DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction
The restriction requirement mailed 06/18/2026 is hereby withdrawn. Claims 1-21 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “desirable angle” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “desirable angle” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "door curtain panel structures" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites a singular “side support member” while claim 1 recites plural “side support members”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "bottom frame structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “large enough to maintain” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large enough to maintain” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “desirable angle” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “desirable angle” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2-8, 11-14, 17-19 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Elkins discloses a self-standing enclosure for securing a production line comprising:
a plurality of self-standing panel structures connected to one another to form at least a partial periphery of the self-standing enclosure (Fig. 1, plurality of rectangular substantially congruent modular fence panels 12), each of the self-standing panel structures comprising:
a frame comprising top, bottom and side support members (Fig. 2, lower rails 20 and 22, parallel frame end posts 18 and 19) and forming one or more apertures (Fig. 4, area in which fence fabric 28 is inserted);
a panel closing at least one of the one or more apertures (Fig. 4, fence fabric 28);
a plurality of angular mounting assemblies, each of the angular mounting assemblies comprising two halves mountable to one another at a desirable angle, each of the two halves being respectively attachable to the frame of self-standing panel structures (Figs. 6-8, sleeves 64, 65 on end member 63 of one panel and sleeves 66, 67 on end member 62 of the adjacent panel stack in axial alignment and receive hinge pin 68).
However, Elkins fails to disclose as taught by Studebaker, at least two support members mounted to the bottom support member (Fig. 1, base units 110), the mounted support members allowing the panel to independently stand in an upright position (See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins to include the support members of Studebaker to allow for independent standing as well as removal of the standing members for storage. The base member 38 of Elkins is integral with the frame, precluding it from being considered mounted. Enabling a removable base member creates a more modular system.
Regarding claim 2, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Elkins, the plurality of self-standing panel structures comprising one or more panel structure comprising one or more apertures (Fig. 2, frame has a plurality of end posts 18, 19 and rails 20, 22 forming multiple panels having multiple openings).
Regarding claim 3, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Elkins, the one or more apertures of the self- standing panel structures being covered with an inner panel (Fig. 2, fence fabric 28).
Regarding claim 4, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Elkins, the inner panel being made of a mesh or of a transparent or semi-transparent material (Fig. 2, fence fabric 28 is a mesh/screen).
Regarding claim 16, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Elkins, at least one of the angular mounting assemblies being mounted to form an angle between 60 and 270 degrees (Col. 2, lines 10-15: “Referring first to FIGS. 1-5, the reference numeral 10 indicates a section of fence formed by a plurality of rectangular substantially congruent modular fence panels 12 maintained in end butting longitudinally aligned upstanding relation by base platforms 14 and brace means 16”).
Regarding claim 17, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Studebaker, the plurality of self-standing panel structures comprising at least one self-standing panel structures comprising one or more panel structure comprising one or more apertures (Fig. 1, each panel comprises a plurality of apertures in a vertical direction), and at least one self-standing panel structures comprising a door (Fig. 2, gate 230).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Krueger (US Pat. 5,181,354).
Regarding claim 5, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Krueger, the inner panel being made of a transparent or semi-transparent material (Col. 2, lines 27-35: “Each panel 10 has a self-supporting framework 16 with frame rails 18 encompassing at least one through opening 20. The through opening 20 is enclosed by at least one cover sheet 22 of a flexible material such as a plastic film of ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer. Preferably, this plastic film is transparent, has a thickness of 4-10 mils and preferably 6-8 mils and is of a plastic material which if burned will not produce toxic products of combustion”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the transparent panels of Krueger to allow for improved visibility into the containment area.
Claim(s) 6, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Gosling (US Pat. 11,225,791 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Gosling, the plurality of self-standing panel structures comprising one or more panel structures comprising an inner structure adapted to receive an electrical component (Col. 10, lines 34-38: “Turning back to FIG. 19, one or more electrical components, such as the media screens 180a, 180b, can be powered through the electrical wires 186 that run through an internal space within each foldable wall module 112 and between the modules 112 through the power hinge jumpers 182a-c”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the passing of cables as taught by Gosling to power any number of necessary electrical components.
Regarding claim 18, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Gosling, the plurality of self-standing panel structures further comprising at least one self-standing panel structures comprising an electric component (Col. 10, lines 34-38: “Turning back to FIG. 19, one or more electrical components, such as the media screens 180a, 180b, can be powered through the electrical wires 186 that run through an internal space within each foldable wall module 112 and between the modules 112 through the power hinge jumpers 182a-c”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the electrical component as taught by Gosling to power any number of necessary electrical components.
Regarding claim 19, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Gosling, the self-standing panel structures further comprising one or more hollow portion allowing passage of cables required by the production line (Col. 10, lines 34-38: “Turning back to FIG. 19, one or more electrical components, such as the media screens 180a, 180b, can be powered through the electrical wires 186 that run through an internal space within each foldable wall module 112 and between the modules 112 through the power hinge jumpers 182a-c”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the hollow portion allowing the passage of cables as taught by Gosling to power any number of necessary electrical components.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Steffi (US Pat. 9,074,414 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Steffi, the plurality of self-standing panel structures comprising one or more panel structures comprising a retractable door (Fig. 1, curtain 12 is retractable and functions as a doorway).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the door of Steffi to allow for entry into an enclosure.
Regarding claim 9, Elkins in view of Studebaker and Steffi discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Steffi, the door curtain panel structures comprising a locking assembly to secure the door (Col. 8, lines 1-7: “The roll up guard curtain assembly 10 includes an electric pull solenoid 34 coupled to latch base 32. In this embodiment, the latching mechanism is actuated by the electric pull solenoid 34 to prevent the opening of the curtain 12 by the operator when the curtain 12 is in an up position. The latch 38 is coupled to the electric pull solenoid 34 by link 36. The link 36 is a roller chain link in at least one embodiment”).
Regarding claim 10, Elkins in view of Studebaker and Steffi discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Steffi, the side support member being hollow to allow insertion of the retractable door (Fig. 1, side covers 14 are recessed to accommodate edges of the curtain).
Regarding claim 11, Elkins in view of Studebaker and Steffi discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Steffi, the retractable door being foldable (The curtain is flexible and therefore foldable).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Roose (US Pat. 5,170,746).
Regarding claim 12, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Roose, the plurality of self-standing panel structures comprising one or more panel structures comprising a sliding door (Fig. 2, gate member 74 slides into the gate opening 61).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the sliding door of Roose to allow for entry into an enclosure.
Regarding claim 13, Elkins in view of Studebaker and Roose discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Roose, the self-standing panel structure comprising top and bottom rails for slidably retaining the sliding door (Fig. 2, rail 96, flange 92).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Fisher (US Pat. 10,633,812 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Fisher, one or more panel structures forming a gate which comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, the lower portion being adapted to allow passage of a machine of the production line (Figs. 9-10, passageway 49 is created when gate 40 is raised to be proximate to bollards 30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to create a gate having an upper and lower portion permitting passage as taught by Fisher to allow for carts to be wheeled through the panel.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) in view of Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Buenemann (US Pat. 11,976,481 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Elkins in view of Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Buenemann, the support members comprising a base plate attached to the bottom frame structure being large enough to maintain the self-standing panel structure to independently stand upright (Fig. 5, base 340 is plate-like and supports the structure).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Elkins in view of Studebaker to include the base plates of Buenemann to allow improved structural stability.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger (US Pat. 5,181,354) in view of Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) and Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Krueger discloses a method for enclosing and securing a production line comprising:
positioning a plurality of self-standing panel structures near or around an area of the production line to be secured (Col. 2, lines 14-23: “FIG. 1 illustrates a plurality of panels 10 embodying this invention in a modular assembly 12 of a contaminant barrier enclosure 14. The enclosure 14 provides a controlled environment that protects processing and manufacturing operations from exterior airborne contaminants. Three of the panels 10 can be connected together to form the sides and top of each of a plurality of the modular assemblies which are connected together to form the free standing and self-supporting enclosure 14”), each of the self-standing panel structures comprising:
a frame forming one or more apertures (Col. 1, lines 33-35: “A panel with a self-supporting framework of a plurality of members encompassing at least one through opening”);
and a panel closing at least one of the one or more apertures (Col. 2, lines 27-35: “Each panel 10 has a self-supporting framework 16 with frame rails 18 encompassing at least one through opening 20. The through opening 20 is enclosed by at least one cover sheet 22 of a flexible material such as a plastic film of ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer. Preferably, this plastic film is transparent, has a thickness of 4-10 mils and preferably 6-8 mils and is of a plastic material which if burned will not produce toxic products of combustion”).
However, Krueger fails to disclose as taught by Studebaker, at least two support members (Fig. 1, base units 110) allowing the panel to independently stand in an upright position (See Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Krueger to include the support members of Studebaker to allow for independent standing as well as removal of the standing members for storage.
Furthermore, Krueger fails to disclose as taught by Elkins, angularly mounting each positioned self-standing panel structures to one another using a plurality of angular mounting assemblies to form a closed enclosure around the production line (Figs. 6-8, sleeves 64, 65 on end member 63 of one panel and sleeves 66, 67 on end member 62 of the adjacent panel stack in axial alignment and receive hinge pin 68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Krueger to include the mounting assembly of Elkins to allow for changing the orientation of the panels with respect to one another to accommodate work-spaces of varying shapes and sizes.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger (US Pat. 5,181,354) in view of Elkins (US Pat. 5,779,227) and Studebaker (US Pat. 11,846,114 B1), and further in view of Gosling (US Pat. 11,225,791 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Krueger in view of Elkins and Studebaker discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Gosling, passing electrical or data cable through passages of the standing panel structures (Col. 10, lines 34-38: “Turning back to FIG. 19, one or more electrical components, such as the media screens 180a, 180b, can be powered through the electrical wires 186 that run through an internal space within each foldable wall module 112 and between the modules 112 through the power hinge jumpers 182a-c”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Krueger in view of Elkins and Studebaker to include the passing of cables as taught by Gosling as work-stations such as that of Krueger might commonly need power or data to any number of electrical components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642