DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20130258475 A1 (Lee; Jin Yu).
Per claim 1, Lee teaches an optical element driving mechanism [122], comprising: a movable part [122, see paragraph 0035: “the lens carrier 122 as well as the lens 125 to move linearly with respect to the base frame 121 along the photo axis 7”], for connecting an optical element [125]; a fixed part [11-13], wherein the movable part moves relative to the fixed part [see paragraph 0035: “the lens carrier 122 as well as the lens 125 to move linearly with respect to the base frame 121 along the photo axis 7”]; and a driving assembly, for driving the movable part to move [see paragraph 0035: “a coil 123, at least a magnet 124 (four shown in FIG. 2)”].
Per claim 2, Lee teaches the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a sensing assembly [35,36], wherein the fixed part has a frame [11] and a base [13] the frame is fixedly connected to the base [see figure 2], and the sensing assembly is disposed on the base [see figure 5].
Per claim 3, Lee teaches the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein when observed along an incident direction of an incident light, the frame, the movable part, the driving assembly, the sensing assembly, and the base are arranged in sequence [see figure 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130258475 A1 (Lee; Jin Yu) in view of US 20200333685 A1 (HU; Chao-Chang et al.).
Per claim 4, Lee teaches the optical element driving mechanism as described in claim 3, further comprising an electronic assembly [301]. Lee lacks, Hu teaches, the electronic assembly disposed on the base, electrically connected to the driving assembly, wherein the electronic assembly includes: a first external end, having a groove, protruding from the base; and a second external end, protruding from the base [see electronic assembly 400 and external ends 130]. Improved module compactness would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hu with Lee.
Per claim 5, Lee in view of Hu teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first external end is connected to a metal element, and the metal element extends in the incident direction [inherent to the combination, see Hu’s metal elements 130].
Per claim 6, Lee in view of Hu teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 4, wherein the second external end extends in the incident direction [see Hu’s figure 5].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130258475 A1 (Lee; Jin Yu) in view of WO 2009133690 A1 and JP 6679143 B2
Per claim 7-8, Lee teaches the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 2, wherein the driving assembly comprises: a first magnetic element [124], a coil [34], and corresponding to the first magnetic element. Lee lacks the coil having a trapezoidal structure; wherein the base has a protruding structure and a main body, and the coil is disposed on the protruding structure, wherein the thickness of the main body is less than the thickness of the protruding structure.
However, WO 2009133690 A1 and JP 6679143 B2 respectively teach driving units incorporating trapezoidal shaped coils. See ‘690’s and ‘143 disclosure: “Here, when the center at which the photographing unit 1 swings is below the photographing unit 1 in the Z-axis direction, the longitudinal sectional shape of each photographing unit driving coil 230x, 230y is a long trapezoidal shape on the lower side. If the center where the movable unit swings is in the range overlapping the movable unit in the Z-axis direction, the vertical cross-sectional shape of each of the photographing unit driving coils 230x and 230y is rectangular.” and “The drive magnet 55 is arranged so that the trapezoidal lower bottom faces the coil 35, as shown in FIG. 8B. The driving magnet 55 is magnetized to have different magnetic poles on the inside (the trapezoidal lower bottom side) facing the coil 35 and on the outside (the trapezoidal upper bottom side) opposite to the inside.” Improved drive control would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine 690 and 143 with Lee.
Regarding the protrusion, official notice it taken that it would have been common knowledge in incorporate a protrusion in the base plate in order to reduce coil movement. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Per claim 9, the prior art teaches the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 7. In combination with the limitation above, the prior art does not teach wherein the sensing assembly includes: a first electronic element, disposed on the protruding structure; and a second electronic element, disposed on the main body, wherein the distance between the first electronic element and a bottom surface of the base is different from the distance between the second electronic element and the bottom surface.
/JAMES A DUDEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871