DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on October 4th, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 10, 11, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alessi et al. (US 2004/0021673 A1) in view of Holland (US 11,347,388 B1).
As for independent claim 1:
Alessi discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: display a part included in a first e-book on the screen, when receiving a first pattern operation while a first cover image corresponding to the first e-book is displayed on a screen (0050-0051, Alessi discloses displays the cover of the comic book on the screen and receiving page navigation operation from the user, see 0012).
display another part included in the first e-book on the screen, when receiving the first pattern operation while the part included in the first e-book is displayed on the screen (0046, 0052, see left / right navigation button moves the display from one page to another within the book);
Alessi does not disclose display a second cover image corresponding to a second e-book on the screen, when receiving a second pattern operation different from the first pattern, the second e-book being different from the first e-book. Holland discloses display a second cover image corresponding to a second e-book on the screen, when receiving a second pattern operation different from the first pattern, the second e-book being different from the first e-book in 1:53-67, 7:9-24 and 8:42-45. In the cited sections Holland discloses a second distinct direction pattern operation such as vertical swiping input which scrolls between cover cards of different user content pods and transition to different pod. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi to incorporate the teaching of Holland of directional gesture navigation and touch interface, thus allow a more intuitive directional navigation using a touch gesture technique to navigate content (Holland, 1:53-67, 7:9-24).
As for dependent claim 2:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: display the second cover image on the screen, when receiving the second pattern operation while the first cover image or the part included in the first e-book is displayed on the screen (Holland discloses vertically scrolling to expand ports to occupy more space in the scrollable display, displacing other cover cards in 8:42-48 and 11:19-30). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi to incorporate the teaching of Holland of directional gesture navigation and touch interface, thus allow a more intuitive directional navigation using a touch gesture technique to navigate content (Holland, 1:53-67, 7:9-24).
As for dependent claim 4:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein when receiving the second pattern operation, the processing circuitry is configured to: finish displaying one of a cover image of the first e-book and the part included in the first e-book and display the entire second cover image on the screen (Holland discloses vertical scroll transitioning from the current pod to a different pod’s cover replacing the current displayed content in 11:19-30). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi to incorporate the teaching of Holland of directional gesture navigation and touch interface, thus allow a more intuitive directional navigation using a touch gesture technique to navigate content (Holland, 1:53-67, 7:9-24).
As for dependent claim 7:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first e-book includes a plurality of page images that are ordered, the first cover image corresponds to a first page image of the plurality of page images, and the processing circuitry is configured to: display a second page image of the plurality of page images on the screen, when receiving an operation associated with the first pattern operation in a first direction while a first page image is displayed on the screen, the second page image being one of the plurality of page images, the second page image being immediately after the first page image; and display a third page image of the plurality of page images on the screen, when receiving an operation associated with the first pattern operation in a second direction while the first page image is displayed on the screen, the second direction being opposite to the first direction, the third page image being immediately before the first page image (Alessi discloses right navigation button moves the story forward to the next page and left navigation button moves backway to the previous page in 0046).
As for dependent claim 9:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of a swipe operation and a flick operation in an up-down direction is assigned as one of the first pattern operation and the second pattern operation, and at least one of a swipe operation and a flick operation in a right-left direction is assigned as another of the first pattern operation and the second pattern operation (Holland, 1:52-67 and 7:17-25, discloses assign horizontal swiping to within item navigation and vertical swiping to switching between items). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi to incorporate the teaching of Holland of directional gesture navigation and touch interface, thus allow a more intuitive directional navigation using a touch gesture technique to navigate content (Holland, 1:53-67, 7:9-24).
As for dependent claim 10:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein a plurality of e-books including the first e-book and the second e-book are ordered, each of the plurality of e-books includes a plurality of page images that are ordered, a cover image corresponding to each of the plurality of e-books corresponds to a first page image of the plurality of page images of each of the plurality of e-books, and the processing circuitry is configured to: while a target page image is displayed on the screen, perform first load processing of loading a cover image and a second predetermined number of page images following the cover image onto a memory, the target page image being any one of page images of a target book, the target book being any one of the plurality of e-books, the cover image and the second predetermined number of page images corresponding to each of a first predetermined number of e-books following the target book (Alessi, 0016, 0046, 0052, Alessi loads a first selected number of ordered pages and download further selected number of pages onto the buffer to avoid waiting time for the user).
As for dependent claim 11:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: start loading of all page images subsequent to the specified place in the target book onto the memory, in response to the screen displaying a page image at a specified place in a plurality of page images of the target book after the first load processing is completed (Alessi, 0046, 0052, discloses requesting subsequent pages for download as the user advances through the displayed pages).
As for dependent claim 15:
Alessi–Holland discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: display additional information on the screen, the additional information includes at least one of an advertisement, a tag applied to the first e-book, and a comment submitted on the first e-book by a user (0051, Allessi discloses advertisement and links to the advertiser’s site).
As for independent claims 19-20:Claims 19-20 contain substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alessi et al. (US 2004/0021673 A1) in view of Holland (US 11,347,388 B1) and in further view of Chai (US2018/0262812 A1)
As for dependent claim 3:
Alessi–Holland do not disclose the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein, upon receiving the second pattern operation and until the operation amount reaches the threshold, the processing circuitry is configured to: display, on the screen, a part of an image displayed before the second pattern operation is received; display a part of the second cover image on the screen until an operation amount reaches a threshold, and finish displaying the image displayed before the second pattern operation is received, and display the entire second cover image on the screen. Chai discloses wherein, upon receiving the second pattern operation and until the operation amount reaches the threshold, the processing circuitry is configured to: display, on the screen, a part of an image displayed before the second pattern operation is received; display a part of the second cover image on the screen until an operation amount reaches a threshold, and finish displaying the image displayed before the second pattern operation is received, and display the entire second cover image on the screen in 0114-0119, 0112-0113. In the cited sections, Chai discloses a user initiating a swipe gesture while currently selected item of content is displayed, window is rendered to progressively overlap window such that part of the previously displayed image and pat of the incoming item’s image are simultaneously displayed. Chai further discloses a threshold exceed and the window may move to cause a graphical user interface to be displayed. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 5:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, the processing circuitry is configured to: display an object for receiving a user instruction on the screen or removing the object being displayed from the screen, upon receiving a third pattern operation different from the first pattern operation and the second pattern operation (Chai, 0134-0135, 140, see Chai discloses receiving additional gestures allowing additional function to occur, see dynamic guide and tiles along with content switching swipe gesture). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 6:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 4, the processing circuitry is configured to: remove the object for receiving the user instruction from the screen, when receiving the first pattern operation while the object is displayed on the screen (Chai, 0134, 0140, see remove the object and receiving additional operation). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 8:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: display content corresponding to the first e-book on the screen, when receiving an operation associated with the first pattern operation in the second direction while the first cover image is displayed on the screen (Chai, 0144, 0146-0150, see receiving operation and navigation). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 12:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: perform second load processing of loading a third predetermined number of page images following the target page image onto the memory, while the target page image is displayed on the screen after the first load processing is completed; and stop the second load processing, upon receiving the second pattern operation while the second load processing is being executed (Chai, 0158-0160, see background load processing and image associated with item of content are loaded into cache/buffer while selecting operation). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 13:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: perform second load processing of loading a third predetermined number of page images following the target page image onto the memory, while the target page image is displayed on the screen after the first load processing is completed; and perform third load processing of loading a fourth predetermined number of page images from a page image following a last page image loaded by the first load processing onto the memory, while the target page image is displayed on the screen after the second load processing is completed, the fourth predetermined number of page images and the last page image being page images of each of the first predetermined number of e-books following the target book (Chai, 0122, 0160, discloses staged and prioritized load processing of subset of images while selected and loading additional images once display stabilizes following the user input). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 14:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: display additional information on the screen, the additional information includes an object for receiving a user instruction for jumping to a vicinity of a position that was last displayed when a user browsed the first e-book last time (Chai, 0109, 0136, discloses displaying additional information associated with an item of content and with progress bar illustrating playback position). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 16:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of a swipe operation and a flick operation in an up-down direction is assigned as the first pattern operation, the first e-book includes a plurality of page images that are ordered, and the processing circuitry is configured to: control displaying the screen such that the page images move in a right-left direction in response to the first pattern operation, in switching between page images constituting right-left facing pages; and control displaying the screen such that the page images move in an up-down direction in response to the first pattern operation, in switching page images including a page image not constituting right-left facing pages (Chai, 0120, discloses left and right movement gesture causing content to be displayed accordingly. Chai further discloses channel change transition). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 17:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein a plurality of e-books including the first e-book and the second e-book are ordered, the second e-book is immediately after the first e-book, and when an advertisement is inserted between the first e-book and the second e-book, the processing circuitry is configured to: display the advertisement on the screen, when receiving the second pattern operation while the part included in the first e-book is displayed on the screen; and display the second cover image on the screen, when receiving the second pattern operation while the advertisement is displayed on the screen (Chai, 0112, 0102, discloses commercial break information within the incoming content window during the received gesture, see advertisement and large icon activation). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
As for dependent claim 18:
Alessi–Holland-Chai discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first e-book includes a plurality of page images that are ordered, the plurality of page images includes a first page image and a second page image that is immediately after the first page image, and when an advertisement is inserted between the first page image and the second page image, the processing circuitry is configured to: display the advertisement on the screen, when receiving the first pattern operation while the first page image is displayed on the screen; and displaying the second page image on the screen, when receiving the first pattern operation while the advertisement is displayed on the screen (Chai, 0112 and 0102, see advertisement and commercial break, see advertisement activation and placement). Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Alessi and Holla incorporate Chai teachings of progressive overlap transition via touch gesture, thus allow switching between e-books, quickly navigating content, and preview (Chai, 0108, 0134).
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172