DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0250568 (Gross) in view of US 2009/0058191 (Nordman).
Regarding claim 1, Gross teaches a method of operating a power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b) having a first electrical output electrically connected to a utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility grid 501) [0053] and a second electrical output electrically connected to a load (Fig. 5 shows IT devices 514a-b i.e. load) [0054], comprising: detecting if the first electrical output of the power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a- b) is electrically disconnected from the utility grid (electrical connector 516 is a ground fault breaker thereby detecting if the first electrical output of the power modules 506a-b is electrically disconnected from the utility 501) [0053-0054, 0064]; and ground fault breaker (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516).
However, Gross does not explicitly teach in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid; electrically disconnecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid and electrically connecting at least the neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator to a local ground of the power generator.
However, Nordman teaches in response to detecting that the first electrical output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid (Fig. 3 shows transfer switch 392 disconnects utility 320 i.e. switch 346 is OFF, however, ground line 362 is connected to neutral) [0031- 0033]; electrically disconnecting at least a neutral line (Fig. 3 shows neutral line 326) of the first electrical output of the power generator (Fig. 3 shows generator supply circuit breaker 376) from a ground of the utility grid (Fig. 3 shows ground line 364 of utility panel 305) and electrically connecting at least the neutral line (Fig. 3 shows of the first electrical output of the power generator to a local ground of the power generator [003 1-0022, 0028, 0030-0031].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid and electrically disconnecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid and electrically connecting at least the neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator to a local ground of the power generator as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
Regarding claim 2, Gross teaches wherein the power generator comprises a direct current (DC) power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b are DC power generators).
Regarding claim 3, Gross teaches wherein the power generator comprises a fuel cell power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b which are same as power modules 106 in Fig. 1 which are fuel cell power generator) [0015-0016, 0019, 0056].
Regarding claim 15, Gross does not teach wherein the first electrical output of the power generator comprises a four-line power bus which provides three phase alternating electric current on three of the lines and the fourth line comprises the neutral line.
However, Nordman teaches wherein the first electrical output of the power generator comprises a four line power bus which provides three phase alternating electric current on three of the lines and the fourth line comprises the neutral line (three phase AC current on three of the lines and neutral line on the fourth line) [0022].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first electrical output of the power generator comprises a four line power bus which provides three phase alternating electric current on three of the lines and the fourth line comprises the neutral line as taught by Nordman in order to provide greater power density while optimizing the wiring size and cost efficiency.
Claim(s) 4-10, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0250568 (Gross) in view of US 2009/0058191 (Nordman) further in view of US 2015/0171766 (Valiani).
Regarding claim 4, Gross teaches wherein: the fuel cell power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b which are same as power modules 106 in Fig. 1 which are fuel cell power generator) comprises a fuel cell module [0015-0016, 0019, 0056] and an input output module containing a first DC/AC inverter (Fig. 5 shows input-output module 504a-b which is DC/AC inverter);
a first electrical output of the of the fuel cell module is electrically connected to the input output module (Fig. 5 shows first electrical output of the power modules 506a-b i.e. fuel cell module electrically connected to input output module 504a-b); and
the input output module (Fig. 5 shows input output modules 504a-b) is electrically connected to the utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility 501) via a circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows circuit breaker 516, 518 and 522).
However, Gross does not explicitly teach electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid.
However, Nordman teaches electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid (transfer switch 392 disconnects utility 320 i.e. switch 346 is OFF, however, ground line 362 is connected to neutral) [0031-0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
However, Gross and Nordman does not teach a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module.
However, Valiani teaches a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module as taught by Valiani in order to obtain galvanic isolation between the inverters and therefore avoid the recirculation of high intensity currents through ground connection [0008].
Regarding claim 5, Gross teaches wherein: the first electrical output of the power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b) is automatically electrically disconnected by the circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows circuit breaker 516, 518 522) from the utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility 501) when the grid experiences a power spike or an outage (switch 116 opens during a grid outage, switch 116 is switch 516 in Fig. 5) [0039, 0051]; and at least one switch is located in the input output module (at least one switch located in the input output module 104 which is 504a-b) [0023, 0051] and is switched to electrically disconnect at least the neutral line from the circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516) [0053].
However, Gross does not explicitly teach electrically connecting at least the neutral line of the first electrical output to the local ground of the power generator in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid.
However, Nordman teaches electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to the local ground of the power generator [0030-0031] in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid (transfer switch 392 disconnects utility 320 i.e. switch 346 is OFF, however, ground line 362 is connected to neutral) [0031-0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
However, Gross and Nordman does not teach a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module.
However, Valiani teaches a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input
output module as taught by Valiani in order to obtain galvanic isolation between the inverters and therefore avoid the recirculation of high intensity currents through ground connection [0008].
Regarding claim 6, Gross teaches wherein a second electrical output of the fuel cell module (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b which are fuel cell modules) [0051] is electrically connected to the load (Fig. 5 shows IT devices i.e. load) via an uninterruptible power module containing a second DC/AC inverter or via an auxiliary output module containing a DC/DC converter (Fig. 5 shows DC/DC converter 502a-b) and a DC output [0051].
Regarding claim 7, Gross teaches wherein: the fuel cell power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b which are fuel cell power generator) [0051] comprises a plurality of fuel cell modules (Fig. 5 shows plurality of power modules 506a-b which are fuel cell modules) [0039, 0051], a plurality of input outputs modules (Fig. 5 shows plurality of input output modules 504a- b) containing a respective DC/AC inverter (Fig. 5 shows respective DC/AC inverter 504a and 504b), and an electrical distribution module (Fig. 5 shows electrical distribution module 500); a first electrical output of the of each of the plurality of the fuel cell modules (Fig. 5 shows each of power modules 506a and 506b) is electrically connected to a respective one of the plurality of input output modules (Fig. 5 shows each of input output modules 504a and 504b); and the plurality of input output modules (Fig. 5 shows input output modules 504a-b) are electrically connected to the utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility 501) via the electrical distribution module (Fig. 5 shows electrical distribution module 500), and a circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516). However, Gross and Nordman does not teach a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module.
However, Valiani teaches a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module as taught by Valiani in order to obtain galvanic isolation between the inverters and therefore avoid the recirculation of high intensity currents through ground connection [0008].
Regarding claim 8, Gross teaches wherein: neutral lines (Fig. 5 shows neutral lines 528) of the plurality of fuel cell modules (Fig. 5 shows plurality of power modules 506a-b that are fuel cell modules) [0039, 0051] are electrically connected to each other in the electrical distribution module to form the neutral line of the power generator (Fig. 5 shows neutral line 528 connected together) [0051];
the first electrical output of the power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b) is automatically electrically disconnected by the circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516 which is 116 in Fig. 1) from the utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility 501) when the grid (Fig. 5 shows grid 501) experiences a power spike or an outage (in event of an outage circuit breaker 116 is open) [0039]; and
a switch (Fig. 5 shows switch 518 and 522) is located in each of the plurality of the input output modules (Fig. 5 shows input output modules 504a-b) and is switched to electrically disconnect at least the neutral line from the circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516) [0053].
However, Gross does not teach electrically connect at least the neutral line to the local ground of the power generator in response to detecting that the electrical distribution module is electrically disconnected from the utility grid transformer by the circuit breaker.
However, Nordman teaches electrically connect at least the neutral line to the local ground of the power generator [0030-0031] in response to detecting that the electrical distribution module is electrically disconnected from the utility grid transformer by the circuit breaker (transfer switch 392 disconnects utility 320 Le. switch 346 is OFF, however, ground line 362 is connected to neutral) [0021, 0031-0033).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
However, Gross and Nordman does not teach a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module.
However, Valiani teaches a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module as taught by Valiani in order to obtain galvanic isolation between the inverters and therefore avoid the recirculation of high intensity currents through ground connection [0008].
Regarding claim 9, Gross teaches wherein: at least one first switch (Fig. 5 shows switch 518 and 522) comprising a switch located in the electrical distribution module (Fig. 5 shows electrical distribution module 500 with the switches) or a plurality of switches located in the respective input output modules (Fig. 5 shows input output modules 504a-b); and
the at least one first switch is switched to electrically disconnect at least the neutral line from the circuit breaker (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516) [0053].
However, Gross does not teach electrically connect at least the neutral line to the local ground of the power generator via a ground line containing a ground line switch in response to detecting that at least one of the electrical distribution module or the plurality of input output modules are electrically disconnected from the utility grid transformer by the circuit breaker.
However, Nordman teaches electrically connect at least the neutral line to the local ground of the power generator via a ground line containing a ground line switch in response to detecting that at least one of the electrical distribution module or the plurality of input output modules are electrically disconnected from the utility grid transformer by the circuit breaker (transfer switch 392 disconnects utility 320 i.e. switch 346 is OFF, however, ground line 362 is connected to neutral) [0021, 0031-0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrically connecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output to ground in response to detecting that the first output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
Regarding claim 10, Gross does not teach further comprising detecting that the at least one first switch is switched to electrically disconnect at least the neutral line from the circuit breaker, and closing the ground line switch from a normally open position to electrically connect at least the neutral line to the local ground of the power generator via the ground line.
However, Nordman teaches further comprising detecting that the at least one first switch is switched to electrically disconnect at least the neutral line from the circuit breaker, and closing the ground line switch from a normally open position to electrically connect at least the neutral line to the local ground of the power generator via the ground line (transfer switch 392 disconnects utility 320 i.e. switch 346 is OFF, however, ground line 362 is connected to neutral) [0021, 0031-0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detecting that the at least one first switch is switched to electrically disconnect at least the neutral line from the circuit breaker, and closing the ground line switch from a normally open position to electrically connect at least the neutral line to the ground via the ground line as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
Regarding claim 14, Gross and Nordman does not teach wherein the first electrical output of the power generator is connected by the at least one switch to the local ground of the power generator through at least one of a resistor or an inductor.
However, Valiani teaches wherein the first electrical output of the power generator is connected by the at least one switch to the local ground of the power generator through at least one of a resistor or an inductor (Fig. 3 shows first electrical output of the power generator i.e. PV1 and PV2 connected by fuse 6/1 and 6/2 1.e. at least one switch to the ground 1/1 and % via resistors 7/1 and 7/2) [0049].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first electrical output of the power generator is connected by the at least one switch to the ground through at least one of a resistor or an inductor as taught by Valiani in order to limit the neutral fault current to the ground when the grid is disconnected.
Regarding claim 16, Gross teaches a power generation system (Fig. 5), comprising: a power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b) having a first electrical output configured to be electrically connected to a utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility 501) and a second electrical output configured to be electrically connected to a load (Fig. 5 shows IT devices); at least one first switch (Fig. 5 shows LSIG 516) located at least on a neutral line of the power generator (Fig. 5 shows power modules 506a-b) and configured to disconnect the neutral line from the utility grid (Fig. 5 shows utility 501 being disconnected from power modules 506a-b via LSIG 516) [0053]; a detector configured to detect if the first electrical output of the power generator is electrically disconnected from the utility grid (grid outage is sensed and the witch 116 analogous to switch 516 in Fig. 6 opens as a result) [0039, 0051].
However, Gross does not teach a ground line electrically connecting the power generator to a local ground; and
at least one ground line switch located on the ground line and configured to electrically disconnect the neutral line of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid and to electrically connect the neutral line of the power generator to the local ground of the power generator via the ground line in response to detecting that the first electrical output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid when the at least one first switch disconnects the neutral line from the utility grid transformer.
However, Nordman teaches a ground line electrically connecting the power generator to a local ground of the power generator (when transfer switch panel 305 is open a ground line electrically connecting secondary generator to a local ground 388) [0031-0032]; and at least one ground line switch (GFCI of power generator) [0031-0033] located on the ground line and configured to electrically disconnect the neutral line of the power generator (Fig. 3 shows neutral line of power generator 386) from a ground of a utility grid (Fig. 3 shows ground of utility grid 368) connect the neutral line to the local ground of power generator (Fig. 3 shows ground 388) via the ground line in response to detecting that the first electrical output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid when the at least one first switch disconnects the neutral line from the utility grid transformer [0028-0029, 0031-0033].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a ground line electrically connecting the power generator to a local ground; and at least one ground line switch located on the ground line and configured electrically disconnect the neutral line of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid and to connect the neutral line to the local ground via the ground line in response to detecting that the first electrical output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid when the at least one first switch disconnects the neutral line from the utility grid transformer as taught by Nordman in order to protect the circuitry from damage due to faults in the power supply as well as safely providing uninterruptible power supply from a secondary power generator.
However, Gross and Nordman does not teach a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module.
However, Valiani teaches a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a utility grid transformer connecting utility grid and input output module as taught by Valiani in order to obtain galvanic isolation between the inverters and therefore avoid the recirculation of high intensity currents through ground connection [0008].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant presents the argument that applied reference fails to teach: response to detecting that the first electrical output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid, electrically disconnecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid and electrically connecting at least the neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator to a local ground of power generator as recited in claim 1 and 16.
However, the Examiner would like to point to the Nordman reference in response to detecting that the first electrical output is electrically disconnected from the utility grid in the form of Fig. 3 which shows the transfer switch 392 disconnects the utility 320 i.e. switch 346 is OFF thereby electrically disconnecting the utility grid as taught in paragraphs [0031-33]; electrically disconnecting at least a neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid which is taught in the form of Fig. 3 of Nordman showing electrically disconnecting neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator from a ground of the utility grid when the generator supply circuitry breaker 376 is turned ON the hot bus bars and the neutral bus bars of the transfer switch panel 310 are connected to the conductors 380 associated with the generator and disconnected from the utility panel 305 [0030-31] and electrically connecting at least the neutral line of the first electrical output of the power generator to a local ground of power generator as taught in paragraph [0028].
The Examiner would like to point to Gross for teaching power generators 506a-b having a first electrical output connected to utility grid 501 and a second electrical output electrically connected to a load i.e. IT devices 514a-b as shown in Fig. 5 as taught in paragraphs [0053-54]. Furthermore, the Examiner would like to point to Nordman teaching the first electrical output being electrically disconnected from the utility grid in Fig. 3 as taught in paragraph [0030-31, 0033]. Fig. 4a-b of Nordman teaches the generator and the utility power supply being electrically connected via a first electrical output and the transfer switches to be operating in a utility mode in Fig. 4a and in a backup mode in Fig. 4b. Nordman teaches the utility supply breaker 346 and the generator supply circuit breaker 376 operate together as transfer switch 392 to supply power for the building circuits from utility service 320 to generator [0031].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836