DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The following is a Non-final Office Action in response to amendments and remarks filed 27 May 2026.
Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claim 21 has been added.
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-21 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection under the Alice Corp. vs. CLS Bank Int’l be withdrawn; however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that in order to be patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101, the claims must be directed towards a patent eligible concept, which, the instant claims are not directed. Contrary to Applicants’ assertion that the claims are not a certain method of organizing human activity or a mental process, the Examiner notes that identifying and providing customized reaction plans for an incident to users within an environment that the incident occurs is a function that dispatchers, emergency responders, law enforcement, disaster relief, search parties, etc. have traditionally performed/provided for users during some sort of incident where planning is needed. Next, the claims are not directed to a practical application of the concept. The claims do not result in improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. They do not effect a particular treatment for a disease. They are not applied with or by a particular machine. They do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. And they are not applied in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception (i.e., identifying and providing customized reaction plans for an incident to users within an environment that the incident occurs) to a particular technological environment (i.e., with the use of computers or generic computing components). Here, again as noted in the previous rejection, mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept - MPEP 2016.05(f). Contrary to Applicant’s assertions, the newly amended aspects of a graphical user interfaces does not necessarily root the claims into computer technology. As noted in the updated rejection below, the “user device(s)” “first graphical user interface (GUI) for a first user device,” and “second GUI for a second user device” in the step(s) which are insignificant extrasolution activities that do not integrate the claims into a practical application and are also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs court decisions in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that the mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as is here). Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim. As such, the claim(s) is/are not patent eligible, even when considered as a whole. As such, this argument is not persuasive, and the rejection not overcome.
Applicants further argue that the claims are similar to the McRO decision; however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In McRO, the Federal Circuit held the claimed methods of automatic lip synchronization and facial expression animation using computer-implemented rules patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because they were not directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A of the USPTO's SME guidance). The basis for the McRO court's decision was that the claims were directed to an improvement in computer-related technology (allowing computers to produce "accurate and realistic lip synchronization and facial expressions in animated characters" that previously could only be produced by human animators), and thus did not recite a concept similar to previously identified abstract ideas. As part of its analysis, the McRO court examined the specification, which described the claimed invention as improving computer animation through the use of specific rules, rather than human artists, to set morph weights (relating to facial expressions as an animated character speaks) and transition parameters between phonemes (relating to sounds made when speaking). As explained in the specification, human artists did not use the claimed rules, and instead relied on subjective determinations to set the morph weights and manipulate the animated face to match pronounced phonemes. The McRO court thus relied on the specification's explanation of how the claimed rules enabled the automation of specific animation tasks that previously could not be automated when determining that the claims were directed to improvements in computer animation instead of an abstract idea. The McRO court indicated that it was the incorporation of the particular claimed rules in computer animation that "improved [the] existing technological process.” Here, unlike McRO, a computer was merely used as a tool to perform an existing process i.e. how to generate a reaction plan according to some received information relating to an ongoing incident. As such, the claims are not similar to those in McRO, the argument not persuasive and the rejection not overcome.
Applicants next argue that the claims are an improvement (citing Ex Parte Dejardins); however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, no improvement is realized by simply applying the abstract idea with a generic computer and generic computing components (such as sensors collecting data). To put another way, there is no improvement by simply automating a manual process such organizing human activity or a mental process, with sensors instead of users or people observing a scenario, and reporting an incident, and providing ongoing updates. The Examiner notes that identifying and providing customized reaction plans for an incident to users within an environment that the incident occurs is a function that dispatchers, emergency responders, law enforcement, disaster relief, search parties, etc. have traditionally performed/provided for users during some sort of incident where planning is needed. Again, the Examiner notes that his argument appears to be whether or not the use of computer or computing components for increased speed and efficiency integrates the claims into a practical application; however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nor, in addressing the second step of Alice, does claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer provide a sufficient inventive concept. See Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can., 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (“[T]he fact that the required calculations could be performed more efficiently via a computer does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter.”); CLS Bank, Int’l v. Alice Corp., 717 F.3d 1269, 1286 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (en banc) aff’d, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014) (“[S]imply appending generic computer functionality to lend speed or efficiency to the performance of an otherwise abstract concept does not meaningfully limit claim scope for purposes of patent eligibility.” (citations omitted)). As such, the argument not persuasive and the rejection not overcome.
Applicants next argue that the Examiner improperly dismisses the generation of a graphical user interface (GUI); however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, as noted in the previous rejections, the GUI is simply generated to provide an output, and thus the GUI and presentation of the output are considered insignificant to the overall inventive concept as it merely provides the output of the abstract idea in such a generic manner. This argument appears to be whether or not the use of a GUI necessarily roots the claims in computer technology in order to overcome a problem specifically arising in the realm of computer networks, to which the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, the claimed concept of identifying and providing customized reaction plans for an incident to users within an environment that the incident occurs is not unique to the realm of computer networks/computer technology. Such a computer technology problem is, for example, a problem concerning processor efficiency whereby a possible claim solution optimizes placement and routing procedures, or the recitation of a graphical user interface (GUI) as part of how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink, neither of which are addressed by the claims reciting a graphical user interface (GUI). To determine whether an invention claims ineligible subject matter, we engage in a two-step process. First, “we determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of [the] patent ineligible concepts”—laws of nature, natural phenomena, or abstract ideas. Id. at 2355. “The ‘abstract ideas’ category embodies ‘the longstanding rule’ that ‘[a]n idea of itself is not patentable.’” Id. (quoting Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972)). An abstract idea does not become non abstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet. See Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358 (limiting an abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such as a computer, does not confer patent eligibility); Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 612 (2010) (“[L]imiting an abstract idea to one field of use . . . d[oes] not make the concept patentable.”). If it is determined that the patent is drawn to an abstract idea or otherwise ineligible subject matter, at a second step we ask whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the non-patent ineligible elements, are sufficient to “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358 (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1297 (2012)). Put another way, there must be an “inventive concept” to take the claim into the realm of patent eligibility. Id. at 2355. A simple instruction to apply an abstract idea on a computer is not enough. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358 (“[M]ere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible idea into a patent eligible invention. Stating an abstract idea ‘while adding the words “apply it’’ is not enough for patent eligibility.’” (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294)). As such, the argument not persuasive and the rejection not overcome.
Applicant’s remarks with respect to the prior art have been fully considered but moot on grounds of new rejections, as necessitated by amendments.
In response to arguments in reference to any depending claims that have not been individually addressed, all rejections made towards these dependent claims are maintained due to a lack of reply by the Applicants in regards to distinctly and specifically pointing out the supposed errors in the Examiner's prior office action (37 CFR 1.111). The Examiner asserts that the Applicants only argue that the dependent claims should be allowable because the independent claims are unobvious and patentable over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite the newly amended limitations “wherein the reaction plan is generated by the central service by: authenticating in response to receiving a status report from a given sensor of the plurality of sensors, via a cryptographically-signed message, a location of the given sensor in the environment by matching a sensor identifier and a communication credential against registration data stored in a block-chain-maintained digital model of the environment; updating a map of the environment with the status report by committing a block into the block-chain-maintained digital model, the block recording the location as authenticated in association with the status report; processing the ongoing reports, including the status report, to identify an incident flow by performing a spatio-temporal propagation analysis comprising: determining temporal separations between detection timestamps, determining spatial adjacency between authenticated sensor locations; forming clusters of related detections; and generating an ordered progression of clusters satisfying a propagation constraint; and generating the reaction plan based on the map and the incident flow comprising device- specific output scripts for respective ones of the plurality of sensors, each script including a time- ordered sequence of light, sound, or display actions coordinated with scripts of neighboring sensors for synchronized execution among the respective ones of the plurality of sensors” however there is no discussion, throughout the entirety of the specification and drawings, as to how the authentication is performed, a digital model created, or a spatio-temporal propagation analysis being performed. Paragraph [0046] states “In various embodiments, registering the location and identity of the sensors creates (at the central service) a blockchain or other immutable record for either the environment (e.g., shared among the several sensors), or for each individual sensor in the environment. Accordingly, as the sensors generate alerts, an immutable record of these alerts is recorded so that reviewers can be assured of the integrity of the data. By knowing the time and order of the status reports, the blockchain or other immutable record can be used to identify improperly timed, duplicate, or otherwise spoofed status reports from legitimate reports; thereby reducing the likelihood and effectiveness of attacks on the central service or individual sensors." Paragraph [0053] states “At block 330, the central service verifies the sender location and identity of communications received per block 320, to identify whether the communication was received from a legitimate sensor and which sensor the communication was received from. In various embodiments, the central service may save all communication from purported sensors (e.g., to log attempted spoofs, either to the record used by the actual sensors or a quarantined record) or may discard communication from sensors that are not verified (e.g., deleting, dropping, or otherwise not storing the communications). In various embodiments, the central service may decrypt the communications, identify whether the communication include a shared secret, challenge the purported sensor, or perform combinations thereof to determine whether the communication has been legitimately received from the sensor. In various embodiments, data received from sensors are processed through software logic or an API and stored in a database or block of a blockchain for committal.” While the specification briefly mentions the use of blockchain, there is no mention or discussion as to how authentication occurs cryptographically, a digital model being created, or any type of spatio-temporal analysis (the words “digital model” and “spatio-temporal” are not present in the specification whatsoever). As such, the Examiner asserts this as evidence that the newly amended claims are new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are directed to a process (method) (an act, or series of acts or steps) and a machine (system comprising a processor) (a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (Step 1). However, the claim(s) recite(s) identifying and providing customized reaction plans for an incident to users within an environment that the incident occurs which is an abstract idea of organizing human activities as well as a mental process.
The limitations of “identifying...a plurality of user devices to receive a reaction plan for an ongoing incident in the environment; identifying....a plurality of user devices to receive a reaction plan for the ongoing incident in the environment; customizing the reaction plan based on the ongoing reports to produce a plurality of individualized versions, wherein each individualized version corresponds to an individual user device of the plurality of user devices and is customized based a device type of each individual user device and a role of a user associated with each individual user device in responding to the ongoing incident; transmitting the individualized version to each corresponding individual user..., causing...output the respective individualized version of the reaction plan” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers organizing human activities--fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) and/or a mental process—concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)but for the recitation of generic computer components (Step 2A Prong 1). That is, other than reciting “at a central service,” (or “A system, comprising: a processor; and a memory including instructions, that when executed by the processor perform operations comprising:” in claim 11) nothing in the claim element precludes the step from the methods of organizing human interactions grouping and/or practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “at a central service,” (or “A system, comprising: a processor; and a memory including instructions, that when executed by the processor perform operations comprising:” in claim 11) language, “identifying,” “customizing,” “transmitting,” and “causing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually determining individuals to receive an reaction plan, customizing the plan and providing the plan to the users which is a managing personal behavior within an incident environment or a mental process/judgement with respect to users, incidents, and locations. However, if possible, the Examiner should consider the limitations together as a single abstract idea rather than as a plurality of separate abstract ideas to be analyzed individually. “For example, in a claim that includes a series of steps that recite mental steps as well as a mathematical calculation, an examiner should identify the claim as reciting both a mental process and a mathematical concept for Step 2A, Prong One to make the analysis clear on the record.” MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.B. Under such circumstances, however, the Supreme Court has treated such claims in the same manner as claims reciting a single judicial exception. Id. (discussing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010)). Here, the limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea for further analysis. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mathematical concept, while some of the limitations may be performed in the mind after certain limitations are performed, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the grouping of abstract ideas. (Step 2A, Prong One: YES). Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two). The “adding a sensor associated with a user device of the plurality of user devices to the plurality of sensors based on a type of the sensor, a type of the ongoing incident, and a privacy policy for data collected from the sensor; receiving ongoing reports from the plurality of sensors during the ongoing incident, wherein the initial reports and the ongoing reports are stored in a blockchain representation of the environment with locations and times at which individual sensors of the plurality of sensors provided an individual report of the ongoing reports,” “user device(s)” “first graphical user interface (GUI) for a first user device,” and “second GUI for a second user device” are simply involved in insignificant post solution output. Next, the claim only recites one additional element – using a central service or processor to perform the steps. The central service or processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Specifically the claims amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer or invoking computers as tools by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) discussing MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea, even when considered as a whole (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
The claim does not include a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2), the combination of additional elements of using a central service or processor to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Reevaluating here in step 2B, the “adding a sensor associated with a user device of the plurality of user devices to the plurality of sensors based on a type of the sensor, a type of the ongoing incident, and a privacy policy for data collected from the sensor; receiving ongoing reports from the plurality of sensors during the ongoing incident, wherein the initial reports and the ongoing reports are stored in a blockchain representation of the environment with locations and times at which individual sensors of the plurality of sensors provided an individual report of the ongoing reports,” “user device(s)” “first graphical user interface (GUI) for a first user device,” and “second GUI for a second user device” in the step(s) which are insignificant extrasolution activities are also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs court decisions in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that the mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as is here). Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim. As such, the claim(s) is/are not patent eligible, even when considered as a whole (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 2, 4, 12, 14, and 21 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further limiting the user devices (GUI, wireless, sensors and reporting) which is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 11, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 3, 5, 9-10, 13, 15-16, and 18-20 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further including sensors which collect data for the abstract idea, which is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 11, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 7 and 17 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further limits which users will receive the reaction plans which is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 11, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 1-20 are therefore not eligible subject matter, even when considered as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-11, 14, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US PG Pub. 2016/0284038) and further in view of Muehlmeier et al. (US PG Pub. 2011/0161239).
As per claims 1 and 11, Johnson discloses a method and system comprising: a processor; and a memory including instructions, that when executed by the processor perform operations comprising (system, processor, memory, Johnson ¶4; user interface, mobile computing device, ¶7);:
identifying, at the central service, a plurality of user devices to receive a reaction plan for an ongoing incident in the environment (The emergency responders 102a, 102b (sometimes referred to collectively as emergency responders 102) can respond to the emergency situation according to information, guidance, or both, provided from a centralized computing device (e.g., a server 100. The information can be information about one or more of the shelters or the potential or actual occupants of the shelter. The information can be useful to the emergency responders 102, e.g., in determining an appropriate response to the emergency situation. The emergency responders 102a, 102b can receive information from the central server 100 on respective computing devices 108a, 108b (sometimes referred to collectively as computing devices 108). The computing devices 108 can be mobile computing devices (e.g., a mobile telephone, a tablet, a wearable computing device such as a wrist-worn computing device or computer-enabled glasses, or another type of mobile computing device), medical devices (e.g., a defibrillator, such as a professional defibrillating system or an automated external defibrillator (AED)), computing devices housed in an ambulance or other vehicle (e.g., a dispatch computing device), or another type of computing device. The computing devices 108 can display the information provided from the central server 100, such as emergency response information about the emergency situation. In some cases, the computing devices 108 can display information indicative of guidance provided from the central server, such as an emergency response plan developed by the central server 100. The emergency responders 102 can interact with the computing devices 108 via user interfaces, such as a touchscreen display, a keyboard, or another type of user interface, through interactions such as voice commands, gestures, eye movements, or another type of interaction, Johnson ¶61; central server, ¶62);
adding a sensor associated with a user device of the plurality of user devices to the plurality of sensors based on a type of the sensor, a type of the ongoing incident, and a privacy policy for data collected from the sensor (In addition, certain of the functionality described above and below can be provided as part of an accessory to the relevant electronic communication, such as by placing a force sensor, temperature sensor, accelerometer, pulse sensor, blood pressure sensor, or other sensor in a plug-in module and/or jacket that a user can purchase for their electronic communication device (though such sensors may also be integrated into the device where appropriate). For example, a user of device may purchase an electronic stethoscope that may plug into device and act as a traditional stethoscope. A user may also purchase a blood-pressure cuff or other such sensors that may provide electronic signals to device so that readings of victim parameters, and particularly vital signs, may be uploaded easily to the rest of the system through the network, Johnson ¶138; smartphones or other devices can be used as relevant sensors, ¶139);
receiving ongoing reports from the plurality of sensors during the ongoing incident, wherein the initial reports and the ongoing reports are stored in a blockchain representation of the environment with locations and times at which individual sensors of the plurality of sensors provided an individual report of the ongoing reports (continuously providing updates, Johnson ¶124; the system continuously processes the new information and adjusts the emergency response plan as appropriate, ¶130)
customizing the reaction plan based on the ongoing reports to produce a plurality of individualized versions, wherein each individualized version corresponds to an individual user device of the plurality of user devices and is customized based on a device type and formfactor of each individual user device and a role of a user associated with each individual user device in responding to the ongoing incident, (The processor and memory are configured to provide, to one of the computing devices, data indicative of (i) a location of a particular shelter and (ii) potential occupancy of the particular shelter responsive to a request received from the computing device. The processor and memory are configured to identify a particular shelter to which a particular rescuer can provide rescue services. The processor and memory are configured to identify the particular shelter based on a location of the computing device associated with the rescuer and the data indicative of the location of the particular shelter. The processor and memory are configured to identify the particular shelter based on one or more of an expertise of the rescuer and a piece of medical equipment available to the rescuer, Johnson ¶36-¶37; produce/prepares plan for responders, ¶105; basic user module, emergency responder module of app installed on user device/civilian devices, ¶108; the system continuously processes the new information and adjusts the emergency response plan as appropriate, ¶130) (Examiner notes the produced/prepared plan for individual responders based upon skill sets, locations, priorities, and the basic user plans as the different types of individualized versions of reaction plans) wherein customizing the reaction plan includes;
generating a first graphical user interface (GUI) for a first user device of the plurality of user devices based on a type and formfactor of the first user device (graphical user interface, Johnson ¶149; An example notification may be that an emergency responder may indicate that a rescue operation has been successfully executed or that an emergency responder is experiencing an unforeseen delay. After receiving updates, the system continuously processes the new information and adjusts the emergency response plan as appropriate, ¶130; The server receives a notification that an emergency situation has occurred (410A). Examples of disasters can include natural disasters, such as a severe storm, a hurricane, an earthquake; or human-caused disasters, such as a terrorist attack, a nuclear bomb strike, or a chemical spill. The emergency situation can be detected automatically via sensors or be determined by a notification from publically available information or from an individual. The server receives more information in light of the emergency situation (415A). For instance, the information can include real time information about occupancy of a shelter or confirmation from emergency responders that they are prepared to respond to the emergency incidents. The server can receive current information regarding the emergency situation from news outlets, social media, and other public information outlets. The information may include occupant and shelter status, road closures, environmental and weather conditions, or other information, such as information that may facilitate an efficient emergency response, ¶126-¶127; The bottom of the display of the mobile device 108 is taken up by the map 326 which may be generated from a combination of data sources, e.g., using techniques such as those for creating mash-ups with GOOGLE MAPS™. For example, the central server may provide a latitude and longitude for the emergency responder 102a and a latitude and longitude for the shelter 106a, to a navigation system that is publicly available (via a published application programming interface (API)), and a navigation system may respond by providing data for drawing the map overlaid with a thick navigation route line for an optimal path between the two points for the emergency responder 102a. This path may be superimposed on the map 326 that responder 102a is shown. In addition, actual icons 135 and 147 are superimposed on the map to show the emergency responder 102a where relevant resources are located near their route between their current location and the shelter 106a. In this case, a hospital is represented by the icon 135, and a grocery store is represented by icon 147, ¶118; The processor and memory are configured to identify a particular shelter to which a particular rescuer can provide rescue services. The processor and memory are configured to identify the particular shelter based on a location of the computing device associated with the rescuer and the data indicative of the location of the particular shelter. The processor and memory are configured to identify the particular shelter based on one or more of an expertise of the rescuer and a piece of medical equipment available to the rescuer, ¶37; types of devices, ¶61; prioritize, ¶105-¶106) (Examiner notes the ability to provide navigation, itinerary, information based upon expertise and specific occupants/patients as the ability to provide individual customized reaction plans based upon formfactors of the devices);
generating a second GUI for a second user device of the plurality of user devices based on a type and formfactor of the second user device, wherein the second GUI includes a different amount data than the first GUI according to differing formfactors for the first user device and the second user device (graphical user interface, Johnson ¶149; An example notification may be that an emergency responder may indicate that a rescue operation has been successfully executed or that an emergency responder is experiencing an unforeseen delay. After receiving updates, the system continuously processes the new information and adjusts the emergency response plan as appropriate, ¶130; The server receives a notification that an emergency situation has occurred (410A). Examples of disasters can include natural disasters, such as a severe storm, a hurricane, an earthquake; or human-caused disasters, such as a terrorist attack, a nuclear bomb strike, or a chemical spill. The emergency situation can be detected automatically via sensors or be determined by a notification from publically available information or from an individual. The server receives more information in light of the emergency situation (415A). For instance, the information can include real time information about occupancy of a shelter or confirmation from emergency responders that they are prepared to respond to the emergency incidents. The server can receive current information regarding the emergency situation from news outlets, social media, and other public information outlets. The information may include occupant and shelter status, road closures, environmental and weather conditions, or other information, such as information that may facilitate an efficient emergency response, ¶126-¶127; The bottom of the display of the mobile device 108 is taken up by the map 326 which may be generated from a combination of data sources, e.g., using techniques such as those for creating mash-ups with GOOGLE MAPS™. For example, the central server may provide a latitude and longitude for the emergency responder 102a and a latitude and longitude for the shelter 106a, to a navigation system that is publicly available (via a published application programming interface (API)), and a navigation system may respond by providing data for drawing the map overlaid with a thick navigation route line for an optimal path between the two points for the emergency responder 102a. This path may be superimposed on the map 326 that responder 102a is shown. In addition, actual icons 135 and 147 are superimposed on the map to show the emergency responder 102a where relevant resources are located near their route between their current location and the shelter 106a. In this case, a hospital is represented by the icon 135, and a grocery store is represented by icon 147, ¶118; The processor and memory are configured to identify a particular shelter to which a particular rescuer can provide rescue services. The processor and memory are configured to identify the particular shelter based on a location of the computing device associated with the rescuer and the data indicative of the location of the particular shelter. The processor and memory are configured to identify the particular shelter based on one or more of an expertise of the rescuer and a piece of medical equipment available to the rescuer, ¶37; types of devices, ¶61; prioritize, ¶105-¶106) (Examiner notes the ability to provide navigation, itinerary, information based upon expertise and specific occupants/patients as the ability to provide individual customized reaction plans based upon formfactors of the devices).
transmitting a respective individualized version of the reaction plan to each corresponding individual user device of the plurality of user devices (The system processes the collected information and prepares an emergency response plan (420A). The emergency response plan may include notifications to users as well as plans for rescue operations. For instance, the system evaluates the information pertaining to each shelter and makes a determination of a priority for emergency response for each shelter based on that information. The evaluation and determination can account for attributes of the people located at each shelter. The system then assigns a highest priority shelter to each emergency responder. The system can consider one or more factors in assigning highest priority shelters, including the shelter status, the status of occupants of the shelter, emergency responder location and expertise, or environmental factors. The possible responders to emergency incidents may be determined based solely on distance from the locations of the emergency incidents, such as by circumscribing a circle of a particular radius around the event (where the circle can be made larger and larger until a predetermined number of potential responders can be found). The emergency responders may be selected based on their estimated time to respond, so that a system could look at the current speed of an emergency responder to infer that the emergency responder is in an automobile, and thus could arrive at the emergency incident more quickly than an emergency responder who is not currently moving. The server delivers the emergency response plan to emergency responders (425A). The system can selectively distribute information. The information may include some basic information about the emergency situation, updated information from shelters or shelter occupants, information about other emergency responders, or information needed to generate an annotated map (e.g., the map shown in FIG. 1B). Information delivered to responders may include routing details to their highest priority shelters. The system can send map data for transmission to the emergency responders, Johnson ¶128-¶129; see also In some examples, the user module can include a messages section that allows the central server 100 to communicate to users in a non-disaster situation. For example, the central server can communicate warnings of potential disasters or notify users of potential ways to prepare for disaster situations. In some implementations, the mobile devices of the users will have “push notifications” activated, and the central server can notify the users through the push notifications system of recommendations to be prepared for disasters. The central server can send out periodic newsletters with checklists and tips for disaster preparation. In some examples, prior to an emergency situation, the user module can enable periodic transfers of information from the computing/mobile devices 107, 108 to the central server 100 in order to preempt potential communication rifts between the mobile device and the central server in the event of a disaster. The mobile device can periodically send its location, so that if a disaster occurs and destroys communication means, the central server will have historical location information and be able to predict where the user might be, ¶114-¶115; bottom display is a map, with path, ¶117-¶118) and;
causing the first user device and the second user device to output the respective individualized version of the reaction plan (The system can selectively distribute information. The information may include some basic information about the emergency situation, updated information from shelters or shelter occupants, information about other emergency responders, or information needed to generate an annotated map (e.g., the map shown in FIG. 1B). Information delivered to responders may include routing details to their highest priority shelters. The system can send map data for transmission to the emergency responders, Johnson ¶128-¶129; itinerary for particular responder, ¶59; The central server 100 may receive additional information that may be sent out to all users equipped with the responder module regarding updated information on a particular shelter. For example, the dispatcher may have learned that the shelter 106a has a diabetic occupant or has other issues that the emergency responder 102a should be aware of. That information may be provided in the custom text area 324 so that the emergency responders can immediately see it if they are looking at their devices while they run or otherwise make their way toward the shelter 106a. Earlier text may be scrolled upward as additional text is added to the custom text area 324, and a “Communicate with Dispatchers” button 330 may also be shown so as to allow multiple-way communication among the dispatcher and the emergency responders. The emergency responders can request information from the central server via the button 330. The chat text may be populated directly by typing of various users, or by users speaking and their spoken words being converted into text. All such spoken communications between and among the people involved in the event may also be converted in a similar manner to be stored with a summary report for the event, Johnson ¶120).
While Johnson discloses the ability to automatically detect emergency situations via sensors or be determined by a notification from publically available information or from an individual (Johnson ¶126), Johnson does not expressly disclose identifying, at a central service, an ongoing incident in an environment from initial reports received from a plurality of sensors disposed in and associated with the environment in communication with the central service.
However, Muehlmeier teaches identifying, at a central service, an ongoing incident in an environment from initial reports received from a plurality of sensors disposed in and associated with the environment in communication with the central service (A system-generated alert refers to an alert that is originally generated from a third party system other than the emergency management system (i.e., the alert is not manually input into the emergency management system or automatically generated from the emergency management system's configurations). For instance, a fire sensor system may detect a fire has originated within a facility and notify the emergency management system of a fire alert, Muehlmeier ¶28).
Both the Muehlmeier and Johnson references are analogous in that both are directed towards/concerned with responding to incidents, emergencies and/or threats. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Muehlmeier’s ability to have sensors that are able to determine and report emergency incidents in Johnson’s system to improve the system and method with reasonable expectation that this would result in an emergency management system that is able to provide more warnings and/or instructions based upon the incident or subjected area.
The motivation being that there is a need for alerts and severity thereof when developing emergency plans (Muehlimeier ¶31-¶33).
As per claims 4 and 14, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson further discloses wherein: the first user device of the plurality of user devices is associated with the environment by the central service and is not located in the environment (dispatch computing devices, Johnson ¶61); the second user device of the plurality of user devices is located in the environment and is not associated with the environment by the central service (nearby emergency responders, ¶111); and a third user device of the plurality of user devices is located in the environment and is associated with the environment by the central service (The central server 100 may receive additional information that may be sent out to all users equipped with the responder module regarding updated information on a particular shelter. For example, the dispatcher may have learned that the shelter 106a has a diabetic occupant or has other issues that the emergency responder 102a should be aware of. That information may be provided in the custom text area 324 so that the emergency responders can immediately see it if they are looking at their devices while they run or otherwise make their way toward the shelter 106a. Earlier text may be scrolled upward as additional text is added to the custom text area 324, and a “Communicate with Dispatchers” button 330 may also be shown so as to allow multiple-way communication among the dispatcher and the emergency responders. The emergency responders can request information from the central server via the button 330. The chat text may be populated directly by typing of various users, or by users speaking and their spoken words being converted into text. All such spoken communications between and among the people involved in the event may also be converted in a similar manner to be stored with a summary report for the event, Johnson ¶120).
As per claims 7 and 17, Johnson and Muehlmeier as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. While Johnson further discloses the ability to only provide plans/updates/maps to users with in a location and/or time frame of an incident (The systems and techniques described here can also be employed in a situation in which there are mass casualties, such as a large accident (e.g., train, bus, or airplane crash), a terrorist attack (e.g., bombing or gas dispersion), natural disaster (e.g., earthquake or large tornado), or public health crisis. For example, the system may initially determine manually, automatically, or semi-automatically, that an emergency situation in the form of a mass event is occurring, such as by determining that a number of calls for different events (e.g., different people in need of held) over a time period (e.g., 1 hour) and in a particular area has exceeded a predetermine threshold. Such a determination may be made by using known automatic clustering analysis techniques so as to distinguish calls that are connected as shown by time and geographic location, from those that are independent but happen to be spatially and time related. Upon the condition of a mass event being recognized, the system may generate an alarm via the communications systems to begin elevating the status of the event. For example, the alarm may first be provided to a dispatcher or dispatchers who may attempt to confirm the nature of the event, such as by asking a victim at the scene a series of questions designed to elicit information about the type of event and scope of the event. At a next stage, the emergency responder system described herein is executed, Johnson ¶140), the combination of Johnson and Muehlmeier does not expressly disclose wherein the reaction plan as customized is a refusal reaction plan for a given user who is not located in the environment or associated with the environment by the central service that actively prevents communication between a given user device associated with the given user and the central service while the given user device is within a predefined distance of the environment as this is a recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
However, the Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have recognized the ability to provide plans/updates/maps to users with in a location and/or time frame of an incident as wherein the reaction plan as customized is a refusal reaction plan for a given user who is not located in the environment or associated with the environment by the central service that actively prevents communication between a given user device associated with the given user and the central service while the given user device is within a predefined distance of the environment.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the reaction plan as customized is a refusal reaction plan for a given user who is not located in the environment or associated with the environment by the central service that actively prevents communication between an given user device associated with the given user and the central service while the given user device is within a predefined distance of the environment in the system of Johnson and Muehlmeier as the system would yield predictable results.
As per claims 8 and 18, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson further discloses in response to receiving inputs from a user of the plurality of users or a sensor located in the environment: updating the reaction plan; and customizing and transmitting the reaction plan as updated to each user device of the plurality of user devices (user communicate updates, Johnson ¶111; An example notification may be that an emergency responder may indicate that a rescue operation has been successfully executed or that an emergency responder is experiencing an unforeseen delay. After receiving updates, the system continuously processes the new information and adjusts the emergency response plan as appropriate, ¶130; The server receives a notification that an emergency situation has occurred (410A). Examples of disasters can include natural disasters, such as a severe storm, a hurricane, an earthquake; or human-caused disasters, such as a terrorist attack, a nuclear bomb strike, or a chemical spill. The emergency situation can be detected automatically via sensors or be determined by a notification from publically available information or from an individual. The server receives more information in light of the emergency situation (415A). For instance, the information can include real time information about occupancy of a shelter or confirmation from emergency responders that they are prepared to respond to the emergency incidents. The server can receive current information regarding the emergency situation from news outlets, social media, and other public information outlets. The information may include occupant and shelter status, road closures, environmental and weather conditions, or other information, such as information that may facilitate an efficient emergency response, ¶126-¶127; The bottom of the display of the mobile device 108 is taken up by the map 326 which may be generated from a combination of data sources, e.g., using techniques such as those for creating mash-ups with GOOGLE MAPS™. For example, the central server may provide a latitude and longitude for the emergency responder 102a and a latitude and longitude for the shelter 106a, to a navigation system that is publicly available (via a published application programming interface (API)), and a navigation system may respond by providing data for drawing the map overlaid with a thick navigation route line for an optimal path between the two points for the emergency responder 102a. This path may be superimposed on the map 326 that responder 102a is shown. In addition, actual icons 135 and 147 are superimposed on the map to show the emergency responder 102a where relevant resources are located near their route between their current location and the shelter 106a. In this case, a hospital is represented by the icon 135, and a grocery store is represented by icon 147, ¶118).
As per claims 9 and 19, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson further discloses wherein the ongoing incident is identified by a first set of sensors deployed in the environment that are operated by a first party, the method further comprising: collecting data from a second set of sensors deployed outside of the environment that are operated by a second party; and generating the reaction plan according to the data from the first set of sensors deployed in the environment and the data collected from the second set of sensors (accelerometers, heart rate sensors, and altimeters, Johnson ¶100; The server receives a notification that an emergency situation has occurred (410A). Examples of disasters can include natural disasters, such as a severe storm, a hurricane, an earthquake; or human-caused disasters, such as a terrorist attack, a nuclear bomb strike, or a chemical spill. The emergency situation can be detected automatically via sensors or be determined by a notification from publically available information or from an individual, ¶126; see also ¶138).
As per claims 10 and 20, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson further discloses wherein the ongoing incident is identified by a first set of sensors deployed in the environment that are operated by a first party, the method further comprising: commanding at least a subset of the first set of sensors to change a data reporting rate based on a sensor type for the subset of the sensors and an incident type of the ongoing incident (While the emergency responder devices 108 are shown and described as a mobile devices in this example, it may take a variety of other forms. For example, the device could be a cellular telephone having text messaging capabilities, so that the user can receive direction via text message. The device could also be a portable networked device that does not have direct telephony capabilities such as an IPOD TOUCH media player or similar device. Other devices such as tablet PC's and other portable communication devices may also be used. In addition, certain of the functionality described above and below can be provided as part of an accessory to the relevant electronic communication, such as by placing a force sensor, temperature sensor, accelerometer, pulse sensor, blood pressure sensor, or other sensor in a plug-in module and/or jacket that a user can purchase for their electronic communication device (though such sensors may also be integrated into the device where appropriate). For example, a user of device may purchase an electronic stethoscope that may plug into device and act as a traditional stethoscope. A user may also purchase a blood-pressure cuff or other such sensors that may provide electronic signals to device so that readings of victim parameters, and particularly vital signs, may be uploaded easily to the rest of the system through the network, Johnson ¶138; automated detecting, ¶126) (Examiner interprets the ability to utilize different sensors as the ability to command changes in reporting rate i.e. when and how often to take a user’s vitals).
As per claim 21, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claim 11. Johnson further discloses wherein the ongoing incident is identified by a first set of sensors deployed in the environment that are operated by a first party, the operations further comprising: commanding at least a subset of the first set of sensors to change a data reporting rate based on a number of user devices within a given sub-area of the environment and an available bandwidth for communication within the given sub-area (The emergency responder computing devices 108 and the civilian computing devices 107 can include communications systems 222, sensor systems 224, processors 226, and data systems 228. The sensor systems 224 can include GPS sensors accelerometers, heart rate sensors, and altimeters. The processors 226 can receive information and store the information on the data systems 228. The data systems 228 (e.g. data storage elements, memories, etc.) can store information, such as sensing data 221, map data 223, or software data 225. The communication systems 222 can include one or more of long-range communication sub-systems or short-range communication sub-systems. The data systems 228 may each be loaded with one or more of a disaster response application 228a (described below) or a map/navigation application 228b loaded onto the devices 107, 108. The map/navigation application 228b may receive location information from the sensor systems 224 and may receive maps from the map provider 280 and/or from the central server 100, such that the map/navigation application 228b may generate a map that may be overlaid with navigation information, and may also provide turn-by-turn navigation as an emergency responder moves toward an emergency situation, Johnson ¶100) (Examiner notes the specific type of sensor and the short range/long range of said sensors as the bandwidth ability to control the reporting rate of the devices based on, and reporting their bandwidth)
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 12-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US PG Pub. 2016/0284038) and Muehlmeier et al. (US PG Pub. 2011/0161239), further in view of Goldstein et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0417919).
As per claims 2 and 12, J Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson and Muehlmeier do not expressly disclose generating and populating a first sonic alert or instruction for output by the first user device of the plurality of user devices and no sonic alert for the second user device of the plurality of user devices.
However, Goldstein teaches generating and populating a first sonic alert or instruction for output by the first user device of the plurality of user devices and no sonic alert for the second user device of the plurality of user devices (Alternatively or additionally, processor 136 and/or remote device 140 may be configured to transmit alerts to users, such as silent alarms or other security data that a user may be able to utilize in taking action in response to a perceived or sensed security threat. Remote communication may further be used to contact law enforcement and/or security services which may coordinate their efforts with actions taken by apparatus 100. Security services may be provided with safety equipment and our overrides, so that they made either deactivate responses arrival area, and or maybe a responses by, for instance, eyewear having dichroic lenses or other optical elements to protect security personnel from directed light deterrent 156 actions or the like, Goldstein ¶296; ultrasonic, ¶236; With further reference to FIG. 1, multiple LRAD speakers, and/or sequential aiming of a single LRAD speaker may be used to send different audio signals to different subjects 308. This may be used to generate highly specific instructions such as directions to leave subject area which vary based on a position of a receiving person, and/or to generate distinct messages and/or sounds to distinct persons to cause further confusion and/or disorientation. For instance, a first subject 308 alerted by this means may hear a police siren, while a second subject 308 may hear a barking dog, a third a voice saying “hey,” or the like, ¶238; May generate alerts for officers operating the apparatus that a person represents a threat, may put a spot on the person a target, or a quote smart flashlight quote beam that tracks the person on them, or the like permitting an officer operating apparatus, as well as apparatus itself, to engage in more aggressive interdiction, arrest, or other countermeasures against the potential assailant, or criminal, ¶319; see also types of alerts, ¶661).
Both the Goldstein and Johnson references are analogous in that both are directed towards/concerned with responding to incidents, emergencies and/or threats. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Goldstein’s ability to calibrate responses based upon determined subjects entering into specific incident areas in Muehlmeier and Johnson’s system to improve the system and method with reasonable expectation that this would result in an emergency management system that is able to provide more warnings and/or instructions based upon the incident or subjected area.
The motivation being that there is a need for improved automated threat detection or to mitigate a situation (Goldstein ¶3-¶4 and ¶310).
As per claims 3 and 13, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson further discloses wherein the reaction plan is generated by the central service by: authenticating in response to receiving a status report from a given sensor of the plurality of sensors, a location of the given sensor in the environment by matching a sensor identifier and a communication credential against registration data stored of the environment; updating a map of the environment with the status report; processing the ongoing reports, including the status report, to identify an incident flow by performing a spatio-temporal propagation analysis comprising: determining temporal separations between detection timestamps, determining spatial adjacency between authenticated sensor locations; forming clusters of related detections; and generating an ordered progression of clusters satisfying a propagation constraint; and generating the reaction plan based on the map and the incident flow comprising device- specific output scripts for respective ones of the plurality of sensors, each script including a time- ordered sequence of light, sound, or display actions coordinated with scripts of neighboring sensors for synchronized execution among the respective ones of the plurality of sensors (user communicate updates, Johnson ¶111; An example notification may be that an emergency responder may indicate that a rescue operation has been successfully executed or that an emergency responder is experiencing an unforeseen delay. After receiving updates, the system continuously processes the new information and adjusts the emergency response plan as appropriate, ¶130; prediction of duration, ¶67; predicting where a user might be, ¶115; see also determining best routes, ¶71; For instance, in the example of FIG. 1B, the emergency responder 102b has been assigned the shelter 106b as his/her highest priority shelter. Although the emergency responder 102b is closer to the shelter 106a than to his/her assigned shelter 106b, the central server 100 has received information regarding road closures 130a-b blocking the route from the emergency responder's current location to the shelter 106a. Accordingly, the central server 100 determines that the emergency responder 102b can more quickly access the shelter 106b. The emergency responder 102a has been assigned the shelter 106a as his/her highest priority shelter and the emergency responder 102c has been assigned the shelter 106c, ¶82).
Johnson and Muehlmeier do not expressly disclose via a cryptographically-signed message... in a block-chain-maintained digital model; by committing a block into the block-chain-maintained digital model, the block recording the location as authenticated in association with the status report
However, Goldstein teaches via a cryptographically-signed message... in a block-chain-maintained digital model; by committing a block into the block-chain-maintained digital model, the block recording the location as authenticated in association with the status report (In some embodiments, and with continued reference to FIG. 15, data recorded may be tamper-proofed by generation and storage of cryptographic hashes thereof, also referred to by the equivalent shorthand term “hashes.” A cryptographic hash, as used herein, is a mathematical representation of a lot of data, such as files or blocks in a block chain as described in further detail below; the mathematical representation is produced by a lossy “one-way” algorithm known as a “hashing algorithm.” Hashing algorithm may be a repeatable process; that is, identical lots of data may produce identical hashes each time they are subjected to a particular hashing algorithm. Because hashing algorithm is a one-way function, it may be impossible to reconstruct a lot of data from a hash produced from the lot of data using the hashing algorithm. In the case of some hashing algorithms, reconstructing the full lot of data from the corresponding hash using a partial set of data from the full lot of data may be possible only by repeatedly guessing at the remaining data and repeating the hashing algorithm; it is thus computationally difficult if not infeasible for a single computer to produce the lot of data, as the statistical likelihood of correctly guessing the missing data may be extremely low. However, the statistical likelihood of a computer of a set of computers simultaneously attempting to guess the missing data within a useful timeframe may be higher, permitting mining protocols as described in further detail below, Goldstein ¶329).
The Goldstein, Muehlmeier, and Johnson references are analogous in that both are directed towards/concerned with responding to incidents, emergencies and/or threats. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Goldstein’s ability to calibrate responses based upon determined subjects entering into specific incident areas in Muehlmeier and Johnson’s system to improve the system and method with reasonable expectation that this would result in an emergency management system that is able to provide more warnings and/or instructions based upon the incident or subjected area.
The motivation being that there is a need for improved automated threat detection or to mitigate a situation (Goldstein ¶3-¶4 and ¶310).
As per claims 5 and 15, Johnson and Muehlmeier disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 11. Johnson and Muehlmeier do not expressly disclose in response to detecting an unassociated user in the environment via one or more of a plurality of sensors deployed in the environment that is not associated with any user device of the plurality of user devices, transmitting the reaction plan to one or more sensors of the plurality of sensors within a predefined distance of the unassociated user for output into the environment.
However, Goldstein teaches in response to detecting an unassociated user in the environment via one or more of a plurality of sensors deployed in the environment that is not associated with any user device of the plurality of user devices, transmitting the reaction plan to one or more sensors of the plurality of sensors within a predefined distance of the unassociated user for output into the environment (detect entry of persons or animals into subject areas and respond consistently with determined behavior descriptors, object recognition, or rulesets using a graduated deterrence system. Embodiments may use a combination of imaging and other sensors, such as optical cameras, infrared cameras, 3D cameras, multispectral cameras, hyperspectral cameras, polarized cameras, chemical sensors, motion sensors, ranging sensors, light radar component, such as lidar, detection or imaging using radio frequencies component, such as radar, terahertz or millimeter wave imagers, seismic sensors, magnetic sensors, weight/mass sensors, ionizing radiation sensors, and/or acoustical sensors, to accurately recognize and spatially determine entrance into the subject area, to distinguish between known or whitelisted persons, children, animals, and potential threats. Embodiments may further distinguish casual or accidental intruders from those with more purposeful or malicious intent and may calibrate responses according both to detected behavior, imminence of threat, or other rulesets. Deterrent responses may be calibrated to detected behavior descriptors and rulesets so as to generate a graduated response that can escalate from warnings to irritating or off-putting responses or further to incapacitating responses as needed to achieve security objectives with a minimal harm to the intended target, Goldstein ¶55; seismic sensor in the area, ¶83; Apparatus may alternatively or additionally perform communication with subject via subject device, both when subject is in subject area and thereafter. For instance, apparatus may call or message subject via subject device to provide warnings or instructions thereto, ¶142; With further reference to FIG. 1, multiple LRAD speakers, and/or sequential aiming of a single LRAD speaker may be used to send different audio signals to different subjects 308. This may be used to generate highly specific instructions such as directions to leave subject area which vary based on a position of a receiving person, and/or to generate distinct messages and/or sounds to distinct persons to cause further confusion and/or disorientation. For instance, a first subject 308 alerted by this means may hear a police siren, while a second subject 308 may hear a barking dog, a third a voice saying “hey,” or the like, ¶238).
The Goldstein, Muehlmeier, and Johnson references are analogous in that both are directed towards/concerned with responding to incidents, emergencies and/or threats. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Goldstein’s ability to calibrate responses based upon determined subjects entering into specific incident areas in Muehlmeier and Johnson’s system to improve the system and method with reasonable expectation that this would result in an emergency management system that is able to provide more warnings and/or instructions based upon the incident or subjected area.
The motivation being that there is a need for improved automated threat detection or to mitigate a situation (Goldstein ¶3-¶4 and ¶310).
As per claim 16, Johnson, Muehlmeier, and Goldstein disclose as shown above with respect to claim 15. Goldstein further teaches wherein the unassociated user is non-human (animals, Goldstein ¶55; subject is animal that has been introduced into subject area, ¶91; non-human animals, ¶150).
Conclusion
automated- interview-request-air-form
/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629