CTNF 18/906,690 CTNF 77760 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schell (# US 2022/0186061) in view of Wakabayashi (# JP 2001-328343) Schell discloses: 1. A pre-treatment liquid composition for use in inkjet printing applications (see Abstract) comprising: a polyvalent metal salt; ([0030]-[0037]) itaconate salt, wherein the polyvalent metal itaconate salt is present in an amount of between 10 wt % and 60 wt %, relative to a total amount of the pre-treatment liquid composition (10 to 60%; [0036]). 3. A method of preparing a print substrate for inkjet printing ([0097]-[0103]), comprising: applying a polyvalent metal salt to a surface of the print substrate ([0097]-[0103]), wherein the polyvalent metal itaconate salt or a polyvalent metal succinate salt has the properties of being a food-safe, non-smelling, and non-yellowing coagulation agent (see Abstract; [0017]). 4. A method of printing comprising the steps of: a. treating a print substrate by applying the pre-treatment liquid composition according to claim 1 onto a surface of the print substrate ([0097]-[0103]); b. subsequently applying an aqueous ink composition comprising an aqueous resin dispersion and/or a colorant onto the treated print substrate obtained in step a.([0065]-[0091]; [0087]-[0100]). Schell explicitly did not discloses: 1,3. Polyvalent metal salt is itaconate salt, The pre-treatment liquid composition according to claim 1, wherein the polyvalent itaconate salt is magnesium itaconate. Wakabayashi teaches to have the scratch resistance high quality printed image, ink receptive layer (pretreatment layer) comprises polyvalent metal salt is itaconate salt (see Abstract; [0018]-[0020]), wherein the polyvalent itaconate salt is magnesium itaconate ([0011]; [0018]-[0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pretreatment liquid of Schell by the aforementioned teaching of Kobayashi et al. in order to have the scratch resistance high quality printed image . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (1) Khan et al. (# US 2022/0403196) discloses the printing substance for coating glass surfaces by way of an inkjet printing method comprises at least one monomer having C—C double bonds as component A). Monomers having at least one C—C double bond are known from the prior art. These monomers can be polymerized via a radical mechanism and/or a cationic mechanism. Here, these monomers can comprise one, two or more C—C double bonds. These monomers include, for example, olefins, vinyl monomers such as vinyl chloride, styrene, vinyl ether monomers, (meth)acrylates, and itaconates ([0017]). The itaconates are itacone polyester polyols, itacone polyester acrylates or itacone polyester glycidyl methacrylates.([0019]). (2) Lee et al. (# US 2018/0118906) discloses [0065] The water-soluble films can include PVOH copolymers which can be a PVOH terpolymer including vinyl alcohol monomer units, vinyl acetate monomer units (i.e., when not completely hydrolyzed), and a single type of anionic monomer unit (e.g., where a single type of monomer unit can include equivalent acid forms, salt forms, and optionally ester forms of the anionic monomer unit). In some aspects, the PVOH copolymer can include two or more types of anionic monomer units. General classes of anionic monomer units which can be used for the PVOH copolymer include the vinyl polymerization units corresponding to monocarboxylic acid vinyl monomers, their esters and anhydrides, dicarboxylic monomers having a polymerizable double bond, their esters and anhydrides, and alkali metal salts of any of the foregoing. Examples of suitable anionic monomer units include the vinyl polymerization units corresponding to vinyl anionic monomers including vinyl acetic acid, maleic acid, monoalkyl maleate, dialkyl maleate, maleic anhydride, fumaric acid, monoalkyl fumarate, dialkyl fumarate, fumaric anhydride, itaconic acid, monoalkyl itaconate, dialkyl itaconate, itaconic anhydride, citraconic acid, monoalkyl citraconate, dialkyl citraconate, citraconic anhydride, mesaconic acid, monoalkyl mesaconate, dialkyl mesaconate, mesaconic anhydride, glutaconic acid, monoalkyl glutaconate, dialkyl glutaconate, glutaconic anhydride, alkyl acrylates, alkyl alkacrylates, vinyl sulfonic acids, alkali metal salts of the foregoing, esters of the foregoing, and combinations of the foregoing. In embodiments, the anionic monomer unit is not an acrylate or an alkyl alkacrylate.[0066] In embodiments, the anionic monomer unit is selected from the group consisting of vinyl acetic acid, alkyl acrylates, maleic acid, monoalkyl maleate, dialkyl maleate, monomethyl maleate, dimethyl maleate, maleic anhydride, fumaric acid, monoalkyl fumarate, dialkyl fumarate, monomethyl fumarate, dimethyl fumarate, fumaric anhydride, itaconic acid, monomethyl itaconate, dimethyl itaconate, itaconic anhydride, citraconic acid, monoalkyl citraconate, dialkyl citraconate, citraconic anhydride, mesaconic acid, monoalkyl mesaconate, dialkyl mesaconate, mesaconic anhydride, glutaconic acid, monoalkyl glutaconate, dialkyl glutaconate, glutaconic anhydride, vinyl sulfonic acid, alkyl sulfonic acid, ethylene sulfonic acid, 2-acrylamido-1-methyl propane sulfonic acid, 2-acrylamide-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid, 2-methylacrylamido-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid, 2-sulfoethyl acrylate, alkali metal salts of the foregoing, esters of the foregoing, and combinations of the foregoing. In embodiments, the anionic monomer unit is selected from the group consisting of vinyl acetic acid, maleic acid, monoalkyl maleate, dialkyl maleate, monomethyl maleate, dimethyl maleate, maleic anhydride, fumaric acid, monoalkyl fumarate, dialkyl fumarate, monomethyl fumarate, dimethyl fumarate, fumaric anhydride, itaconic acid, monomethyl itaconate, dimethyl itaconate, itaconic anhydride, citraconic acid, monoalkyl citraconate, dialkyl citraconate, citraconic anhydride, mesaconic acid, monoalkyl mesaconate, dialkyl mesaconate, mesaconic anhydride, glutaconic acid, monoalkyl glutaconate, dialkyl glutaconate, glutaconic anhydride, vinyl sulfonic acid, alkyl sulfonic acid, ethylene sulfonic acid, 2-acrylamido-1-methyl propane sulfonic acid, 2-acrylamide-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid, 2-methylacrylamido-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid, alkali metal salts of the foregoing, esters of the foregoing, and combinations of the foregoing. In embodiments, the anionic monomer unit is selected from the group consisting of maleic acid, monoalkyl maleate, dialkyl maleate, monomethyl maleate, dimethyl maleate, maleic anhydride, fumaric acid, monoalkyl fumarate, dialkyl fumarate, monomethyl fumarate, dimethyl fumarate, fumaric anhydride, itaconic acid, monomethyl itaconate, dimethyl itaconate, itaconic anhydride, citraconic acid, monoalkyl citraconate, dialkyl citraconate, citraconic anhydride, mesaconic acid, monoalkyl mesaconate, dialkyl mesaconate, mesaconic anhydride, glutaconic acid, monoalkyl glutaconate, dialkyl glutaconate, glutaconic anhydride, alkali metal salts of the foregoing, esters of the foregoing, and combinations of the foregoing. In embodiments, the anionic monomer unit is not an acrylate or an alkyl alkacrylate. (3) Wabnitz et al. (# US 2011/0251119) discloses alts of itaconic acid are, for example, metal salts of itaconic acid, such as alkali metal salts of itaconic acid, alkaline earth metal salts of itaconic acid, aluminum salts of itaconic acid or iron salts of itaconic acid ([0047]). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANISH S SHAH whose telephone number is (571)272-2152. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at 571-272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MANISH S. SHAH Primary Examiner Art Unit 2853 /Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/906,690 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853