DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 10/04/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed limitations of “an ear-wearable electronic device, comprising: a housing comprising a housing wall, the housing wall comprising an outer surface, an inner surface, and an aperture extending between the outer and inner surfaces; a light emitting device disposed in the housing; and an elastomeric light pipe disposed within the aperture and arranged to receive light from the light emitting device, an interface between a section of the housing wall comprising the aperture and the elastomeric light pipe defining a convoluted path for impeding passage of fluid between the outer and inner surfaces of the housing wall” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higgins et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2017/0195807).
Regarding claim 1, Higgins et al. disclose an ear-wearable electronic device (10), comprising: a housing (20) comprising a housing wall (22, 24), the housing wall comprising an outer surface, an inner surface, and an aperture extending between the outer and inner surfaces (44); a light emitting device (26) disposed in the housing; and an elastomeric light pipe ([0042]) disposed within the aperture and arranged to receive light from the light emitting device, an interface between a section of the housing wall comprising the aperture and the elastomeric light pipe defining a convoluted path for impeding passage of fluid between the outer and inner surfaces of the housing wall (Figs. 2-5) as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, wherein the elastomeric light pipe (26) comprises a first retention feature and the section of the housing wall comprising the aperture comprises a second retention feature configured to receive the first retention feature (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, wherein the elastomeric light pipe comprises a solid elastomeric member ([0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, wherein the elastomeric light pipe comprises a thermoplastic elastomeric material or a thermoset elastomeric material ([0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, wherein the elastomeric light pipe (26) comprises a flange configured to form a compression axial seal with the inner surface of the housing wall (Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 9, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, comprising a spine (24) disposed within the housing and configured to support components of the ear-wearable electronic device, wherein: the light emitting device (26) is disposed on a top surface of the spine that faces the inner surface of the housing wall; and the elastomeric light pipe is positioned over the light emitting device (Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 10, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, comprising a spine (22) disposed within the housing and configured to support components of the ear-wearable electronic device, wherein: the light emitting device (26) is disposed in the housing proximate a cutout through the spine; and the elastomeric light pipe is positioned over the cutout (Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 11, Higgins et al. further disclose the device, wherein the light emitting device (26) and the elastomeric light pipe ([0042]) are situated within or proximate a switch area of the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2017/0195807).
Regarding claims 3-4, Higgins et al. may not specially teach in details for retention features as claimed. Since providing suitable retention means for coupling a light pipe into an ear-wearable electronic device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable retention means, such as a snap-fit feature and/or protruding regions, for coupling the light pipe into the ear-wearable electronic device taught by Higgins et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the ear-wearable electronic device.
Regarding claim 7, Higgins et al. may not specially teach for details of a plurality of lap joints formed between the housing wall section as claimed. Since providing suitable coupling means for coupling housing members of an ear-wearable electronic device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable coupling means, such as a plurality of lap joints formed between the housing wall section, for coupling the housing members of the ear-wearable electronic device taught by Higgins et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the ear-wearable electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-24 are allowed.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691