DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 requires one to “perform a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor, and use this measurement to determine, using the measurement, one of the following faults.” What measurement is made or performed? Is it a voltage measurement? Is it a current measurement? Is it an impedance measurement? How does one perform a measurement on an electrical quantity? And, what electrical quantity is the measurement performed on? What is the association with the resistor? Clarification regarding these and other possible questions is required. Claims 7,9, & 10, being dependent on claim 6, are also rejected. Claim 8, being dependent on claim 7, is also rejected.
Claim 7 requires one to “perform a sequence of measurements on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; and use these measurements to determine, using the measurements, multiple instances of said faults” What measurement is made or performed? Is it a voltage measurement? Is it a current measurement? Is it an impedance measurement? How does one perform a measurement on an electrical quantity? And, what electrical quantity is the measurement performed on? What is the association with the resistor? Clarification regarding these and other possible questions is required. Claims 8, 9 & 10 contain similar language and are also independently rejected.
Given the compounding of 112 2nd rejections, examiner will apply art using the broadest reasonable interpretation below in order to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang Fu et al (Translation of CN 112803800) in view of Kojori (U.S. PGPub # 2003/0063481).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Yang Fu teaches:
An electronic component (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Element 100.) for charging an electrical energy storage unit, comprising:
a connector connected to an electrical grid configured to supplying a three-phase AC voltage (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Elements L1, L2, & L3.);
an inverter/rectifier (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Element 2. See paragraph 0040 of translation.), comprising three switching arms connected in parallel (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Elements M3 & M4.), each switching arm comprising:
two switches arranged on either side of a midpoint connected to a respective phase of the AC voltage (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Elements M3 & M4 and the common point between M3 and M4.);
a fourth switching arm (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Element 4.) connected in parallel with the switching arms of the inverter/rectifier, the fourth switching arm comprising:
two switches (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Elements M1 & M2.) arranged on either side of a fourth midpoint (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Element N2.) connected to a neutral of the electrical grid (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Element N2.); and
a branch connected in parallel with said switching arms, comprising:
two capacitors (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Elements C1 and C2.) arranged on either side of a fifth midpoint (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Element N12.); and
wherein the branch and the switching arms are connected between two DC terminals (See Examiner amended Fig. 1 Elements DC+ & DC-.),
Yang Fu does not explicitly teach:
a measuring resistor connected in series with one of the capacitors,
wherein a first switch, is connected in parallel with the measuring resistor and in that a second switch is connected in series between the fourth and the fifth midpoint.
Kojori teaches:
a measuring resistor connected in series with one of the capacitors,
wherein a first switch, is connected in parallel with the measuring resistor and in that a second switch is connected in series between the fourth and the fifth midpoint (Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kojori to the teachings of Yang Fu such that one would have a first switch, connected in parallel with the measuring resistor and in that a second switch is connected in series between the fourth and the fifth midpoint because the feature of having a series resistor to limit the current in a capacitor on a short-circuitable DC bus offers the same advantages as those resulting from the distinguishing feature and would be considered an ordinary solution to the problem posed.
Regarding claim 2, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu does not explicitly teach the measuring resistor is connected in series with the capacitor arranged between the fifth midpoint and one of the DC terminals that is earth.
Kojori teaches the measuring resistor is connected in series with the capacitor arranged between the fifth midpoint and one of the DC terminals that is earth (Fig. 2A Elements ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kojori to the teachings of Yang Fu such that one would have the measuring resistor be connected in series with the capacitor arranged between the fifth midpoint and one of the DC terminals that is earth because this would be optimization of the design and functioning of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 4, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu teaches a DC-to-DC converter cascaded with the fourth switching arm and the branch comprising the two capacitors and the measuring resistor (Fig. 11 Elements DCDC1 & DCDC2.).
Claims 3, 5, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang Fu et al (Translation of CN 112803800) in view of Kojori (U.S. PGPub # 2003/0063481) & Gao et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0359597).
Regarding claim 3, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach each of the first and second switches is an electrical engineering relay.
Gao teaches each of the first and second switches is an electrical engineering relay (Fig. 3-5 Elements K1-K6. See paragraph 0076.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Gao to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have each of the first and second switches be an electrical engineering relay because relays are a type of switching element that is frequently used reliably, cheaply, and dependably to perform the task of a switch.
Regarding claim 5, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the measuring resistor is a thermistor.
Gao teaches the measuring resistor is a thermistor (Fig. 3-5 Elements R1-R6. See paragraphs 0013-0014 & 0058-0062 wherein the resistors are disclosed as possibly being thermistors for various systems.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Gao to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have the measuring resistor be a thermistor because this would allow one to control the functioning of the circuit as the temperature changes so that the resistance either increases or decreases with temperature.
Regarding claim 11, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach an AC filtering stage arranged in series between the connector and the inverter/rectifier.
Gao teaches an AC filtering stage arranged in series between the connector and the inverter/rectifier (Fig. 4 -5 Element 200, the filter circuit. See paragraphs 0041-0042, 0044, & 0052.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Gao to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have an AC filtering stage would be arranged in series between the connector and the inverter/rectifier because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang Fu et al (Translation of CN 112803800) in view of Kojori (U.S. PGPub # 2003/0063481) & Dent (U.S. PGPub # 2012/0281444).
Regarding claim 12, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach a DC filtering stage capable of being arranged in series between a DC-to-DC converter and the electrical energy storage unit.
Dent teaches a DC filtering stage capable of being arranged in series between a DC-to-DC converter and the electrical energy storage unit (Fig. 10 Elements 200. See paragraph 0092.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have a DC filtering stage capable of being arranged in series between a DC-to-DC converter and the electrical energy storage unit because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Claims 6-10 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang Fu et al (Translation of CN 112803800) in view of Kojori (U.S. PGPub # 2003/0063481) & Dent (U.S. PGPub # 2012/0281444).
Regarding claim 6, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach a control unit configured to: perform a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor, and use this measurement to determine, using the measurement, one of the following faults: a short-circuit state of the first switch, a short-circuit state of the second switch, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of the fourth switching arm, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of a switching arm of the inverter/rectifier, a short circuit existing between one phase of the AC voltage and the neutral, or a short circuit existing between two of the phases of the AC voltage.
Dent teaches a control unit configured to: perform a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor, and use this measurement to determine, using the measurement, one of the following faults: a short-circuit state of the first switch, a short-circuit state of the second switch, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of the fourth switching arm, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of a switching arm of the inverter/rectifier, a short circuit existing between one phase of the AC voltage and the neutral, or a short circuit existing between two of the phases of the AC voltage (See paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0110, 0149, 0154, & 0165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have a control unit configured to: perform a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor, and use this measurement to determine, using the measurement, one of the following faults: a short-circuit state of the first switch, a short-circuit state of the second switch, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of the fourth switching arm, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of a switching arm of the inverter/rectifier, a short circuit existing between one phase of the AC voltage and the neutral, or a short circuit existing between two of the phases of the AC voltage because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 7, Yang Fu, Kojori, & Dent teach all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the control unit is configured to: perform a sequence of measurements on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; and use these measurements to determine, using the measurements, multiple instances of said faults, one measurement being associated with the determination of one or more of said faults based on one measurement.
Dent teaches the control unit is configured to: perform a sequence of measurements on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; and use these measurements to determine, using the measurements, multiple instances of said faults, one measurement being associated with the determination of one or more of said faults based on one measurement (See paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0110, 0149, 0154, & 0165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have the control unit be configured to: perform a sequence of measurements on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; and use these measurements to determine, using the measurements, multiple instances of said faults, one measurement being associated with the determination of one or more of said faults based on one measurement because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 8, Yang Fu, Kojori, & Dent teach all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the control unit is configured to: perform a first measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; determine whether the first switch is in a short-circuit state based on the first measurement, perform a second measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the first switch is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether the second switch is in a short-circuit state or whether one of the switches of the fourth switching arm is in a short-circuit state based on the second measurement; perform a third measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the second switch is not in a short-circuit state or the switch of the fourth switching arm is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether the other switch of the fourth switching arm is in a short-circuit state based on the third measurement; perform a fourth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the other switch of the fourth switching arm is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether one of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state based on the fourth measurement; perform a fifth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when none of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state; perform a sixth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when none of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and the other one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state; determine whether one phase of the AC voltage is shorted to the neutral based on the sixth measurement; perform a seventh measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no phase of the AC voltage is shorted to the neutral; determine whether a short circuit exists between the first phase and the second phase of the AC voltage based on the seventh measurement; perform an eighth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no short circuit is detected between the first phase and the second phase of the AC voltage; determine whether a short circuit exists between the first phase and the third phase of the AC voltage based on the eight measurement; perform a ninth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no short circuit is detected between the first phase and the third phase of the AC voltage; and determine whether a short circuit exists between the second phase and the third phase of the AC voltage based on the ninth measurement.
Dent teaches the control unit is configured to: perform a first measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; determine whether the first switch is in a short-circuit state based on the first measurement, perform a second measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the first switch is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether the second switch is in a short-circuit state or whether one of the switches of the fourth switching arm is in a short-circuit state based on the second measurement; perform a third measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the second switch is not in a short-circuit state or the switch of the fourth switching arm is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether the other switch of the fourth switching arm is in a short-circuit state based on the third measurement; perform a fourth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the other switch of the fourth switching arm is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether one of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state based on the fourth measurement; perform a fifth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when none of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state; perform a sixth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when none of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and the other one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state; determine whether one phase of the AC voltage is shorted to the neutral based on the sixth measurement; perform a seventh measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no phase of the AC voltage is shorted to the neutral; determine whether a short circuit exists between the first phase and the second phase of the AC voltage based on the seventh measurement; perform an eighth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no short circuit is detected between the first phase and the second phase of the AC voltage; determine whether a short circuit exists between the first phase and the third phase of the AC voltage based on the eight measurement; perform a ninth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no short circuit is detected between the first phase and the third phase of the AC voltage; and determine whether a short circuit exists between the second phase and the third phase of the AC voltage based on the ninth measurement (See paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0110, 0149, 0154, & 0165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have the control unit be configured to: perform a first measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; determine whether the first switch is in a short-circuit state based on the first measurement, perform a second measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the first switch is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether the second switch is in a short-circuit state or whether one of the switches of the fourth switching arm is in a short-circuit state based on the second measurement; perform a third measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the second switch is not in a short-circuit state or the switch of the fourth switching arm is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether the other switch of the fourth switching arm is in a short-circuit state based on the third measurement; perform a fourth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when the other switch of the fourth switching arm is not in a short-circuit state; determine whether one of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state based on the fourth measurement; perform a fifth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when none of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state; perform a sixth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when none of the switches of the inverter/rectifier arranged between a midpoint and the other one of the DC terminals is in a short-circuit state; determine whether one phase of the AC voltage is shorted to the neutral based on the sixth measurement; perform a seventh measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no phase of the AC voltage is shorted to the neutral; determine whether a short circuit exists between the first phase and the second phase of the AC voltage based on the seventh measurement; perform an eighth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no short circuit is detected between the first phase and the second phase of the AC voltage; determine whether a short circuit exists between the first phase and the third phase of the AC voltage based on the eight measurement; perform a ninth measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor when no short circuit is detected between the first phase and the third phase of the AC voltage; and determine whether a short circuit exists between the second phase and the third phase of the AC voltage based on the ninth measurement because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 9, Yang Fu, Kojori, & Dent teach all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the control unit is configured to perform at least one additional measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor in order to determine the short-circuit state of a switch of a DC-DC converter.
Dent teaches the control unit is configured to perform at least one additional measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor in order to determine the short-circuit state of a switch of a DC-DC converter (See paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0110, 0149, 0154, & 0165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have the control unit be configured to perform at least one additional measurement on the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor in order to determine the short-circuit state of a switch of a DC-DC converter because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 10, Yang Fu, Kojori, & Dent teach all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor being the voltage across the terminals of this measuring resistor.
Dent teaches the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor being the voltage across the terminals of this measuring resistor (See paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0110, 0149, 0154, & 0165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have the electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor being the voltage across the terminals of this measuring resistor because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 13, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach for detecting at least one of the following faults: a short-circuit state of the first switch, a short-circuit state of the second switch, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of the fourth switching arm, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of a switching arm of the inverter/rectifier, a short circuit existing between one phase of the AC voltage and the neutral, or a short circuit existing between two of the phases of the AC voltage, this the method comprising: performing a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; determining whether or not the fault exists; and comparing this the measurement with a reference value, based on determining whether or not the fault exists.
Dent teaches for detecting at least one of the following faults: a short-circuit state of the first switch, a short-circuit state of the second switch, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of the fourth switching arm, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of a switching arm of the inverter/rectifier, a short circuit existing between one phase of the AC voltage and the neutral, or a short circuit existing between two of the phases of the AC voltage, this the method comprising: performing a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; determining whether or not the fault exists; and comparing this the measurement with a reference value, based on determining whether or not the fault exists (See paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0110, 0149, 0154, & 0165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dent to the teachings of Yang Fu & Kojori such that one would have for detecting at least one of the following faults: a short-circuit state of the first switch, a short-circuit state of the second switch, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of the fourth switching arm, a short-circuit state of one of the switches of a switching arm of the inverter/rectifier, a short circuit existing between one phase of the AC voltage and the neutral, or a short circuit existing between two of the phases of the AC voltage, this the method comprising: performing a measurement on an electrical quantity associated with the measuring resistor; determining whether or not the fault exists; and comparing this the measurement with a reference value, based on determining whether or not the fault exists because this would be optimization of the circuit done through routine experimentation. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Claims 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang Fu et al (Translation of CN 112803800) in view of Kojori (U.S. PGPub # 2003/0063481).
Regarding claim 14, Yang Fu & Kojori teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the detection(s) is done while a voltage, which is not obtained via the connector, is applied to the terminals of the switching arms.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the detection be done while a voltage, which is not obtained via the connector, is applied to the terminals of the switching arms because this is optimization through routine experimentation of the electronic component. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 15, Yang Fu & Kojori teach or make obvious all elements of claim 14, upon which this claim depends.
Yang Fu & Kojori do not explicitly teach the voltage applied to the terminals of the switching arms is obtained from a power supply of a control unit and/or has a value lying between 12 V and 24 V.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the voltage applied to the terminals of the switching arms be obtained from a power supply of a control unit and/or has a value lying between 12 V and 24 V because this is optimization through routine experimentation of the electronic component. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858