DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 8 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “limiting part” in claim 1. A review of the specification has identified the limiting part as first limit step, 304.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, while the claim sets forth a wiper connection structure for coupling a wiper and a wiper blade together, the claim positively sets forth a connection body of the connection structure installed on the wiper blade in lines 3 and 4. Such leads to confusion as to exactly what is being claimed, merely the connection structure or some combination thereof. It appears the preamble of the claim should clearly set forth that a combination is being claimed.
Claims 2 – 8 are further rejected as dependents of rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fournier (FR 2600291 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Fournier teaches a wiper connection structure (attachment device, 1), for coupling a wiper (wiper arm, 2) and a wiper blade (stirrup, 3; Page 4, paragraph 3) together, the wiper (2) comprising a head portion (@ central perforation, 2a), characterized in that the wiper connection structure (1) comprises a connection body (first element, 4) and an upper cover (second element, 5), wherein the connection body (4) is used for connecting with the wiper blade (Page 4, paragraph 3), the connection body (4) comprises a containing chamber (groove, 10) defined thereon (Fig. 1), the containing chamber (10) is opened at an upper surface (Fig. 1) and a lateral surface of the connection body (4) to define an upper opening (Fig. 1) and an entrance (entrance of 10; Fig. 1) for inserting (Fig. 1); the upper cover(5) is hinged to the upper opening (Fig. 1), the upper cover (5) is configured to close (Fig. 2) and open (Fig. 1) the upper opening (Fig. 1); at least one of the containing chamber (10) and the upper cover (5) comprises a limiting part (protrusion, 14) stopping and limiting the head portion (@2a) of the wiper (2) to make the head portion of the wiper (2) be free from falling off from the containing chamber (10) wherein the upper opening (Fig. 1) disconnected with the entrance (Fig. 1) to allow the head portion (@2a) of the wiper (2) to be inserted into the containing chamber (10) via only the entrance (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Fournier teaches the wiper connection structure (attachment device, 1),
characterized in that a side (right side @ 8, see Fig. 1) of the upper cover (5) is hinged to a side of the upper opening (Fig. 1), and the upper cover (5) and the upper opening (Fig. 1) are integrally formed by plastic injection molding (page 4, last paragraph), and another side (left side @ 8; Fig. 1) of the upper cover (5) is detachably positioned and coupled to another side of the upper opening (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Fournier teaches the wiper connection structure (attachment device, 1),
characterized in that the another side of the upper cover (left side @ 8; Fig. 1) and the another side of the upper opening are snapped and coupled to each other (via hook, 28).
Regarding Claim 4, Fournier teaches the wiper connection structure (attachment device, 1),
characterized in that, based on a state that the upper cover (5) closes the upper opening (Fig. 2), an inner wall of the another side of the upper cover (5) is integrally formed with a hook (28; Fig. 1), and the another side of the upper opening is integrally formed with a snap column snapped with the hook (Page 9, Paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Fournier teaches the wiper connection structure (attachment device, 1),
characterized in that the containing chamber (10) and the upper cover (5) are respectively provided with the limiting part (14) for stopping and limiting the head portion (@2a) of the wiper (2).
Regarding Claim 8, Fournier teaches the wiper connection structure (attachment device, 1),
characterized in that the wiper blade (3) comprises a round shaft (3d) fixed thereon(Figs. 1 and 2), the connection body (4) comprises a semicircular snap hole (22; Fig. 3), and the connection body (4) sheathes the round shaft (3d) through the semicircular snap hole (22).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although Fournier teaches the wiper connection structure, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious the head portion of the wiper is inserted from the entrance into the containing chamber along a front-rear direction; the head portion of the wiper comprises a front step portion and a rear step portion arranged at intervals along the front-rear direction; the containing chamber comprises a first limit step integrally formed on an inner sidewall thereof adjacent to the upper cover and matched with the front step portion in shape to stop and limit a front side of the front step portion, and a second limit step integrally formed on the inner sidewall thereof adjacent to the upper cover and matched with the rear step portion in shape to stop and limit a front side of the rear step portion; the upper cover comprises a limit bump integrally formed on an inner wall thereof and configured to stop and limit a rear side of the front step portion when the upper cover closes the upper opening.
Claim 7 is further objected and rejected as dependents of claim 1 and 6.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0333144 (A1) teaches a wiper device for a motor vehicle window, with a wiper arm adapter unit and a wiper blade adapter unit which, in a fitted state, form a form-fitting connection. It is proposed that the wiper device has at least one blocking means which is mounted movably on the wiper blade adapter unit for restricting the wiper arm adapter unit in the freedom of movement thereof, in the fitted state, in a direction deviating from a longitudinal direction.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723