Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) or 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Grelle et al. (WO 2023072463).
1. Grelle et al. teach:
An electric machine/synchronous machine 2 comprising:
a housing 21:
a stator assembly 31 positioned within the housing (fig 4), the stator assembly including a stator winding (figs 3 and 4);
a rotor assembly 1 positioned within the housing with an airgap (figs 3 and 4) separating the rotor assembly from the stator assembly (figs 3 and 4), the rotor assembly including a rotor shaft 4, a rotor winding 13, and a balance ring 5;
a rotary transformer 7 positioned within the housing (fig 4), the rotary transformer including a primary coil 11 and a secondary coil 9; and
a rectifier 6 including a plurality of diodes 24 positioned on the balance ring (figs 3 and 4), the rectifier electrically connected between the secondary coil and the rotor winding (abstract and figs 3 and 4).
2. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 1, wherein the secondary coil is provided on a printed circuit board (para 0037).
3. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 2, wherein the printed circuit board is fixedly connected to the rotor shaft (fig 4).
4. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 3, the balance ring including a plurality of diode holes (since the PCB of the rectifier is on the balance ring and the pcb has holes for at least the connection of the diodes, the balance ring includes the plurality of diode holes) and the plurality of diodes are arranged in the plurality of diode holes (since the diodes are electrically connected to transformer winding via the rectifier board).
6. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 4 wherein the balance ring provides a heat sink for the plurality of diodes (since the rectifier is in thermal contact with the balance ring, MPEP 2112 and figs 3 & 4).
7. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 6 wherein the balance ring includes a first component (rectifier 6) that is electrically isolated from a second component (balance ring body 5).
8. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 7 wherein the first and second component are positioned side-by-side at a common axial location (since the components are disoposed radially from each other, figs 3 and 4).
12. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 7 wherein the second component is axially stacked on the first component (fig 4).
13. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 7 wherein the rotor winding includes a first end connected to the first component of the balance ring and a second end connected to the second component of the balance ring (since the rectifier is electrically connected to one end of the winding/coil which is one component and the winding resides on the the other component, figs 3 and 4 and MPEP 2112).
14. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 13 wherein the connection between the first end of the rotor winding and the first component is a weld (soldering is a form of welding and since the 1sr component is a rectifier the limitation is satisfied.).
15. Grelle et al. teach:
An electric machine/synchronous machine 2 comprising:
a rotor assembly 1 positioned within a housing, 21 the rotor assembly including a rotor shaft 4, a rotor core 3, and a dual component balance ring 5 (the balance ring is composed of a body 5 and rectifier 6 since the rectifier is touching the body, figs 3 & 4) comprising a first component/carrier web 27 that is electrically isolated from a second component (the body of the balance ring, figs 3 and 4); and
a rotary transformer 7 positioned within the housing, the rotary transformer including a primary coil 11 and a s secondary coil 9, the secondary coil positioned on a printed circuit board (para 0037).
16. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 15 further comprising a rectifier 6 including a plurality of diodes 24 positioned on the dual component balance ring.
17. Grelle et al. teach:
The electric machine of claim 15 wherein the dual component balance ring includes a first component (rectifier 6) and a second component (balance ring body 5) that is electrically isolated from the first component (this is inherent since there are diodes on the rectifier, MPEP 2112).
18. Grelle et al. teach:
A rotor assembly 1 comprising:
a rotor shaft 4;
a rotor core 3 positioned on the rotor shaft (figs 3 and 4);
a rotor winding 13 wound on the rotor core (figs 3 and 4);
a balance ring 5 positioned at one end of the rotor core (figs 3 and 4); and
a plurality of diodes 24 positioned on the balance ring (via rectifier 6).
19. Grelle et al. teach:
The rotor assembly of claim 18, wherein the plurality of diodes are connected to form a rectifier 6, the rectifier connected to the rotor winding, the balance ring including: a first component (rectifier 6); a second component (balance ring body 5) electrically isolated from the first component (this is inherent since there are diodes on the rectifier, MPEP 2112); and the plurality of diodes positioned on the first component and the second component (figs 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grelle et al. in view of Gas et al. (US 20100117466).
5. Grelle et al. has been discussed above, but does not teach that the plurality of diodes are press-fit into the plurality of diode holes.
Gas et al. teaches that the plurality of diodes 93 are press-fit into the plurality of diode holes/openings (in plate 10 corresponding to applicant’s claimed balancing ring) to have a direct thermal contact with a heatsink (applicant’s disclosed/claimed balance ring is configured as a heatsink due to the fins) which prolongs the service life of the machine.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Grelle et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the plurality of diodes are press-fit into the plurality of diode holes, as taught by Gas et al. so as to prolong the service life of the machine.
20. Grelle et al. has been discussed above, but does not teach that the plurality of diodes are press-fit into diode holes on the first component and the second component of the balance ring.
Gas et al. teaches that the plurality of diodes 93 are press-fit into the plurality of diode holes/openings (in plate 10 corresponding to applicant’s claimed balancing ring) to have a direct thermal contact with a heatsink (applicant’s disclosed/claimed balance ring is configured as a heatsink due to the fins) which prolongs the service life of the machine.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Grelle et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the plurality of diodes are press-fit into diode holes on the first component and the second component of the balance ring, as taught by Gas et al. so as to prolong the service life of the machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834