DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meschenmoser et al. US 2019/0329987.
Meschenmoser discloses a conveyor system for use in transporting a plurality of components in a partially automated assembly or manufacturing process comprising:
(Re claim 1) “a plurality of processing station locations arranged parallel to a transport axis” (121-138 figure 1). “a plurality of transport conveyors, each of the plurality of transport conveyors arranged generally parallel to the transport axis, and offset from each other along an axis perpendicular to the transport axis, the plurality of transport conveyors arranged to transport one or more components to the processing station locations, at least one of the plurality of transport conveyors arranged adjacent to one or more of the plurality of processing station locations” (101-103 figure 1). “a plurality of transfer conveyors, each arranged between respective ones of the plurality of transfer conveyors to move components between the respective ones of the plurality of transport conveyors” (141-149 figure 1).
(Re claim 2) “the plurality of transport conveyors comprise a first transport conveyor arranged adjacent to a first subset of the plurality of processing station locations and a second transport conveyor arranged adjacent to a second subset of the plurality of processing station locations (101,103 figure 1).
(Re claim 3) “the plurality of transport conveyors further comprise a third transport conveyor arranged between the first and second transport conveyors” (102 figure 1).
(Re claim 4) “wherein none of the plurality of processing station locations are arranged adjacent the third transport conveyor” (102, 121-138 figure 1).
(Re claim 5) “wherein one or more of the plurality of transport conveyors comprise one or more of: a single strand conveyor; a multi strand conveyor; and a linear motion technology (LMT) conveyor” (para 0033, 101-103 figure 2).
(Re claim 7) “one or more of the plurality of transfer conveyors comprise one or more of: a single strand conveyor; a multi strand conveyor; and a linear motion technology (LMT) conveyor” (para 0088, figure 6).
(Re claim 8) “each of the plurality of transfer conveyors comprise a single or multi strand conveyor” (para 0088, figure 6).
(Re claim 9) “further comprising a plurality of processing stations each arranged at a respective one of the plurality of processing station locations, each of the processing stations performing an assembly or manufacturing step on a component” (121-138 figure 1).
(Re claim 10) “comprising a system controller comprising instructions which when executed by the system controller control the plurality of transport conveyors and the plurality of transfer conveyors in order to move components from an input location to an output location through one or more processing station locations” (180 figure 1, para 0092).
(Re claim 11) “wherein the instructions when executed by the system controller further configure the system controller to identify components at the input location; determine a processing order of processing station locations; and control the transport conveyors and transfer conveyors to move components to the processing station locations according to the determined processing order” (180 figure 1, para 0092).
Meschenmoser discloses a method for use in an automated or semi-automated assembly or manufacturing process comprising:
(Re claim 12) “identifying, at an input location to a matrix conveyor system, a component for assembly or manufacture” (104 figure 1). “determining a processing operation order for the identified component; determining a path through the matrix conveyor according to the determined processing operation order; and controlling the matrix conveyor to move the component through processing stations according to the processing order” (180 figure 1, para 0092).
(Re claim 13) “determining the path through the matrix conveyor is further determined based on the processing operation order of other components being processed on the matrix conveyor” (180 figure 1, para 0092).
(Re claim 14) “wherein the matrix conveyor comprises: a plurality of processing station locations arranged parallel to a transport axis; a plurality of transport conveyors, each of the plurality of transport conveyors arranged generally parallel to the transport axis, and offset from each other along an axis perpendicular to the transport axis, the plurality of transport conveyors arranged to transport one or more components to the processing station locations, at least one of the plurality of transport conveyors arranged adjacent to one or more of the plurality of processing station locations” (101-103, 121-138 figure 1). “a plurality of transfer conveyors, each arranged between respective ones of the plurality of transfer conveyors to move components between the respective ones of the plurality of transport conveyors” (141-149 figure 1).
(Re claim 15) “A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which when executed by a processor of a system configure the system to perform a method according to claim 12” (180 figure 1, para 0092).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meschenmoser in view of Kleinikkink et al. US 11,117,758
Meschenmoser discloses the system as rejected above.
Meschenmoser does not disclose that each of the plurality of transport conveyors comprise an LMT conveyor.
Kleinikkink teaches that each of the plurality of transport conveyors comprise an LMT conveyor (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Meschenmoser to include that each of the plurality of transport conveyors comprise an LMT conveyor because it is an art recognized alternative and provides the additional ability for controlling spacing between the transported items.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/0099686 and US 2009/0013897 both disclose matrix conveyor systems which read on one or more claims.
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655