suggests that “repetitions thereof trough” should be changed to “repetitions thereof through”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuyama et al. (US 2018/0065558) (hereafter Matsuyama).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuyama discloses a digital rear mirror device of a vehicle (see at least the abstract and Fig. 3), comprising: a display module configured to provide a rear view of the vehicle (see at least Fig. 3, where rear-view mirror 200 includes a display and a half mirror); an input module including at least one button arranged on at least one edge of the display module (see at least Fig. 7, particularly embodiment (b), where touch sensors 121a, 121b, 121d, 121e, and 121f are buttons arranged on an edge of the display module); and a processor configured to connect to each of the display module and the input module and to display identification information on an operation function assigned to the button in response to the button through the display module (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0124] and [0224]-[0225], where the operation of the device is controlled by a central processing unit (CPU), such that when the menu button is pressed, identification information is displayed for the various buttons).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Matsuyama also discloses that the button includes at least one of a physical button and a touch button (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0123]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Matsuyama also discloses that the processor is configured to change the operation function assigned to the button and to display identification information on the changed operation function in response to the button (see at least Fig. 7, where the operation function assigned to the button 121b changes from menu to close in response to the button being pressed).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Matsuyama also discloses that the device further comprises at least one sensor arranged on at least one edge of the display module (see at least Fig. 7, where touch sensors 121a and 121b are sensors arranged on at least one edge of the display module).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Matsuyama also discloses that the processor is configured to display the identification information based on a signal detected through the sensor (see at least Fig. 7, where the signal detected through sensor 121b activates the menu thus displaying the identification information).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Matsuyama also discloses that the processor is configured to switch the display module based on a signal detected through the sensor (see at least Fig. 7, where sensor 121a switches the camera view on and off).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 8.
Matsuyama also discloses that the processor is configured to, adjust an angle of the rear view provided through the display module based on the signal, activate an anti-glare function for the display module based on the signal, or switch the display module between a mirror mode for directly illuminating the rear view through reflection of light and a display mode for providing the rear view by displaying a rear view video of the vehicle based on the signal (see at least Fig. 7, where the camera button switches between the mirror mode and a display mode), and the processor is configured to return the display module if a predetermined period of time elapses after switching the display module, or to return the display module based on the signal detected through the sensor (see at least Fig. 7, where the same button returns the display to the alternate mode).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Matsuyama also discloses that the sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, a proximity sensor, and a touch sensor (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraph [0124], where 121a and 121b are touch sensors).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuyama discloses an operating method of a digital rear mirror device of a vehicle (see at least Fig. 7 and the abstract), the operating method comprising: providing a rear view of the vehicle through a display module (see at least Fig. 7); and in response to at least one button arranged on at least one edge of the display module, displaying identification information on an operation function assigned to the button through the display module (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0124]-[0125], where the menu button causes identification information to be displayed for the various buttons).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 11.
Matsuyama also discloses that the button includes at least one of a physical button and a touch button (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraph [0124], where the buttons are touch buttons).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 11.
Matsuyama also discloses changing the operation function assigned to the button and displaying identification information on the changed operation function in response to the button (see at least Fig. 7, where the operation function assigned to the button 121b changes from menu to close in response to the button being pressed).
Regarding claim 16, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 11.
Matsuyama also discloses that at least one sensor is arranged on at least one edge of the display module (see at least Fig. 7, where touch sensors 121a and 121b are sensors arranged on at least one edge of the display module).
Regarding claim 17, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 16.
Matsuyama also discloses that the displaying the identification information comprises displaying the identification information based on a signal detected through the sensor (see at least Fig. 7, where the signal detected through sensor 121b activates the menu thus displaying the identification information).
Regarding claim 18, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 16.
Matsuyama also discloses that the method further comprises switching the display module based on a signal detected through the sensor (see at least Fig. 7, where sensor 121a switches the camera view on and off).
Regarding claim 19, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 18.
Matsuyama also discloses that the switching the display module comprises at least one of: adjusting an angle of the rear view provided through the display module based on the signal; activating an anti-glare function for the display module based on the signal; and switching the display module between a mirror mode for directly illuminating the rear view through reflection of light and a display mode for providing the rear view by displaying a rear view video of the vehicle based on the signal (see at least Fig. 7, where the camera button switches between the mirror mode and a display mode), and the operating method further comprises at least one of: returning the display module if a predetermined period of time elapses; and returning the display module based on another signal detected through the sensor (see at least Fig. 7, where the same button returns the display to the alternate mode).
Regarding claim 20, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 16.
Matsuyama also discloses that the sensor includes at least one of a motion sensor, a proximity sensor, and a touch sensor(see at least Fig. 7 and paragraph [0124], where 121a and 121b are touch sensors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama et al. (US 2018/0065558) (hereafter Matsuyama).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 3.
Matsuyama also discloses that the input module includes a plurality of buttons and a touch circuitry assembled with the display module, and the buttons include a first button and a second button (see at least Fig. 7).
Matsuyama does not specifically disclose that the processor is configured to, when first identification information of the first button moves to the second button through the touch circuitry, move second identification information of the second button to the first button and to exchange operation functions assigned to the first button and the second button, respectively.
However, Official Notice is taken that configuring a processor to, when first identification information of the first button moves to the second button through the touch circuitry, move second identification information of the second button to the first button and to exchange operation functions assigned to the first button and the second button, respectively, is old and well-known in the art for rearranging and reassigning operations of buttons on a touch sensitive device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Matsuyama so that the processor is configured to, when first identification information of the first button moves to the second button through the touch circuitry, move second identification information of the second button to the first button and to exchange operation functions assigned to the first button and the second button, respectively, for the purpose of rearranging and reassigning the operations of the various buttons in order to best match a desired user interface since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 3.
Matsuyama also discloses that the input module includes a plurality of buttons, and one of the buttons is a setting button (see at least Fig. 7).
Matsuyama does not specifically disclose that the processor is configured to change an operation function assigned to another one of the buttons based on a selection of the setting button and to display identification information on the changed operation function in response to the other one of the buttons.
However, Official Notice is taken that configuring a processor to change an operation function assigned to another one of the buttons based on a selection of the setting button and to display identification information on the changed operation function in response to the other one of the buttons is old and well-known in the art for rearranging and reassigning operations of buttons on a touch sensitive device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Matsuyama so that the processor is configured to change an operation function assigned to another one of the buttons based on a selection of the setting button and to display identification information on the changed operation function in response to the other one of the buttons, for the purpose of rearranging and reassigning operations of buttons on a touch sensitive device since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 13.
Matsuyama also discloses that a plurality of buttons is arranged on at least one edge of the display module, and the buttons include a first button and a second button (see at least Fig. 7).
Matsuyama does not specifically disclose that the displaying the identification information on the changed operation function comprises, when first identification information of the first button moves to the second button through a touch circuitry assembled with the display module, moving second identification information of the second button to the first button and exchanging operation functions assigned to the first button and the second button, respectively.
However, Official Notice is taken that the displaying the identification information on the changed operation function comprises, when first identification information of the first button moves to the second button through a touch circuitry assembled with the display module, moving second identification information of the second button to the first button and exchanging operation functions assigned to the first button and the second button, respectively, is old and well-known in the art for rearranging and reassigning operations of buttons on a touch sensitive device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Matsuyama so that the displaying the identification information on the changed operation function comprises, when first identification information of the first button moves to the second button through a touch circuitry assembled with the display module, moving second identification information of the second button to the first button and exchanging operation functions assigned to the first button and the second button, respectively, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Matsuyama discloses all of the limitations of claim 13.
Matsuyama also discloses that a plurality of buttons is arranged on the edge of the display module (see at least Fig. 7).
Matsuyama does not specifically disclose that the displaying the identification information on the changed operation function comprises changing an operation function assigned to another one of the buttons based on a selection of a setting button and displaying identification information on the changed operation function in response to the other one of the buttons.
However, Official Notice is taken that the displaying the identification information on the changed operation function comprises changing an operation function assigned to another one of the buttons based on a selection of a setting button and displaying identification information on the changed operation function in response to the other one of the buttons is old and well-known in the art for rearranging and reassigning operations of buttons on a touch sensitive device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Matsuyama so that the displaying the identification information on the changed operation function comprises changing an operation function assigned to another one of the buttons based on a selection of a setting button and displaying identification information on the changed operation function in response to the other one of the buttons, for the purpose of rearranging and reassigning operations of buttons on a touch sensitive device since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2002/0044065 to Quist et al. discloses a digital rear mirror device comprising a display module and an input module (see at least the abstract and Fig. 1).
US 2008/0266389 to DeWind et al. discloses a digital rear mirror device comprising a display module and an input module (see at least the abstract and Fig. 6).
US 10,676,028 to Taniguchi discloses a digital rear mirror device wherein the angle of the rear view provided through the display module is adjusted (see at least figs. 3 and 5A-5C).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872