DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 5 recites “the spring is located on an inner side with respect to the contact member in the rotation axis direction”, while claim 9 recites “the holder includes a supporting portion supporting the head frame on an inner side with respect to the contact face in the rotation axis direction” which are not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20140232803 to Kobayashi.
Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi discloses an image forming apparatus (Figs. 1-4, image forming apparatus 100; ¶¶ [0021]-[0026]), comprising: a housing (Figs. 1-4, housing 90; ¶¶ [0021]-[0026]); a drum unit including a photosensitive drum assembly rotatable about a rotation axis direction and a drum frame supporting the photosensitive drum assembly, the drum unit being attachable to and detachable from the housing (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127 of photoconductor drum 12 (frame) attachable to and detachable from housing 90; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]); an exposure head including a plurality of light emitters aligning along the rotation axis direction, a lens array through which light from the plurality of light emitters is focused on a surface of the photosensitive drum assembly, a head frame supporting the plurality of light emitters and the lens array (Figs. 1-4 and 8, LPH 14, which is an example of an exposure unit with frame 50 holding light-emitting chip array 146, and rod lens array 143, which causes light emitted from light-emitting chip array 146 to be imaged on surface of photoconductor drum body 120; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]), and a contact member defining a distance between the lens array and the photosensitive drum assembly by contacting the drum unit (Figs. 1-4 and 8, front bearing 133 of drum 12 includes contact portions (second contact portions) 135, which protrude toward LPH 14 and come into contact with multiple ribs (first contact portions or guide portions) 141 of LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]), the exposure head being movable between an exposable position, at which the photosensitive drum assembly is exposable to the light from the plurality of light emitters, and a retracted position, at which the exposure head is retracted from the exposable position (Figs. 1-4 and 8, LPH 14 movable between use position and retract position; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065], [0085]); a holder supporting the head frame (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 supporting of LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]); and a spring configured to urge the head frame supported by the holder toward the photosensitive drum assembly (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 includes first spring member 157a and second spring member 157b to apply an urging force to the LPH 14 in such a direction that the LPH 14 is separated from the base portion 150, i.e., toward drum 12; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]), wherein the drum unit is attachable to or detachable from the housing when the exposure head is located at the retracted position (Figs. 1-4 and 8, photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127 of photoconductor drum 12 (frame) attachable to and detachable from housing 90 with LPH 14 in retract position; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065], [0085]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the photosensitive drum assembly includes: a photosensitive drum in a cylindrical shape, on an outer circumferential surface of which a photosensitive layer is formed (Figs. 1-4, drum 12 (frame) with photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]); and a first flange disposed at one end of the photosensitive drum in the rotation axis direction and fitted to an inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with rear flange (see annotated Fig. 2 below); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]), and the first flange has a coupler to which a rotating driving force is input, the coupler being formed to dent inward along the rotation axis direction (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with rear flange and drum side coupling 125 (see annotated Fig. 2 below); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the photosensitive drum assembly includes a second flange disposed at the other end of the photosensitive drum in the rotation axis direction and fitted to the inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with front flange (see annotated Fig. 2 above); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]), the second flange having a through hole formed there-through along the rotation axis direction and including a metal shaft arranged in the through hole (Figs. 1-4, shaft 122 passing through front flange (see annotated Fig. 2 above); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]),.
Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi discloses the spring is located on an inner side with respect to the contact member in the rotation axis direction (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 includes spring member 157 to apply an urging force to LPH 14 holder 145 having first contact portions 141; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]),.
Regarding Claim 7, Kobayashi discloses the photosensitive drum assembly includes: a photosensitive drum in a cylindrical shape, on an outer circumferential surface of which a photosensitive layer is formed (Figs. 1-4, drum 12 (frame) with photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]); and a flange fitted to an inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with front and/or rear flange (see annotated Fig. 2 above); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]), and the drum unit includes a bearing supporting an outer circumferential surface of the flange rotatably (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with front and/or rear bearings 131/133 (see annotated Fig. 2 above); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kobayashi discloses an image forming apparatus (Figs. 1-4, image forming apparatus 100; ¶¶ [0021]-[0026]), comprising: a housing (Figs. 1-4, housing 90; ¶¶ [0021]-[0026]); a drum unit including a photosensitive drum assembly rotatable about a rotation axis direction and a drum frame supporting the photosensitive drum assembly, the drum unit being attachable to and detachable from the housing (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127 of photoconductor drum 12 (frame) attachable to and detachable from housing 90; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]); an exposure head including a plurality of light emitters aligning along the rotation axis direction, a lens array through which light from the plurality of light emitters is focused on a surface of the photosensitive drum assembly, a head frame supporting the plurality of light emitters and the lens array (Figs. 1-4 and 8, LPH 14, which is an example of an exposure unit with frame 50 holding light-emitting chip array 146, and rod lens array 143, which causes light emitted from light-emitting chip array 146 to be imaged on surface of photoconductor drum body 120; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]), and a contact member defining a distance between the lens array and the photosensitive drum assembly in an optical axis direction by contacting the drum unit, the optical axis direction being a direction of an axis of the light from the lens array (Figs. 1-4 and 8, front bearing 133 of drum 12 includes contact portions (second contact portions) 135, which protrude toward LPH 14 and come into contact with multiple ribs (first contact portions or guide portions) 141 of LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]), the exposure head being movable between an exposable position, at which the photosensitive drum assembly is exposable to the light from the plurality of light emitters, and a retracted position, at which the exposure head is retracted from the exposable position (Figs. 1-4 and 8, LPH 14 movable between use position and retract position; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065], [0085]); and a holder supporting the head frame (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 supporting of LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]), wherein the drum unit includes a contact face, the contact face being configured to define the distance between the lens array and the photosensitive drum assembly by contacting the contact member in the exposure head located at the exposable position (Figs. 1-4 and 8, front bearing 133 of drum 12 includes contact portions (second contact portions) 135, which protrude toward LPH 14 and come into contact with multiple ribs (first contact portions or guide portions) 141 of LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]), wherein the holder includes a supporting portion supporting the head frame on an inner side with respect to the contact face in the rotation axis direction (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 supporting supportable portions 147 of LPH 14; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070], [0082]), and wherein the drum unit is attachable to or detachable from the housing under a condition where the exposure head is located at the retracted position (Figs. 1-4 and 8, photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127 of photoconductor drum 12 (frame) attachable to and detachable from housing 90 with LPH 14 in retract position; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065], [0085]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kobayashi discloses the holder is located on a side opposite to the photosensitive drum assembly across the exposure head in the optical axis direction (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 opposite drum 12 across LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kobayashi discloses the holder is located spaced apart from the exposure head in the optical axis direction (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 base portion 150 spaced from LPH 14; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070], [0082]), and the supporting portion extends from the holder toward the photosensitive drum assembly (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 with side portions 153 on both sides of the base portion 150 supporting supportable portions 147 of LPH 14; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070], [0082]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the head frame includes a hole formed through the head frame in a direction intersecting orthogonally with the rotation axis direction and the optical axis direction, and the supporting portion engages with the hole (Figs. 1-4 and 8, frame 50 with side portions 153 on both sides of the base portion 150 having holes 155 supporting supportable portions 147 of LPH 14; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070], [0082]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kobayashi discloses the contact face is located outward with respect to a circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum assembly in a radial direction of the photosensitive drum assembly (Figs. 1-4 and 8, front bearing 133 of drum 12 includes contact portions (second contact portions) 135, which protrude toward LPH 14 and come into contact with multiple ribs (first contact portions or guide portions) 141 of LPH 14 holder (holding unit) 145; ¶¶ [0044]-[0070]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kobayashi discloses the photosensitive drum assembly includes: a photosensitive drum in a cylindrical shape, on an outer circumferential surface of which a photosensitive layer is formed (Figs. 1-4, drum 12 (frame) with photoconductor drum body 120 in covering member 127; ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]); and a flange fitted to an inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with rear flange (see annotated Fig. 2 above); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]), and the drum unit includes a bearing supporting an outer circumferential surface of the flange rotatably (Figs. 1-4, photoconductor drum body 120 with front and/or rear bearings 131/133 (see annotated Fig. 2 above); ¶¶ [0032]-[0065]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 20020018666 to Noda.
Regarding Claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, but is silent regarding the photosensitive drum assembly includes a ground spring arranged to contact the metal shaft and the inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum. Noda discloses the photosensitive drum assembly includes a ground spring arranged to contact the metal shaft and the inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum (Figs. 11 and 41-42, flexible metal grounding plate 118 (plate spring) contacting conductive rod member 119 (shaft) and bites into internal surface 7d1 of drum cylinder 7d; ¶¶ 0242]-[0248]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Kobayashi by providing the photosensitive drum assembly includes a ground spring arranged to contact the metal shaft and the inner circumferential surface of the photosensitive drum as in Noda in order to provide for a drum grounding path through which the charge remaining in the photosensitive drum is discharged to the apparatus main assembly.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of US 20090202272 to Nakashima.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Kobayashi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 9, and further discloses the exposure head is located at the retracted position under a condition of a user operation and the drum unit is attachable to or detachable from the housing under the condition of the user operation (¶ [0085]). However, Kobayashi does not disclose a cover configured to open or close an opening formed in the housing, wherein the exposure head is located at the retracted position under a condition where the cover is open, and the drum unit is attachable to or detachable from the housing through the opening under the condition where the cover is open. Nakashima discloses a cover configured to open or close an opening formed in the housing (Figs 1-2, and 5, upper cover 12 capable of being rotated open and closed on top of main casing 10; ¶¶ [0023], [0052]-[0054]), wherein the exposure head is located at the retracted position under a condition where the cover is open (Figs 1-2, and 5, LED units 40 in retracted position with opening of upper cover 12; ¶¶ [0023], [0052]-[0054]), and the drum unit is attachable to or detachable from the housing through the opening under the condition where the cover is open (Figs 1-2, and 5, photosensitive drums 53 insertable with LED units 40 in retracted position with opening of upper cover 12; ¶¶ [0023]-[0028], [0052]-[0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Kobayashi by providing a cover configured to open or close an opening formed in the housing, wherein the exposure head is located at the retracted position under a condition where the cover is open, and the drum unit is attachable to or detachable from the housing through the opening under the condition where the cover is open. Nakashima discloses a cover configured to open or close an opening formed in the housing as in Noda in order to provide for a well-known alternative user operation for separating the LEDs and the drum. See, e.g., "substitution of art-recognized equivalents" as discussed in MPEP 2144.06II "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)."
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of US 20110064462 to Abe.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Kobayashi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claims 7 and 16, but does not disclose the bearing is a sleeve bearing. Abe discloses the bearing is a sleeve bearing (Figs. 6-7 and 13, drum flange 81 inserted inside sleeve 92 of bearing 90/91; ¶¶ (0068]-[0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Kobayashi by providing the bearing is a sleeve bearing as in Abe in order to provide for improved drum alignment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 20130259521 to Sugiyama.
Regarding Claim 13, Kobayashi discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, and further discloses the frame 50 has through-hole 155 for supporting supportable portions 147 of holder 145 (¶¶ 0057]-[0060]). However, Kobayashi does not disclose the head frame includes a through hole, in which the contact member is inserted, and the contact member is supported by the head frame by being inserted in the through hole. Sugiyama discloses the head frame includes a through hole, in which the contact member is inserted, and the contact member is supported by the head frame by being inserted in the through hole (Figs. 9-10, roller 240 supported by rotation shaft 250 which is supported by bearing hole 222 formed on lower portion of extended part 220 of supporting frame 200; ¶¶ [0052], [0078], [0084]-[0087]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the application to modify the invention of Kobayashi by providing the head frame includes a through hole, in which the contact member is inserted, and the contact member is supported by the head frame by being inserted in the through hole as in Sugiyama in order to provide for a well-known alternate mounting means for a contact member.
Conclusion
/DAVID J BOLDUC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852