DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2024 and 07/09/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/07/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: lay flat electromagnetic field generator in claims 9 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 8-10,12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller (US 2005/0045007).
Regarding claim 1, Mueller teaches a food product slicer (10), comprising: a base (Figure 1); a knife (30) mounted for rotation relative to the base (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0057, 0062);
a carriage assembly (16) mounted to the base for reciprocal movement back and forth past a cutting edge of the knife (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0058-0063);
a gauge plate mounted for movement between a closed position that prevents slicing and multiple open positions that permit slicing at respective thicknesses (Figure 1);
a gauge plate adjustment system including a knob (31) with an associated cam, a follower (28) that is engaged with the cam and moved by rotation of the knob and cam, wherein the follower is linked for moving the gauge plate, wherein the follower rides on a slide rail (34), wherein the slide rail comprises a plate member (36 (Figures 1 and 2; Paragraphs 0057-0059, 0073-0076).
Regarding claim 2, Mueller teaches the food product slicer of claim 1, wherein an engagement of the follower with the slide rail is configured to allow sliding movement of the follower along the slide rail while preventing rotation of the follower about an axis of the slide rail (Figures 1 and 2; Paragraphs 0061-0063 and 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 8, Mueller teaches the product slicer of claim 1, wherein the plate member includes a sensing assembly (32) position thereon for sensing movement and/or position of the follower (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0063-0066, 0073-0080, 0086-0093).
Regarding claim 9, Mueller teaches the food product slicer of claim 8, wherein the sensing assembly comprises an inductive sensing assembly with a lay flat electromagnetic field generator (Paragraphs 0087-0089).
Regarding claim 10, Mueller teaches the food product slicer of claim 9, wherein the plate member includes a recess into which the lay flat electromagnetic field generator is seated (Figure 2 noting the recess between the elements allowing for the placement of the sensor mechanisms).
Regarding claim 12, Mueller teaches food product slicer of claim 9, wherein the follower includes a projection that projects toward the lay flat electromagnetic field generator, wherein the projection is of an electromagnetic material that disrupts different portions of the electromagnetic field produced by the lay flat electromagnetic field generator based upon different relative positioning of the projection along the lay flat magnetic field generator (Paragraphs 0067-0073).
Regarding claim 13, Mueller teaches a food product slicer (10)(Figure 1; Abstract) comprising:
a base; a knife (30) mounted for rotation relative to the base; a carriage assembly mounted to the base for reciprocal movement back and forth past a cutting edge of the knife (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0057, 0062);
a gauge plate mounted for movement between a closed position that prevents slicing and multiple open positions that permit slicing at respective thicknesses (Figure 1) and a gauge plate adjustment system (31) including a follower that is linked for moving the gauge plate, wherein the follower rides on a slide rail (34), wherein the slide rail comprises a plastic member, wherein an engagement of the follower with the slide rail is configured to allow sliding movement of the follower along the slide rail while preventing rotation of the follower about an axis of the slide rail ((Figures 1 and 2; Paragraphs 0057-0059, 0073-0076).
Regarding claim 14, Mueller teaches the product slicer of claim 13, wherein the slide rail includes a sensing assembly (32) position thereon for sensing movement and/or position of the follower Figure 2; Paragraphs 0063-0066, 0073-0080, 0086-0093).
Regarding claim 15, Mueller teaches food product slicer of claim 14, wherein the sensing assembly comprises an inductive sensing assembly with a lay flat electromagnetic field generator (Paragraphs 0087-0089).
Regarding claim 16, Mueller teaches food product slicer of claim 15, wherein the slide rail includes a recess into which the lay flat electromagnetic field generator is seated (Figure 2 noting the recess between the elements allowing for the placement of the sensor mechanisms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller.
Regarding claim 11, Mueller teaches the food product slicer of claim 10, wherein the food product slicer provides a control device (52) with the capability of automatic and manual manipulation of the device, and the control devices controls multiple operations, including detection position data transmitted via sensors.
Mueller does not specifically provide inductive sensing assembly further comprises a printed circuit board, wherein the lay flat electromagnetic field generator comprises multiple conductors located on a sensing section of the printed circuit board, wherein the printed circuit board also includes one or more integrated detection components and an electrical connector.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to printed circuit board components which are known to be useful for a particular automation function. There are a finite number of possible control elements which pertain to a sensor and allow for the desired sensing function. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try any reasonable electronic circuit board components in an attempt to provide an improved sensing function for the slicing machine, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR Int' l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. _, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references C-L on page 1 and A-D and F on Page 2 establish the state of the art with a variety of shaver food slicing devices and movement sensing mechanisms.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 07/24/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724