DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/10/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because information disclosure statement is missing the application number and filing date of the information disclosure statement. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “desalination unit”, “extraction unit” and “fixation unit” in claim 5.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The “desalination unit” will be interpreted as Reverse Osmosis (RO) membrane ¶[0017], however the specification reads the desalination unit is a plant or factory instead being used in a plant or factory. The “extraction unit” will be interpreted as ion exchange ¶[0021]. The “fixation unit” will be interpreted as a packed column ¶[0031] .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Constantz et al (Patent Application Publication US 20140234946 A1, hereinafter Constantz).
Regarding claim 5, Constantz teaches a carbon dioxide fixation system comprising: a desalination unit configured to desalinate seawater to produce fresh water and concentrated seawater(¶[0040] and Fig 8); an extraction unit configured to extract NaOH or HCl for adjustment of pH from the seawater(¶[0211-0212], by separating positive or negative ions the disclosure is capable of adjustment of pH of seawater) and a fixation unit configured to fix carbon dioxide to a mineral source contained in the concentrated seawater by supplying gas containing the carbon dioxide to the concentrated seawater (¶[0206] and Fig 8).
Regarding the “configured to” limitations associated with the claimed structural features, the corresponding structures disclosed by Constantz are capable of the claimed configurations and functions. The claimed functional language does not distinguish the claimed structures from the prior art structures because the prior art structures are capable of performing the claimed functions (In re Schreiber, 128
F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1997)) and MPEP 2114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constantz et al (Patent Application Publication US 20140234946 A1, hereinafter Constantz) and further in view of Farsad et al (Patent Application Publication US 2010 0230830 A1, hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Constantz disclose a carbon dioxide fixation method comprising: desalinating seawater to produce fresh water and concentrated seawater (Fig 7 and ¶[0229]); extracting NaOH or HCl from the seawater (¶[0040] and Fig 7 permeate 1,2) and fixing carbon dioxide to a mineral source contained in the concentrated seawater by supplying gas containing the carbon dioxide to the concentrated (Fig 7) seawater but fails to explicitly teach adjusting pH of the seawater using the NaOH or the HCl.
However, Farsad disclose adjusting pH of the seawater using the NaOH or the HCl (¶[0099]). Constantz and Farsad are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices to processing CO2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Constantz to incorporate the teachings of Farsad and adjusting pH of the
seawater using the NaOH or the HCl to control carbonates precipitation.
Regarding claim 2, modified Constantz teaches carbon dioxide fixation method of claim 1, wherein in the desalinating of the seawater, the fresh water and the concentrated seawater are separated using a reverse osmosis membrane (Constantz ¶[0040] and Fig 8).
Regarding claim 3, modified Constantz teaches carbon dioxide fixation method of claim 1, wherein carbon dioxide gas contained in exhaust gas discharged from a factory or a plant is supplied to the concentrated seawater (Constantz [¶0037]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Constantz teaches carbon dioxide fixation method of claim 1, wherein the fresh water is used as a coolant for the factory or the plant that discharges the exhaust gas (Farsad [¶0309]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Regarding claim 5, Farsad explicitly teaches ion exchange that regulating pH of seawater by separating NaOH or HCl.
/K.H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771