DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the damping element of the locking device in claims 21 and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walsh (US 197,532).
With regards to claim 14, Walsh discloses a trailer towing device comprising: a spring device (E); and a locking device (b and the pin placed in to b), wherein the locking device is configured to move between a locking state in which the spring device is blocked and a release state (As multiple holes b are provided, if a user was to place pins in two or more of the holes it would block the spring device from functioning).
With regards to claim 15, Walsh discloses the towing device of claim 14, wherein the towing device comprises a first rod element (c) and a second rod element (A), wherein the first rod element is mounted on the second rod element, wherein the first rod element is configured to translate along a longitudinal axis (the interpretation is being applied that this is the longitudinal axis of the first rod element and that axis extends through the second rod element as they intersect one another) extending through the second rod element, and wherein the spring device (E) is configured to resist translation of the first rod element.
With regards to claim 16, Walsh discloses the towing device of claim 15, wherein the locking device is configured to secure the first rod element to the second rod element in the locking state (the pins placed in holes b secure A from moving which has the effect of securing c from moving).
With regards to claim 19, Walsh discloses the towing device of claim 15, wherein the locking device comprises a retaining element (b) configured to secure the locking element to the second rod element in an axially fixed position (the second rod element would not be able to move if 2 or more pins are placed in 2 or more of holes b).
With regards to claim 20, Walsh discloses the towing device of claim 16, wherein the locking device is configured to secure the locking element in a first latched position in the locking position (when two or more) of holes b have a pin placed in them), or configured to secure the locking element in a second latched position in the release
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh (US 197,532) in view of Silliman (US 7,422,223).
With regards to claim 32, Walsh discloses a trailer pulling system, comprising: a towing device (Figures 1-4) comprising a spring device (E) and a locking device (b and pin), wherein the locking device is configured to move between a locking state and a release state (As multiple holes b are provided, if a user was to place pins in two or more of the holes it would block the spring device from functioning), however, Walsh does not disclose not explicitly disclose the trailer system configured be pulled by a cross-country skier, however, it would have been obvious in the art of trailer connections, to make use of the spring device and locking device of the trailer device of Walsh in the invention of Love in order to minimize torque variations when pulling the trailer system. Examiner note: this claim is incredibly broad and as currently worded does not necessitate a teaching reference, as the harness for the horse could be pulled on by a cross-country skier, but in order to advance prosecution a teaching is being provided to help illustrate the state of the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 and 21-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Supervisory Patent Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Supervisory Patent Examiner’s supervisor, TC Director Joseph Thomas can be reached at 571-272-8004. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
JOHN R. OLSZEWSKI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617