DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 06/30/2026 has been considered and entered. The amendment overcomes the previous rejections based on indefiniteness and obviousness double patenting, which are hereby withdrawn. New grounds of rejections are made below as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites jet fuel from a non-conventional source which is ambiguous as what constitutes a non-conventional source or a non-conventional jet fuel is not defined in the specification. While conventional sources are specifically defined in the specification, it is unclear what fuels would fall into the non-conventional jet fuel sources, gasoline, diesel, alcohol, gas oil, or any one of myriads of known fuels? Applicant does not provide any hydrocarbon chain length for defining what fuels fall into the category of jet fuels from which one may exclude the defined conventional jet fuels from the claimed non-conventional jet fuel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginestra et al. (US 2018/0230392)
In regards to claim 1, Ginestra recites blending of synthetic cyclo-paraffinic kerosene fuel component comprising at least 99.5% hydrocarbon content and at least 50% cyclo-paraffinic into kerosene base fuel to provide a jet fuel or rocket fuel (abstract). The composition comprises a) a kerosene base fuel, and b) a synthetic cycloparaffinic kerosene fuel which is present at 1 to 97 vol.% of the blend which provides the limitation of the synthetic jet boiling range fraction having less than 80% isoparaffin a) of the claim, and thus providing a calculated amount of the remainder of the kerosene base fuel of from 3 to 99 vol. % [0011, 0086].
The kerosene base fuel can be isoparaffin, i.e., isopar and thus provides the limitation of the isoparaffinic blend of the claim [0046]. The jet fuel has freezing point of the claim [0032, 0039]. The composition has T10 distillation temperature of between 185 and 210℃ and the distillation endpoint (i.e., final boiling point) of 274℃ in one embodiment [0039]. In Table 5, the fuel comprises cycloparaffins, paraffins, aromatics, PNA, and unclassified components which had a C8-C18 hydrocarbon fraction at 98.5 wt.% and C19+ of 0.4 wt. % for the SK fraction post fractionation 2 Pass HT [0129].
In regard to claim 2, Ginestra teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regard to claim 3, Ginestra teaches the composition wherein the synthetic component is bio-derived [0040].
In regard to claim 4, Ginestra teaches the composition having the bio-derived synthetic cycloparaffinic kerosene fuel which appears to provide the non-conventional source of the claim.
In regard to claim 5, Ginestra teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regard to claim 6, Ginestra teaches the composition having the kerosene base fuel which appears to provide conventional jet fuel in the claimed amounts.
In regard to claims 7, 8, Ginestra teaches the fuel having similar ingredients and in amounts overlapping the claimed range and would be expected to have similar properties as claimed.
In regard to claim 9, Ginestra teaches fuel having aromatics components of 0.5% after a 2 Pass HT (Table 5).
In regard to claim 10, Ginestra teaches the composition having the claimed limitation (Table 5).
In regard to claim 11, Ginestra teaches the composition which can comprise isopar (isoparaffinic component) which appears to provide the claimed limitation.
In regard to claim 12, Ginestra teaches the jet fuel composition which appears to meet the claimed limitation.
In regard to claim 13, Ginestra teaches the composition which can comprise kerosene base fuel having C8 to C18 hydrocarbon at calculated amounts of from 3 to 97% as previously discussed. Thus, C8 hydrocarbons are not required and even when present as the only hydrocarbon in the base fuel, could be present at 3%.
In regard to claims 14 – 20, Ginestra teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771